Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Advent - eBook

Zondervan Advent - eBook

The Titan! Kami! Kwan Yin! Shango! Avatar! They are the Hand of the Morningstar, and they are Earth's protectors, fighting under the command of the enigmatic Morningstar himself. But who - or what - is the Morningstar? As the world prepares for the coming of the unseen leader of the group, another super-powered being named Tempest seems to have designs on setting right some environmental issues, and when Tempest and Titan go toe-to-toe there could be more at stake than meets the eye! Beginning a series that will push the limits of what a hero should be, Hand of the Morningstar has action, drama and characters striving towards their ultimate destiny. Recommended for age s 14 and up.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Advent - eBook
Review 1 for Advent - eBook
This review is fromAdvent, Volume 1, Z Graphic Novels / Hand of the Morning Star.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

The Story And View

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
SundayHomie
Location:Saint Paul MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the entire novel and let me sum it up, the heroes get there power from the morning star the short guy with the suit has the ability to take there powers away if they act bad because he is like the leader. titan the one that looks like a superman loses a fight and gets all depressed at his house eating food and drinking beer? but one of the heroes from the team yells at him to get his act together. The tempest is one of the bad guys who is this super villain tree huger and the suit leader guy thanks the morning star for the heroes winning at the end dressed like a monk. so overall I think it was entertaining and bad at the same time the fight scenes were not good in my opinion, very dull and boring but the I enjoyed the story more but not too much, the art was okay, would of liked it more if it had color. The concept was okay it was new but I would not recommend this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Advent - eBook
This review is fromAdvent, Volume 1, Z Graphic Novels / Hand of the Morning Star.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
girlwholikestohavefun
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our church has adopted an elementary school in which we are providing 1,000 books. These books were perfect, graphic novels, which are popular for a great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Advent - eBook
This review is fromAdvent, Volume 1, Z Graphic Novels / Hand of the Morning Star.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My son loved this book, asked for volume 2

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jacob
Location:Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 12 year old hates to read, but must everynight for 30 minutes. His teacher stated she didn't care what he read even a comic book. So when I saw this book for a great price, I couldn't pass it up. My son read this book in 2 nights, and I was online to buy the next volume for him!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Advent - eBook
This review is fromAdvent, Volume 1, Z Graphic Novels / Hand of the Morning Star.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice story for the 11-13 age group.

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Location:Bixby, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased for 11 year old grandson. He liked it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Advent - eBook
This review is fromAdvent, Volume 1, Z Graphic Novels / Hand of the Morning Star.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Harrison
I bought these books for my son who hates reading, and he has read three in the space of 2 weeks! The small amount of writing and the exciting story lines are great to draw kids in, who would not normally take the time to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Advent - eBook
This review is fromAdvent, Volume 1, Z Graphic Novels / Hand of the Morning Star.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike Livi
it was good. the story was well written and very gripping. the art work was clean. being black and white was a nice touch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Advent - eBook
This review is fromAdvent, Volume 1, Z Graphic Novels / Hand of the Morning Star.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carrie Roberts
My son does not care to read unless it is in the form of a comic book or graphic novel. He usually reads Marvel comics but I wanted to introduce him to something more rewarding. He really liked this book as well as Vol. 2. At his request, I will be ordering more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Advent - eBook
This review is fromAdvent, Volume 1, Z Graphic Novels / Hand of the Morning Star.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michael Herndon
Well-written and illustrated with plenty of action and relevant message. Recommended for readers young and old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Advent - eBook
This review is fromAdvent, Volume 1, Z Graphic Novels / Hand of the Morning Star.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jonathan Ewert
My 11 year old enjoyed it tremendously. He asked me to get the next one as soon as I could!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Advent - eBook
This review is fromAdvent, Volume 1, Z Graphic Novels / Hand of the Morning Star.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jacob
Just to clarify, this is supposed to be a manga book. sadly, most mangas to expensive these days, but its good to have a publishing company that publishes kinds of Mangas like these. I've never read this exact series, but I know the translators (mangas are mad in Japan and/or Korea) add unnecessary and very cheesy lines to manga.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Advent - eBook
This review is fromAdvent, Volume 1, Z Graphic Novels / Hand of the Morning Star.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Justin
This book begins the saga of a group of super-powered individuals, called The Hand of the MorningStar. The team is tasked by the tasked by the mysterious Morningstar with protecting the earth from evil (at least that what they think). Near the end of the story, however, one becomes disquieted by the possibility that the Morningstar may not, in fact, be a bastion of goodness and righteousness. For those not familiar with the biblical terminology, this graphic novel draws on a much-debated passage in Isaiah 14:12. Students of the Bible are divided as to whom Isaiah is referring. Some say Isaiahs MorningStar is none other than Satan himself; while others contend that the MorningStar is Jesus the Christ. I appreciate Zondervans attempt to add depth, mystery, and theological texture to the graphic novel genre. I also appreciate the fact that they dont bring all the technical aspects of it to the fore. However, the book suffers from some pretty bad blunders. First, there are some embarassing spelling and grammatical typos. (Its hard to misspell imbecile and be taken seriously.) Second, the book suffers at times from an excess of cheeziness. To be sure, its not as bad most of the Christian comic books/graphic novels Ive read, but its still there. Hopefully with time the story-telling will smooth out and deepen. Third, the biggest peeve Ive got with this book is really with the whole graphic novel genre: its too expensive! Hopefully, Zondervan will release some less-expensive versions, or else start printing stories in the more classic comic book format.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.