Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Snow Melts in Spring - eBook

Zondervan Snow Melts in Spring - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Review 1 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Honey
Location:OHIO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought the book was very good and the type I like to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debra Clark
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snow Melt in Spring was an excellent book. It is a story of forgiveness and learning that when God forgives you, you need to accept that forgiveness and forgive yourself. I could not put the book down (e-book)> It is a book that I could let my emotions feel what the characters were feeling. I found myself wanting to kick Gil McCray in the shins a few times as he just wasn't getting it. Awww. Great ending though. I love happy endings. Thanks so much, Deborah Vogts, it was a great book! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I found the story realistic and enjoyable.

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
paintlady
Location:Hawthorne, Nv
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The charactors are realistic people and their situations and reactions are believable. Having some experience with ranching l was taken back to some favorite memories. I will watch for more of Deborah's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly Edwards, Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
Deborah Vogts is a wonderful author and Snow Melts in Spring was her debut novel. I am truly thankful that Deborah allowed me to review this book before I read her second Seasons of the Tallgrass book, Seeds of Summer.In Snow Melts in Spring, Mattie is vet hired to take care of Dusty, her long time friend's son's horse who was hit by a drunk driver. She is struggling with not allowing her self to become attached to this horse, but then the owner, shows up and she's struggling even more with emotions and feelings! And then there's Gil. The son of her long time friend shows up after being gone for 2 years. He's an ex-NFL player and struggles with so many things! My heart went out to both of them, especially Gil. He wasn't sure what do, but when he learned to fully rely on God and put his heartache and trust in Him, he was so much better! I LOVED the feeling of belonging right along side both of these beautiful characters! I highly recommend you read this heart capturing book. It was extremely hard to put down and I had it read in 2 days! It is a wonderful 5 star story about forgiveness, belonging and trusting in God's will for your life. I loved this book and the characters that added depth, and I am anxious to start on Seeds of Summer! This is a series written by a wonderfully talented, highly recommended author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doris Ericson
It was a wonderful book. So hard to lay it down. Can't wait to get her next book. It was really a tear jerker at times. If she writes this well on her first book the next will be good to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Mires
I read this book, then bought one as a Christmas gift for my niece, who is a great horse lover. This is an inspiring story that draws you in and touches your heart. I'd recommend it for any horse lover, football fan, romance reader or anyone who has ever felt like they were losing their faith. The depth and surprising turns in this story will keep you reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Snow Melts in Spring is a good romance packed with tender moments between the main characters and yummy kisses that'd make any romance lover sigh. While a bit repetitious in some areas -like the reasons for the characters not being a good match, I still enjoyed the story and read it fairly quickly. I liked the heroine's vet job and some of the conflict she had resulting from a sense of failure even though she'd done the best she could. I also loved the guilt issue from a past action that plagued the hero and how the hero (for good reason) didn't want to share this information with anyone. As I read about their budding relationship I was reminded about how important it is to really like the person for who they are before allowing your heart to get sucked into a relationship because of feelings that happen when you are are attracted to someone. I also enjoyed how the author showed that wholesomeness was truly more attractive to a man who desires real love than seduction or the offer of a fling, which doesn't last and often creates disrespect for the person doing the seducing. The faith element in the story was also strong, as was the forgiveness theme and the message regarding the importance of family and heritage. This was a good story with a solid message and I definitely recommend it. The hero was pretty hot, too. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Neoma Foreman
Deborah Vogts debut novel, "Snow Melts in Spring" was a delightful read. At first I thought Mattie was wonderful and much too good for Gil, but after his attitude change, I changed my mind. I really like John McCray in spite of his crustiness. I'm looking forward to the rest of the series and hope she writes many more books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Merrie H
Snow Melts in Spring made me fall in love with horses again like Black Beauty did when I was a child. It swept me to the heart of the Flint Hills. And, it made me question the willingness of my heart to follow wherever God leads me. At just the right time, my copy of Snow Melts in Spring by Deborah Vogts arrived in my mailbox. I was excited to read this book because it is set in the uniquely beautiful Flint Hills of Kansas, and authored by a woman who loves of those hills. Her words took me straight to the heart of the matter - the love of horses, those rolling hills, and the struggle to have them both. I especially related to Mattie, the heroine of the story, a young independent woman with plans for the future. As a young veterinarian, she knows she will have to prove herself by challenging the stereotype of the old horse doctor. However, that battle dims in comparison to confronting of her own willingness to give up her beloved Flint Hills when God squeezes an unexpected love named Gil into her heart offering a new future far from Kansas. I thoroughly enjoyed Snow Melts in the Spring and am looking forward to the next book in the Seasons of the Tallgrass series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2009
