Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook

David C. Cook Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.755 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
52 out of 5398%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Claywalkerfan
Location:Tulsa ok
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blowing on dandelions
Always love a good historical. This is definitely a good one.
Katherine is a widow and runs a boarding house, her sister that was taking of her mother recently passed away and now her mother is going to stay with her. Katherine's mother is always picking on everything she does and makes her feel insecure.
Micah Jacobs is also a widow with a son. Katherine has two daughters and the oldest, Lucy, becomes friends with Micah son.
There is a fire at the livery where Micah and his son lives, when the fire happens they lose everything, Katherine invites them to stay at the boardinghouse. Then Mrs. Roberts and her niece,Beth, comes to town and stays at the boardinghouse. Katherine has "fun" trying to get everyone to get along.
A very good book and well worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical romance with character depth

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blowing on Dandelions, set in Baker City, Oregon in 1880, is the first book in Miralee Ferrell's Love Blossoms in Oregon series. Like other books I've read of Miralee's, this story deals with life/family issues - namely, long-running conflict between a mother and daughter. Both narrative and plot are strong, and we are introduced to some very interesting characters.
Katherine is a character I sympathized with and admired from the beginning - a daughter who felt unwanted, unable to measure up to her domineering mother's expectations. "Always her memory returned to those times when the dandelion fluff had carried her away to a place where mothers were loving and kind, and little girls didn't need to be afraid of cutting words or sharp voices." The quiet, rugged strength of Micah Jacobs is exactly what Katherine needs, and while the mother/daughter conflict takes center stage, their romance is sweet and enjoyable.
Miralee very effectively uses the vehicle of a boardinghouse to place an unusual assortment of characters in close vicinity, and even more conflict is introduced with the arrival of guest Wilma Roberts, who I grew to love. Wilma is an imposing and proud woman, yet she senses that Katherine's mother is lonely and determines to become her friend. And then there's the mysterious Jeffery Tucker, who I suspect we will see much more of.
Katherine's mother, Frances, is an extremely abrasive character who made me even more thankful than I already am for the wonderful mother I was blessed with. Anyone who has experienced family conflict can relate to this story and be inspired by the hope that it offers. I like the slow, but steady spiritual growth that several characters experience.
One of the best things about a series is getting to continue on with certain characters, and I look forward to what Miralee has in store for us in Wishing on Buttercups, which releases on February 1, 2014. Recommended to those who enjoy historical romance and relationship drama.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Seeing the a Hearts in Relationships

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachs Ramblings
Location:Bangor, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathleen, a widow, runs a boarding house in the 1880's in Oregon. She has two daughters with whom I totally fell in love. Kathleen's mother is coming, and she is not looking forward to the visit. Her mom has always needed her own way, spoke so strictly, and doesn't appear at all to love her. Kathleen struggles with trying to respect her mother while not letting her totally run her life. She wants to honor her mother as God says, but she finds that more and more difficult. The oldest daughter gets frustrated that her mother refuses to stand up for herself.
Mr. Jacobs and his son have just moved to town and started a new business when a fire claims pretty much everything. He will soon find out that God hasn't forgotten him, and He will supply all his needs, including being able to stay at the local boardinghouse until he recovers from his injuries. He doesn't expect it as he is angry with God for taking his wife.
This is a story all about relationships. One of my favorite things about the story is that it isn't just from one point of view. Therefore, when the mother thinks she is only helping, she comes across as controlling and sometimes downright mean. Kathleen, of course, can only hear the words and see the actions. She can't see the motives behind them or the heart. This will make one think twice before being so hasty in judging thoughts and actions as some people have a hard time really saying what they mean. I think each reader can find a character to whom they can relate.
This really is a well written story that will give you something to dwell on when thinking of the relationships we readers have in our own lives. Thoroughly enjoyed and highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do Dandelion Wishes Actually Come True?
Katherine Galloway knew this moment of calm wouldn't last, blown away like the dandelion seeds she scattered as a girl. In 1880, three years after her husband’s death, she struggles to run an Oregon boardinghouse and raise two girls alone. Things don't get easier when her critical, domineering mother moves in. Katherine must make the situation work, but standing up for herself and her family while honoring her mother isn't easy. And with a daughter entering the teenage years, the pressure on Katherine becomes close to overwhelming. Then she crosses paths with Micah Jacobs, a widower who could reignite her heart, but she fears a relationship with him might send things over the edge. She must find the strength, wisdom, hope, and faith to remake her life, for everything is about to change.
My Review:
Despite the heartaches of life, Katherine has endured it all with grace and strength. After the tragic death of her husband, she bravely plunges on and successfully manages a boarding house in Oregon while raising two daughters alone. When her bossy, overbearing, meddlesome mother decides to move in with her, Katherine is unable to refuse her a home. On top of everything swirling around her life, a widower moves into town with his son. Katherine drew closer to God when she became a widow, but Micah drew away and turned his back to God.
Like all good romances, there has to be a conflict between main characters of some kind. Surprisingly, the secondary conflict between Katherine and her mother was highly entertaining - more so than the intended romantic tension between Micah and Katherine as they work towards the idea of a new life together. The characters were memorable, and even the small side stories of Micah and Katherine's children and townspeople proved enchanting and endearing. Overall, this was a great novel, and I am looking forward to more in the series!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blowing on Dandelions

