Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realms Darkness Follows

Realms Darkness Follows

When Sam Travis discovers a Civil War journal---in his own handwriting---he's mystified. But when more accounts mimicking Sam's own life appear, he becomes obsessed with Union Lieutenant Whiting---and is drawn into a deadly plot. Can Sam's daughter, Eva, break the spell before a killer pulls the trigger on Sam's past? 304 pages, softcover from Realms.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Darkness Follows
Review 1 for Darkness Follows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You better hold on!

Date:June 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
efostino
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an adrenaline pumping, roller coaster ride! Be sure to take your blood pressure medication before reading this book! It had me holding my breath waiting to see what was going to happen next! It was dark, creepy, disturbing, thrilling, suspenseful, all the goodies! Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Darkness Follows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Downward Spiral of Darkness

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Darkness Follows” combines the elements of a psychological thriller, a supernatural suspense novel, and the intrigue of a sinister political conspiracy. Within the first few pages I became engaged in life of Mike Dellosso’s protagonist, Sam Travis. Dellosso vividly describes the diagnosis of Sam’s auditory hallucinations, his depression, and the dark ominous psychosis Sam experiences as he relives the details of his brother’s death twenty- years earlier.
Sam Travis, a self-employed carpenter, fell 20 feet off a roof in an accident. He suffered a severe trauma injury to his head. I felt like an outsider looking on, empathizing, as Sam deals with impending madness, a slave to the shadowy figures of darkness, the voice of Tom, his dead brother, and the sounds of battle all around him. Add to Sam’s confusion the journal of a Civil War Army Captain written in Sam’s own handwriting and you will understand why the madness has only begun.
A strong theme of family love and the importance of the importance of accepting God's unconditional love is woven throughout the novel, a non-judgmental, non-preaching message.
A complex fast moving plot features a broad array of characters, haunted by their past, driven by forces good and evil beyond their control or understanding. Intense story telling – highly suspenseful.
A complimentary copy of the book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own. As reviewed for Midwest Book Review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Darkness Follows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
conductor
Location:Grayson. KY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't put it down! Every chapter ends like a cliff hanger!
You are compelled to keep on reading! Start reading Dellosso! You'll be glad you did.
Conductor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Darkness Follows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

His Best Writing to Date

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I started reading mike Dellosso’s work with Scream. I wasn’t impressed in all honesty. Then I tried again with Darlington Woods and that was rather quite good. Darkness Follows is Dellosso’s best and I can say with confidence that he has definitely grown into his writing chops now. By far his best novel, Darkness Follows is at once suspenseful, haunting, eerie, and downright scary at times. I’m glad I kept reading Dellosso and didn’t give up with his earlier works.
On the heels of a traumatic brain injury self-employed carpenter Sam Travis finds himself struggling with hallucinations – both visual and auditory – from the Civil War, but perhaps most disturbingly from sessions of automatic writing. Penned in his own hand, yet without any recollection of these writing episodes, Sam finds himself writing out journal entries from the Civil War; journal entries that speak of a darkness that Sam himself finds invading his life.
As the whirlwind of darkness from both the distant and near past threatens to overwhelm him, only the hope and light set forth before him by his family – a loving daughter and wife and their prayers – have any chance of redeeming his future.
Darkness Follows is certainly a thrill ride. From its first opening pages I was kept on tenterhooks wondering what was going on I did find that some of Dellosso’s doctrine was a bit murky as presented in the book – it was unclear if Sam was truly a Christian before the events recounted in the story, or if he only became one later in the story.
Personally, I do not believe that Christians are vulnerable to the types of events that Sam suffered from (it’s a bit tricky to phrase this without including spoilers). Again, this is a bit unclear, so I can’t say much here definitively. The conclusion is also a bit abrupt with explanations only being offered in one rapid wrap-up piece of ‘Scooby-Doo’ like revelation (a bit of a pet peeve of mine).
That being said, this is certainly a well-written work of supernatural suspense. Dellosso undoubtedly succeeded in keeping me flying through the pages of his latest work. As his craft continues to mature I have hopes that we will see some truly great books from him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Darkness Follows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Edge of Your Seat Thrill Ride From The First Page!