This was a beautiful love story. The pain and care that was given the injured horse seemed so real. One could almost see the scenery as it was discribed. I enjoyed the way the story ended and am waiting for the author's next book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Deborah Vogts debut novel Snow Melts in Spring , the first in the Seasons of the Tallgrass series, is full of romance, and untamed emotions that only God can teach us to conquer.I love Deborahs characters. She made them believable and easy to get along with. I was right away drawn to the heroine of the story Mattie and her love for the land and her heart for service. I liked her drive and personality, but I loved that she had issues as well and that she needed to work them out.Gil the leading man was interesting. You love him, you get mad at him; and yet you see that hes just fighting his own nightmares. I like the pull that Deborah gives in him; strong-willed and yet caught like a deer in headlights at some points it made him seem real.I loved John, Gils dad! He was hilarious with his crotchety nature. It reminded me a lot of my grandfather and put a big smile on my face because the love he had given Mattie was something special that every girl needs.It was a quick read. I read it in about 4 hours (straight.. couldnt put it down!!)If youre looking for some good romance and heart bouncing, this is a great book for your summer reads. There is wisdom in these pages, and ironically hit me right where I was this week with my struggles, so it really has hit a soft spot with me as I can relate to it a lot! Ill even admit it had me teary-eyed in a few spots! The horses, the open fields, the family land issues yeah I like! It took me away for a few hours!You can bet your booties Ill be looking for the next book in Deborahs Seasons of the Tallgrass series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carman Boley
This is a heartwarming tale about letting go of guilt, and following your true dreams. I loved how Deborah matched Dustys stages of healing with that of his owners, and how she used Mattie to get Gil to face up to his past. This book really shows that the dreams we sometimes want, arent really the ones that will make us happy, and that we should give everything to God. Because when we give it to Him, He can give us something so much better in return. I was on the edge of my seat there at the end, but everything turns out wonderfully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Martha Bross
As a former resident of "Charris County," I must say that Ms. Vogts has described the setting - scenery, climate, buildings - to perfection. The characters, primary and secondary, are completely true-to-the-area. And, the story line keeps the pages turning. Conflict, sexual tension, romance, suspense, with overall Christian values - all there in Snow Melts in Spring.This is a wonderful debut novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Sullivan
I thought this book was a very good book this held my interest..I enjoyed this book from cover to cover..thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Martha Artyomenko
This story involves a mystery, romance, family conflict and a wonderful story of animals you won't want to miss! In the beginning a horse in seriously injured and instead of putting it down, the local vet is called in to perform a miracle. As the story moves on with mystery surrounding the horse's owner who the vet's best friend, John McCray's son and they don't get along. I enjoyed the interaction between Mattie and animals as well as her clients! The secret pains that wound around both hers, Gil's and John's life were told in a wonderful way where you felt their pain in each way. You will enjoy this beautiful story!As someone stated above, I am not a huge sports fan and I was happy too that the sports theme, although touched on, was just inthe background and not the theme of the book. It was well written and really kept you reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Mattie Evans is a Vet who is called to come examine a horse that is hit by two teenagers who were drunk driving. The house isn't going well and Mattie thinks it should be put down but the father of the owner refuses to let that be the case. Gil McCray is his son and has loved this horse all his life and money is no object in getting this horse well.Gil McCray is a pro football player who left home to run from a lot of problems he didn't want to deal with. He had worked in rodeos until his brother died. There is a lot of circumstances that could discourage any of us today and this book deals with how people respond in those situations. They are issues of love, forgiveness, bitterness between parent and child and drunk driving issues. I liked how Deborah showed that relationships developing into a romance don't always come without rough areas to deal with. I will not give away the ending of the book but tell you that it leaves you rejoicing and feeling the full impact of how we impace others in life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2009
I loved this book! Deb Vogts novel, Snow Melts in Spring, will keep you turning pages and guessing until the end when the final decision is made. Gil McCray is haunted by his past and estranged from his father, but he returns to his hometown after retirement from professional football to see about his horse that has been injured in an accident. Mattie Evans is the vet trying to save the horse and in the process heal the break between Gil and his father. True to life characters making decisions that affect more than the person making it give this book a story that will delight, frustrate, and amuse the reader. The descriptions of the settings are such that I want to find the Flint Hills in Kansas. Dont miss this fast-paced story that heals hurts and changes lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
mary beth
Author Deborah Vogts brings the Kansas prairie alive in her debut novel Snow Melts in Spring. This was a wonderful read. The prose is almost lyrical, a love song to the rolling Flint Hills of Kansas. Ms. Vogts does and incredible job with her setting. The prairie becomes another character in the book. It all sounds so peaceful and the way of life so simple. It was a wonderful escape from my technological wonderland.I thoroughly enjoyed this inspirational sweet contemporary romance. With the themes of forgiveness and renewal center stage amidst the family conflict, Ms. Vogts characters draw you into their inner struggles and painful losses. She develops the romance slowly with friendship first and when Mattie and Gil share their first kiss, it is just sweeps you away. What a lovely escape. This is an impressive debut novel and I look forward to many more to come. Well done, Ms. Vogts, Well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patty LeBlanc
Mattie is a veterinarian who has been called out to the scene of an accident where a horse was hit by a car. She doesn't hold out much hope for the horse, yet the owner, John McCray, has asked her to do all she can. Little does she know, the real owner of the horse is none other than local football hero, Gil McCray, John's son. Once Gil comes to town to see to the care of his horse, many things happen that cause him to question why he came back. This is a very heartwarming story about finding forgiveness in oneself and acceping the love and forgivess from our savior. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole story and the characters involved. It was a pure joy to read, and I look forward to more work from Deborah Vogts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Snow Melts in Spring - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carrie Turansky
Deborah Vogts debut novel is a winner! Her memorable characters and well paced plot made this a very enjoyable read. You can tell Deborah knows and loves country life, and that made the book special. The family secrets and challenging relationships added depth to the romance. Best of all the spiritual threads were well-woven into the story and made it very meaningful. I will look forward to reading the next book in this new series. Great job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>