Date:January 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
calliegh
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blowing on Dandelions delves into the most personal of relationships. It brings the relationships of mother/daughter, father/son, husband/wife, pastor/congregation, families and townspeople/individuals. Set during the 1800's, these relationships were very prominent back then. Often these relationships were the difference between life and death back then.
Katherine Galloway was widowed three years ago. She has chosen to stay and try to balance her life of being a widow, a business woman before they were accepted, and a mother. Enter her own overbearing mother with whom she has had a tumultuous relationship all of her life. Next comes Micah Jacobs. He is a newly widowed. He is struggling to find his footing with God, his son, and his new business venture. Add to the mix the other townspeople and other boardinghouse boarders and you have the mix for not only a true to life book but a often comical look at life during the 1800s.
Miralee Ferrell writes her book so that her characters actually come to life from the page. I was so able as a reader to relate to the characters. I had a horrible relationship but instead of my mother it was with my father. I too strove to get his approval or his praise all of my life. Katherine does the same with her mother. Like Katherine I was raised to respect my elders. I did not speak back against him no matter how much his words hurt. It can be a very paralyzing feeling. Looking back, I am not sure though if my was out of respect for him or fear of him. But Miralee captured the feeling of Katherine's pain and her ability to shut down her feelings so that the words maybe didn't hit as hard very well.
I read the preview to the next book at that back of this one. I cannot wait to visit this Oregon town again and find out how the characters will come to life in the next book. I want to thank those for the opportunity to read and review this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Captivating Story!

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britney Adams
Blowing on Dandelions will capture your heart with the very first page and won't let go until the last page has been turned. Even then, the story will linger and leave you eagerly anticipating the next book in the Love Blossoms in Oregon series.
The characters that come and go through the Oregon boardinghouse each have a unique story. Miralee Ferrell does a wonderful job creating rich characters and vivid descriptions. The emotions she so eloquently portrays will warm your heart and inspire you. Blowing on Dandelions is a beautiful story of strength, determination, faith, hope, and love!
I highly recommend Blowing on Dandelions and can't wait to get my hands on the next book in this series, Wishing on Buttercups, which releases in February 2014.
I was privileged to receive a copy of this book through a giveaway on the author's website. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and no monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blowing on Dandelions ~ A Great Study of Human Rel

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
RebHart
Location:Portland, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Historical fiction and romance novels are not my favorite genres so for me to actually complete reading a book that combines both was unusual! I heard about Blowing on Dandelions when the author, Miralee Ferrell, spoke at a librarians' meeting that I attended. I enjoyed hearing her describe the story's leading characters and the research that went into the setting of the story so I purchased the book.
I was pleasantly surprised to find myself drawn into the story, wondering throughout if Katherine and her mother would ever come to terms with their misunderstanding of one another. At one point Katherine says of her impossible-to-love mother: "I've tried to love her, truly I have. More times than I can count. But she makes it so difficult. She's full of sharp edges and flings out her opinion without a thought of what it might do. She has wounded me so many times I've felt like a battle-worn soldier who crawled back to his hole to die." That's all I will say about that!
The book does a great job of showing that every person's life carries a behind-the-scenes story, one that we may or may not know, making it important that we take care not to just assume that we know why a person acts in ways we don't understand or like.
I'm looking forward to reading the sequel, Wishing on Buttercups, to learn more about the characters that were introduced in Blowing on Dandelions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God is in the business of miracles!!

Date:November 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
TonyaTells
Location:Goldendale, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miralee did such an excellent job with this book, I can't even begin to explain.
This book has relationships at its finest. Mother/daughter relationships can be like a minefield. Us woman are so complicated and when you have mothers and daughters, both wanting the end result from each, it can be a difficult course to navigate.
The setting is the 1800's, we have a widow and her 2 daughters running a boardinghouse. Katherine ends up with a house full, full of characters you will come to love! Mr Tucker has a story behind him and I can't wait to find out more!
But for this book, we focus on Katherine and Micah. Micah's house burns down and him and his son Zachary end up staying at the boardinghouse, reliant on the charity of Katherine. Katherine's mom is not happy about this. She has a sharp tongue and doesn't hold anything back. Mother and daughter relationship has been strained forever with this poison. Can it ever be mended? Miralee's message of what God can do rings throughout this wonderful heart warming story!
Can't wait for the next part!
I received a copy from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a delightful historical romance

