Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Ryken's Bible Handbook

Tyndale House Ryken's Bible Handbook

Go beyond merely reading the Bible, and discover deep treasures with the help of Ryken's Bible Handbook. Whether you are new to Bible study or have read the Scriptures countless times, greater riches are waiting to be unearthed. The background and literary genre of each book will come alive as you gain insight into each book's message and learn methods for analyzing its content. This handbook contains countless applications for life will increase your appreciation for the ways God reveals himself and his character through the Scriptures.

Inside you will find maps, charts, and illustrations, a fact sheet for each book, key verses, key doctrines, overviews and main themes, perspectives from theologians, educators, and authors, and a one year Bible-reading plan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ryken's Bible Handbook
Review 1 for Ryken's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Handy Handbook

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doc EG Graham
Location:Jamaica
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well this is not your ordinary handbook, but a scholarly work the scholars and beginners can appreciate alike. It's just a fantastic piece of work that point you in the right direction where understanding the bible is concerned. I believe Ryken and his team have pulled off a masterpiece and I am saying this not having completed the book yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ryken's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Handy & Compact, Yet Extremely Helpful

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bob Hayton
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Resources for studying the Bible are a dime a dozen, today. Every popular pastor or gifted teacher has his own study Bible or commentary set. Teacher's handbooks, small group study guides, commentaries of all kinds, and big thick dictionaries abound. Many of these resource tools aren't all that helpful, and some are outdated. Others are too bulky to be accessible, or too compact to be worth one's time.
Enter, "Ryken's Bible Handbook" (Tyndale). This handy, manageable volume stands apart in both its convenience and its worth. A wide variety of helpful material is arranged and presented in an attractive and accessible format.
Following the Bible handbook pattern, the information is arranged book by book through all 66 books of the Bible. The stress is on how best to read and understand the content of each particular book. Articles on Bible narratives, wisdom literature, prophecy, parables and more are placed at important positions throughout the handbook. And the book also cross-references these helpful articles often enough to ensure they remain useful (and not forgotten).
A fact sheet with information about the author, audience and special features of each book sets the stage. This is followed by an outline and a discussion of literary forms, key characters, doctrines and themes, and tips for reading or teaching the book. Next the flow of the book is traced so one can catch a sense of the whole. Interspersed throughout are helpful charts and a collection of quotes from Bible teachers and pastors. A discussion of the challenges to reading the book, and a guide to applying it are also included.
The handbook excels at keeping things simple yet providing real help. It manages to remain neutral on most theological controversies, aiming to equip one to read the Biblical book rather than actually teaching a theological position drawn from specific passages.
I found the article on parables to be particularly well done. That section makes the point that parables hint at something "alongside". "It is untrue that you can find only one theme or `point' in a parable. Most parables employ multiple themes or ideas." (pg. 447) This emphasis for me is especially important as I've seen other books on reading the Bible stress the opposite, which seems to contradict Christ's own interpretation of parables and leans to heavily on rationalistic scholarship.
Even if you disagree in a few places with the book, that won't take away from it's overall usefulness. Sunday school teachers, Bible students of all ages, pastors and parents will find this book very helpful. I heartily recommend it.
Disclaimer: This book was provided by Tyndale House Publishers for review. I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ryken's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great help!

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
D.s. Ford
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Has shown me much more about the books of the Bible than any other Bible study guide I have seen so far. And, gives insight to things I haven't thought of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ryken's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent For Teachers and Students

