Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1

Tyndale House The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1

When Iola Anne Poole, an old-timer on Hatteras Island, passes away in her bed at ninety-one, the struggling young mother in her rental cottage, Tandi Jo Reese, finds herself charged with the task of cleaning out Iola's rambling Victorian house.

Running from a messy, dangerous past, Tandi never expects to find more than a temporary hiding place within Iola's walls, but everything changes with the discovery of eighty-one carefully decorated prayer boxes, one for each year, spa...

Average Customer Rating:
4.721 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 out of 4398%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
Review 1 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cassandra
Location:Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I really enjoyed reading this book. It was a story of hope and healing. It showed that people are not bound by the mistakes of their parents. With God's help, they can overcome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational

Date:June 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
BSW7
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such a wonderful story, very well written. To think that a person's prayers could touch lives in such a dramatic way not only while they're alive but also after they've passed on makes me want to bring new vigor to my own prayer life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great idea for a book

Date:June 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed The Prayer Box. It was a sweet story of healing and hope. It was predictable though. I could tell what was going to happen from the start. But the story was well-written and enjoying to read for a light summer read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED IT!!!

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Prayer Box by Lisa Wingate is about Tandi Jo Reese a 33 year old single mother. She had just left her husband and ran away with her two children to the Outer Banks. She is trying to start a new life and beat an addiction to OxyContin. Her life up to this point has been full of pain and untrustworthy people including her parents. She rents a cottage next to a large Victorian owned by a 91 year old woman named Iola Anne Poole. When Iola dies, and Tandi is tasked to clean out the large Victorian her life is forever changed at the discovery of many boxes filled with letters.
I really really enjoyed this book. When I first started reading it, I thought I would have a hard time identifying with the characters and really getting into the story. Boy, was I ever wrong! The characters really come to life and are full and rich. I felt like I knew them by the end of the book. Tandi's character especially is complex and complicated. There are lots of wonderful stories woven throughout and many wonderful quotes. My favorite quote was, "Maybe there came a point in life where you had to quit categorizing whole groups of people by a few bad experiences." This book was a great read. I'm so glad that I read it. I was crying by the end. I was really invested and then surprised by the outcome at the end of the book. I highly recommend reading this story. I will read it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Away Idea

Date:June 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Reader5
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a pretty good book written by Lisa Wingate. At some points I thought the book moved slowly. In the story it seems like everything is going wrong for the single mom, Tandi. But then she starts cleaning the house of Iola and finding hidden prayers in individual unique boxes. The story reminded that when one door closes another will open for you, such as it did for Tandi. After reading this book, I plan on making a prayer box, like the one in the story that Iola wrote.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
This review is fromThe Prayer Box.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Prayer Box

Date:July 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Prayer Box is the first book I have read by Lisa Wingate and I really liked it. I really like her unique writing style. I loved the location, the story, and the characters. I look forward to reading more by this author.
4 1/2 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If I could give it more than 5 stars I would

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
raisingbookworms
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book! It was a great summer book and one I read fast. The characters are ones you would want to be friends with in real life. The story is one that will touch your and stay with you long after you are done reading it. This will be one of those books that you loan to your friends and say “I want this back when your done reading it!”
Tandi Jo Reese is renting a cottage from Iola Anne Poole. So when Iola passes away at 91, she gets the task of cleaning out and going through Iola’s stuff inside the big Victorian house. Tandi has issues and problems of her own so cleaning out the Victorian house is the last thing on her list. Her past is messy and a disaster to say the least. So the last thing she thinks she will find while going through Iola’s things is comfort, safety and a place to hide and heal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:May 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tandi and her two children are running from her past, and they settle into a rental cottage on Hatteras Island. Tandi is hired to clean out the Victorian mansion next door when the owner, Iola, dies, and makes a discovery of prayer boxes containing old letters.
I thought this book was very good with the two stories, Tandi's and the home owner's, woven together. I had previously read the prequel to this novel, The Sea Glass Sisters, and several characters reappeared in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
This review is fromThe Prayer Box - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet, Touching, and Lovely

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not want to put this book down! It is full of warmth, beauty, and love. Although sadness and heartache are also there, they do not win. Through the difficulties, the characters grow stronger. This is written with humor, and with delightfully vivid descriptions. I feel as if I've been to these places, and known these people. I identified with the emotions and felt as if I were part of the story; and I love a happy ending. Lisa Wingate writes beautifully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
This review is fromThe Prayer Box.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Imagine a lifetime of recorded prayers!