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beverly
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A delightful historical romance set in 1880. Katherine Galloway is a young widow who is trying to run a boardinghouse in a time period when women are rarely business owners. Her life becomes even more complicated when her sharp tongued mother comes to live with her after the death of her sister. Katherine struggles to remain respectful of her mother when she has felt unloved by her since her childhood and still continues to be ridiculed by her. Can their already strained relationship withstand the trials of living within the same household? Can Katherine find a chance at love while her mother hovers over her every move? And how can she even dream of the possibility of finding a husband when her first loyalty is to her children? Find the answers to these, and many more questions, as you find the story taking some unexpected turns. You will find the subjects of loneliness, honor, love, respect, trust, and forgiveness woven within the storyline.
A copy of this book was provided to me by bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review. The opinions within this review are my own and no further compensation was given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do Dandelion Wishes Actually Come True?
Katherine Galloway knew this moment of calm wouldn't last, blown away like the dandelion seeds she scattered as a girl. In 1880, three years after her husband’s death, she struggles to run an Oregon boardinghouse and raise two girls alone. Things don't get easier when her critical, domineering mother moves in. Katherine must make the situation work, but standing up for herself and her family while honoring her mother isn't easy. And with a daughter entering the teenage years, the pressure on Katherine becomes close to overwhelming. Then she crosses paths with Micah Jacobs, a widower who could reignite her heart, but she fears a relationship with him might send things over the edge. She must find the strength, wisdom, hope, and faith to remake her life, for everything is about to change.
My Review:
Despite the heartaches of life, Katherine has endured it all with grace and strength. After the tragic death of her husband, she bravely plunges on and successfully manages a boarding house in Oregon while raising two daughters alone. When her bossy, overbearing, meddlesome mother decides to move in with her, Katherine is unable to refuse her a home. On top of everything swirling around her life, a widower moves into town with his son. Katherine drew closer to God when she became a widow, but Micah drew away and turned his back to God.
Like all good romances, there has to be a conflict between main characters of some kind. Surprisingly, the secondary conflict between Katherine and her mother was highly entertaining - more so than the intended romantic tension between Micah and Katherine as they work towards the idea of a new life together. The characters were memorable, and even the small side stories of Micah and Katherine's children and townspeople proved enchanting and endearing. Overall, this was a great novel, and I am looking forward to more in the series!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cathy Thelen
Location:Melbourne, fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Miralee Ferrell. I will definitely read more of her books and finish this series.
This book caught my attention from the beginning. Do you have a childhood memory of getting away from everyone to focus on hope?
In this book we meet many different people who are so well developed you feel like you are in the story. I wish I could give advice too. And maybe tell Katherine's mother how awful she is. But this just goes to show you how involved I was in the story. This was a great book.
I was given this book free for my honest review by book network.org
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katherine is the one of the main female characters in a story that spotlights the relationship between a mother and daughter. There is also an older woman who comes to the boardinghouse that Katherine owns with her two daughters and with her niece. Beth is a quiet young lady who caves under the authority of her aunt; she is a very soft spoken woman. Micah is a widower who is struggling to run a livery as well as raise a teenage son without help.
Many adventures await the characters in this work of fiction that is sure to keep readers from putting the novel down until it is finished. There are themes such as romance, forgiveness, choices and actions that can easily be misunderstood depending on the heart of the one observing. Katherine’s mother has always been a woman who not only speaks her mind, but demeans as well as demoralizes her daughter with every opportunity she gets.
Blowing on Dandelions is the first of three novels that will published as the Love Blossoms in Oregon series. Before reading this particular novel, I hadn’t read anything written by this author, but I can tell you I will be watching for her future writings. Some women have wonderful relationships with their mothers and even mother-in-law. Then, there are others who either haven’t had good relationships or even know of a relationship of this type.
As the novel progresses, see that God is able to change a bitter woman’s heart if she chooses to allow Him to work. I could also pick up that some women who have had less than stellar models growing up or people who have hurt them can cause some women to be less able to love or be loved. In the book, a woman closer to Katherine’s mother’s age befriends her and leans on God to help her love on this woman even if all she gets back is hate. Above all, like the fictional characters, we too can still choose to love regardless of how it is received. We must always stay connected to the Vine so we aren’t doing the work in the flesh, but in the Spirit. I cannot wait for book number two due out in 2014.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well written Christian western

Date:September 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
toliverc
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Blowing on Dandelions is a sound book, well written with a plausible story. It has many of the elements I love in a book, a western setting, romance, children, and a supporting cast that suggests a sequel. For some reason however, the story never really captured my heart. Perhaps it was just simply that I could not relate to the main conflicts in the story. The characters were likable enough and while I rooted for the heroine, Katherine and her love interest, Micah I never doubted that they would get together or bought into the obstacles the story set before them. None seemed insurmountable even given the setting and the mores of the time. Although the story never really drew me in, it is well written and will strike a chord with the right readers.
I received a copy of the book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

a good story with interesting characters.

