Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom

Tyndale House American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom

The United States was founded by ordinary citizens just like you! Recognizing these heroes who fought to secure our God-given rights, Santorum reveals the extraordinary true stories of faith, courage, and determination that set our country's path to greatness, and urges us to return to the virtues and values that formed our democracy. 128 pages, hardcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom
Review 1 for American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great historical perspective

Date:May 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
McDawg81
Location:Flowery Branch, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This should be required reading in every high school history class!
Taking a look at heroes of the American Revolution and how they were instrumental in the formation and foundation of our country, Rick Santorum has drawn from the “The Declaration of Independence”…”We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.” He centers on “life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness” and introduces Patriots who believed strongly in these areas and pursued them with their very own lives. Many of the individuals within this book were also firm in their belief that without the hand of our Creator upon our lives, we would all be lost. These biographical sketches draw our hearts and attention back to God and how He ultimately is our “life, our liberty, and our pursuit of happiness.” Without Him, we are nothing.
Rick Santorum has created a wonderful history book! I highly recommend “American Patriots – Answering the Call to Freedom.”
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through their bloggers review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Light the Patriot Fire

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light the Patriot fire is exactly what Rick Santorum's book will do. WoW. people you've probably never heard of will help as American Patriots come to life for life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness...this is a book all true American Patriots need to read.
A copy of this book was provided y tyndale in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book

Date:January 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
D C McKay
Location:Gadsden, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book inspires me each time I read it. Filled with
short stories of Patriots like you and me. The unsung
heroes that made a difference between death and freedom. I
liked it. Rick Santorum ties many of the fights for freedom
with today's situations. Again making the relationship of
what we need to remember and what we could lose if we stop
paying attention to what is going on in our country. The
book shows that everyone of us is important. Important to
God and this country.
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from
Tyndale Publishers in exchange for my review. I was not
required to write a positive review. The opinion here is
entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Little Book That Every Patriot Should Read

Date:December 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beacon2Light
Location:Bucks County, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
American Patriots by Rick Santorum
Rick Santorum nearly became our president in 2012. Being the last man standing to oppose the frontrunner, Mitt Romney, he eventually conceded the race to him. Previously, Rick Santorum served the great state or, more correctly, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania as the junior U.S. Senator for twelve years.
The book is a great one filled with stories of patriots of the American Revolution. Some are well known, others not so well known. Each story is as unique as the person being profiled. Men and women hazarded their lives to break off the yoke of oppression and live in a free land.
As a Christian minister, I especially appreciated how he began each chapter with a verse of Scripture. Many of those profiled were Christian in faith and included laypeople as well as ministers of the Gospel. However, he also profiled at least one Jewish man who helped immensely to finance the revolution and the newborn nation.
I think that you will enjoy this book as much as I did. It is an easy read broken up into individual and group profiles in small chapters. The reader can digest it all in a small period of time or read a profile or two and then come back day after day and read some more without missing a beat.
The book design is also a plus. The front has stars in a blue background across the top with red and white flag stripes across the bottom. Each page has a frame that is designed to look like an old book’s pages, worn with time. The sections divided as “life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness” each come with a beautiful drawing of patriots in action.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review.
This review and others can be found at: http://beacon2light.blogspot.com/2012/12/a-great-little-book-that-every-patriot.html
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Patriotic Read for Every Age

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A book that celebrates the unsung men and women who fought for Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness, sacrificing so much and even giving their lives for America.
Mr. Santorum has written a wonderful compact read, that recognizes what everyday men and women gave up in the cause of freedom. A freedom that they believed enough in, that many of them gave their lives for it's cause. This book has 25 inspiring stories about these heroes, many of whom I have sadly never heard of before reading this book.
Mr. Santorum tells each of their stories concisely, highlighting their passion for patriotism. I loved being able to pick up this book and read a chapter quickly, yet coming away with so much new knowledge. This book was easy to read, and well researched, with a real spirit of patriotism to it.
I absolutely loved learning so much about the unsung heroes of the Revolutionary War, and was inspired by how much these heroes genuinely cared for their country and fellow man/or woman.
Overall, this was an excellent book, that I would like to point out isn't just for adults but would be appropriate for ages 10 & Up as well, because this book reads like many short stories, but you actually learn some history! I immensely enjoyed this book, because I learned so much about historical figures, plus it was a pleasureable read! I am definitely recommending this book!
I received a copy of this book from the publisher in return for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Proud to be American!

