Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ligonier Ministries ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray

Ligonier Ministries ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray

Now with maps!

Widely considered one of the best tools available for Bible study and previously only available in the New King James Version, the Reformation Study Bible (RSB) has been updated to the readable and accurate English Standard Version (ESV).

Respected theologian Dr. R.C. Sproul, founder and chairman of Ligonier Ministries, served as this study Bible's general editor. "The Reformation Study Bible contains a modern restatement of Reformation truth in its comments and theological notes. Its purpose is to present the light of the Reformation afresh," stated Dr. Sproul.

The thousands of in-depth study notes included in the RSB were compiled from over 50 distinguished biblical scholars, including Drs. J.I. Packer, James Boice, and Wayne Grudem. In addition to the comprehensive study notes, the RSB offers readers extended discussions on the authority of Scripture, the atonement, and other key aspects of biblical theology.

The RSB is intended for use by anyone who wants a deeper understanding of the Scriptures. The reader will appreciate book introductions, an extensive cross-reference system, and illuminated words and terms within the Bible that are crucial to an in-depth understanding. This new edition in the ESV is published by Ligonier Ministries.

Features:
  • Theological Notes index
  • In-text maps index
  • Charts index
  • Section introductions (Pentateuch, History, etc)
  • Book Introductions
  • Passage headings
  • Double-column format
  • Center-column references
  • Black letter edtion
  • Concordance
  • Ribbon Marker
  • 8 pages of full-color maps
  • 9.50" x 7.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 out of 4896%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Review 1 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for daily studies

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Big D
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First I love the brown like leather cover. It has several blank pages in front of bible for personal notes. I'm also loving the ESV translation, it's got a good flow to the reading of it. Easy to understand. The theological notes are very helpful for learning doctrine and understanding some of the heavier topics. Love it!!! BIG D
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good quality Bible

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
going slow
Location:Dyersburg, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good quality Bible for a reasonable price. My only problem with it, which is not a major one, is that the pages are a little thin. It is easy to read, both for content and the size of the print. I expect to use this Bible for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best All-Around Study Bible Available!

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bob A
Location:Weatherford, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you could only own one bible, this would be it. Excellent quality. The comments and theological notes are succinct and extremely helpful. Lots of extras, but for me, the comments and the notes make this a matchless bible. It's the first place I turn to for verse exposition. Thank you R. C. Sproul for doing such a magnificent job on this study bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Value!

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
jjvjhv
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy to find affordable hardcover pew Bibles. These are excellent, and fantastic quality for the the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice addition to my study bible library

Date:May 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Steven
Location:Burbank, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study bible has great study notes, clear and definitive answers on multiple topics and a nice edition to my bible library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an awesome bible!!!!!

Date:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Johnny
Location:Gainesville, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
R.C. Sproul is one of my heroes of the faith! What a fantastic bible that he edited.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
scottie
Location:Roxana,IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The study overveiw captions concerning specific doctrines of christianity and the study notes and cross references are absolutely amazingly excellent, I am completely satisfied, although I can never get enough...
I love God and His truth. I want to thank you and all others for the time, energy and effort that wa s give to produce the Reformation Study Bible.
Sincerely;
Scott R. Clover.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susie
Location:Greenville, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV Reformation Study Bible has been given to new members and graduates for years from our church. It is easy to read and is filled with extra study notes and historical information at the beginning of each chapter. This is an excellent study Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoy reading this because of all the background information about the customs and easy to understand.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is Sound Reformed Theology

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Todd Zulick
Location:Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV version is an accurate translation and easy read for today. The footnotes are an asset from a Reformed perspective. This Bible is a must for anyone who studies God's Word in their research and depth of meaning.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joserjedi
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
The text of the ESV is clear and concise. The studies and theological notes are superb and rich in doctrine. The notes are excellent in giving so much information. The leather is beautiful and the binding is great. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really like the way this Bible is laid out

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
rdlewis
Location:Duncan, South Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though I am not part of the Reformed tradition, I like the way this Bible is put together and the notes are very informative. I especially like the ESV translation for its accuracy and readability.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The ESV version of the bible is easy to read

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Boompa
Location:Grayson, Georgia 30017
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The verses flow for easy understanding as well as the Holy Spirit touching your heart.
Arthur Mac Dorton, Jr. I have been at Ingleside Presbyterian Church in Snellville Georgia all of my 66 years.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeff
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Theological Notes alone make this wonderful bible a must for every Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very well designed product

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jim B
Location:Birmingham, Al
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As much as I hate to call the Word of God a product, I refer to this as a book and not THE Book. I bought this as a visitor Bible for the church body that I attend. I have used it and found it to be the best size for personal use and if you have someone else that needs to look on.
I have not owned it long enough to say it is excellent quality. The binding might give away or it come unglued. Initial appearance is a very good quality.
I also have not used this particular product to see how the references and such are useful. I have read a little of the commentary on some of the verses and it appeared helpful.
I'm not sure the Reformation Study Bible is a perfect match for some, but it appears quite adequate to help you grow in your spiritual walk.
Yes, I'd recommend it to friends and enemies alike. You can do a lot worse, I'm not sure whether you could do a lot better in giving this as a gift.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
This review is fromESV Reformation Study Bible, (2nd Edition), Leather-like, Tan.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ron Coward
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a hard back edition and have enjoyed it. I like the TrueTone binding very much and have enjoyed the Bible with the reformed notes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Travis
Location:Orange, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the bible, but the only let down is that there is less study notes than I thought that there would be. Which bums me out, but other than that it's an awesome bible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Dissappointed

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
tgrodecki
Location:St. Petersburg, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love the ESV and love the Reformation Study Bible. My objection is this. I ordered the Grey, thinking that the page edges would be silver. I prefer Bibles with silver pages. What I got was grey with gold page edges. Talk about an ugly looking Bible. If you are ordering the grey and expecting silver page edges, don't waste your money.
-15points
5of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, and Conservative Study Bible

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV is a good translation. The format and content of the Reformation Study Bible is excellent. I have noticed that the commentary in this Bible is more conservative and true to historical and traditional Christianity than the commentary in the ESV Study Bible (I have both). That's the main reason I prefer the RSB to the ESV Study Bible. I am NOT calling the ESV Study Bible a liberal Bible by any means, just mentioning my observations. I do not give this Bible a 5 rating because the genuine leather could be better quality.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Reformation Study Bible (2nd Edition), Leather-Like, Gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Freda
Location:Northern Ireland
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with my purchase and would certainly come back if I need other material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.