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had never read this author before. Had a good story line. I wish she would have gone a little more in depth to the thoughts and process that brought about change in the various character's lives. Would read more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excllent Historical Fiction

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blowing on Dandelions, Book one of Love Blossoms on Oregon by Miralee Ferrell
This is the first book I have read by this author. However it will not be my last. The next book in this series is already on my to read list! This historical fiction, one of my favorite genre, captured my attention from the beginning. The author's ability to describe the settings and illustrate the characters make you feel a part of the story. I felt able to understand the difficulties of the strained mother- daughter relationship after having problems with one myself. The boardinghouse patrons definitely added spice and mystery to the book. I look forward to learning more about them in further series. I received the book from Bookfun and David Cook Publishing for my honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable read

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought this was a great book! It included some romance, some tragedy, some conflict, some very real relationship and family problems, and some community spirit. A few things might have been a bit unrealistic but, hey, it's fiction. I love getting lost in a good story and this was well worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Living It Out

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blowing on Dandelions was such a great book. I am not a huge fan of historical fiction, at least I didn’t think I was until I read this book. The characters are not only believable, but they experience everyday issues just as the rest of us do. I think one of the best themes behind the book, is the way Katherine (the main character), handles her very difficult mother. She manages to show what the bible says in honoring thy mother. A fantastic example of ordinary life working to live out the gospel. I would recommend this book to anyone, including my teenage daughter. It was a delightful story that captured not only my attention but my heart as well. I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This is a romantic love story!

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:CatoosaOK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This story is not a love story. For 27 chapters she had everyone fighting and being combative with each other and then boom everyone was friends and falling in love. There was to much repetitive story telling over and over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blowing on Dandelions has Unexpected Depth!

Date:August 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blowing on Dandelions
Love Blossoms in Oregon Book 1
By Miralee Ferrell
Katherine Galloway has been making a life for herself and her daughters Lucy and Amanda in the 3 years since her husband's death. But when her mother has decides that Katherine needs her help Katherine is about to get more than she can possibly handle on her own! All Katherine really wants from her mother is her love and respect, is that too much to ask?
Looking to make a fresh start widower Micah Jones has just recently moved to Baker City, Oregon with his son Zachary. Micah is angry with God, blaming him for the pain and loses that he has experienced starting with his wife's death.
When Katherine and Micah meet they are drawn to one another, but neither is interested in pursuing romance or the possibility of a second marriage. Complicating this situation is the "friendship" of Lucy and Zachary. Throw in Katherine's overbearing mother and a house full of boarders and you're just asking for some overblown misunderstandings.
Blowing on Dandelions looks at how families deal with their disappointments and losses. Our faith in God goes a long way in determining how we face the challenges of life and and how we respond to those around us. Respecting and honoring our parents is important but the same is true for how parents deal with their own children.
There is an unexpected depth to Blowing on Dandelions that is hidden within the covers. A valuable lesson to look beneath the surface of a person's personality to see the true person is wrapped up in a delightfully entertaining story. I for one look forward to reading the future installments of this series and learning more about the people of Baker City, Oregon.
I was provided a copy of this title by the the publisher David C. Cook and BookFun.org in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blowing on Dandelions: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mothers and Daughters

Date:August 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
KGD history teacher
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mothers and Daughters - what a complicated relationship. This is the theme of Blowing on Dandelions. Katherine Galloway, a widow in 1800s Oregon, is the mother of two girls. One of her daughters, Lucy, is becoming a teenager. Katherine finds herself alternating between protecting her little girl from growing up and thinking she is more grown up than she really is. Katherine's mother Frances comes to live with the family. Frances is a bitter, controlling woman, but perhaps she is, in some ways, like Katherine, trying to protect her daughter from the blows of life. As Katherine and Frances struggle with their relationship, there are other characters on the scene - the ladies of Katherine's quilting group who offer loving advice; Micah, the handsome blacksmith; Zachary, Micah's son who Katherine fears is trying to make her "little girl" grow up too fast; Mrs. Roberts, her demanding boarder; and Mr. Tucker, the mysterious boarder with no visible means of employment. At a point of crisis, mothers and daughters must come to terms with their relationship. Hopefully, we don't all have to wait for a crisis to resolve relationship issues. Fortunately, there will be a sequel to follow the lives of these characters.
I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.