Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Sunset, Sunrise Series #4

Tyndale House Sunset, Sunrise Series #4

The fourth book in Karen Kingsbury's "Sunrise" series and the fourteenth and final book chronicling the Baxter family is a book of beginnings as well as endings. Woven throughout its pages are the recurring themes of the redeeming love and the unending faithfulness of God. Memories of times gone by meet with the changes of today in a story that proves that only the support of faith and family can take a person into the sunset years of life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Review 1 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The power of a family’s love and the healing miracle of redemption." This quote, found on the cover of the book, perfectly describes the wonderful series about the Baxter family. Sunset, is the last book in this Karen Kingsbury’s must read series. She has written this book in such a way that you think the Baxter’s are a real family and she has written their stories just for you.
A couple tore apart by betrayal. A family dealing with health issues. A widower getting married and dealing with the merging of families. This fictional Baxter family could be anyone’s family. The author describes each issue in a way that helps you understand that the Lord is your answer in all your difficulties. You will also see how a family should help instead of hinder each other in their spiritual growth.
If you have read the other books in the series you will love how Sunset brings all the stories to a close. You are left knowing that each member is moving on with their lives and happy.
If you have not read any of the other books you can still enjoy the stories. Just don’t be surprised when you put this book down and rush off to find the first book in the series that started it all, Redemption.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela Pearl
Fabulous book. I wish she would write more books about the baxter family I have read all three of her series on the baxter family and have fallen in love with them. I look forward to her new books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
All good things must come to an end and it's time to finally bring to a close the Baxter Family Drama series. It's interesting enough that the word drama is used because that's pretty much has been happening throughout the series. It seems that anything and everything that could happen to the family does happen to them. It's quite a roller coaster ride with lots of dips, turns and loops from the first book all the way to this last one. In this book, we finally see the Baxters bring everything to a close. John has decided he wants to finally move on with his life and this includes a life with Elaine. Ashley has to deal with fears of another pregnancy. Luke and his wife must come to terms with their relationship. The family comes together to help out each other in times of need.While I enjoyed the book, there just seems to be a little too much soap opera action for me. Affairs are discussed, marriages take place, pregnancies are happening, past relationships get brought up. Like I said, there's a lot of drama that happens to this family. It felt like all stories had to have happy and tidy ending but not without tear inducing moments. Now I myself never felt compelled to cry at all but I can see how some of these scenarios can force a few misty eyes while reading. I did feel though that everyone going into labor at the same time felt too coincidental to me.Overall it's a satisfying read if you've been following the family since the original series. Everything you want to happen happens, and everyone is together again for the finale However don't fear that you'll never hear from the Baxters again. Kingsbury has already released another series, The Above the Line series, where the Baxters can be seen in the background. It's like a spin off of your favorite show with cameos from the characters. The Baxters will forever live on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gail Totzke
I loved this good as did I love the last 13 books, I was in tears as I finished this book knowing it's the end of the Baxter era. I enjoy reading all Karen's book. Please keep up the wonderful work. Every book has given me hope in some aspect of my life. Thank You!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
nicole
This was a wonderful way to end the series. It tied up loose ends and had great surprises along the way. It was hard to put down yet I did not want the story to end. I thought it was great how Luke and Regan asked forgiveness of each other and how John had Elizabeth and God's blessing to marry Elaine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diane Frost
In true Karen Kingsbury fashion it was an excellent book. I hated to put the book down. I am looking forward to her new series this Spring. It was heart harming to see how Ashley handled her pregnancy and the surprise when she gave birth. It warmed my heart how she focused on what was pure and excellent. And how John and Reagan fought to save their marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Theresa
This was my least favorite book by Karen Kingsbury. It did not hold my interest. I usually finish her books in less than a week, this one took me over three weeks. It didn't hold my interest. I felt it was a recap of all the books before it with very little of anything new. It was a total let down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2008
The Baxter family saga concludes with this fourth book of the Sunrise Series although the author promises to use them as background characters in future novels. This is a stand-alone novel, but if the reader has kept up through the Redemption Series and then the Firstborn Series, this book brings back all of the characters and ties up all loose ends in a satisfying conclusion. There's a good bit of repeating, but perhaps this comes with the fourteenth book in a series.Kingsbury has a way of telling a good story while allowing her readers to know the people who live in her books. Though varied personalities, they all are believable. Children's voices are especially well written such that I can see his head nod as he explains about dinosaurs or hear her plaintive wail when she wants her pacifier.Warning: read it with tissues close at hand. Any Kingsbury fan will love this one. Discussion questions are included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia Wilson
I am a big fan of Karen Kingsbury, so her books are always awesome and heart-warming. I can feel myself being apart or around this family and growing in ways I never thought possible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carrie Keel
Loved it, it was a great way to end the series, how sad it is though (ending series) I just love Karen Kingsbury, what a GODLY woman!!!! I look forward to reading each and everybook she has, and I really look forward to seeing the next series, when we get a "window" to the Baxters!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Betsy Pierce
While most of Karen Kingsbury's books are hard to set aside, I found no problem with putting this one down to do other things. The book served its purpose of tying up the loose ends, but was not as spell-binding as books by Karen usually are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Denice Leavitt
WOW!!! I so, enjoyed reading this book. It was sad that it was the final one. I could read about this family more and more. Just nice to know that God is so forgiving and that not all families are perfect. Cause the only perfect one is OUR FATHER
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2008
I enjoyed reading all of the books in this series. Sorry to say goodbye to the Baxter family. I loved that Ashley was given a daughter in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robin Montgomery
This is the last book in the Series which I have read every one. I am not finished because I do not want to finish. I cannot imagine not having any more news of the characters in these books, so I am reading really slow. As with every book in the series, Karen Kingsbury brings this family into your life and I feel His blessings through her writing just by reading them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Kalem
I love every book Karen Kingsbury writes for us. As always I can relate to the characters and apply God's lessons to them in my own life. I am sad this is the last book in the series because I'll miss keep up with the Baxters. However, I think Karen will keep us up dated with other books she'll write. Looking forward to the many more to come!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anna Ehrhardt
I have read the entire Sunrise Series - Great read - I just started reading Sunset - After the first page I felt warm and comfortable to be back with the Baxter family. I know that this book is going to be just as good if not better than the others. I hate to see this series end. I hope Karen Kingsbury has started another series of books. She is an excellent writer and she reminds us that God is always there for us, all we have to do is open the door.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Whitlock
This is an awesome book. I could not put it down. I would highly recommend it to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kim Starkey
The Whole series is awesome! Every Family can somewhat relate to trials and triumphs of the Baxters. Sad this is the last book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deborah Quinn
This entire series has been amazing! I am so glad Karen has written that the Baxter family will probably surface in future stories. I think the most important thing I have learned is just how amazing God's Grace is!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sunset, Sunrise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia Diment
This book was excellant! I have felt like one of the family in all of Karen Kingsbury's books. I am sad to have this series of books end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>