Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realms Frantic

Realms Frantic

Gas station attendant Marny Toogood is on the run with two kids he just met! Begging Marny to help them, Esther and William Rose are fleeing their "insane" uncle who insists on protecting William, a faith-filled boy with supernatural powers. Can Marny save the children from the would-be kidnapper---and their estranged father who leads a nightmarish cult? 304 pages, softcover from Realms.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Frantic
Review 1 for Frantic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Frantic

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can a deranged serial killer be stopped before it s too late?
For gas station attendant Marny Toogood it s just another day on the job when an urgent message from a young girl in the backseat of a car draws him into a daring rescue attempt. Now on the run with the girl and her brother, Marny begins to realize he must conquer his own past and surrender all to Christ.
As they face kidnapping, underground cults, and other evils, can Marny trust the simple faith of a child and stand his ground against a power so twisted?
This is the latest book by author, Mike Dellosso. I've enjoyed all of his other books and I'm always keeping an eye for when his new books release. Mike has a way of taking such a simple beginning, such as the message from a young girl in this novel, into a ride for your life. I will say that there were times here that I could sense the character wanted to just give up and quit, but as the book progressed, so did his resolve to help this young girl. It's always interesting to me when I hear authors speak like their characters in their books have their own minds and do things on their own. With "Frantic", though, I could see that happening myself. Mike writes the lead character, Marny, with such inner turmoil and conflict through-out this entire book that it wouldn't have surprised me to see him throw his hands in the air and say "That's Enough!" This novel took me just a couple of days to finish because there was so much action, just reading "one more chapter" never seemed to be enough.
So my opinion of this novel is definitely "two thumbs up". Mike Dellosso once again provides us with a terrific story line that will leave you "Frantic" as you read the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Frantic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FRANTIC - Edge of Your Seat Read!

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marny Toogood’s life is about to change. Marny works as a gas station attendant at the Gas ‘n Go.
It was on a hot Saturday morning in Maine when a faded blue 1990’s Ford Taurus pulled up to the pumps for gas. The driver neither smiled nor looked at Marny when he said, “Fill it up. Regular.” Marny noticed a woman in the backseat who appeared to be in her early twenties. He watched the woman as he pumped the gas. When their eyes met he noticed that sadness and doom shone in them. After the car drove away Marny noticed a crumpled piece of paper on the ground where the Taurus had been parked. He picked it up and smoothed it out. Written in all capital letters was a message: HE’S GOING TO KILL ME.
Frantic is a book that once you begin reading it you literally can’t put it down. It draws you in for the need to know what happens next. This book will fill you with terror for the good characters. You are on edge as each scene of horror unfolds and relief when each scene of horror for the time being is over. The problem is this goes on through out the entire book. Evil is real and it is out to get Marny and anyone else that he is involved with.
The author’s characters are real to the reader and the majority of the characters in this book are plain evil to their very core. Will good win out over evil? Will Marny have the faith, hope, and trust that he so desperately needs? Will he let go and let God?
This is the first book that I have read by this author. It won’t be the last. I have the book Scream and I am looking forward to reading it. Coming out in October 2012 is “A Thousand Sleepless Nights.” That book is going on my TBR list!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Frantic
This review is fromFrantic - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great thriller and a good soul searcher

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just recently heard of this author as I wrote in a previous review of one of his books. Scream" got me hooked. This is the 4th book of his I have read. They are all great. His writing makes me feel as though I amright there watching everthing happen. Sometimes I am so involved in the book I have to put it down for a few minutes just to catch my breath. How he can write such great thrilling stories and yet add that spiritual element that makes you question yourself is amazing. I can't say too much without giving the ending away. But after finishing I kept thinking of the phrase "Oh the faith of a child". Anyway, a great ride. You won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Frantic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wild ride sure to please (& possibly frighten..)

