Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Charisma House Guardians of Purity: A Parent's Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure and Eroding Sexual Values

Charisma House Guardians of Purity: A Parent's Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure and Eroding Sexual Values

In our morally deteriorating culture, how do we teach our children to walk in purity of heart, mind, and body? Hiramine offers a battle plan! In this practical guide, she'll equip you to become the effective gatekeeper of your home; have age-appropriate conversations with kids about sex; stand strong against the media's influence; and more. 240 pages, softcover from Charisma.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guardians of Purity: A Parent's Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure and Eroding Sexual Values
Review 1 for Guardians of Purity: A Parent's Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure and Eroding Sexual Values
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best parenting book I've read this year!

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa Rup
Location:NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you only read one parenting book this year this is the one! It is filled with statistics that astonished me! There is practical advice that will help you make real decisions for your family. The chapter on Iniquity patterns was eye opening and life changing. In fact as I've just finished this book I plan on re-reading again to really make sure I've processed all there was. These are tough times for our kids. Media is everywhere. They can be on the internet in seconds from phones and ipods. Peers most likely don't have the same values that Christian kids do. They are being bombarded everyday with images and ideas and we need to give them the tools to navigate. Coming up with a real plan for dating and your family values is important. This is something my husband and I will be committing to paper soon so our boys know exactly what options are available. My goal is raising God-pleasing children now worldly-wise children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Guardians of Purity: A Parent's Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure and Eroding Sexual Values
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

She Walks the Talk

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brent Sapp
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julie Hiramine is an expert on training parents to train their children on the oft overlooked, but absolutely essential topic of "Purity". She's lectured and trained at events, campuses, and churches here and around the world. But that's not the reason to read this book. You should read this book because Julie, and her husband Kay, are parents to the most well-rounded, mature, intelligent, and "pure" bevy of beautiful daughters I've ever seen. After years of practicing the art of teaching, she's recently boiled her insight into a succinct, but comprehensive manual that equips a parent to define and develop a culture of purity in their homes and in their children's hearts. If you're blessed with kids, no matter how young, you need this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Guardians of Purity: A Parent's Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure and Eroding Sexual Values
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GET THIS BOOK AND GET READY TO BE EQUIPPED!

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lotti
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a fantastic resource that was hard to put down! I gleaned so much wonderfully useful information that I was able to into action right away. This book is not only for parents but anyone who has children in their lives! Julie uses personal stories, scripture and her vast wealth of experience to equip you to be an advocate for your children where purity is concerned! This is one I will read again and again as my children grow so I can also train THEM to be Guardians of Purity for generations to come.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Guardians of Purity: A Parent's Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure and Eroding Sexual Values
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read for Parents and Grandparents

Date:October 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Mccausland
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am parent of teenagers and also a grandmother of 7. I feel this a MUST read for both parents and grandparents. From my personal experience, the technology section is so important. Julie is very encouraging that we can keep up with our kids in this area and help avoid tragic pitfalls. Guardians of Purity encourages you to pursue character building and really look at the heart of the issues. I really loved all the stories and examples, this book was very well written and very practical for putting the principles in practice. This book really challenges you to raise the standard for your family and equips you for doing so.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Guardians of Purity: A Parent's Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure and Eroding Sexual Values
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So much more than I expected!

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andrea
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
In the Christian, church-going world, we hear a lot about purity. We hear a lot about guarding our hearts. We hear a lot about parenting.
When I read Julie Hiramine's book Guardians of Purity: A Parent"s Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure, and Eroding Sexual Values, I was prepared to hear about these things.
And Julie didn't disappoint. She takes on many topics from television to music to internet and social media to the role Hollywood plays in our lives.
She gives many practical tools and guidelines (that I REALLY wish had been available 11 years ago when I was pregnant with our first child!). She challenges us to be deliberate and intentional about the hearts of our children from an early age. She encourages us to have a plan early on, when our children are 2 or 3 years of age, for how much tv, what kind of tv and how to talk about the difference between girls and boys. She shares about how long to let siblings bathe together, how to instill modesty into our children and how to model purity for our children.
But Julie goes so far beyond these topics. She challenges us to be proactive in the battle for our children's hearts. She discusses what it means to have quality family time, how important it is to allow for individual time for each child and how to encourage our children to pray and seek God. She gives tools for instructing our children from God's Word. She encourages us to go against what modern culture would say is normal and instead opt for God's truth and desire for a pure life, set aside for His purposes.
While Julie's goal is to encourage us toward purity, she encouraged me in other areas as well. She takes on the topic of social media and the role it takes in our lives. This doesn't apply to my children (yet!), but it definitely applies to me! What is the purpose in the time I spend tweeting, posting, instagramming? It is to bring glory to God or to myself?
"This is the online worship factor. Is it all about me or about truly being a representative of God's mighty army and making advances for His Kingdom? So much of technology centers about my life, my pictures, my friends, my little world. What happened to our calling and destiny to be world-changers for the almighty King? We get sucked into this vortex of self and the "me" factor that is all about me getting worship from my friends. Last I read in the Bible, Lucifer fell from heaven because he wanted the worship that belonged to God." pg 20-21
Ummm....ouch!
My very favorite part of Julie's book was the last few chapters. As a mom of "tweens", I know that we need to be intentional as we head into the next few years. What I don't know is how to do that! How do I explain to our children our goals for their future...their dating, their courtship, their marriage? Do I even know what I think about dating? About kissing before marriage? About how far is too far? This book gave me so many things to think about and process...I don't expect perfection from our children, but shouldn't we set the bar high? In an atmosphere of grace and love, we want to help our children guard against the temptations that surround them.
One of the sweetest parts of the book is when Julie talks of "Developing a Love Story With God". She shares the story of a young woman who is struggling as she "waits for the one". Through some reading, this girl comes to the realization that,
"God created marriage and singleness for the same purpose. Both equally teach us about the love that God has for us. They do it really differently, but one isn't better than the other." pg 164
What a beautiful picture!
I'll be honest and tell you Julie sets the bar really high. She and her husband have chosen to live an unordinary, unusual life and they have encouraged the same in their children. If they take the same tone with their children as she does throughout this book, I'm confident their children know they are loved and protected. There is no blurring of the lines, no guessing when it comes to their standards.
One thing I've learned in my oh-so-short time as a mom, is that children respond best when they know what is expected of them and even more so, when they know you have their back. Julie's book is 12 chapters worth of tools to help us live a life of purity and in turn communicate such a life to our children...a life set apart.
Guardians of Purity is definitely a book to keep around, one that we'll be referencing for years to come. I would highly recommend it to soon-to-be parents and parents (and grandparents) of children of all ages!

