Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Ring of Secrets - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Ring of Secrets - eBook

Winter Reeves is an aristocratic Patriot forced to hide her heart amid the Loyalists of the City of New York. She has learned to keep her ears open so she can pass information on British movements to Robbie Townsend, her childhood friend, and his spy ring. If she's caught, if she's hung for espionage...well, she won't be. Robbie has taught her the tools of the trade: the wonders of invisible ink, drop locations and, most importantly, a good cover.

Bennet Lane returns to New York from his Yale professorship with one goal: to find General Washington's spy hidden among the ranks of the elite. Searching for a wife was supposed to be nothing more than a convenient cover story for his mission, but when he meets Winter, with her too-intelligent eyes in her too-blank face, he finds a mystery that can't be ignored.

Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 2692%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Review 1 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Revolutionary War

Date:June 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Candace Betts
Location:Bolivar, Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I love this period and not many authors tackle it. I enjoyed the spy part of the story, but as another mentioned, I thought it dragged in spots. Maybe if it was edited better. I will still read the other 2 books in the series and order them for our library, but I have read better authors as far as how smoothly the story moves. I am hoping the next 2 books read better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bennet Lane has returned home to the City of New York in 1779. He has been away studying at Yale and is now a professor there. His brother has sent him a letter mentioning a Patriot spy ring that is working out of New York City and Bennet has arrived to ferret them out. He also is the heir to an estate in England, marking him as one of the wealthiest bachelors in the city. Unfortunately, Bennet is very uncomfortable in the presence of women with the exception of the beautiful Winter Reeves. He thinks there is more behind the empty shell and empty brain she shows society. He vows to discover her secrets and what lies beneath her mask of indifference.
Winter Reeves has been forced from her home into the home of her Loyalist grandparents after the death of her mother and her father leaving to join the Patriot forces. Her grandparents hate her and only tolerate her as a means to better their social position when Winter weds a wealthy man. They are hoping it will be Bennet Lane. Winter has decided to stay away from Bennet as much as possible because he sees too much beneath her façade. He is dangerous to her and her secrets. She must hide her Patriot sympathies and show the world her loyalty to England while secretly passing along information to the Patriots via a spy network, the Culper Ring. She feels this is the place God has called her to be and the duty He wants her to perform regardless of the danger.
What a strong woman of God was Winter Reeves! I was hard to believe she was only 18. Her dependence on and faith in the Lord was tremendous. The way she trusted in Him when her circumstances couldn’t be or look worse was inspiring. Her wit and ability to twist words and make subtle jabs at the expense of her and others was very humorous. There was a lovely romance, intrigue, and some tension-filled moments. My only negative point regarding the book was that the story dragged in a few places. I am definitely looking forward to reading the next book in the series, Whispers from the Shadows, which will be reviewed on this blog soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Rather annoying...

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although this was a good idea for a book, it did not turn out very good. The main lady was really smart, but she had to act dumb for half of the book so the British would not discover she was a spy. That got on my nerves. Also, this book dragged in some parts. Overall, I did not really like this book. I would still recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A literary dance of wit, romance, and espionage

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christine Lindsay
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love every book that Roseanna White writes, and her latest---Ring of Secrets Book 1 of the Culper Ring Series---met all my expectations for riveting, high quality, fast-paced Christian fiction with a strong spiritual thread.
Ring of Secrets is the kind of book you pass on to your mother, your grandmother and your sixteen-year-old niece knowing they will thoroughly enjoy it.
My mother couldn’t put it down until she finished it in almost one sitting. I took three sittings.
Roseanna White has a way of writing in such a witty and intelligent manner that delights my British soul. And yet, this is a book about American patriot spies conspiring to bring down the British tyranny during the War of Independence.
It is also a lovely romance between the British hero, Bennet Lane who is attempting to flush out the Patriot spy, not realizing that the woman with whom he is falling in love is that very spy, Winter Reeves.
Ring of Secrets is a beautiful and yet fun literary dance of espionage, romance, wit, all sparkling with laughter and the deepest emotions of a young woman’s heart.
I give it 5/5 stars and highly recommend it. And I can hardly wait for the next book in the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Witty and captivating!