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frantic is a fabulous read, filled with beautiful writing complemented by pulse-pounding scenes and non-stop action. I was barely into the beginning pages when I first suspected that this would be a book difficult to put down - and I was right! The scenes are painted with vivid imagery, and I found my pulse racing as I was immersed ever deeper into the story, fraught with tension and supernatural mystique.
Marny Toogood is a hero who is easy to relate to, with his difficulty believing in God and faith, his often negative outlook, his insecurities. And yet he's also one to admire, someone who doesn't just stay on the sidelines but actually acts. He perfectly exemplifies "putting faith into action", as the Bible prompts us to do. I found myself wondering more than once, "what would I do if I were in his shoes?". Esther and William Rose, the ones he is on the run with, are equally fascinating, especially William with his child-like faith in God. And the moment when I really knew Dellosso is a good writer was when I found myself feeling sympathetic for the psychotic killer...
Dellosso's pacing is chillingly perfect, and the skill with which he writes will have you devouring the pages - and wishing you weren't reading his book late at night (at least if you're anything like me!). If you are looking for a book that will hold you captive while making you examine your own faith at the same time, then look no further. Get this book. You won't be disappointed.
I highly recommend this book and give it 5 out of 5 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Frantic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Frantic!

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
CKendall
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Where do I begin? I’ve read a couple of Mike Dellosso’s books before and I was a fan with the first one I read, which was Darlington Woods. I was sufficiently freaked out and I was extremely satisfied with the Christian message that came through. Mike’s next book, Darkness Follows, again freaked me out and delivered an excellent message. So, when Frantic came along, I wanted the same type of reading experience. That was largely what I got, but on a slightly different level.
There was a certain portion of this book that really got my heart pumping, so much so, I had to put the book down for the night because the physical anxiety got to be too much for me. How many authors can write like that? Not many, and I read a lot! Now, I don’t want my experience to sound like a negative thing because it wasn’t, at all. It was awesome, actually. I didn’t have any nightmares, nor did I lose any sleep, it was just heart-pounding suspense at its best. I love any book that causes me to feel like I am really there. In this case I felt like I was the one being chased and it totally freaked me out. I say any book that can evoke an emotional AND a physical response is one that deserves some special recognition because it takes a special gift to write that way. Mike Dellosso has that gift and he uses it well.
A brief word of warning, there is violence and some disturbing imagery in Frantic, but I wasn’t troubled by it because it is important for the reader to truly experience the evil that the characters were contending with. I felt that Mike handled the violence with a tremendous level of respect and he certainly didn’t glamorize it. So, if you are looking for a book to really get your heart pounding and deliver a powerful Christian message, read Frantic. I truly enjoyed my experience with this book and it left me feeling uplifted and hopeful, not at all freaked out. It just goes to show how in life sometimes we have to go through some serious trials and fear to find our way to God and His grace. Love, love, loved this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Frantic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Have for Your Library

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
BruceB
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frantic is Fantastic!
All the clichés fit this one; page-turner, edge-of-your-seat suspense, action/adventure thriller. But the real gem of this book is relationships. Yes, the characters and their relationships are endearing and believable. But you don’t just read this story, you live it. I couldn’t and didn’t put this book down. This is Mr. Dellosso’s best work yet.
Marny is a simple guy with a simple life until the beauty of a sad, mysterious girl draws him into an adventure that will change his life, and yours, forever. Mike Dellosso’s masterfully crafted story touches all the emotions. And it shows the true power of faith. If you’ve ever doubted that even the most hopeless situation can end well, you need to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Frantic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome book, his best yet

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first book review of 2012, and I am honored to review the newest book by one of my favorite authors, Mike Dellosso. The book is titled Frantic, and though I say this about each book he writes, I think it is his best yet.
Awesome s a word that gets overused, but it is a word that describes this book perfectly. Awesome. The story revolves around a young boy of eleven years of age, William. He has a special gift that seems almost magical, yet it is one we could all have: faith. Real faith. He believes, and it happens.
This book is fast-paced. I had a hard time finding a good stopping place when I needed to put the book down. It has a lot of action, a lot of running and chasing, and a lot of people die. I don't want to give any spoilers, so I will try not to give out too much that happens in the book.
I have thoroughly enjoyed all of Mike's books, but I really liked his characters in this book. First off, is William. Sure, he is a fictional character in a fictional story, but he is what Jesus promised all of us. If we have faith the size of a mustard seed, we can move mountains. Yes, it is only a story, but it made me hunger and wish for that kind of faith. Praying and really believing it would happen. Not just hoping it would happen.
Next up, Marnin, or "Marny." A young man who sees the bad in life, and feels he is basically an unlucky charm to anyone he comes into contact with. I identified a lot with him. No, I haven't had a lot of people die around me, nor had an abusive step-father, but I have tended to focus too much on the negative and hang back, afraid to step out on faith.
And then there is Esther. She is the older sibling of William, who she protects with her life.
The book has its villains also, but these three characters from the mind and pen (or maybe keyboard) of Mike Dellosso are not just characters in a Christian fiction novel. They are a lesson and example. I came away from the book feeling convicted for my lack of faith, for my ease in letting the negative things in life cloud my life and hold me back. I also came away with the desire for true faith.
There are some who look down on Christian fiction. They call it shallow. And some may be. This book, however, is not shallow. It is entertaining, gripping, and a terrific read that is hard to put down, but it has a message we all need to hear and take to heart. Actually more than one message. If we have faith - true faith, we can move mountains and more. Second, God can work anything out for the best, even when horribly evil men have nothing but bad planned for us. And lastly, no matter how negative our outlook is on life, no matter how far from God we may be, He can change anyone. At least that is what I got out of the book. :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Frantic
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Dellosso Success Story

