Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realms Annie's Truth, Touch of Grace Series #1

Realms Annie's Truth, Touch of Grace Series #1

When Annie Bieler discovers she was abandoned as a newborn and found by her Amish parents, she leaves her community and the man courting her to seek her true identity. After encountering countless dead ends and resisting worldly temptations, will this prodigal daughter be accepted back into the security of her home?
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Annie's Truth, Touch of Grace Series #1
Review 1 for Annie's Truth, Touch of Grace Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unique in the world of Amish fiction

Date:September 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
The Touch of Grace trilogy is about three faithful women who, when faced with three separate hardships, are torn between the men they love and staying true to themselves. The first book in this series, Annie's Truth, is different from a lot of Amish fiction in the topics it deals with. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and look forward to more of Beth Shriver's writing.
Annie's Truth is unique in that it delves a lot deeper into Amish beliefs and actions than a lot of what is written in the genre today and it really captured my attention from the beginning. Some of the characters act in seemingly foolish ways, so I wasn't sure I would like the book at first, as I wasn't caring for these people very much. But all that works into the book's message, and things change so that by the halfway point, I had a hard time putting it down.
In Annie's mind, she was "different in a community made for all to be the same." Her search for a way to be accepted and to discover why her birth mother abandoned her led Annie to realize that the Amish community she came from was home. But going back resulted in more problems than she could have ever imagined. "Annie's world had turned upside down, and she didn't know how to make it right again."
I liked the way Annie would quietly question some of the Amish beliefs. For instance, although she had feelings for her childhood friend, John, she resented having her spouse chosen for her. And while searching for her birth mother, she stayed with a family in Harrisonburg who had been banished from the Amish community because their son wanted to stay in school. "The life we live doesn't require you to have a higher education, but should one be excommunicated for wanting to expand their mind?" Annie asked.
Forgiveness is a key theme as Beth brings into her narrative the 2006 shootings in the Nickel Mines Amish community where five young girls were killed. We all know the Amish as a peaceful people, quick to forgive, but the depth of their faith was never more evident than when they forgave the shooter and wanted his family to stay in the community. We often see forgiveness as the end result of a long emotional process, but the Amish see it as a beginning, a starting point. But with the way Annie was treated upon her return, I couldn't help but wonder if sometimes the Amish are better at forgiving outsiders than one of their own.
Annie would sometimes assist the midwife in delivering babies, and one scene was especially touching when a baby with a physical handicap was born. "This was why Annie loved these people, this community. Unlike the outside world, they looked upon this as a blessing, an opportunity to minister to one of Gott's meek children. No hospitals or doctors could replace the insurance of brotherly love between them."
Annie's Truth is a story that can't help but make you think, cause you to reflect on forgiveness - and I believe it will be enjoyed even by those who don't read a lot of Amish fiction. I was delighted to discover Beth Shriver's writing and highly recommend Annie's Truth to those who enjoy inspirational fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Annie's Truth, Touch of Grace Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Annie's Truth

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently started reading Beth Shriver and I've found another favorite author. This book will touch your heart, emotions and better have plenty of tissue available. I had a hard time putting the book down to even eat. Beth shows Annie's struggles to try to find out about herself but wanting her Amish family & friends to understand. She steps out in faith. Other reviewers told you the plot. Watch Annie's heart be torn, the heartache of uncertainty. I smiled, laughed and cried while reading this. In my opionion I give it 5 *****. Definitely a book and author that you don't want to miss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Annie's Truth, Touch of Grace Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great story of truth-seeking and forgiveness

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the series backwards....lol.....I received a copy of Grace Given previously and read it and reviewed it. I loved both books. I rather enjoyed reading it this way as it answered many questions that I formed as I read book 2. I felt really badly for Annie though. It seemed that her family was very hard on her for wanting to find her birth mother after she discovered that she was found in a field by her Amish faither as a newborn. I would think that it would be natural for Annie to have questions about her birth and to want to find her own answers. I suppose it is the Amish way and that would be one of the things I have trouble over in the Amish faith. Her boyfriend, John, also seemed rather harsh with her as well. I don't want to spoil the book for readers by telling too much, so you will need to read both books and discover these treasures for yourself!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Annie's Truth, Touch of Grace Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Annie's Truth - Amish