Date:April 3, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Winter Reeves moves among New York's elite, most of whom are British Loyalists, posing a brainless, harmless beauty. Her true self is a daring, intelligent, young woman with dangerous Patriot ties. Her budding romance with Colonel Fairchild of the British forces allows her to covertly uncover information and pass it to her contact. Bennet Lane comes to New York as a future heir to a wealthy British estate who is in need of a wife. His true mission is to find the Patriot spy hidden among the aristocrats. When Bennet and Winter engage, he sees the intelligence that lies below the facade of innocence. Intrigued, he finds in Winter a captivating mystery. As feelings deepen between Bennet and Winter, both become more committed than ever to their hidden causes. Is there any hope for a future of love? Or will circumstances and loyalties keep them forever apart?
Ring of Secrets by Roseanna M. White is the first book in the Culper Ring Series and I am already looking forward to reading book two, Whispers from the Shadows. I absolutely loved the author's use of language in the beginning of the book. Even though I felt the writing style became more plain as the book progressed – an unfortunate occurrence, but certainly not a reason to discard the book – there is no doubt that Ms. White can write. The author's use of wit, not only in Winter's conversations, but also in the narrative was refreshing. The authentic characters, blossoming romances, and intriguing narrative created such a captivating story that I was hooked from the first chapter to the last.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Premium Historical Fiction

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh, I think I'm going to love this Culper Ring Series. Book 1, Ring of Secrets, held me enthralled the whole way through.
Winter Reeves hides a number of secrets. She's the daughter of patriot Colonel Reeves; she's not nearly as vapid as she appears; and, as the granddaughter of prominent loyalists in New York, she's privy to way too many stray words spoken by Brittish military officers.
Bennett Lane has a secret or two of his own. Not that he's a Yale professor--everyone knows that. Or that he's the heir to a wealthy Brittish Lord--that too is well known. And that he cannot put two logical words together in front of the fairer sex is his constant bane.
However, he must keep his real purpose in New York close to his vest. He tracks the patriots' movements and locates their hiding places and hidden messages.
He's discovered part of Winter's secret. In an unguarded moment her eyes revealed her intelligence and wit, and she has captivated him. More, his ineptitude in front of females seems to evaporate in her presence.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Authentic Ring

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Loves to Read
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author Roseanna White has done it again—she has produced a masterful historical fiction work that keeps the reader riveted. As a lover of historical fiction, this novel delighted me. Her careful research lent a ring of authenticity to this fictional group of Revolutionary War spies, the setting, and inter-weaving of historical and fictional characters.
Winter Reeves is using her societal engagements as an opportunity to ferret out military knowledge to pass on to the Revolutionary Army’s commander in chief. Several of her contemporaries are caught and hanged as spies by the British forces. Also complicating her resolve is an attraction and developing relationship with another American spy—this one appearing to work on behalf of the British. The tension of her dangerous work paired with the lure of an unexpected love makes for a great story line. Ms. White keeps the reader on the edge of her seat until the end when the tension finally resolves.
One other very important piece of the story—that again Ms. White presents with a ring of authenticity—is the element of faith. The protagonist relies on her relationship with God in believable fashion, and her example leads her love interest to do the same. In many novels, the element of faith seems rather arbitrary and feels forced. “Ring of Secrets,” presents a faith that not only naturally fits into the story line, but may well inspire readers in their trust in the Lord.
I give “Ring of Secrets” a hearty five stars—you will enjoy reading this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My praise goes out to Ring of Secrets by Roseanna M. White, which is set during the Revolutionary War. I was quickly drawn into the book by the main characters, Miss Winter Reeves and Mr. Bennett Lane. Winter is forced to live with her grandparents in New York City after her mother dies and
her father goes off to fight for the Patriots. She pretends to be a "flighty" young women with no opinions or beliefs of her own. She soon meets Mr. Bennett Lane who becomes clumsy and tongue tied in the company of young women. When he meets Winter he is drawn to her and not that way at all. He very quickly realizes that Winter is not what she appears to be even though she has others fooled.
I enjoyed the history, intrigue, humor and romance in Ring of Secrets and look forward to the next book in the Culper Ring series. This book deserves 5 out of 5 star.
I received this book from Net Galley and Harvest House Publishing for my honest review. I was
not paid in any way for my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Pretty Good book