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pierre
Location:Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If an author titles a book with an adjective, or verb, you automatically expect it to be full of action, fast pace and a book you cannot put down. I looked up the adjective frantic and dictionary. com defines it as:
desperate or wild with excitement, passion, fear, pain, etc.; frenzied.
Well, I reckon Dellosso delivers this definition with this novel. It reads at a frantic pace, the action just the same, the characters well developed; believable and relational. I found myself identifying with the emotions and desperation of the main characters of Marny, Ester and envied the confidence born from the gift of faith of William, the younger brother of Esther.
Marny finds himself in this frantic pace after seeing the troubled desperate face of Esther as she sits in the back seat of a car as Marny is filling the car up with petrol. He is intrigued by this woman and her look and finds a note on the ground after the car leaves, which says, "He is going to kill me".
Now if Marny had not acted on this message, he would have gone back to his mundane life, just waiting for the next curse to affect him, just as his grandfather has predicted at his birth, "...Marny's life would be stormy, full of rain clouds and lightning strikes."
The story then continues with Marny acting on his decision to investigate the note left by Esther. This is when the pace of this novel really revs up. Marny tracks Esther and the car to a house in the woods where he meets up with Esther's captor, Gary. He manages to rescue Esther and in the process her younger brother, William, who is the subject of Gary's purpose in life, to protect and develop the gift of faith that William possesses.
What follows is a cat and mouse game where Marny, Esther and William attempt to outsmart Gary who in turn attempts the same to recapture them and deal with Esther and Marny so he can continue his quest with William.
Interspersed through this is flashbacks into the past complicated life of Marny and the various "rain clouds and lightning strikes" or curses that dotted his growing up years and through these flashbacks you discover what makes Marny tick and the way he is now. This adds to the credibility of Marny as the hero that Esther claims him to be.
We also find out, again through flashbacks, the motivation behind Gary's role as protector and mentor (but seen as oppressor) to William and his gift of faith. This also serves to describe Gary's past and contribute to who he is and why he is driven to succeed at all costs.
Dellosso adds a further twist in this plot and further supernatural elements when Marny, Esther and William seek the help refuge of Esther's father. Here, at first look, we feel they may find refuge, safety and support from the pursuit of Gary. But to no avail. It turns out that Esther's father, Harold, is involved in a bizarre cult and seeks to use the desperate situation of Esther, Marny and William to further the needs of this cult.
So more twists and turns, more frantic pace. You cannot put this book down.
I gave this book four stars as I found a few things that I stumbled over. I would have liked Dellosso to have explained, even briefly, the gift of faith that William has and how this enabled him to heal Marny from his bullet wounds and resurrect him from the dead. I say this as we just do not see this in Christian circles in real life and I firmly believe it is possible through prayer, faith and the Holy Spirit. So this stood out to me in the story due to this fact.
The other aspect of the story, while adding suspense, action and to the frantic pace of the plot, is the superantural freezing of the interior of the house as Marny investigates the whereabouts of Gary. This was lost on me as to the importance of this to the plot and to Marny.
But despite these two issues, it is a great story of faith, redemption over evil, spiritual abuse and the evil potential of the fallen nature of man.
Highly Recommended.
This book was provided by the author, Mike Dellosso, as part of The Darlington Society, in exchange for my honest opinion. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Frantic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense at it's Best