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Norfolk, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Prayer Box tells the story of Tandi Jo Reese, fleeing a difficult past and making a new life in the Outer Banks. When her landlady, Iola Anne Poole, passes away, she is tasked with cleaning up the place, and discovers a lifetime of prayers, written as letters to her Father and tucked into 81 boxes (one a year from the year she started). As she reads these letters, it changes her perspective of Iola, herself, and God.
This was a beautifully written book that left me sighing and with that wonderful “feel good” feeling at the end. I loved the author’s Note at the end and her inspiration for the story, and her encouragement to start your own prayer boxes. What a wonder to have a lifetime of prayers recorded! Just think, to be able to look back and see the development of your relationship with God, and His faithfulness throughout your life. Wow!
A great beach read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
This review is fromThe Prayer Box.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story

Date:June 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful story! I really loved it. Tandi, although the mother of a teenaged girl and an elementary aged boy, acts like a teen. She is almost penniless, lives for parties, drops everything for a boyfriend and in the past has used drugs to escape reality. Her daughter parents both herself and her younger brother. Yet, with the death of her landlord, Iola Anne Poole, Tandi is given the opportunity to help clean out the main house and in doing so discovers the real Iola. As Tandi learns about Iola she changes and becomes a better mother and person. She has lots of opportunities to derail – her sister’s arrival, her boyfriend’s possessiveness, her daughter’s rebellion – but as she grows as a person she learns real truth, “All my life, I’d let the ties of blood control me, limit me, define me, yet I’d ignored the ties of love.”
I highly recommend this book. I really enjoyed watching Tandi go from a self-centered terrible mother to a caring, sacrificing, community woman. And I thought the surprise ending was great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
This review is fromThe Prayer Box.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful story

Date:June 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Prayer Box by Lisa Wingate is an amazing story about a young mother, Tandi Reese, who flees from her abusive boyfriend in California to Hatteras Island with her two children in early March. Virtually penniless, Tandi rented a small cottage on the grounds of an historic manor house, put her children in school, and found a job as a sales clerk in a gift shop. In her free time she explored the manor house, finding prayer boxes with notes she read. Would she get caught and kicked out of her cottage? How would the arrival of her sister affect her? What bad thing did her sister do? How and why was the manor house threatened? What could she do to stop the threat? What truth about herself did she discover?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
This review is fromThe Prayer Box.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Letters.....

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a hard time reading the first chapter or two until the story line picked up but I am glad I stuck with the book.  It was a wonderful story about a single mom who put her life back together with the help of her deceased landlord's prayer boxes. 
Tandi is a single mom to her daughter and son who arrived on Hatteras Island looking for a place of refuge.   Tandi is afraid to trust all the right people and instead trusts another guy who has no time for her kids.  Thankfully there are others in the community who love her children and help take care of them.
The people in the community are willing to help two strange children who are newcomers but didn't have the time of day for Iola Anne Poole whose cottage  Tandi  and her children rented.  While reading the letters in the prayer boxes Tandi discovered that even though people didn't like Iola Anne that didn't stop her from being generous to those around her in need.  Tandi is able to return the favor by helping
to save Iola Anne's house.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
This review is fromThe Prayer Box.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Read

