Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook

Bethany House Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook
Review 1 for Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Jesus!

Date:June 17, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Darlene Zschech is a well known worship leader who has written a year long devotional. A lot of these devo's have been taken straight from her personal journals. Honest, personal and well written, it is a pleasure to review this book. Each day has scripture, prayer and the devotion itself. Not overly long, the reader can dig deeper into the scripture of the day and/or prayer time if wanting to have more of a devo time. It is clear that the author loves Jesus, and wishes to serve Him with all she has.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Faithful, Friend of Sinners, Savior..."

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bess
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Darlene Zschech may be most well known for her singing voice, but she is also the author of a 365 day devotional titled, Revealing Jesus. The book is organized into characteristics of Jesus (one for each month of the year), such as faithful, friend of sinners, savior… Each section’s daily devotions revolve around that month’s characteristic. Each daily devotion is one page long consisting of a title, coordinating Bible verse, devotion, & short prayer. You can easily see Darlene Zschech’s passion for Jesus in her words, which are simple, true, lovely, reflective, & sometimes reveal her musical heart (she references Psalms, old hymns, etc. on occasion). A small few of the devotions are authored by others, taken from classic devotions penned by some of the great writers of the faith. Revealing Jesus is a yearlong devotional designed to take you into the heart of who Jesus is. It is not intimidating or condemning, but hopeful and challenging.
The book itself is a beautiful hard cover with embossed cover, dark teal type, & the occasional monochromatic-esque photograph/illustration featuring handwritten lyrics that reveal and revere our Savior & King, Jesus.
*I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lingering Jesus

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura Lee
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Devotional is designed that each day equals a page and each page begins with a small portion of the Bible. Not more than one or two verses. The idea is not to get as much information as possible, but to thoroughly mull over what you have read. After the Bible verse, Darlene spends a couple paragraphs telling us her thoughts and revelations about that portion of Scripture and finishes with a prayer to start us off in our own conversation with Jesus. Actually, this book’s title is a bit of a misnomer because, although Darlene does reveal much about Jesus, what she does most is lead us TO Jesus, where he reveals himself.
Darlene’s approach to the Bible is both interesting and unique, (who spends days delving into the book of PHILEMON?!). She demonstrated her extensive knowledge of the Bible by telling the events surrounding the writing of the verse and helped me to consider the feelings of the writer: the one holding the pen and the One inspiring the words.
Although the Daily Devotional format is pretty much what we’re used to, I found the content unexpected. Instead of a moment to pause and reflect, Darlene Zschech helped me to rethink my own prejudices about Jesus and be ready to accept him just as he is and for whomever he is. By giving me new things to think about, her words lingered and resurfaced throughout the day (and many times long beyond that). We may put her book down after the daily reading, but the revealing of Jesus continues.
Darlene expresses the majesty and might of Jesus and at the same time his tenderness and availability. Our days that are filled with a million annoyances and sometimes huge painful events can feel like we are walking in a desert. But this devotional is more than a stop at the oasis. Darlene puts us in the same place as the woman at the well. Once THAT woman understood who Jesus was and what he was offering, she never thirsted again. So be prepared, because once Jesus is revealed TO you, it’s inevitable that he’ll be revealed THROUGH you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful daily devotional

Date:May 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been on the hunt for a daily devotional of some kind for a few months now, ever since I got all excited about using another one that didn't work out. I have found it. This is a 365 day devotional that devotes 1 page to each day, sometimes they are written by Darlene, sometimes they are pulled from other places. Every day's reading begins with a verse, from any of a number of different translations and personally I like that change up. It's visually appealing as well.
I love this using this book as part of my devotions and scripture reading to kick of my day.
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful book - Inside and Out!

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I broke the cardinal rule of books!
"Never judge a book by its cover."
Too late. This book is beautiful to hold and to skim pages, to touch and also to read. Everything about it is gorgeous which makes it a perfect GIFT book.
Revealing Jesus is a 365 day devotional coming from the heart of acclaimed Worship leader, Darlene Zschech. Each daily entry has a verse to prompt your thoughts. There are a lot of entries from the Psalms, drawing you into honest worship and adoration. Each page then describes a thought or insight or story inspiring you to focus on Jesus and is followed by a short prayer. It was encouraging to see the heart of this woman in her words and stories.
The pages are dated from January 1st to December 31st. The actual reading on the pages is minimal - a quick and easy activity for every day - much like reading a Daily Bread entry. Each month has a beautifully crafted cover page with hand-scripted lyrics to hymns and songs. Again ... Beautiful!
I recommend this book to anyone wanting a brief scriptural reading for each day. It is also a wonderful gift idea for a Grad or on Mother's Day or any day as a matter of fact.
Thanks to Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin for the free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A wonderful devotional

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Revealing Jesus" is an absolute treasure, filled with inspirational devotionals that are based on solid scriptural teaching and wonderfully reflect God's heart and spirit. There is one devotional for every day of the year, and each page includes a verse of scripture, the devotional, and a brief prayer to help you get started in your own prayer time with the Lord. With a devotional like this, there really is little excuse for someone to say they have no time to spend focused on God. The entries are short, and yet each contains a powerful truth that will remain on your mind throughout the day. The devotionals are well-written and I very much enjoyed reading through them. I also enjoyed the lyrics to hymns and worship songs that grace the pages of the book, finding them to be meaningful and designed to draw the reader to the feet of Jesus.
If you are looking for a new devotional for yourself, or perhaps as a gift for a loved one for their birthday or upcoming Mother's Day, then consider giving them a copy of this devotional from worship leader Darlene Zschech. It is sure to be a blessing. I award this book a rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Simple Daily Devotional