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Beiler is the daughter that most Amish girls strive to model after and mother's trusted with their children. She is the oldest daughter in her family and her parents know she is a dedicated, respectful and dependable daughter. It has also been taken for granted within the community that she will marry the young man next door whom she has been best friends with since childhood.
All of this fell into jeopardy when she finds evidence that she had not only been adopted by her Amish parents but that she had been abandoned as a newborn in a corn field at night and left to the bitter elements of nature and would have died if her adopted father had not heard her weak cry and rescued her from death.
She feels disconnected from her present life and is adamant she search for her birth mother and find out the circumstances of her being abandoned. Her parents and the Reverend of the community do not and will not approve for her to leave her community. They believe God expects her to accept the life God has blessed her with.
This is a heartbreaking story! Keep the tissue box handy.
The author did such a great job writing about such a sensitive subject. Just when you think you know what Julie should do the author has such a better scenario for each and every predicament. You've heard of Father Know Best. Well this was Author Know Best. That what makes me the review and her the author.
Julie's adopted parents should have held onto this verse. Proverbs 22:6 "Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it."
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Charisma for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Annie's Truth, Touch of Grace Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fascinating Look at Amish Community

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Annie's Truth is full of drama. The questions she asks upon finding out that she's adopted feel normal to me, although I can't truly know, and it makes sense to wonder about them, at least; however, her Amish elders feel differently and do not allow it. This causes big problems for Annie, and so much of the drama was difficult for me to relate to. I did find the entire issue quite interesting, and it was so well written that I flew through these issues, wanting to read and understand more.
Because the church elders do not allow questions of this type, this is a great book for those of us who want to know more about Amish ways. Most Englischers have a more self-centered world view than do the Amish, who seek to suppress all thoughts of self in the interest of better serving their community, and this book makes this belief quite evident.
With smooth-flowing chapters and dramatic scenes throughout, this is both an informative and fascinating read. If you enjoy reading Amish fiction, you won't want to miss Annie's Truth.
I received a free copy of Annie's Truth from Charisma House in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Annie's Truth, Touch of Grace Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunning

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
AngelLinda
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read a lot of Amish fiction over the years, each have held a special place in my heart. Beth Shriver is a new author to me and this was the first book from her that I've read. She truly impressed me with her writing, her characters, her pace of story....let's just say she impressed me in many ways.
Annie's life changes in an instant when she finds out a secret about her birth recorded in a family bible....there is a month and a year, but no day. When she questions her parents, she learns that the reason is she was adopted....found in one of her daed's fields late one night when he was awakened by the sounds of coyotes. Annie's parents can't seem to fully understand why Annie wants to find her birth mother, when she should just be thankful that she was taken in, cared for and loved, but Annie feels different inside - like she doesn't really know 'who' she is. Annie finally decides that she needs to know something, anything about the woman who gave birth to her. She takes a bus to Harrisonburg to look for answers. It's the first time she's ever ventured from home and what awaits her in the 'real world' makes her long for her quiet Amish life. After searching through agency after agency turns up no leads, Annie decides she should just give up and go home, but the family that takes her in during her search encourage her to give it just a little more time. Eventually, Annie is reunited with the woman who gave birth to her and she gets her questions answered...but they weren't what she was expecting!
I highly recommend this book. The only downfall is having to wait until 2013 for the second installment in the series...but if it is anything like this book, it'll be worth the wait.
Thanks Charisma House for the complimentary copy of the book for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Annie's Truth, Touch of Grace Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adoptions happen all the time. Some people grow up knowing they were adopted, some don't. Adoptions are not always particular, the adopted child is sometimes raised in a different culture than their birth parent's were raised in. This is the case with Annie Beiler.
Annie was raised Amish. It's all she knew. It's all she wanted to know. Until the day she found out she was adopted. Her daed found her in a field, as an infant. He and his wife took her in and raised her as their own. She became the first in a line of children, all raised the same way. Once Annie found out she was adopted, her life changed, altered somehow. She left her Amish family and started a journey of self-discovery, to find the truth in her past, present, and future.
Annie's truth, and her search to find it, caused division in her life and with her family and friends. But as she learns to accept who she is, she finds that the truth she seeks has been right there all along.
I received this complementary book from Charisma House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Annie's Truth, Touch of Grace Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touch of Grace