Date:June 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
reli
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. Tandi goes from being a self-centered, drug-dependent mother whose children take care of themselves to a caring, sacrificial mother. She reaches outside of herself and becomes involved in saving an old historical house simply by reading the prayers of the deceased owner and sensing her love for the place and her caring for the people around her. Nobody understood Iola Anne Poole and yet she donated thousands and thousands of dollars to the local people--always done anonymously. I was challenged to write down more of my prayers--it is a great reference to be able to look back and see how God has answered them. As in most books, there were parts I didn't agree with, but the main gist of the story was well done. I will be looking forward to reading more of Lisa's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
This review is fromThe Prayer Box.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Writing to the Father

Date:June 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
jsrn18
I love Lisa Wingate's books but this one was harder for me to get into. You get a lot of background and other information before ever getting to the meat of the book relating to the title. Very well written with great detail. I think its an interesting idea of writing out your prayers like a diary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
This review is fromThe Prayer Box.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Prayer Box by Lisa Wingate is the story of a single mom named Tandi and her deceased landlord Iola Anne. When Iola passes in her sleep in the big house that is behind the cottage that Tandi lives in Tandi notices the lights aren't coming on anymore and goes and finds her dead. Iola had no one who cared and Tandi had been too busy in her own stuff to get to know her.
Tandi is a struggling single mother who has lived a life from birth that makes her questions everyone's motives and not trust anyone. She is struggling to support her two children and most of the time they fend for themselves. But she ends up being in the right place at the right time and is asked to help clean out Iola's kitchen for the church. When she happens upon Iola's prayer boxes she begins to learn the story of this remarkable women and begins to learn and change. But in the end what will happen to Iola's house and precious memories? Will it all be destroyed to create flood plains for the rich beach houses?
This book at first frustrated me. Not because of the writing though. Lisa is a fabulous author. She can really craft words and sentences and paint a beautiful picture. I was so frustrated with the main character Tandi. I mean why didn't she trust anyone and why wouldn't she open up and accept help. It drove me nuts that she would just leave her kids for some guy who she thought was better than the one she had just ran from. I wanted to shake her and tell her to get her act together. But then she starts to change, and the story of Iola's life unfolds and the last half of the book I read in one night. This is a fabulous story and after having read it I think a prayer box is a fabulous idea. You truly must read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
This review is fromThe Prayer Box.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully Written

Date:June 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
J4Life5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story was a little slow to start for me. I had read The Sea Glass Sisters awhile ago which is the prequel to The Prayer Box and I was trying to figure out how the two books related to one another. Around page 60, I was so hooked into Tandi's story that I stopped thinking about the other book and wanted to find out if Tandi would overcome her personal demons.
This is a very sad book in many ways. Tandi's childhood and life up until this point was tragic and the she was unable to make better choices because she had nothing to believe in, most of all believing in herself as a worthwhile person. Readers see her subjecting her own children to a neglectful childhood, just as her parents did to her.
However, this is also a book filled with hope. Readers see through Iola's story that times change and that all is not what it appears at times. Readers are reminded that sometimes people just need a little help and an opportunity for hope to change their lives. The best part of this book for me was the way that the Christian characters in this book didn't try to improve Tandi's circumstances by inviting her to church and leaving it at that. They loved her where she was and demonstrated God's love.
This is a really great, inspiring book. Wingate expertly weaves a plot with characters that readers really get to know and love. Her descriptions of the setting pull you in so that you feel like you are really there in the beach community, seeing the old house, the sea glass, the sand, and the lingering damage from hurricanes.
If you are looking for a book to pull you in for a couple hours, this is a great one. Even after the end, the story and characters stay with you - it is that good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
This review is fromThe Prayer Box.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Valued by the Lord