+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Guardians of Purity: A Parent's Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure and Eroding Sexual Values
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A call to protect the natives...

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trina
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Guardians of Purity: A Parent's Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure, and Eroding Sexual Values delivers what it promises. With eye-opening research and practical how-to, Julie inspires us toward a proactive stance against the dangers in today's media saturated culture.
"We parents must realize that we use technology differently than our children do. We usually use technology as a means to an end, not an end in itself. While we are task-oriented online, our kids go online for the sole purpose of just hanging out there." -- Julie Hiramine, Guardians of Purity
What I love about the book is that Julie goes beyond "you really should install filtering software" to addressing the very lies we and our children are exposed through media and bringing into focus the truths we need to fight back with. She reminds us of the danger of seeking...
Virtual Relationships over Real Life Relationships
`Me Worship' over the Kingdom of God
Hollywood's Version of Romance over God's Definition of True Love
...and gives clear guidance for leading our families to higher ground.
Another plus is that Julie doesn't talk down to us as if she has already `arrived' at a place of secure fortification from all media evils, but rather as one on the journey with us, sharing practical steps toward progress.
My favorite part: Julie shares actual dialogue she's had with her own daughters and other teens, showing you just how to make a Godly stance toward media a part of our daily lives.
Honestly? There's nothing I didn't like about the book. The serious nature of the topic is off-set by Julie's friendly tone-it's an easy read. This is a book I will reread and refer to often as my children mature into more media use.
If you fit into the audience that book was written for {anyone with a cell phone or internet!} you're going to find this book a great asset.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Guardians of Purity: A Parent's Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure and Eroding Sexual Values
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a MUST have!

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I just finished reading Guardians of Purity and I can honestly say that it's a must have for an parent, caretaker or youth worker. We are definitely in a battle for our kids purity and this book helps you understand more about the battle (with lots of statistics throughout) and how to win the war! I especially liked the chapter about Not Awakening Romance. I totally agree with Julie that the tween and teen years offer an amazing opportunity to fall in love with the Lord and built a solid foundation with Him. This book is very practical, its the kind you can put down and put right into practice. I will be pulling this resource out time and again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Guardians of Purity: A Parent's Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure and Eroding Sexual Values
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great guidebook for families

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy Fraley
Location:NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I just finished this book yesterday. It is a "must have" for Christian parents who desire to raise their children to walk in purity. Everything in our society seems to be geared to destroy our children!! This is the enemy working hard!!
This book covers many common issues, like boy-girl relationships, technology, and more.
I know the author and her family and know they live these things the book deals with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Guardians of Purity: A Parent's Guide to Winning the War Against Media, Peer Pressure and Eroding Sexual Values
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must-read for all parents and youth workers!

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pearl
This book changed the way I view parenting! The author does an awesome job explaining all the attacks coming against our kids through the media and technology - targeted specifically against their purity. But she does it in a way and with information that will actually help equip and inspire parents to fight against it! It's not one of those depressing books that leaves you hopeless at the end - the things she suggests to do are totally do-able!
I found the chapter on Technology very helpful - it gives tips on how to place safeguards on all the technology your kids use. Considering our culture, I thought this chapter relevant for any family situation - no matter how old your kids are.
I especially appreciated the chapter on blessing your children and speaking words of affirmation and praise over them. Something I will be putting into practice right away!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.