Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Sweet Sanctuary - eBook

Bethany House Sweet Sanctuary - eBook

Lydia Eldredge longs to provide a sanctuary for her son, Nicky. But a constant threat comes from Nicky's drug-addicted father, who wants the boy and seems willing to do whatever it takes to get him.

Dr. Micah Hatcher serves the immigrant population in Queens, but under cover of darkness he provides another service that must not be discovered lest his and his brother's lives be in danger.

Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 34100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
Review 1 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sanctuary in the Midst of War

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
knitwritelove
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kim Vogel Sawyer is a story-teller. I enjoy her characters, her plots, and her settings. But most of all I enjoy the deeper meanings she weaves in, how the characters depend on God to get them through the events that unfold.
Set during WWII, a time in history that I find captivating, the deep stirrings of war and danger make for a serious set of circumstances that only God can work out. I loved Micah’s involvement with Jeremiah’s mission, as the Jewish people hold a special place in my heart. Lydia was an engaging character, and I enjoyed her unwillingness to back down or give up. Nicky, of course, was a joy to read about. And Justina is just too adorable for words.
I did pick up on a few pet phrases or words, and the trying-not-to-fall-in-love thing did get pretty old pretty quickly (mainly because within the first few chapters I figured out who would end up with who). But both could be overlooked when in the middle of the dark alleys of New York or the gripping coming-clean scenes.
All in all, I really did enjoy this novel. By the time I finished, I felt like I had read a 400+ page story because the author packed in so much. I wish there was a sequel.
———
+My copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An unexpected surprise from Kim Vogel Sawyer

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cher
Location:NW Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kim has stepped out of the box a little in this exciting book. I have been blessed to be able to own and read every one of Kim's books, until this one, I did get to read it from our library though. I have had quite a few favorites of Kim's but this is now my new favorite.
The story takes place during WWII during the height of gas rationing, women working in jobs that were for men before, and Germans annihilating many people.
Some Americans risked their lives over seas to help as many people to survive as they could. In this story it tells of children being shipped on a Red Cross boat to keep them safe from harm, and then Micah Hatcher did what he could to keep them even safer. Micah is a Doctor but works in a small clinic in a really poor part of New York City because he cares for everyone.
Lydia Eldredge lives in Boston and is doing her part for one little adorable boy. Both Micah and Lydia's lives become even more intertwined as the story goes on. There is lots of mystery and suspense in this story that is new for Kim's writing.
I loved the way Micah's faith was so totally strong and how he used that in every thing he did, and passed it on to the others in the story. Lydia's faith was shaken many times during the book, will she grow in that faith?
I hope you have as much fun reading this book as I did. Looking forward to the next book of Kim's.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

sweet sanctuary review

Date:October 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Sweet Sanctuary" by Kim Vogel Sawyer is a Christian romance taking place in Boston and New York during WWII. Lydia has been raising Nicky, the child of her deceased best friend, for the first years of his life. Nic, Nicky's father, a morphine addict, has been looking for Nicky so that he can sell him. Micah, is brought in by Lydia's overbearing father to try and save them all.
This story is highly improbable, kinda predictable, and slightly romantic. It's unlikely that an addict is going to search and search for three years for a kid so that sell it. Addicts just don't tend to be that dedicated to anything outside of their addiction. Also, if Micah's side job is hiding children, why is it never considered that he hide this one. The romance seems a little forced as well. It is well written and edited, however, the storyline is obvious. It was ok, it passed the time. There isn't a reason not to read it, it's not bad. It's just not great. I'd give it a C. I received this book for free from Bethany House.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book! A story that will touch your heart.

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a story that will touch your heart. I really enjoyed it. I was hooked as soon as I started reading and couldn't put it down! The characters were very real-to-life and it was easy to identify with Lydia and Micah throughout the book and through their various circumstances and callings. The plot really captured my interest and I really liked how it turned out in the end. I would have to say that this was a very worthwhile read and one that I would certainly recommend. I would rate it 4 to 4.5 stars.
I'd like to thank Bethany House Publishers for sending me a copy of Sweet Sanctuary in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful in His Time