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
RobinV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Ring of Secrets had me biting my nails a few times during the story. It was a bit hard for me to get into but once I got past the entry it was pretty good. I loved how the story took a few twists that left my mouth agape.
It's hard to fathom the life of Miss Winter Reeves. Not only is she a spy for the Rebels, which is not tolerated, but her grandparents are nothing close to loving. Following Winter through the book will break your heart, and all the while have you cheering her on.
Bennet Lane. What an interesting character! He has the hardest time talking to the ladies which I thought funny, yet when it comes to Miss Reeves he has no problem at all. He is immediately on to the fact that she is hiding something. But what?
I enjoyed the end of the book. It didn't turn out like I thought it would; it came out better! It makes a huge difference when we choose to put our trust in God instead of what science tells us is true.
If you would like to follow the Rebel spy's of the Culper Ring, I encourage you to pick up this book. I will be looking forward to book two!
***Thank you Harvest House Publishers for the free book in exchange for my honest review.***
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Refreshing Romance Story

Date:April 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sapphire
Location:Wyoming
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Ring of Secrets” by Roseanna M. White is a wonderfully satisfying story in every way. The characters are original and real-to-life, and they actually have lives beyond the romance plotline. I appreciated the fact that every chapter didn’t end with a dramatic cliffhanger like some authors are in the habit of doing, because I didn’t feel emotionally manipulated into reading on – I genuinely wanted to keep reading simply because I cared about the relatable characters and their lives. I was also very excited to read a novel centered around an historical organization that I’ve never before encountered in fiction. This book isn’t just another romance novel – it is honest literature. I eagerly await the next book is Roseanna M. White’s Culper Ring Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Places you there in 1779 with Winter Reeves

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"After checking over her shoulder to be sure no one watched, Winter stole down the dark, narrow steps and into the forgotten cellar that had been a mass of cobwebs when they first discovered it a year ago.
Now it smelled of citrus and wax, and the lamp she lit glowed rich and warm upon scavenged, scarred tables and once broken chairs. The shelves Freeman had built for her already held a variety of homemade invisible ink.
Lemon juice dilute was her top choice, because of its fragrance and because it developed under heat more quickly than the others. She had also tried the onion juice as well as the honey water..... " From Ring of Secrets, chapter five.
"When I decided to explore the world of America's first spy ring, I had the expected visions of cloaks and daggers, grand adventure and suspense. Invisible ink and drop locations, cover stories and daring men....
I instead learned about the reality of a group of people determined to do what they could...getting little thanks and no money for their efforts. America's first spies were just people. Untrained, common people who wanted to do the right thing, who rose to the challenge. And who went through each day afraid their next letter to Washington would be their last." This is what Roseanna White writes in her authors note at the end of Ring of Secrets. {I truly would recommend that you read the authors note first, as what Roseanna says there is fascinating and sets the stage for her book.}
"I love little more than redefining history through fictional characters who interact with historical figures, which is what I did in this story."
I did not discover the author's note until I was done the book, so I had not read these words. However, Roseanna White succeeded in her goal for this novel because this is what I had written for my review:
Ring of Secrets is a tapestry woven from the stories of true historical people and fictional characters who are crafted so carefully you think they could have lived in New York in 1779. The writing in Ring of Secrets places you there in the story quite well, sweeping you inside a time of secrets and questions, where loyalties are tested.
I will be keeping an eye out for the second volume of this series, and perhaps I will have the chance to review it as well for Harvest House.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of My Favorite Books

