Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Worthy Publishing I, Saul - eBook

Worthy Publishing I, Saul - eBook

Told from the point of view of the disciple Luke, the apostle Paul and "Augie," a modern day scholar, I, Saul is a fast-paced story of intrigue and mystery. Readers will be reminded of Indiana Jones and the DaVinci Code as they become absorbed in this page-turner by a master storyteller. Along the way, they will learn of the fictionalized but plausible story of the life of Saul who relentlessly persecuted Christ's followers prior to his conversion when he became known as Paul.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I, Saul - eBook
Review 1 for I, Saul - eBook
This review is fromI, Saul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Walk/Read Through the Doorway on the Cover

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janice Garey
Location:Decatur, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another perfectly told story from the master story weaver, Jerry Jenkins. Awesome telling of two stories in one book. Go deep in the life of Saul turned Paul, so deep you are down in a dark prison with him as he relates his life story to the physician, Luke. The manuscript is hidden away and meets up in the present story with characters who have good and evil intent as they are in possession or trying to be in possession of the manuscript. Exciting storyline and believable characters will keep you fully engaged to see the final outcome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I, Saul - eBook
This review is fromI, Saul.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Present and Past!

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
I, Saul is a story that goes back in forth from present day Rome to Bible character Paul's prison. Right before Paul's execution he yearns to receive his parchments to finish his first account of his early life. Even on the throes of death Paul with Luke's help defy the Romans to do the Lord's will. Finding Paul's account proves to be the greatest find in present day times, and leads to unimaginable adventure and danger. The double stories provided a very unique aspect to the story.
The extensive research included in this story is clearly evident, so much so it felt that you were walking along the roads of Damascus and Jerusalem. Even the modern day culture in Rome felt quite authentic. My only regret is that there is no actual thing as Paul's parchments. The fictional account of his childhood helped to make Bible reading more alive and personal.
Tim Lahaye and James Mcdonald did a wonderful job creating a historical, contemporary, adventure, and Christ-centered story. I can't wait to continue my journey with the next installment to this series, I, Paul.
I received a free copy from, FIRST Wildcard Blog Tours, in exchange for this independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I, Saul - eBook
This review is fromI, Saul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Three stories in one!

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I debated whether to give this book four or five stars. I ended up giving it five stars, but it should be 4.5. It was a good book but not one of my absolute favorites.
Reading I, Saul is almost like reading three stories at once. It sounds confusing, but it all fits together clearly.
I liked the main characters and the plot. This story contains almost everything you could want in a book: suspense, adventure, history, and even a little romance.
I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I, Saul - eBook
This review is fromI, Saul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A riveting story is brought to life in I, Saul. The present day story running along side the first century story of the apostle Paul adds even more depth.
This morning I read again the book of 2 Timothy, but with new eyes when Paul requests Timothy to get Mark and come to him soon. I had never really thought about Paul knowing his time to be beheaded was near.
How many of us actually see the urgency with which Paul request the parchments be brought to him.
The present day story also is focused on the urgency of the parchments. There’s a cloak and dagger adventure here involving lots of intrigue. Of course, there’s romance, as well.
I, Saul grabbed me, but left me wanting the rest of the story. I’m definitely ready to read I, Paul now. I really don’t want to wait until 2014. Just maybe it will come out in January. Please make you pen fly, Mr. Jenkins. Don’t make us wait until next October.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I, Saul - eBook
This review is fromI, Saul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gripping fiction