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sam Travis isn't quite sure how to put his life back together. After suffering from a fall, twenty stories from a roof he was working on and landing on his head, he has difficulty processing thoughts and organizing things after waking up from a coma after several weeks.
If it wasn't for his wife Molly, who has nursed him back to health, he isn't sure where he'd be at right now. His daughter Eva's love for him is unconditional just as it would be for any father.
However when Sam begins hearing his brother Tommy's voice in the middle of the night, he knows something is wrong inside. See Tommy has been dead for twenty one years. When Sam begins to black out during these auditory hallucinations, he awakens to find he has written something. A portion of a journal from a man by the name of Samuel Whiting, who served in the battle of Gettysburg. Yet it's in Sam's own handwriting. What he writes is eerie in detail but also in the claims of some kind of darkness that he following him, asking him to do his bidding.
Is this merely a coincidence, or has this darkness found it's way to Sam Travis as well and is using the writing to speak to him? Sam's daughter, Eva is worried. She insists that she is being told by a man, Jacob, who looks like he's been rolled in glue and covered in glitter, that her daddy is about to do something really bad. She needs to pray for him, to let him know that Jesus loves him and so does she. Her parents chalk this up to an imaginary friend.
In the latest novel, Darkness Follows by Mike Dellosso, the reader is catapulted from the first page into a walking nightmare along with Sam Travis. While his daughter and wife attempt to come to grips with the sanity that seems to be slipping away from Sam, he struggles to make sense with what is real and what he appears to be hallucinating. This is action packed with suspense and horror on page after page when you travel along the dark road with Sam into the nightmare he truly did not see coming, but his daughter did. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars.
I did not see where this one was headed and I love that. Too many times when reading a suspense thriller, you can anticipate where it is going, and Mike Dellosso keeps you on the edge, the very edge. Not sure what will happen next, you will be holding your breath til the very end. I received this book compliments of Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Tours for my honest review and can say Mike Dellosso is part of my permanent library and one of my favorite authors. I can't wait to read his previous books as well as Frantic coming out soon. A word of caution, you may just want to read this one with the light on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Darkness Follows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting and Scary!

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Location:Atlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don’t normally read books like this one but after I read Darlington Woods for book club I discovered that his books weren’t as scary as I thought they were. I’m a chicken at heart and don’t read books that make me sleep with the light on at night. Mike Delloso showed me through his last book that he can bring a depth and understanding to his characters and their situations that didn’t frighten me. It made reading the book more enlightening. So, I was anxious to receive a review copy of Mike’s new book.
Sam Travis lives in Gettysburg, PA and was recuperating from a serious injury he had received on the job. He’s been going a little stir crazy at home and got up often at night because he couldn’t sleep. One night he hears his brother calling him downstairs. He goes down there and sees nothing. Suddenly the glass window to his house shatters and wakes up the whole house. This is the beginning of a complex, compelling story that made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up and gripped my emotions as I read each page.
The police investigate, and find no clues. No bullets and no notes. Sam and his wife are stumped as to who would do such a thing. The reader is too! Later Sam discovers a story inside his little girl’s notebook written in his handwriting. He reads it. A soldier named Samuel has written about a battle in the Civil War and how he has to do something about Abraham Lincoln to stop the violence.
Sam had no recollection of writing the story he found in his office. He’s not a history buff and can’t quite figure out what Samuel(the author of the letter) is talking about in the note. How could he have written it? This was the beginning of some really bizarre events. Mike Delloso has you on the edge of your seat trying to figure out what’s real, what’s not and afraid of what might happen next.
Sam Travis starts to have flashbacks from his tragic childhood. There is a soldier character named Samuel who wants to end the war and keeps appearing to Sam through these notes, then there’s Jacob, his little girl Eva’s imaginary friend, who looks like he glows with glitter and finally a man who’s on a killing spree-why-how does this fit in? How do all these pieces and characters fit together? Sam and his wife didn’t know what to make of it and either does the reader until the end. Mike weaves a fascinating, intricate, intriguing story line I found captivating.
I liked how Mike wove real historical events into this story with Abraham Lincoln, the Civil War and a story about the first Minnesota battle. I also like how Sam learned along with the reader about history, Sam says, “Why did these men do such a thing in Minnesota? They had to have known they were embarking on their last charge, their last stand. What was in for them? They would never kiss their wives again, never hold their children. What made a man willingly do such a think? Bravery? Fear? Insanity? Dumb Obedience?” He wondered.
Mike tackled several pretty serious and sensitive issues like mental illness in his book. I had just watched a show about a family who was afraid to live with their middle school aged child and what they did about it. Some parents have done nothing, and couldn’t wait to release their child into society to fend for themselves. It’s a scary thing! Because I saw this show the matter was more real and made the events in this book even scarier! Yikes!
I like the author’s notes at the end that helped tie up a few things for me. I adored Sam’s little daughter Eva and her faith in God and love for her Daddy. I also enjoyed getting to know more about the Civil War and what men went through at that time. Once again I was memorized and gripped by this authors enthralling tale. You will be too!
Nora St.Laurent
The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Darkness Follows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gripping fiction....