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do the lies you believe define who you are? Death has followed Marny Toogood from birth, snatching those closest to him and seemingly proving grandfather's prediction. He is cursed.
Despite the curse, every night Marny holds to the promise his mother told him until she died: Behind every rain cloud is the sun, just waiting to shine. Then he falls asleep and succumbs to the only place more dark and foreboding than his life.
We enter Marny's life the day his nightmares and cursed life collide. Living life in a tiny apartment above the station where he pumps gas, Marny tries to keep his involvement in the lives around him to a minimum--after all potential friends are potential victims of his curse.
But today there's just something about the girl in the backseat of the old Ford Taurus that pulls in for a fill-up. She speaks to him through her eyes, and through his own experiences he recognizes the message of sorrow and doom.
As the car pulls away Marny bends to pick up a piece of wadded paper. Opening it he reads five words that have the potential to change his life forever: HE'S GOING TO KILL ME.*
If there 's ever been a book that could be considered aerobic exercise its this one. The plot twists, surprises, and races while keeping the reader turning pages frantically trying to find out what happens next. The strong plot doesn't sacrifice character depth. The book will pull you in from the first page and keep you hanging on each word til the very end. I will warn you it's hard to put down.
Frantic is definitely Mike Dellosso's best work yet--and with books to his name like The Hunted, Scream, Darlington Woods, and Darkness Follows ,all five-star reads in their own right, that really say's a lot.
Definitely a 5 Star Read.
*Much of this description is taken directly from the book. I couldn't have described it with any better words, so I let it speak for itself.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher, Charisma House. Any opinions rendered in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Frantic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Thriller Yet!!

Date:December 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimfurd
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"[He] then understood that trust required selfless surrender; faith was about doing God's will, not his own." (p. 258)
A man seeks to protect a boy at any cost – taking life violently and randomly when he perceives that the protection he offers is jeopardized. Another man seeks vengeance for a personal betrayal in the dark persona of a maniacal serial killer. Yet another seeks to outrun what he perceives to be a lifelong curse upon his every relationship. In the midst of all of the darkness and depravity there is a child who exercises a faith that seems almost mystical. The truth of that faith is revealed through a series of fiery trials that causes the main characters to face their own mortality time and time again. When one man submits his will in total surrender to the One who has the entire situation in His hands – that’s when things begin to change!
Mike Delloso has written a powerful thriller that will keep the reader glued to the pages! The characters – even the bad guys – are so well-developed that their struggles are very real and personal. The reader is never certain who will survive the tale, and there are so many twists and turns in the plot that you feel almost dizzy trying to read fast enough to find out what happens next!
Delloso has touched the deepest recesses of the human soul in this story, and everyone who reads it will have to step away and examine their own faith in the midst of whatever trial they face. He stays true to his passion for a well-told story and his faith that places every written word on the page. God has honored his obedience with a great thriller tale, and Frantic will reach into your heart and mind in a fresh new way!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Frantic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FRANTIC NIGHTMARES … OF REALITY!

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marnin (Marny) Toogood has had a curse on his life since he was born, according to his Grandpa. Unfortunately, Marny has believed this lie and the guilt of all the subsequent circumstances in his life. The beginning of this batch of curses started with a lazy day at the filling station, playing checkers with his boss, Mr. Condon. It was a full-serve station (remember those?), and a new car arrived with a male driver and a young girl in the back seat that he’d never seen before. Small town, Marny recognizes every car that comes through.
After Marny filled the car up, he found a dropped message that put him on the heels of salvation for Esther Rose, and subsequently, her brother, William, from their “uncle” Gary. William had a deformity, but also had a ‘special gift’ according to Gary. Thus it was his job to care for and ‘save’ William. Upon Gary’s capture of the three young people, the three worked to get away that night. Succeeding, they drove to Esther’s estranged Dad. He was no better, and captured Esther and ran.
From the moment Marny saw the car at the station, to the end of the book, is a literal frantic passage of circumstances that one is hard put to understand. A nightmare! About the time you figure the young people had escaped a horrible trap, in rushes another. This repeats itself in rapid succession in totally new ways that keeps you reading well into the night. Yes, it’s a fast read, but it’s packed with scenarios that come out of the twilight zone–thus the title of my blog, “frantic nightmares…of reality” for everyone involved.
Mike is able to satisfy both your mind and soul. The wretchedness of men, who are caught up in the occult, childhood calamities, and revenge versus the faith of William as he encourages the others to pray. The characterizations are complete, though some are uncomfortable and horrific. The dialogue fits into the wretched scenarios. Your heart is touched by the all that the young people have endured, both before and during this chain of events. Your mind is on overdrive trying to figure out who, why and how in every situation. Your adrenaline is pumped!
FRANTIC ramps up to be the best thriller by Mike to date! If you love a great thriller, this is one book you will not want to miss! Start to finish, you’re hooked. Test yourself to figure out the reasons behind the bizarre behaviors before you are done reading. Is there a solution? A reconciliation? A restoration? It’s there for the asking. Will anyone ask?
This book was provided by the author, Mike Dellosso, as part of The Darlington Society, in exchange for my honest opinion. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Frantic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another can't put down adventure by Mike Dellosso