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spanning the ages, from the present all the way back to when the Biblical Saul was a child, "I, Saul" is a masterfully told tale that held me in its grip from beginning to end. The book is well-written, with vivid scenes, true-to-life descriptions, and characters that you will quickly grow to care about. Although I enjoyed getting to know the present day characters of Augie, Sofia, and Roger, and enjoyed the suspense and mystery surrounding them, I most enjoyed the character of Saul himself. Saul has long fascinated me as a historical figure, with his transformation of one who hunted down Christians to one who arguably became the greatest missionary of all time. His letters to the church continue to be some of my favourite places to turn to in the Bible. Jenkins and MacDonald have succeeded at bringing Saul to life in a new way, giving me a glimpse of what his childhood may have been like and how he became the man that he did, transforming into the man we now know as Paul. As I read the scenes of Paul in prison, for the first time I really contemplated what he must have suffered over the years, and I marveled anew at the strength of his faith and the power of the Holy Spirit to sustain Paul until the end. I love the concept of a lost manuscript that details Paul's childhood experiences, and I found the book ended too soon as I wanted to read even more! I am very pleased to find that another addition to series is on the way.
If readers are looking for an entertaining novel with scenes of suspense, betrayal, and romance, then they will certainly find that in "I, Saul". But they will also be blessed with a book that will challenge their own faith and encourage their own boldness for Jesus even in the face of adversity. I highly recommend this book and award it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher and FIRST Wildcard Blog Tours, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I, Saul - eBook
This review is fromI, Saul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2013
I love a good redemption story and this new book by Jerry Jenkins has two storylines that qualify! The first chapter starts in modern day Texas and thrusts us into the life of seminary professor, Dr. Augie Knox. While giving end of term finals Dr. Knox gets a mysterious text from a friend in trouble. Augie feels compelled to help and puts everything on hold to fly across the world to see what he can do.
Chapter two brings us to first century Rome where we find the Apostle Paul imprisoned during his final days on earth. Luke, the disciple of Christ comes to minister to him and help him prepare for his impending execution. Nero wants Paul kept alive so they can put him to death. Paul isn't so concerned about dying but he is adamant about finishing his memoir for his friends and family.
From that point on the two stories are woven together with a sense of mystery and intrigue that has the pages flying by. Even if you are very familiar with the story of Saul of Tarsus and his Damascus road experience that allows him to become the Apostle Paul, I think you will be drawn into the details that Mr. Jenkins has written. I appreciated how the story stayed true to scripture yet it fleshed out the characters with feelings and emotions that brought them to life. Even though I knew Paul was headed to execution I wept at his familiar words.
While my favorite part of the book was that of Paul, the story of Augie is also an intriguing read. Throughout the tale we are slowly introduced to the difficult relationship that Augie has with his adopted father. I won't give anything away, but the redemption that is brought about with the father and son is very heartwarming.
If you enjoy a fast paced mystery that is filled with historical facts I think you will really enjoy this new book by Jerry Jenkins. I particularly think this is his best work yet.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I, Saul - eBook
This review is fromI, Saul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I, Saul

Date:October 21, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry Jenkins brings the following scripture to life in his newest novel titled I, Saul.
2 Timothy 9-12
Do your best to come to me quickly, for Demas, because he loved this world, has deserted me and has gone to Thessalonica. Crescens has gone to Galatia, and Titus to Dalmatia. Only Luke is with me. Get Mark and bring him with you, because he is helpful to me in my ministry. I sent Tychicus to Ephesus. When you come, bring the cloak that I left with Carpus at Troas, and my scrolls, especially the parchments.
As always, Jerry Jenkins has filled this novel full of suspense and action as he moves between current day and 1st century Rome. First, you will follow Augustine Knox, a young seminary professor, from Texas to Italy, as he rushes to the distress call of a dear friend. Then, you will find yourself in a dark dungeon, as Luke hurries to the side of his dear friend, Paul, the apostle.
So many details will come out of both storylines. Hang on for a wild ride!!!!!
I received this book from Worthy Publishing in exchange for my unbiased review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I, Saul - eBook
This review is fromI, Saul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A murderer who changed the world

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In "I, Saul" Jerry B. Jenkins weaves an ancient story of a man named Saul who persecuted the early Christians and later became Paul, the man whose transformation on his way to Damascus changed the world, and the contemporary tale of a man named Augustine Knox who becomes entangled in the discovery of a lifetime when his friend, Roger Michaels, finds himself in possession of a priceless parchment purported to be the memoirs of Saul of Tarsus.
Jenkins tells the story of Paul as he is sitting in prison waiting for his execution being ministered to by Luke, the Physician. We get to read the memoirs as they are being written, a fascinating fictional account of Paul's earliest memories until he is transformed on the road to Damascus.
The story of Augustine Knox takes us back to present day Rome where people are fighting over the ownership of the ancient parchment containing Saul's memories. It's a fight to the finish as we wonder who the good guys are and whether they will succeed in saving the relic from the wrong people.
Just when one story gets to the climax, Jenkins swaps to the other storyline. It's hard to stop reading. I love Jenkins' gift of storytelling. He will have you so rapt in the story and then he pulls out a surprise.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Worthy Publishing, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I, Saul - eBook
This review is fromI, Saul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am delighted with this story!

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I, Saul is...
An adrenaline rush, as we watch quiet professor Augustine Aquinas Knox answer a strange text message/phone call from a dear friend in dire trouble.
Then we watch Augie prepare a Smith and Wesson .9 millimeter handgun, purchase a flight ticket and head off on an adventure that like all great adventures, he never expected, which is full of turns and plot twists that we readers don't see coming!
I, Saul is...
A look into the Apostle Paul's life, often told in his own words and always vividly described from Paul's youth to his adult years before and then after he was transformed by our Lord, all the way to his final days, when Paul overflowed with boldness in the Spirit as he was held in a terrible prison.
In our day and age, we have lots of debate about whether Biblical writings are "authentic,"
about whether old-looking bits of parchments with unbiblical writings on them (about Jesus' wife, for example) are true, and the world is rocked with each new discovery.
Now imagine that the parchments that Paul referred to in his letter to Timothy still existed today, preserved in almost their exact original condition. Imagine that they were found...
Imagine that the humble Professor Augie Knox, his best friend and mentor Roger- a man who knows the Bible and the places of the Bible better than the back of his own hand but has yet to know personal redemption through Jesus, and Augie's beautiful fiancee Sofia are what stands between Paul's preserved memoir being a gift to the world or it becoming a payday for corrupt and greedy people.
Imagine that even stronger than the adventure, of which there is a bucketful, is the theme
of spiritual renewal, especially amid complex family relationships.
I am delighted with this book.
I am very grateful to have received a copy from the publisher to review here at my blog.
{Hi Worthy!!! Waves hand at Worthy Publishing.}
I am also in a state of terrible suspense, because the ending of I, Saul, while it wraps up this first part of the adventure quite nicely, also lays wonderful groundwork for a sequel.
So now I need to wait for I, Paul. Well, I guess I can tell y'all to read this one in the meanwhile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for I, Saul - eBook
This review is fromI, Saul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two Gripping Stories in one