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
RachelleRea
Location:Little Town, South
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What I Loved
I enjoyed this book so much. What I loved first was that I was plunged immediately into Winter's story. I knew right away she was keeping up a masquerade for a very important reason, that there's danger and intrigue and an important cause...and there's so much I didn't know. So I kept reading.
In fact, I read the opening scene twice just to relish in the beauty of it. Not kidding.
Winter's mask is a complicated one, but one she carries off so well. She has the entire city of New York believing her head is empty, when really she's spun such a web of secrecy that everyone is being caught up in it and furthering her cause (spying for Washington) without their even knowing it.
I really admired Winter from the first. She's experienced at pain and sorrow, but she doesn't let anything stop her. She knows why she's doing what she's doing, and she's not about to let anyone dissuade her.
Enter Bennet Lane.
May I say that the romance between these two is so very sweet? Bennet realizes as soon as he meets Winter that something's up. The fact that he doesn't see past her mask for a second is so romantic. Even better is the fact that Winter soon realizes he's partly chasing her because she's an intriguing mystery to him--which was a concern of mine at first, but, never fear, his affection for her soon finds much more solid ground.
The whispers of danger throughout the book are never overdone. The espionage is always very straightforward and believable. I think that's what did me in and made me fall so hard for this book in the end. Everything seems like it really happened. I love that.
What I Didn't Like As Much
Let's see... The back-and-forth between the characters is great. White's writing style is simply superb and perfectly fits her genre. The story never sags. Winter's tenacity kept me turning pages. Bennet's pursuit of her is pristine and so well-developed...I especially enjoyed that he and his rival suitor became friends.
(I'm going through facets of the book in my mind, but the only thing I remember rolling my eyes over was that one point Winter has three men vying for her. Love triangles don't bother me a mite, but three different men falling for one woman is a little much. But that's more whining personal preference than anything else, so I'll move on.)
Why I Recommend This Book
White has created a cast of characters I'm going to very much enjoy following through the rest of the series. A spy ring that continues for generations? Perfect historical fiction.
My favorite part of the book was when Bennet had a secret of his own to share. That scene was so well-done!!
This book is going on my favorite's list. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An excellent revolutionary romance!

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An excellent revolutionary romance!
I have not read many novels set in this era, but I am happy to say that I enjoyed this one in particular. This being the first novel by Roseanna that I've read, I'm exceptionally pleased! It was really easy to lose myself into the world of Winter and Bennet and turn page after page.
Winter is a young woman, who on purpose hides her true wit from the world. She pretends to be someone completely different in society, and it's wearing on her. She is only her true self when with Freeman, a fatherly figure, and Robbie, a childhood friend. Watching her slowly tear down her internal walls and open up to Bennet evoked pride in me and helped me adore her character all the more.
Right off the bat, it isn't clear which man we should root for in winning Winter's affections, at least, it wasn't to me at first. I won't spoil whom won out, but I must say my own heart was torn for half the book. Miss White's great use of setting terminology, character development, mystery, and twists make this book a great read. :-)
I was given a complimentary review copy in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spectacular Spy Novel

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In her latest novel, the spectacular "Ring of Secrets," Roseanna M. White pits spies against each other in the American Revolution, through America's first spy ring, the Culper Ring.
I really liked that the main characters, though essentially spies, felt like real people. Winter, our heroine, struggles with hiding her personality and lying about her past to appease her abusive grandparents; she is hurting and alone, with only two people who truly care for her, neither of which can see her socially. God is her main source of strength and comfort in her grandparents' loveless home. When Bennet comes along, she appreciates that he can glimpse her real personality and humor beneath the empty-headed facade, even though it threatens her gathering of military intelligence. Bennet, though typically bumbling with women, is drawn because of her personal intelligence. However, he refuses to propose because of her flirtatious, empty-headed mask; he knows there's a real person in there, and he pursues her, not the lovely face. He needs to know her true self before committing to marriage. It speaks volumes of his integrity and wisdom in pursuing a wife; for a character, he has great depth of character.
The plot was solid, the characters real, and the history fascinating, For the sake of spoilers, I shall not reveal more of the end, but I admit to being blindsided, which is quite a feat. Now I must reread it in my enlightened state and see what hints I missed! I eagerly await the sequel, set during the War of 1812. 5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ring of Secrets

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though I’ve been a follower of the author Roseanna White’s blog for a while now, I’ve never actually had the chance to read any of her books, so I was really excited to finally get a free copy of Ring of Secrets in the mail.
Set around an actual spy group known as the Culper Ring, this book is set during the Revolutionary War and it had some things about it that I really liked.
My favorite part of the book was the heroine’s “fake” personality. To please her horrid grandparents (and disguise her intellect so no one would suspect her of espionage) she plays the empty-headed socialite. I found it actually pretty funny, but I also hurt for her with the things she had to put up with and the hidden insults she had to deal with because everyone thought she was idiotic. I think I liked this aspect of the book so much because she reminded me a little of a female sort of Sir Percy!
Winter, the heroine, was being courted by two men who really were so nice I didn’t know which one I liked better. True, I knew from the beginning who she was going to end up with…but still. I liked them both. I also really liked another main character- Freeman. I found it really endearing the way he watched out for Winter. Winter’s grandparents, on the other hand, were horrible! Honestly, I hated them, especially her grandfather.
Now, the only downside to this book was that I felt it dragged a little, and there were a few times I felt tempted to skip ahead to the “exciting” parts. Overall, though, Ring of Secrets was a pleasant read, and I’ll definitely be reading the other books in the series.
I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A different sort of spy novel