Date:July 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
KnittedintheHeart
Location:Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A intriguing historical fiction novel that reads like an epic movie. A bit of mystery and quality romance will keep the reader in the story.
The setting is World War II a time when orphans are being displaced from Europe. Women were entering the workforce. In the midst of this setting, Lydia Eldredge becomes Mom for her friend’s little boy. Like any good novel, there are twists and turns, but my favorite is how this story ends. Relationships are restored and shattered lives are mended. The old dies and the new life is born.
I recommend this book for your next leisure reading. It will leave your heart hopeful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
quiltnmama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lydia Eldredge is doing her best as a single mother raising her son, Nicky, but she lives in constant fear because of his father's past. Her father, in hopes of protecting them both, brings Dr. Micah Hatcher back into their lives rather unexpectedly. Dr. Hatcher and Lydia had once had a strong friendship and cared for each other, will the situation now years later be one that brings them together again or tears them apart forever?
Sweet Sanctuary was first book I have read by Kim Vogel Sawyer and I will say I enjoyed it. Often, Christian historical fiction stories take place long ago in Europe or during the westward expansion of the United States, not in more recent history. I found this period of history in our country very interesting and felt that Vogel Sawyer handled it accurately.
Sweet Sanctuary was an easy read that kept me coming back for more to know what was going to happen. If you enjoy World War 2 history along with Christian fiction/romance, this is a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED this Sweet Book

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
lbcmom
Location:Henderson, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the summertime because I get to read to my heart's content for the most part!! I started the summer with a book Bethany House publishers gave me in exchange for a review. I was very interested in Sweet Sanctuary by Kim Vogel Sawyer because I had never read any of her books before. I was NOT disappointed.
I really did not know where this book would go but it did not disappoint. It went in so many directions! Lydia and Micah go way back to their service time together in Hawaii at the beginning of America's involvement in WWII. Lydia mysteriously leaves her job and is really never heard from again until one day Micah receives a note from Lydia's father telling him that Micah is the father of Lydia's child. Micah goes up to see Lydia to get everything straightened out because he knows there is NO way he is the father. From there, the story spirals. Both Lydia and Micah hold secrets they are hesitant to share with each other. Lydia is holding back the true secret of her son and how she is trying to keep him safe from his drug-addicted father because who knows what he would do with him. Micah works with immigrants in New York as well as a secret mission with his brother who is a missionary overseas.
Ms. Sawyer does a great job keeping you on your toes as each situation is developed in the story as well as solved. This is a story full of forgiveness, trust, God's plan for everyone, and love. It needs to be on everyone's summer reading list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

sweet read for sweet sanctuary

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
mary beth
Location:Fairfax, Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love historical novels, especially those taking place during either of the World Wars. My Grandmother used to tell me stories of what she and my Grandfather had to do to survive during the First World War while living in Germany. By the time they married and had children of their own, they had immigrated to the US. She would tell me about the rations, the bread lines, and the Victory garden she had. This was an amazing time in history.
Ms. Sawyer is very adept with the historical details. They play an important part in this novel, especially as the layers of plot are revealed. She also deals with drug addiction in one of her secondary characters, always leading them toward forgiveness and redemption. It's one of the reasons I read this genre of books. The very talented authors use everyday life situations combined with multilayered characters to weave tales of redemption, forgiveness, hope and faith without preaching a sermon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Story in the Midst of WWII

Date:May 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andrea Cox
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s 1944, and Dr. Micah Hatcher knows God’s plan for him is to serve the immigrant population of Queens, New York. So, when he receives a mysterious letter summoning him to Boston, confusion swirls in his mind. When he arrives in Boston and finds out about his friend Lydia’s trouble in providing a sanctuary for her son Nicky, he can’t help but get involved. As their lives intertwine, will they trust each other with their secrets? When their individual causes come into jeopardy, will they lean on God and accept the help He provides?
SWEET SANCTUARY, Kim Vogel Sawyer’s latest novel, is a ‘sweet’ story that takes place during World War II. The theme of protecting the innocent is woven throughout in such a way that grips the heart and makes you consider what more you can do in your own piece of the world. As Micah remembers his mom telling him in chapter one, “Son, whatever comes your way, the good Lord knew it was comin’ and has a solution in mind. Trust Him to guide you.” If we place our trust in God, He will reveal to us the ways in which we may help protect the innocent.
“Whatever the Lord willed for her, she was ready.” Those words from chapter 37 define the author of this lovely story. Kim Vogel Sawyer writes the plentiful tales that God places in her heart, much to her readers’ delight. Whether she takes us for a ride on the orphan trains (My Heart Remembers), shares the adventures of a singer on the plains of Kansas (Song of My Heart) or takes us to the big cities of New York and Boston (Sweet Sanctuary), Kim finds the way into our hearts with a few thousand words strung together. Her talent for dropping bombs on her readers in the form of twists and turns in the lives of her characters never disappoints me. She has quite a knack for frustrating me with the worst possible thing that could have happened in the story—and then causing me to blink back tears of joy when good finally prevails. If you haven’t yet had the pleasure of reading any of Kim’s books, hurry to the bookstore! Her novels are well worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not very romantic, but still good

