Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NAV Press Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NAV Press Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown

You spoke, and NavPress listened. They've learned a lot about Bible publishing since the full Bible release of The Message in 2002. They've heard from many loyal readers on what would make The Message better. Verse numbers and a smaller, lighter size are only the beginning. The Message numbered edition has over a dozen newly enhanced features you will love!

It's not just about verse numbers.

Now, the most widely read paraphrase comes with the most requested features:

  • Exclusively designed numbering system
  • New size that is 25% thinner
  • One-half pound lighter than previous editions
  • 6 attractive styles, including a padded hardcover
  • Handcrafted maps & charts
  • Unique paper designed and manufactured exclusively for NavPress and The Message
  • Cream colored interiors for enhanced readability
  • Reader-friendly typeset
  • Improved typeset means better page economy and easier reading
  • Bound-in Ribbon marker
  • Leather Look, Brown/Tan

Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Review 1 for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

He absolutely love it!!

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mujercitas
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband keep saying that he wanted The Message Bible and each time we are about to buy was so expensive, even at the church library, so when I saw the offer onBiblegateway I was so excited and order one and gave it to him as a surprise "Just because gift" He absolutely love it!! was not expected at all and now he reads it at all times... And let me tell you he has a collection of all editions and prints and fonts cover and translations. But he love love love his New Message Bible... I am so bless having him in my life and specially I am thankful for his heart that caries God in it... God bless you and thank you again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Warning

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
james
Location:Gastonia NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Message bible if it can be called such is a mess. When comparing it side by side to other well known Bibles it becomes apparent that there is something wrong with this translation, and one only has to look at the translators. New Age mysticism is intertwined through the Message. New age terminology is woven throughout, words and phrases that anyone who's ever been involved with it will immediately identify.
And whats in the Message is not nearly as shocking as whats left out. The word "LORD" used to identify God the Father is in the KJV 7970 times, and in the Message only 71. What happened to those other 7699 times and what about the verse that says not to remove or add to the Bible?
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the way it reads!

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally Michaud
Location:Conyers, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find this Bible so easy to read and enjoy comparing the translation to my NIV Bible. I bought two more of the Bibles - one each for my Sunday School class teachers. There are several people in my class who are using this translation, and the words really seem to "stick" in my mind.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is everything I could have wanted and more

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dean
Location:Plymouth, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly love the flow of The Message. Eugene Peterson has done scholarly work to prepare this version of the Bible for readers. I appreciate that this particular edition contains verse numbers so that it is easier to compare to other translations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Canada
The ministers at my UM church frequently use the Message to simplify a difficult passage. I bought this for my son who is in the military. Excited to give it to him when he comes home on leave. I loved this Bible.Linda C
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Clark Johnson
This was another excellent buy from CBD.The Message bible is a very nice reading bible,its easy to understand.This bible is well made,the print is just the right size for my poor old eyes.The cream colored paper makes the print stand out better.God Bless Christianbooks.com.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chuck
This bible is constructed well, I am sure it will provide many years of faithful service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynne Lindsay
Very classy looking bible. Even though it is "leather look" it looks and feels like leather. The pages are nice and thin and the size of this bible is great, also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gabriella Fultz
It's a beautiful Bible, very well made and very nice leather. I would highly recomend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Myron Gregg
I love what Eugene Peterson has done with "The Message." Sometimes as a pastor I want to take a little time to simply read the word for clarity and understanding I think "The Message is one of the best. This new style is light and easy to carry, very soft and pliable, not to mention it is attractive. In a word, for those of us who like this translation I think this is one of the best anywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Christopher Fuhrman
We loved it. The cover was very nice and seems to be very durable. The text is easy to read and formated nicely. The Monogram I had added gave it a nice touch and looks good on the cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Edna Gamblin
This is a beautifully design Bible. The quality of the cover and the features of this edition are outstanding. The print is easy on the eyes and I just love the maps and charts that are printed this Bible. I am soooo pleased with all the effort that was put into this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Message Numbered Edition Soft Leather-Look, Brown/Dark Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bill Brabson
Nice but what's wrong with each verse being numbered...This is almost as confusing as the no numbered editions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.