Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. Systematic Theology Revised Edition

Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. Systematic Theology Revised Edition

For the first time in its long and acclaimed history, Louis Berkhof's monumental treatment of the doctrines of the Reformed faith is now available together in one volume with his Introduction to the Study of Systematic Theology, which serves as the prolegomenon to his theology. Designed to be read together with his Systematic Theology, the Introduction includes Berkhof's discussions of the nature and character of dogmatics, the methods and history of theological systematics, and the principia, or foundations, of theology: Scripture and God. This edition also includes a new preface by Richard A. Muller that explains both the publishing history and the relation and importance of the Introduction to the rest of Berkhof's text.

Written in a concise style and organized in a manner ideal for detailed study, Systematic Theology covers the full range of systematic loci including the doctrines of God, anthropology, Christology, soteriology, ecclesiology, and eschatology. The work also includes an extensive bibliography and full indexes to the authors, subjects, and Scriptures referenced in the text. Revised and enlarged throughout his lifetime until it reached its final form, Systematic Theology not only stands as Berkhof's magnum opus, but also is widely considered to be the most important twentieth-century compendium of Reformed theology.

Average Customer Rating:
4.483 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Review 1 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quality of the "Banner of Truth" version better!

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Isaac Curtis Johnson
Location:Clinton, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I truly love this work from Berkhof. His work saw me through many a seminary class. I love how everything is outlined and easy to find. He is also not overly long winded.
When I need to find something really quick and read on it fast, this is my turn to volume.
I would also recommend that you purchase the Banner Of Truth edition because the binding is much better. It looks as if the binding in that edition is sewn instead of glued, so the book stays open when on a table.
In this edition the binding is glued and closes up when not held open.
With that being said, you get more info in this expanded edition. So if you need the extra info this might be the way to go if you consider the price. So this edition is still a very good value.
Be Encouraged:-)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow, a must read for everyone

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Adam Ehret
Location:Alaska
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This systematic was great. I've read Calvin's Institutes, Charles Hodge systematic theology, Wayne Grudem Systematic Theology (in part) and a few others and I would list this systematic up there with the top 10 if not top 5 for sure. The language is on a higher educated level so a few good dictionaries would help you as well as if you are not familiar with Apologetics you will be doing some research while reading this. Also modern Apologetics has come up with some better arguments since the 1930's, as represented in this book but you will find that we are continuing to deal with the same arguments today that theologians have been dealing with since the late 18th century. Over all this book should be on every Pastor and Theologians shelf. For all the laymen out there this book will help you for years to come just be prepared to do a lot of studying and the rewards will continue to come. If Systematics like this were taught in all the seminaries across the country we might be living in a much more God centered America.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Warren Burrell
This book is always an excellent choice. I have the old edition but I just bought two of these new editions for friends of mine. This book will certainly add more weight to your library....wb
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kevin Snider
Great product and good resource for those studying theology. You may be better served getting the two volumes as separate books. The quality of binding and print is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Don Lord
This is a great classic systematic theology with a reformed slant. I always have one on my shelf or on my desk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ross Moebius
I love this book. Berkhof drags a little through his dogma structure, but once you realize his entire theology is based on that premise it makes sense.This book is an amazing asset for anyone looking to dive into theological study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Kirby
An classic systematic theology at an excellent price. This edition of the theology contains Professor Berkhof's own introduction, a useful addition.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ron Reid
A well written, thorough treatment of systematic theology. Scholarly and biblically sound. At $12.99 its a no-brainer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marie Falkenhagen
I was looking for a book that explained the Doctrines and this is something that I think should be in anyones library. It will be a big help to me understanding some things I had questions about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Del Ward
There was a great price on this product. Berkhof's Systematic is a classic of the Reformed Theology. It is a good reference work to have for all theologians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jacobus Arnoldus Stofberg
An absolute must for biblical scholars. Provides a great foundation/introduction on systematic theology. Great buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Philip Tang
Without doubt this is one of the best books on Systematic Theology from the Reformed perspective. Eerdmans has done a good job in publishing this combined edition which includes the "Introduction to the Study of Systematic Theology", not present in the one published by "The Banner of Truth"It is easy to read, the index is detailed and the headings and subheadings are a great help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Snover
I have only begun to read this book. I believe it is a book that every parent should buy for their young teens and ofer them a hundred dollars cash and a party in their honor if they read it with a notebook at hand and finish it before graduation from High School. No matter what denomination you are from Children need to discover that brains and genius are not the exclusive posession of secular world endeavors. This is an exciting and awesome book for child and adult, layman and scholar. At this price every Christian family that is not in financial distress should be required to purchace to maintain their membership in church. It is not the ONLY book one should read and own, but to miss it is to miss something in life. Berkhof is a scholastic and spiritual hero.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rev. Jim Barton
Solid in some of the necessary areas. Way off in all the prophetical areas. Being a dispensationalist, it is hard to understand how he can overlook, ignore, and misinterpret some of the great prophecies of the Bible. There was no Church in the Old Testament. This position is completely untenable. A great value despite this obvious error.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brian Olmstead
Excellent, scholarly treatise of Calvinism, also known as the doctrines of grace. I strongly recommend this edition to all who wish to have a strong knowledge of the Word of God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kelz
This is an excellent Systematic Theology. It is a standard Reformed systematic that should be in everyone's library, especially at this price. It is solid, sound, and reliable. However, the academic style of writing can make it seem a bit dry at times. Other than that, it is a great volume.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Somidotun Okubajo
The book is simple to read and understand. It explains issues quite well without loosing details and focus. It is difficult to drop the book whenever I start reading it. The author is quite an authority in teaching doctrine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Harry Ludwig
Excellent Reformed Systematic Theology! The addition of Berkhof's Prolegomena - a much neglected subject, today - is worth the price of the book by itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vaughn Shepherd
I love this material, I would probably have give a 5 rating but I have no finished the book yet; love it so far. Vaughn out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Systematic Theology Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
James Tolentino
This is a superb treatment of systematic theology.It reflects the fruit and labour of a scholar deeply committed to the reformed faith.A completely biblical sound commentary.I highly recommend this one as one of the finest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>