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I, Saul tells two riveting parallel stories. It begins by introducing the reader to Texas Bible professor Dr. Augustus Shaw (Augie) who receives a cryptic but desperate texted appeal from his best friend, a tour guide in Rome, Italy. Other personalities round out his life, his brilliant but distant father, his Greek fiancé and her millionaire parents, his University colleagues. Chapter 2 introduces the ancient story, where Luke ministers to Paul in prison. As Luke assists Paul in sending a letter to Timothy (see 2 Timothy 4:9-13) he learns that Paul has written personal journals which he needs Luke’s help to complete before his looming execution. As both accounts progress, we learn the history of Paul’s parchments as well as the content, and follow the account of what happens in the modern day when the parchments come to light. A frantic race between the “good guys” and the “bad guys” ensues, keeping the suspense level high.
As anyone who has read his stories can testify, Jerry Jenkins is an excellent storyteller. On this series, he has teamed up with Bible teacher James MacDonald, and the resulting story will hold your attention and keep you anxious for the next installment of the series.
While I enjoyed the exciting account of attempted antiquity theft, with all its twists and turns, I think the account of Paul’s experiences in jail was equally enthralling, as it helped to portray Biblical “characters” into the flesh and blood people they truly were. I definitely would recommend I, Saul, and look forward to the sequel, I, Paul.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for I, Saul - eBook
This review is fromI, Saul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I, Saul--just read it!

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Actuary Lady
Location:Norcross, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If, like me, you've wondered what the Apostle Paul's final days in that Roman dungeon might have been like, then read I, Saul by Jerry Jenkins . A somewhat obscure reference Paul makes to parchments in verse 4:13 of his final letter, 2 Timothy, is the basis for a story involving discovery of those parchments in current-day Rome along with a back-story from biblical times.
In the book's odd-numbered chapters, a modern-day theology professor from Texas travels to Rome to try to save the first-century parchment from robbers; in even-numbered chapters, the Apostle Luke, after befriending Paul's prison guards, is allowed to read the parchment that turns out to be a riveting autobiography by his friend Paul (formerly Saul of Tarsus).
It's fortuitous that when the story gets particularly intense, the next chapter is back to the story that is separated by 20 centuries. In both time periods, there's romance, intrigue, history, and the bad guys vs good guys scenario that is a part of the human condition; but most of all there is a story of faith and of family legacy. And in typical Jenkins fashion, Scripture references become engaging dialogue.
I definitely look forward to the sequel, I, Paul, for resolution in both eras of the story, for a further look at the early days of The Church, and for inspiration from Paul's life.
Note: I was provided with an Advance Reader's Copy of this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for I, Saul - eBook
This review is fromI, Saul.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A what-if mystery with comic overtones

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeanne Z
Location:Wenatchee, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you want a murder-theft mystery with a bit of television’s Mr. Monk’s crime-solving skills, a window into the dungeon of a passionate Biblical saint, and some tongue-in-cheek humor, you’ll find it within the 387 larger-print pages of I, Saul. Unlike Jenkins’ seat-gripping bestsellers that left us wondering if we’d be the ones “left behind,” this plot-driven novel offers an easy read. Half the chapters imagine the gruesome conditions under which the apostle Paul was imprisoned before his death, suggesting that during this time he wrote a memoir. The other half show crooks trying to get their hands on the supposed “found” copy of this parchment with all its lucrative consequences. This is a plot-driven novel, and its characters are drawn with humor-hued crayons. How else would you explain one minor character named “Les Moore” and a main character carrying the moniker Augustine Aquinas Knox? Or his father, an anachronism in his seminary world, named for the old automotive failure “Edsel”? If you want a fast read without illicit sex or graphic violence, pick this one up. Be prepared for snippets reflecting Jenkins’ love of anagrams. But also be wise. Was there really a lost manuscript of the apostle Paul? Not that I’ve heard, and I’d hate to have some well-meaning but misguided reader contact Italian museums asking if they are displaying this Jenkins-imagined antiquity. I received this book as a review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.