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading Annie's Truth, and could not put it down...it was done in less than a day. Now I'm wanting more!
As the story begins Annie Beiler is about to find out that she was adopted. Annie and her sister Hanna got their Mother's permission to go the attic and go through their hope chests. In doing so, Annie opens her bible and finds that her birth date is not filled in. When she goes and finds her Mom and Dad to find out the circumstance of her birth...she is thrown into a tizzy and yearns to learn more of why?
With her Mother's help she leave and goes to another city to find out as much as she can. She stays with a former Amish family who seem to want to help her, and she does learn a lot! She finally decides to return to her home and family.
You will wonder what has happened since she left and if she is going to be shunned? She was in a relationship with John Yoder before she left, and while away she has found how much she has missed him. You will find yourself rooting for her...no matter what. We meet tough Deacon Zeke...and a Sweetheart Bishop Omar.
You will find yourself immersed in this Amish Community very fast, and never want to leave. Enjoy!
I received this book from the Publisher Charisma Media, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Annie's Truth, Touch of Grace Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great Amish Series!

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As Annie and her sister Hannah get permission from their mother to go through their hope chests containing items for their future weddings, Annie finds her childhood Bible wrapped up in hers. When she opens the front cover to compare her child-like handwriting, she notices that among her family's tree containing birth, wedding and death dates, her birth day is missing. Only her birth month and year have been noted.
When she inquires to this missing bit of information, she learns that she was left in a field one night and was found by her father. No one has ever known how Annie had come to be found in that field that night but her best friend John Yoder, believes God always knew where Annie would be best raised. Yet Annie has her doubts. When her father Amos, forbids it, Annie presses her mother to help her. Providing her with some time, money and a place to stay, Annie's mother Sarah reminds her that she has always had a home with them. She hopes Annie will chose to come home soon because in her mind nothing has ever changed about the way she loves Annie.
Now that she has made a decision to try and find her birth parents, Annie is staying with a family who has left the old Amish community. Getting help from Rudy, Annie keeps trying to find the missing piece of her puzzle to help her find out why she was left behind 18 years ago. Only the longer Annie takes, it may result in her being shunned by her own community and leaving behind the opportunity to find happiness and marriage with John Yoder. Only her sister, Hannah is more than willing to help John forget all about Annie. Will she find out the truth before it's too late to come home?
In the first novel in the Touch of Grace Series by Beth Shriver, Annie's Truth takes the reader into a different type of Amish novel. This one dealing with the subject of adoption. Is Annie truly Amish or do the feelings she has inside, speak of a different lifestyle than she has ever known before? I love Beth's Amish novel and it shows just how vastly different the Amish and English lifestyles are, especially for Annie's character who has never even ventured out on a Rumspringa, or a period of seeing what life is like outside the Amish community before becoming baptized into the church. I can relate to Annie's frustration with her father's unwillingness to help her and when he refuses to even say goodbye to her when she is leaving, I can feel the pain in her heart at being torn in two.
I received this novel compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and have to say again, I really enjoyed this one. It's a different take on your Amish love story and tells the story of what it feels like to find a sense of belonging when you don't know who you are or where you come from and the reader is taken on that search in Annie's Truth. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and look forward to the rest of the books in this series and even more characters to come to adore and love like family and friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Annie's Truth, Touch of Grace Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent exciting read!!!

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Helen Hevener
Location:Staunton, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cant say when I have ever enjoyed a book this much- Annie's Truth by Beth Shriver was without question the most touching Amish novel I have ever read!!!! I am from VA and I always knew there were Amish in VA but had never read a story about them before!!! This story is will have your attention from the first page to the last page- I read it all in 2 sittings!!! You will cry with Annie and you will laugh with Annie- she is one of the most sincere Amish girls that I have ever read about!!!! Only thing I hate is having to wait until 2013 for the next book- but believe me I will get the next book!!!
I would give this book a ten if I could- incredible- touching- one of the sweetest stories I have ever read- teaches true humility!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.