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
ScriptureZealot
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was provided as a review copy from Tyndale House Publishers. This review has been a long time coming and in the future I don’t ever intend on letting a review go on this long since the time I receive the book. I thank them for their generosity and patience.
This book is for teachers and students of the Bible and I think it would also be good for parents to use with their kids. Even though it’s over 600 pages long, it’s a smaller sized reference book and isn’t comprehensive or meant to be. It’s a concise handbook on how to read and study each book of the Bible. Anyone familiar with studying the Bible will benefit from this book.
Each chapter is devoted to a book of the Bible and includes things such as Author’s Perspective, Audience Perspective or Implied Audience, Special Features, Challenges Facing the Teacher or Reader of the Book, How to Meet the Challenges, Form, Genre, Structure, Outline, Timeline, Characters, How To Apply the Book, Key Verses etc. Don’t let that overwhelm you. Each part is concise and very useful and not every chapter has every one of those.
I especially like The Most Common Misconceptions of the Book since this is one thing I’ve been working on for a few years now whether it’s books, passages, verses, etc. I also like Perspectives which are quotes on the book at the end of each chapter by various authors and scholars and somewhere in each chapter there may be a quote dealing with a subject of the book. I also like various Did You Know? inserts which are short factual items related to the book that are helpfully shaded in gray (see below).
Also sprinkled throughout the book are one page articles on the major genres of the Bible and other topics anywhere from How We Got the Bible at the beginning to Apocalyptic Writing in the end. My one complaint is that these articles don’t look different enough from the rest of the book. It’s easy to keep reading and not always realize it’s the start of the article. The typeface is different but that’s the only thing that sets it apart other than the title. A border or shaded background would be helpful.
The very idea of a “Christless sermon” appalled Charles Spurgeon and in the same vein this handbook always looks for how OT books point to Christ but doesn’t press the point too far if it’s scant.
There has to be some interpretation in a book like this but as far as I can tell it’s very neutral. Since my theological outlook is the same as the authors’, I may not be able to discern that as clearly as others. In any case, I can’t imagine anyone not benefiting from this book.
Part of the reason this review took so long is because I read each chapter before reading each book of the Old Testament this year (in addition to having surgery right in the middle). This was very helpful. It gave me a “heads up” on things to look for without telling me how to interpret it or without it being a commentary that I would want to read after reading that book of the Bible.
This is the only book that I can remember reviewing where I really don’t have anything negative to say other than the formatting issue of the article inserts. I often even try to find something negative so that I don’t sound like a shill for the publishers that provide review copies for me. I like it that much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ryken's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doreen
I received a copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers. This book is a wonderful guide to reading and studying the Bible. There's a fact sheet for every book of the Bible, outlines, overviews, key verses, a 'did you know'? area and perspectives of each book of the Bible with quotes. Also, there's a one year Bible reading plan, an index of articles and maps as well. This Bible handbook is loaded and I love it! I enjoy having Ryken's Bible handbook nearby me when I'm reading the Bible for that little extra insight into the Word! This should be in every Bible student's library as a tool in accordance with the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ryken's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa Lea
While I was a student at Bible college, I was constantly looking for a mini commentary of sorts, a book that would give a brief overview of each book of the Bible, but something that was also affordable and easy to use. I never found such a thing while I was a student, but Tyndale just released Ryken's Bible Handbook, just the thing I have been looking for!This handy hardcover reference book is full of information. It includes full color maps, charts, and illustrations. Each book of the Bible is outlined; that in itself is an incredible resource. I love reading the Bible with an outline to accompany me. My reading becomes much more focused, purposeful, and intriguing. The key biblical doctrines are explained in an accessible way. Ryken's Bible Handbook even includes a one year Bible reading plan.Although many Bible reference books have the tendency to be as dry as sawdust, Ryken's Bible Handbook is nothing close to that. It is fascinating, and at times, even hilarious! For instance, the chapter about Hosea is titled "The Prophet Married a What?" Yes, I laughed. This is a great resource that I plan to use for many years to come. It won't be sitting on my bookshelf much because I will be using it often!I was provided a review copy of this book by Tyndale House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ryken's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
