Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Provident Films Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD

Provident Films Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD

Cancer-stricken Laura Mayfield-Bennett's dying wish is to be reunited with the child she never knew. But her daughter, Katie Lapp, is part of the Amish order. On the eve of her wedding, Katie discovers the shocking secret that threatens to unravel the only life she's ever known! Stars Danielle Panabaker and Sherry Stringfield. Based on Beverly Lewis's novel. Approx. 88 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • Deleted Scenes
  • Previews
  • English and French Subtitles
  • Widescreen
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 1681%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Review 1 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Waiting for the sequel!

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy Miller
Location:Greenville, Oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read the books and even though the movie didn't follow totally with the book (they rarely do), I feel it was well done and can't wait for the sequel to come out. I did feel like I was left hanging at the end! But, that is what a good book or movie does, "when it has another chapter"! So, where is PART 2?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Brief, cliff-hanger ending.

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
pianomchrist
Location:Middletown, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm not sure what I expected, but this was a bit of a disappointment. I don't like cliff-hangers for one thing and it seemed short. i did like the scenery especially since i live in the central PA and sometimes get near the Amish areas of PA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary Rogers
Location:Robertsville Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the book The Shunning and the movie was just as good. I kept thinking of thing in the book as I watch the movie. Looking forward to some more movies in that series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a interesting story and great fr teens

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
sarah
Location:texas
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a revealing story about Amish life and one that confronts
important values about life and family
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Movie

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Appey
Location:Bay Area, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Though I haven't read any of the books this story was based off of I felt it was a very entertaining movie that pulled on my heartstrings. I'm sure we can all get picky about details but in the end was the storyline plausible and did it entertain in a wholesome fashion, my answer is yes to both.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond my expectations

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Scranton, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD was done with excellence. It made me cry. It showed the reality of living the Amish life and the internal struggles within the community. Beverly Lewis is an excellent writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nneedofgrace
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really good movie. It was definitely worth the money. I was not disappointed at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful tale of love, redemption, self sacrifice

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
TomC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great movie ... hard to keep a dry eye! Very well done. The actress who plays Katie was superb.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Family Viewing

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gillclan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well produced movie about Amish life. It's a pleasure to be able to sit down with the whole family with assurance that the movie is family friendly. Recommended age would be 8+. Little children could still watch it but would find it hard to understand the story line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chloe
Location:Lebanon, Pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed with this movie. I found it to be nothing like the book, important parts of the story were not even included in the movie. Also, the producers of these movies need to get there Amish facs straight. The Amish do not wear wedding rings as the mother in father in this movie are shown wearing. I am always irritated by the "accents" the actors have when speaking in these types of movies as well. Yes, Lancaster county Amish do have a Pennsylvania Dutch accent but the actors have a long way to go before even getting close to replicating it! I was very disappointed with the ending of the movie! Even if they do produce another movie in the series, I do not think I will be buying it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice movie

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny
Location:Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This movie only covers the first book in the series so it didn't end properly and if I hadn't read the book first, then I would wonder what on earth was the point of the movie. I was disappointed as they could have made a really good movie by combining the three books into the one movie as the end is lovely. It was worth watching, but it would have been better if I was prepared in advance that it ends abruptly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great movie

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
TimelessCheryl
Location:Fort McMurray, Alberta Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this movie and would recommend it to all my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very nice

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Ottawa, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I enjoyed this movie and will recommend it for sure. We just wish it would not had ended how it did. We were hoping to see more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i loved the movie,great plot!

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Norma Fuller
Location:ky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very clean, and a interesting movie at the same time, one of those that you cannot stop till the end! the bad part is i dont have the end!!! keep them coming cant wait for the next one!!good work!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not as good as Saving Sarah Cain

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ginger Long
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had higher hopes for this movie after seeing Saving Sarah Cain, but it seemed that I just kept waiting and waiting for the movie to get better.... and then it ended... suddenly! It's okay, but it leaves out so much from the book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beverly Lewis' The Shunning, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Average

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joybell
Location:TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I hope there will be a sequel to this DVD. It ended leaving you hanging. It needs the sequels to make it a good movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.