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Martha
Location:Kalispell, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not really a book you want to read before bed….which is what I did! = ) Gripping fiction at it’s best…
This combination of spiritual suspense, murder, along with the deep love of a daughter for her father was written in a compelling way. This man has been injured and suffers from a Traumatic brain injury, something I am very familiar with. I sat and suffered along with his wife, wondering how she was going to make it through it. Mr. Dellosso weaves a compelling story of angels, a man growing up with childhood memories and brain injuries that are causing this man to be haunted for a civil war man, whom he has never even known. The story has many different twists and turns and will keep you reading, when you should be going to sleep!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Darkness Follows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spine tingling thriller with message of love

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Darkness Follows by Mike Dellosso is a haunting novel of a father's love. Samuel Travis is recovering from a brain injury that has kept him confined in his home for the last several months and took away his job. Sam is frustrated with his loss of ability and independence and wife Molly and seven-year-old daughter Eva have to bear up under his mood swings. Sam's recovery takes a dark turn when he suddenly starts hearing the voice of his brother Tommy who has been dead for two decades and then finding diary entries from a Civil War soldier written in Sam's own handwriting. Sam tries to put together to clues to understand what's going on while Eva begins having conversations with an imaginary friend named Jacob who looks as though he was dipped in glue and rolled in glitter and tells Eva to tell Sam that she loves him and that Jesus does as well. Meanwhile Pennsylvania state senator Stephen Lincoln has had a sudden change of heart about abortion and is seen by a turncoat by Democrats and possible presidential hopeful by the Republicans. Lincoln is preparing to give the speech of his lifetime in Gettysburg on the anniversary and site of President Lincoln's famous Gettysburg address. And a mysterious man named Symon has come to town with Eva as his target and a quick trigger finger and a obsession with asking his victims if they recognize him. All of these stories come together in a riveting and gut-wrenching climax that left me gasping. Dellosso's writing is absolutely compelling and thrilling. Read this one with the lights on with plenty of time to go from beginning to the last page without stopping for a single bathroom break and for some sections even a single breath! I look forward to every one of Dellosso's books with great anticipation; he's that good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Darkness Follows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light vs Darkness

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After suffering a closed-head injury, which left Sam Travis disabled, he's feeling worthless as a provider for his family, wife Molly and daughter Eva.
One night Sam's awakened by the sounds of a Civil War raging outside his Gettysburg home, but he knows the summer reenactments are over, so he gets up to see what's happening. Checking outside, he hears and finds nothing, and goes to sleep on the couch.
The next morning he finds a notebook about 1863 Civil War days written by a certain Captain Samuel Whiting. Only problem is, it's written in Sam Travis's handwriting. This is only the beginning of his `writings' that take place at night and during daytime `fugues.' He checks outside once more before waking his family. He hears a gunshot and the front window explodes, waking both Molly and Eva. Police are called and nothing is resolved.
About this same time, Eva begins to have dreams of her daddy's safety. She also has a `friend,' Jacob, who warns little Eva about her daddy and stresses that she must let him know that she loves him and so does Jesus.
Unbeknownst to Sam, a serial killer is stalking his family, particularly his daughter, for an unconscionable reason. In studying the writings, Sam finds a hidden connection to the writings and his life, leading him to disappear-leaving his family unprotected.
If you've read any of Mike's books before, you know you are in for the ride of your life. Eerie, unexplainable, evil things happen that make no sense in the real world. Mystifying messages, innocent lives being taken, the haunting voice of an older, dead brother, and the eventual abduction of a little girl.
The action switches back and forth at a rapid pace, challenging you to keep abreast of the circumstances, yet feels real enough to hold your attention. The actions of Symon and Sam have similar trappings, only in the reverse. One doesn't know who he is and wants to know, while the other knows who he is and gets lost in otherworldly evil.
The unwavering, strong love of little Eva for her daddy's safety, all the while that Molly keeps reassuring her that he knows of her love and that he will be safe, tugs at your very heartstrings, and is the impetus to bring her daddy to God's love.
This story is written based on real writings, some of which you read in this book, that were written in the same manner as this story. This is one of Mike's strongest books that displays the presence of good versus evil. And if you don't believe in the supernatural, both good and evil, you will before the end of this book! A powerful story of the power of love!
Special thanks to Anna Coelho Silva | Publicity Coordinator, Charisma House | Charisma Media for sending me a review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Darkness Follows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense masterpiece

Date:May 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What do the Civil War, an accident, and a troubled past have in common? For a man on the brink of despair, they are all part of an evil plot to kill Lincoln. When you find yourself on the brink of insanity, you may find yourself unable to control your thoughts and your actions. Sam Travis is a man on the edge with a daughter who loves him and wants him to know that Jesus loves him, too.
“Darkness Follows” is Mike Dellosso’s latest suspense-filled novel that captures the imagination and won’t let it rest until the final page. Sam Travis believes he is going insane in his own war within himself when he discovers a journal of a Union soldier written in his own handwriting. Soon his discoveries will lead him on a journey into darkness that alters his life and that of his family forever. Will he find the goodness inside himself before he destroys his life? Will he push his family away from him because of the secrets he has held so close to his heart?
Set aside four uninterruptible hours to read this book because there is no putting it down. Also, if you are on Facebook, you will want to become a fan (Click here) to keep posted on upcoming books and events.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Charisma House as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.