Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Affirm Films Soul Surfer, DVD

Affirm Films Soul Surfer, DVD

The astonishing true story of a courageous 13-year-old surfer who lost her arm to a shark attack---but never lost her faith! You'll be inspired by how Bethany Hamilton overcame physical and emotional trauma to return to competitive surfing with the help of her family---and God. Stars AnnaSophia Robb, Helen Hunt, Carrie Underwood, and Dennis Quaid. Rated PG. Approx. 106 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • Deleted Scenes
  • 3 Behind-the-Scenes Featurettes
  • "Heart of a Soul Surfer" Documentary
  • "Bethany Hamilton on Professional Surfing" Featurette
  • English and French Audio
  • English, French, and Spanish Subtitles
  • Widescreen
Average Customer Rating:
4.92 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Soul Surfer, DVD
Review 1 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this movie!

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
AforJesus
Location:WY
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soul Surfer is one of my favorite movies! It is so encouraging that even in rough times, God has a wonderful plan for your life. Never give up hope! Definitely a must-see!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great film

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:Houston, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful, exciting story for young people and adults, and moving message of the power of depending on God and His plan for us in all circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT JUST GREAT

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dale Butterfield
Location:Talent, Oregon USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend it to one all. Well done and a great witness. It was great to see such a young person sold out to God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent movie!

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan Gruener
Location:Klamath Falls, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This is an excellent movie about Bethany Hamilton's tragic encounter with a shark while surfing. This movie is so encouraging and uplifting. It will make you laugh and make you cry. You will want to watch this movie over and over! Great for all ages - especially encouraging for tweens and teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
smartcookie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended for all families! Very thought provoking!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
wink
Location:Trenton, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this DVD as a Christmas gift. The recipient was thrilled to receive it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grandkids were really taken by it!

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
wandabee
Location:Nebraska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grandkids, ages 10 to 17, really like the movie and have watched it a couple times already.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
CSH2CHJ
Location:Clio, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After receiving the DVD, my twin grandsons watched the movie four times in three days. When two of their cousins went to visit them, the four of them watched the movie together twice in one day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy Bland
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD is encouraging " to stay the course" for young and old. We watched it as a family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the flow of faith in this film.

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vanessa League
Location:Peoria, Il
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hope to show this film to our youth group. I think the writers did a good job of showing that our faith-walk through trauma is not all roses and there are no perfect Christians. I think they did a good job of walking the audience through the struggles as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
sollars
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome movie, very touching! Great movie to watch as a family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

On edge of my seat

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faith Nugent
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie was great... I kept thinking I would be able to predict what would happen, but it never did. This movie kept me on the edge of my seat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
bremamic
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good movie
i will look at it over and over and over
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
rogie
Location:OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the movie very much. I thought that her faith in God could have been brought out more. She never gave up and that is what a lot of teenagers need to do. You can do all things through Christ that strengthens you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great movie

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
SC11
Location:Philly, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great movie ... Very good life lesson for tween/teens. Book is good for leading discussions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Movie

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoAm
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soul Surfer was a very good movie, with a great message!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marion Bird
Location:Nova Scotia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very surprised that this movie was available to the general public, with so much Christian content.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story of encouragement.

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
James Link
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This story gives hope to others who may be discouraged through injury or health problems. It shows with faith and determination one may accomplish great things in life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely Moving

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Evie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the most moving and insperational movies I have seen in a long time. I would recommend this for anyone who truely wants to succeed in life. This to me shows challenge, perserverience, and proof that anyone can succeed if they truely want.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Soul Surfer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME!

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Momof3
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is excellent. I am so happy to have my own copy of it. Bethany's faith is all throughout the movie and I just love how she was portrayed. Highly recommended!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>