Date:May 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
tmurrell
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Micah is a doctor in New York. He felt a calling from God to help the immigrants. But when he receives a letter about an old co-worker, he rushes to Boston. Things aren't exactly as they seem and Micah finds himself working with Lydia to bring families together no matter the risks. Set during WWII, the story covers immigration issues, adoption, addiction, and family relationships.
I appreciated the author using the slant of the innocence and naivety of the Americans about the horrors of the war. The story had several different elements going on at once. This might be a bit overwhelming to some. But I enjoyed it, so didn't mind. It was fresh and captivating. The message of salvation was brought out several times. I will be checking out more books by this author.
I received this book free of charge from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hope and Grace

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: A very nice story about love, grace and redemption. The characters in the book are easy to imagine because the author has done a very good job of bringing them to life for you. I enjoyed the way she highlighted prayer and seeking God for direction in, through, and because of life’s circumstances. She also did a good job in conveying that all things should be done for the glory of God. I have no problem recommending this book and reading other books by this author. (rev. P.Howard)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Story Full of God's Grace and Purpose

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a sweet and interesting story set during WWII with the scene switching back and forth between Micah's New York and Lydia's Boston. There is danger, misunderstanding, forgiveness, heartache and redemption in this book. The theme of God's grace and purpose in our lives is central to this story. Micah is involved in a dangerous, secret operation in New York and he does not feel free to pursue Lydia as he wants to. Lydia loves Micah, however, feels he does not reciprocate more than friendship. She faces her own challenges in trying to raise her dead friend's son. She must learn to trust in God as the child's father enters the child's life. It is not an easy path. However, the author creates a good story line and pulls everything in for a happy conclusion. I was provided with a copy of Sweet Sanctuary by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Fictional Role Models

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stacelito
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Were in I Micah and Lydia’s situations, I hope I would do just as they did. Although this book is obliviously a work of fiction, situations like this must have arisen in the 1940’s just as they do today. If I were given instructions from God that I was reasonably certain were FROM GOD, I would obey those rather than the laws of America or the rationale of society. And THAT’S why I would have great respect for Lydia and Micah if they were real people rather than characters in a novel. Those who have really done similarly in the past can be found as examples in the book Crazy Love by Francis Chan.
Just when it had appeared that this novel was all wrapped up and tied with a bow, I realized I had about 70 pages left to go and was very much looking forward to what else transpired! I was THRILLED with the initial “conclusion” of the book and even MORE SO with the final chapters!
In a nutshell, this novel had love and loss, adoption and salvation and was so well woven together!!! The various plots seemed almost seamlessly drawn into each other bringing it to a great finale.This book was WELL WORTH the read and I had forgotten how much I liked Kim Vogel Sawyer! I’ve read several of her novels including In Every Heartbeat and A Hopeful Heart. I received this book free from Bethany House for my fair and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story of Hope

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great reminder of a sad time in American History. When the truths are finally presented, still there were some who didn't believe. I'm talking about the atrocious acts that Germany committed during WWII. This is a heartwarming story of how a few people sacrificed their own lives to help the Jewish people, people without a Country.
Ms Sawyer has dealt with some tough subjects here. First the hiding in the Press of what was really going on in Europe. We have a bit of romance, at long distance, the love a sweet little boy. One that you would do just about anything for, to protect him. We have the realities of drug addition, the slowly tearing down and ruining of a life.
Throughout the book you find the blessings of the Lord on those who follow him. These people lead their lives as God wants them to, not how they want. There is Dr Micah, who wants to give his gift of doctoring, to those immigrants who need help and can't afford it. His brother, a polio victim, Jeremiah, a crippled Minister who is in the War zone, and helps God's people.
We have Lydia, who loves a little boy so much, that she ends up helping the person who is trying to take him away for her.
If you read one book this year, this one has it all, take a trip back to the 1940's in both NYC and Boston, I'm glad I did!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Blogger Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great historical romance set in WW II Boston

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a delightful historical romance.
The time is toward the end of World War II. Lydia Eldredge had served as a nurse at Schofield AFB. She was now back in Boston with her family, taking care of four year old Nicky, the son of her best friend who had died in childbirth. But Nicky's father wants him – to sell him to a childless family. He has become addicted to morphine and needs the money to feed his habit.
Dr. Micah Hatcher, who also served at Schofield, is now in New York City, helping the immigrants in Queens. He receives a letter from Lydia's father, demanding Micah do the right thing and come support his son Nicky. Micah is dumbfounded. He knows Lydia from their working together five years ago at the air force base but they never, well, the boy just cannot be his son. Micah decides to visit the Eldredge family and put an end to the accusations. He has no idea what his trip will do to set in motion a future he never imagined.
That is the beginning to a heart warming historical romance. Some of the topics readers learn about include smuggling Jewish children out of Nazi territory, morphine addiction, and trusting God for your future. I really appreciated the character development. That Nicky is a great kid! Both Micah and Lydia were so willing to give of their time and energy to help others, even helping the very man who might take Nicky away.
There were certainly enough twists and turns in the plot that the story kept my interest to the very end. And what a rewarding experience to read about lives being changed by the gospel. It was refreshing and inspiring. I love it when authors are not afraid to make faith in Christ an essential part of the novel. It certainly was in this one.
This is a very good novel. Well done!
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Feel Good Fiction - Kim Vogel Sawyer Gets it Right