This book is truly a treasure waiting to be used and is designed that way. The book is has a hard cover, and stays open nicely when using it alongside your Bible. It is designed to be used and the binding appears that it will hold up to the use and abuse that I'm sure it will receive.Each chapter correlates with a book in the Bible and in the same order, making it very easy to use along with your Bible study. The first page of every chapter starts out with a fact sheet telling listing important facts about that book of the Bible. Some chapters contain charts and outlines, illustrations and maps. There are also challenges that face the reader listed and suggestions how to meet those challenges. Also listed are most common misconceptions about the book being studied.As you continue on through using this book, you will find many lovely helps. There are Did You Know sections, key verses, and important information highlighted on the side of the pages. You will find tips for reading, key doctrines, main themes, and much more throughout each chapter.At the end of each chapter is a section called Perspectives, and this section is has quotes from many different recognizable people as well as others unknown to me. These are really interesting and helpful.The last part of the book is reserved for wonderful helps. There is a one year Bible reading plan, an index of articles, many full color maps and a few full color charts.This is a lovely reference book that will be used over and over. It is very easy to use, will help you to understand the Bible more deeply, and will give you much to think about. "Ryken's Bible Handbook" should be in every home library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ryken's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charlene
Ryken's Bible Handbook is an excellent pre-reading resource for Bible study. It is also an excellent during-reading reference and study outline; AND an excellent after-reading point-by-point review. The Ryken's and James Wilhoit have created a consummate reference book in a usable size. The book opens with an over-view of the Bible as a whole. What is it? Why should we study it? How do we know it is true? Then the book goes on the explain the Bible in detail, providing an overview of each book that includes maps, charts, graphs, time lines, and illustrations, as well as key doctrines, key verses, unifying themes, historic detail, and different quotes and perspectives from well known Bible scholars and teachers. I will not be keeping this book on my reference shelf. It will be right here on top of the desk with my Bible and daily study resources. I am blessed to have this book in my library and I would like to thank Tyndale publishers for providing a copy for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ryken's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Can you say "amazing"?This is the word I would use to describe this wonderful book known as Ryken's Bible Handbook. All 630 plus pages of this handbook are full of facts, insights, perspectives, colorful maps, articles, charts, and many other resources that will aid you in understanding each book of the Bible. It starts with an introduction to the Bible as a whole and how we got what we have. Then it takes each book of the Bible and gives an overview with elements such as: * Key Doctrines * Key Characters * Tips for Reading or Teaching the particular book * Applying the Book * The Challenges of The Book * The Implied Audience * Things to Look for * And so much more... I was also very impressed with the simple, yet extremely helpful, maps and charts in the back of this book that are in full color. This section includes current maps as well as OT and NT maps, a time line, guide to the temple, and several more.The Ryken's Bible Handbook is a resource that I would highly recommend you buy and place within arms reach of where you study your Bible...it will quickly become a favorite!* * * * *This review copy was provided courtesy of Tyndale House Publishers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ryken's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
I received this book from Tyndale House to review for their blogger program. I was very excited when I received it. This is a guide to reading the Bible so I will admit that I have not read the entire thing. I decided that I would read the chapters that applied to my current book of the Bible I was reading for my devotions so I could put the different aspects of the guide into practical use. I am currently reading the Book of Joshua so I first looked at that chapter. Each chapter opens with a fact sheet on that particular book of the Bible. It gives it's implied purpose, where the author is comming form , the audience it was ment for plus a few more things. What I liked about the fact sheet is that it ends with a section on The challenges that the reader or someone who is teaching that particular book will encounter. Then it follows up that section with one on how to meet the challenges. It ends with the most common misconception about the book. Next there is an outline of book followed by sections that include Key characters, key elements, tips for teaching the book. Sprinkled through out there are little sidebars like Did you Know? and Key Verse.The chapter ends with a section on how the book contributes to the Book's story of salvation and ends with a section on applying the book to your life. The very end has quotes about the that particular books by various different authors and scholars. I felt the this guide enhanced my reading of Joshua especially the challenges and applying sections. I plan on using this guide for the reading of the rest of Bible. It will be the first thing I consult before I start a new book in the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ryken's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
A wonderful resource to have on hand. This handbook is very in depth in it's presentation of the bible. Opening up the meaning and providing great insight for the scholar, student, or individual seeking to better understand and study the word of God. I will be adding this to our resource books and referring to it for homeschool work. I believe it will be an excellent resource for my children as they write history reports and such for their school work. Thank you Tyndale House for providing this free review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ryken's Bible Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patrick C ONeill
No bible study is complete without Rykens Bible Handbook. In this work all three contributors offer an abundance of in depth insight to the inspired word of God. No matter a beginner or advanced student of the word this is truly a resource for the believer's bookshelf!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.