Date:May 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tandi Reese has escaped with her two children to Fairhope, a small village in the Outer Banks of North Carolina. She’s broke, trying to escape her controlling husband and hopefully find herself and reconnect with her children, Zoey and JT. She rents a cottage on the grounds of a run-down stately home, owned by a reclusive old lady, Iola Anne Poole.
Soon after moving in, she finds Iola Anne dead, and is given the job of clearing the house in exchange for rent. While cleaning, she finds dozens of prayer boxes filled with letters, prayers from Iola Anne to her heavenly father, in which she has poured out the details of her life.
I will admit I didn’t actually buy this novel based on the cover blurb. I bought it because it had a character named Iola (even though Iola is dead by the time the novel starts). Iola isn’t exactly a common name, and I was intrigued.
My curiosity was rewarded: The Prayer Box was certainly worth reading. It’s been nominated for the 2014 Christy Awards in the Contemporary Fiction category, and it has to be a strong contender. The plot is tightly-woven, the characters are real and interesting, and the writing is excellent.
While this novel is written by a Christian author and published by a Christian publisher, it’s not preachy come-to-Jesus Christian fiction, but the nature and theme of the novel—prayer—is certainly Christian. The Prayer Box about a broken woman with a life full of mistakes trying to rediscover herself, slowly realising that her identity is about her, not about her boyfriend or husband:
"I wasn’t looking for Iola in these boxes. I was looking for myself, for the answer to the question I’d be asking and avoiding for years. How do you finally move beyond the past?"
I don’t know why Lisa Wingate chose Iola for her character’s name. I don’t even know if she knows the meaning of the name. It’s a fascinating choice that underpins the book. Common wisdom is that Iola is a Greek name, meaning “dawn cloud”—which doesn’t fit at all.
But I’ve always been told my name was Welsh, and after some online research a couple of years ago, I found the Welsh meaning of my name. It’s not “dawn cloud”. It’s “valued by the Lord”. And that’s what The Prayer Box is all about: Iola Anne Poole, who I believe knew she was valued by the Lord despite what others said about her, and Tandi Reese, who learned she was valued by the Lord, that she was the carpenter’s daughter both literally and spiritually.
Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
This review is fromThe Prayer Box.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great characters!

Date:March 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Age:25-34
Tandi Jo Reese has a disturbed, disheveled life, but it is reshaped after finding the prayer boxes of left behind from her landlord, Iola Toole. Everyone has gone through troubled times and searched for a way out--which is what makes this book so easy to relate to.
The Characters have such depth that they feel like neighbors. Lisa Wingate has a great gift of storytelling and sharing aspects of life--both ordinary and extraordinary--that paint such a strong picture that the reader feels like they've been there, experienced the events, etc...
This story is inspirational, stimulating and emotive. Loved it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1
This review is fromThe Prayer Box.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yes You Can Go Home Again!

Date:March 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tandi Jo Reese made the decision to come to Hatteras Island to get away from a past that holds horrible memories; she has come back to the one place that holds the few precious memories from her abusive childhood. Now she needs to find a job so she can buy food and pay the rent on the little cottage that her landlady, Iola Anne Poole, owns.
Tandi and her kids had been living in the cottage for six weeks when she decided to check on Iola. Tandi knew the moment she stepped on the porch that the one thing most everyone fears had come and taken the ninety one year old away. Finding the door unlocked Tandi hesitantly enters hoping beyond hope to find the tiny lady well, but it wasn't to be. When the minister of music from Fairhope Fellowship Church drops by and offers Tandi the job of cleaning out Iola's house in exchange for the rent on the cottage, she agrees never dreaming the treasures she would discover inside that beautiful old Victorian House.
Having heard a few vicious rumors about Iola, Tandi is anxious to learn more about her and she wishes she had taken the time to get to know her before she passed. When Tandi arrives to clean the house it seems as though something is drawing her back to the room where she found Iola, lying peacefully on the antique wedding quilt. What Tandi finds is a lifetime of memories enclosed in beautifully decorated boxes. There she is introduced to a little girl, who like herself had a troublesome childhood and there Tandi will find the love of a Father who has been waiting for her to come home.
What an enjoyable read this was, Tandi was a character with a lot of flaws but also one that tugged at your heart. It was so rewarding to see the turn her life took after realizing who Iola's true Father was. The winding path this book leads you on to the satisfying conclusion was quite surprising. This is the first book I have read by Lisa and I know it won't be the last; in fact I liked this one so much I look forward to reading it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.