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Sweet Sanctuary” succeeds as a Christian romance because author Kim Vogel Sawyer gets all the essential elements right. The theme is strong and consistent: God is always working, and no situation- regardless of how grim- is beyond the reach of His redemptive purposes. The characters are believable, relatable, and well-rounded.
There are enough plot twists to keep you wondering while generally staying within the bounds of realistic, if accelerated, outcomes. Admittedly, there was a time or two when I thought, “Come on, no one would…” But overall, “Sweet Sanctuary” just gets it right as uplifting, encouraging, feel-good Christian fiction. This book is set at the end of WWII, and there is some reference to wartime and the changing American culture, as well as very brief intimations of what was one of America’s worst moments in history; our country’s refusal to provide sanctuary to Jewish refugees. But the historical setting is not the focus; this is an entertaining novel that will encourage the reader to trust God in all circumstances- particularly those where He may seem most distant. Avid readers of Christian fiction will enjoy this book’s positive, uplifting message.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

WWII Romance with hint of suspense

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Sweet Sanctuary is the latest offering from beloved historical author Kim Vogel Sawyer, but this is her first (and hopefully not last) foray into WWII novels. The story starts with Dr. Micah Hatcher accused of something he didn't do, so he heads to Boston to set the story straight. When he arrives he falls in love with a little boy and finds himself drawn into the plans to protect the boy from his drug-addicted father. As the heroine is introduced through the doctor's eyes, I wondered at first if I could like her. Then the reasons she'd made the decisions she did spilled onto the pages, and I found myself rooting for her. She would do anything to protect Nicky. There's a hint of suspense. A whisper of love that grows. And a historical setting that I adore. A great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

satisfied customer

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jane Watson
Location:Athens,TN.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another good book by this author look forward to more of the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Sweet Read from Sawyer!

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A sweet read from Sawyer!
I have been interested to read something from Sawyer for a few months now, considering all the good things I've heard about her writing. And there certainly is something sweet and likable about her writing style. The words flowed easily off the page bringing both the setting and the characters to life. Sweet Sanctuary is the second or third novel I've read set in America during the Second World War and it represents the era well, in my opinion.
Lydia is an unwed mother who only seeks to protect her son. Her compassion, kindness, and faith shines bright amid the dark times she lives in. Though I didn't make a big connection with her, I still ached for her at times throughout the book. When fronted with hard choices she always strove to make the right one, which I found admirable.
In sum, I enjoyed my first read from Sawyer. It doesn't quite make it to my favorites but it still was pleasant. If you're seeking a smooth read with likeable characters, a bit of romance, and an intriguing side plot, then you need look no further. :-)
I received this book from Bethany House through Litfuse in return for an honest review of my opinions, thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sweet Sanctuary - eBook
This review is fromSweet Sanctuary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Page Turner

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Kim Vogel Sawyer's Sweet Sanctuary is a story of how God works all things out for our good. We see that repeatedly in the lives of both Lydia and Micah as they each face numerous difficulties. For the past four years Lydia has been 'Mama' to her deceased best friend's son. She'll do anything to keep it that way, but when morphine addicted father wants the child back to sell for his evil vice, she doesn't know what to do. Micah on the other hand has secrets of his own. He is part of an secret organization that helps smuggle Jewish children into America. Through many series of hardships, questions, and misunderstandings these two learn that no matter what God has everything in control.
Both Micah and Lydia were credible characters. They were christians with a deep desire to do God's will, and were willing to wait for his voice before going ahead with anything. The characters experienced hurts and were not exempt to bad things happening to them. Their strong Christian faith was both genuine and refreshing to the reader.
The author presented plausible problems throughout the book. Many times the author threw a curb ball ,but the situations never felt unrealistic or far fetched. I enjoyed the touch of World War || History included throughout. The author presented the American view of the war quite accurately, many did not know the horrors the Jews faced, and ridiculed them here in America.
I commend Kim for her well written story. She included credible characters, the Gospel, plausible problems and solutions, woven throughout this story. With the touch of a sweet and realistic romance she merged all the qualities of a well written story into one first-rate book.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Litfuse in exchange for this independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>