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Frantic” a portal to another world
“HE’S GOING TO KILL ME” was hastily written on a crumpled piece of paper and dropped out of a car window. From the second Marny Toogood looked into Esther’s haunting eyes, their paths were intertwined. Was it destiny or happenstance?
The path of courage is as varied and wide as it is deep and long. Some people are born with the courage to be the people God created them to be. For others, it takes a miracle and a prayer. Such is the case with Marny who has been told all of his life that he is living under a curse. As Marny frantically tries to save Esther and her brother, William, he comes face to face with fear and death and confronts them in ways he never dreamed possible.
Grab a soda, make some popcorn, sit down in your recliner and be prepared to read frantically from the first sentence to the last with barely enough air in your lungs to breathe. Once again Mike Dellosso proves he is the master of his own genre. “Frantic,” due to be released in February 2012, is by far his best yet. If it ever rains axheads and hammer handles, don’t call the other guy—go straight to the Source because God is the only One who can bring hope and joy into a world filled with violence and death.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Realms, a division of Charisma House Book Group, and as a member of The Darlington Society. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Frantic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keeps you at a Frantic pace!

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nikole Hahn
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little while ago I reviewed Mike Dellosso’s book, Darkness Follows. When I had the chance to apply to become a part of his newly formed The Darlington Society, I didn’t waste any time thinking about it and recently joined. Dellosso sent me his manuscript, “Frantic,” for an early review. I’m not sure whether to call Dellosso’s novel, Frantic, Christian Horror or Christian Supernatural, but like Darkness Follows, Frantic goes at a frantic pace.
“When I set out to write Frantic I knew I wanted a story that literally moved along at a frantic pace (pun intended). I wanted readers to keep turning pages, to feel breathless as they zoomed through the story.” says Mike Dellosso in his email to the society.
The story is about Marnin, a man born with a curse. Everyone around him dies from some awful incident and so he isolates himself as a gas station attendant run by a man almost father-like to him. Marnin’s life changes on a dime when a car drives up to get gas and he notices the strangeness of the setting. A woman sits in the backseat and looks troubled. He tries to do his job, but he keeps looking at the girl and asking the man in the drivers seat questions. The frantic pace begins as the car drives away and Marnin sees the crumpled note in it’s wake. On it, the woman had written, “He’s going to kill me.” What a way to begin the story!
Interspersed between story paces, Dellosso shares pieces of Marnin’s life. We also learn about the amazing little brother of the woman in distress. There’s darkness spreading like blood the deeper you get into the story until you reach the climax. Your breathe catches; your heart nearly bursts out of its cavity; and you are gripping the pages of the manuscript, compelled to read it to the very end no matter the lateness of the evening; or how much your husband yells from the bedroom, “It’s a work night. Come to bed.”
*Book given by Charisma House and The Darlington Society to review. As a member this in no way influences my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Frantic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Frantic Pace

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Clover, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been reading Mike Dellosso's work since his first book, 'Hunted' came out. I have thoroughly enjoyed everyone. He writes skillfully and he is not one bit afraid to proclaim Christ boldly in his books. For this, I am most grateful. His books have ministered to me also in my own Christian walk.
This book, Frantic, is so very aptly titled. The book starts out and grabs you by the throat and it's like the reader is on a roller coaster ride that refuses to stop.
There are plenty of surprises throughout and his characters are so well developed they seem real. Do not miss this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.