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monica
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to agree with Mark Levin, this book should be a required read for all US History classes. It was well put together and brought to my attention people who aided the formation of our country.
The book is divided into three sections; Life, Liberty, and The Pursuit of Happiness. Some of the most famous words in the Declaration of Independence. Each section starts with an introduction: Life, according to Judge Blackstone, an eighteenth century British judge, is the immediate gift of God, a right inherent by nature in every individual: and it begins in contemplation of law as soon as an infant is able to stir in the mother’s womb. For if a woman is quick with child, and by a potion or otherwise, kills it in her womb; or if any one beat her, whereby the child dies in her body, and she is delivered of a dead child; this…was by the ancient law homicide or manslaughter.
Liberty, Webster’s – “freedom from” and “freedom to”. It is clear from our founders writings that the liberty they envisioned was not a freedom to do whatever one wants to do but a freedom to do what one ought to do according to “the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God.“(Rick Santorum)
The Pursuit of Happiness – After such consequential and foundational rights as life and liberty, the pursuit of happiness just seemed a bit trite. Did our founders fight and make sacrifices just so Americans would have the right to be happy? Did God give us the right to pursue a good time? Don’t get me wrong – happiness is a wonderful emotion and a state to be desired. But is that what our founders intended to be the pursuit of our country and it’s people – to be happy? Isn’t life supposed to be more significant than that? Let’s face it, many of life’s pleasures aren’t even good for us...(Rick Santorum)
After a brief introduction of each section Mr. Santorum introduces us to five great Americans who assisted the country in achieving LIFE, LIBERTY, and THE PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS. Each chapter is opened with a scriptures that relates to these principles. Some of the names I had heard of but it had been many years. But most of the names were new to me. Some were slaves who enlisted their services, some in place of their master and some with permission from their masters.
As I read this little book I felt my heart swelling for the service that each of these folks gave for this wonderful country. Then, my heart became sad for the direction this country is taking. I will be asking my teenage children to read this one. Hoping to build more pride for their country and to help stir it back on the path it was originally intended. This is a good one folks. Check it out!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
American Patriots is not your typical collection of Revolutionary War biographies. Many of the people included were people I had heard very little, or nothing, about. Rick Santorum has presented a well-researched book telling the stories of 25 people who fought, in some way, for the "unalienable Rights" written in the Declaration of Independence.
Easy to read. I really loved this book. I like learning about history and it was refreshing to read about people who didn't "make the headlines" during the Revolution. Definitely going to keep this book as a supplement to our kids history lessons when they get to be in junior high/high school. Well worth the read!
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Tyndale in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
American Patriots: Answering The Call To Freedom, written by Rick Santorum, is a book designed to carry its readers back to a powerful understanding of the historical beginnings of the United States of America.
This book speaks about the values set forth in the Declaration of Independence, and stories of the brave people, both men and women who fought to make freedom in this country possible. The stories offered are designed to inspire the current generation to rise up and take a stand.
The book is divided into 3 sections: Life, Liberty, and The Pursuit of Happiness. Each section begins with a few pages of thoughts from the author, followed by five stories of people and their place in helping the chapter theme become a reality.
Throughout this book, Rick reminds his readers what so many people continue to overlook or ignore, the fact that our country was founded on Christian values.
This book is a recommended read for any person who loves history or religion.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very interesting!

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
susanperry888
Location:ca
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was written well to combine the value of history to make it relevant to the current period. I finished the book in one seating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful read to be thankful for the USA

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adoption Mama
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the 2012 Presidential Election comes close, I have just finished reading, American Patriots, by Rick Santorum.
What a great book that includes age old stories of some of the first Americans fighting for our freedom and liberty and justice for all.
Mr. Santorum has chosen to help us understand the history of the United States of America and those who served to make us free by relaying these small biographies of known and not-so-well known Americans. Alongside these stories, the author details why and what his view is concerning the moral issues that are in crisis in our country right now. I appreciate his stand for life especially.
From the sacrifices made by Peter Francisco to the religious endeavors of Lemuel Haynes, the lives of these ordinary people should bring gratitude and thankfulness to our hearts. The reason I chose to read this as part of my blog book reviews was satisfied. I am thankful for America. I am thankful for all those who made this land possible.
As a part of the Tyndale Blogging network, I received a free copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Informative and Interesting

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from this book, for beyond its title I knew very little about it. However, when I cracked it open and discovered that in the introduction Rick Santorum explains that the real only difference between the American Revolution (resulting in the USA) and the French Revolution (resulting in The Reign of Terror) was that one side used God as its foundation and the other did not, I was pretty much won over. I’m hugely passionate about the differences between the two Revolutions (the only difference which is God!), so to hear someone else say it just made my day.
So what is American Patriots about? Basically, it’s simply a collection of short biographies about the men and women who were the backbone of the founding of our country during the Revolutionary War. I hadn’t heard of very many of them, so this book I found to be filled with fascinating facts about the "regular" people of Colonial America.
I especially enjoyed the chapter on Francis Marion. I live in a town where his praises are sung on every corner (okay, seriously, we have so many things named after him that if you live in my town and haven't heard of him, you've been living under a rock), so it was interesting to read about the contribution he made to the Cause.
I learned about so many men and women I had sadly never heard of before- Peter Francisco (really enjoyed that one), John Laurens, Emily Geiger, Christopher Ludwick (that one was great, too), and Haym Salomon. There were some more recognizable names, too, like Nathan Hale and Phillis Wheatley.
American Patriots is a short book, but it’s chock-full of information and definitely worthwhile, especially for a history nut like myself!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for American Patriots: Answering the Call to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye-opening Read

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
JohnDeereGirl
Location:Plainfield, Indiana
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness”. These are the things that our founding fathers, and many radical patriots sought to both achieve and protect for us. But at what price? How often do we actually stop to appreciate our freedom and those who protect it? In this book Rick Santorum examines the lives of some less-than-famous patriots during the revolution, and what sacrifices they made to help receive this liberty.
This book was a very easy, eye-opening read. The book is divided into 3 sections, and 18 chapters, each chapter portraying another patriot, or group of patriots. Each chapter also has a bible verse relating to that person’s service or sacrifice discussed. I would recommend this book to any american, because it is very important for us to know what sacrifices were made for our freedom if we are to fully appreciate it and protect it.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. However, my opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.