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
AMKreations
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Darlene Zschech's daily devotional, Revealing Jesus, comes wrapped in a beautiful green hard cover, with splashes of gold. From the outside, the book is very desireable and is definitely gift giving quality. The inside of the book continues to draw you with its colors and nicely designed pages. Each month begins with a two page opener. You can easily follow through the days of the month by locating the date at the top of each page. The devotions begin with a scripture, followed by a short devotional, and closed with a prayer or thought. The author seeks to expose the reader to a deeper understanding of the nature and character of God, as well as encourage personal reflection and growth. The devotions are short, taking less than 2-3 minutes to read.
I think that this book would be a great addition to your regular Bible study, but should not replace the reading of God's Word. I did find that for myself, personally, it was somewhat lacking. Having read other devotionals, such as Streams in the Desert, I was really looking for a little deeper thought. However, as I stated, it is still a very nice book.
I received a complimentary copy of this book to review for Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2013
Darlene is well-known for her song “Shout to the Lord” and for being an amazing singer, songwriter and worship leader. In her new devotional, Revealing Jesus, she encourages people to see how Jesus is revealed in everyday life and how courage and strength can be found in His presence.
I enjoyed this devotional and loved the unique design of the cover. I also enjoyed the reader friendly layout. Each page contains the month/day, scripture, daily devotion and prayer. I appreciate how each scripture is written out at the top of the page for ease of use. For those people who prefer to study from one bible version please note that several versions are used for the daily scripture. For example, one day a scripture may come from the NIV version while the next day it may come from The Message. I thought I would mention this as I have not found this in other devotionals and it could influence whether someone wanted to purchase this book. Darlene also has a CD and DVD called Revealing Jesus to compliment this book.
*This book was provided by Bethany House for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST scripture based Devotional

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris Bush
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have nothing but good...no GREAT things to say about the 365 day devotional Revealing Jesus by Darlene Zschech! I love it because it is COMPLETELY scripture based. Each daily devotional starts off with a specific scripture or passage (completely written out so you don't have to whip out your bible) then the devotion builds upon and discusses that scripture and HOW we can APPLY that scripture to our lives. I love it.
I'll be honest I've read other devotionals and I've put them down because they didn't have enough scripture or wasn't fully backed with scripture however with this devotional that is NOT the case. It is fully scripture based...every single day of devotion. I love the way the author Darlene Zschech includes the way we can apply the daily scripture to our lives. I think that is a problem area for many people as we read, we go to church, we worship, we fellowship, we follow yet we sometimes have a hard time practicing what we learn/read. And this devotional is a great start in the right direction.
{FYI: I did receive this book from the publisher, Bethany House, in exchange for my HONEST review.}
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful Daily Encounter With Jesus

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jani417
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although cautioned not to judge a book by its cover, the first thing the reader notices is the beautifully designed hardcover of Revealing Jesus. This beautiful book is a companion to the album of music by the same name. It is ideal for Christians looking for inspirational readings on the passion and resurrection of Christ and is perfect for gift-giving.
The book is a 365 day format with uplifting readings for each day. Each daily reading has a Bible verse, a short reflection and a prayer to help apply the topic of the day’s message. Written by songwriter-performer Darlene Zschech, each reflection provides revelation, motivation and comfort in the lesson. Revealing Jesus is a book to keep, bookmark, love, and read, year after year for Christians who want to grow closer to their Savior. Revealing Jesus can only bring readers joyfully closer to Him, day by day.
Those who are familiar with Darlene Zschech’s songs, including Shout to the Lord, will love this companion book. All readers who wish for a closer relationship with Jesus will love this opportunity to spend a few minutes with Him each day, learning how to know and serve Him better.
I was given a free copy of this book by Bethany House Publishers to read and review. I highly recommend Revealing Jesus to readers of all ages.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Beautiful Book

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grace
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you long for more of God's presence, real rest and peace, and to see Him work in your life, this devotional is for you. This book was birthed on the pages of Darlene Zschech's journals. It is very honest, yet beautifully written. Each month is devoted to a study of a particular character of God.
January ~ Faithful
February ~ Solid Rock
March ~ Shield
April ~ Holy One
May ~ The Gate
June ~ Savior
July ~ Risen One
August ~ Redeemer
September ~ Breath of Life
October ~ Peace
November ~ Friend of Sinners
December ~ Messiah
Darlene Zschech encourages you to "Come, sit at the feet of our Lord, be strengthened in your weakness, embrace His love for you, and breathe in His peace."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Revealing Jesus: A 365-Day Devotional - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Devotional

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
oilerslover
Location:Edmonton, AB
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a powerful encounter with the heart of our Savior, Jesus Christ, I highly recommend this excellent devotional!
If you long for more of God's presence, ache to see Him work in your life, and desire His peace and rest, famous worship leader, Darlene Zschech invites you on an exciting journey through the Word of God!
These wonderful devotions will guide you on your journey as you get to know our Lord and Savior more intimately and will encourage you through the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.