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The setting for this story was very interesting - New York in the late 1700's during the time of British military occupation. I found the historical information and characters fascinating. I liked the beginning and and I liked the end. The middle of the book, however, dragged on too slowly for me. Too much thinking going on and not enough action. There also seemed to be a good amount of inconsequential extra stuff going on that in my mind really only served to slow down the story.
That being said, it is an interesting read and I certainly enjoyed most of the book. I thought the analogy she used in a conversation between two characters about prayer was exactly right. I think a lot of people will really like the book, I just happen to like books to move along at a faster pace.
This book was provided to me courtesy of Harvest House Publishers for the purpose of reviewing. My opinion is my own. Thank you Harvest House.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Marvelous

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kaelme
Age:25-34
A marvelous combination of intrigue and romance. It's rare that a Christian historical novel so wonderfully combines historical details, interesting plot points, and well-written characters but Ring of Secrets has done so. Characters are three-dimensional, with nuanced struggles and weaknesses. Even the love interests remained interesting, since the men in the main character's life were not easily categorized into "right" or "wrong." I was surprised and pleased by the level of entertainment I received through my ready of Ring of Secrets and am looking forward to reading more by Ms. White.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spies and Secret Codes in 1779 New York

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Winter Reeves has a pretty smile and a vacant expression that belie her intelligence. She hides her true self as she collects information from her grandparents’ friends in 1779 New York, a British stronghold. As a member of The Cypher Ring, she must hide her true allegiance from everyone except Robbie Townsend, her childhood friend, and Freeman, a loyal family servant who is treated no better than a slave by her Loyalist grandparents.
Bennet Lane is a Yale professor sent to New York to try and find the source of the intelligence leaks. He meets Winter and is immediately attracted to her because he somehow sees that she is more than she appears. He also recognises that a courtship with the beauty will give him a reason for being in the company of New York’s elite, which should aid his quest.
Ring of Secrets is told in the third person from the viewpoints of Winter and Bennet, with occasional scenes from more minor characters (I thought these were probably unnecessary). Both are well-rounded and likeable characters—it is said that any character with an interesting secret has a good chance of coming alive, and this can certainly be said of both Winter and Robbie (her contact in the spy ring).
There is also the added complication of Colonel Fairchild—Winter has cultivated a relationship with him in order to gain intelligence, but he is courting her with a view to a more permanent relationship. Overall, I thought the romance was well-developed and the story excellent, but I found some of Winter’s prayers a bit long-winded (even for Christian fiction), and there were a couple of too-convenient coincidences towards the end.
I really enjoy historical fiction that is well-grounded in history, as Ring of Secrets is. Even I, as a non-American, recognised some of the historical figures, and a note at the end of the book enlightened me more about the founders of The Culper Ring, an organisation which the CIA will neither confirm nor deny the ongoing existence of. The Epilogue suggests that more stories about The Culper Ring will be forthcoming, probably each in a different historical period. I will certainly be interested in reading more. Recommended.
Thanks to Harvest House and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Romantic Sky Novel

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This story happens during the American Revolutionary War time, and living in NYC. We live it all with Winter Reeves, and we walk with her as an aristocrat, as a spy, as a victim, and as a stupid girl! Above all she wants to do what God wants her to do.
I had a hard time with the Grandparents, The Hamptons, that she lived with. How could they be so cruel? She is their only Grandchild. They are verbally and physically abusive, and I could hardly believe what they did to her.
This so called Grandfather has given Winter an ultimatum, she must marry and get out of their house, and of course they have to approve of the man she marries.
Colonel Fairchild of the British Army is very smitten with her, and until she meets Bennet Lane, she figures she will marry him. Bennet Lane is more prosperous, so her Grandparents refuse the Colonel.
We attend beautiful Balls, and go shopping with Winter, and all the while her ears are attuned to finding information she can pass to General Washington. We also meet the famous traitor Benedict Arnold!
Throughout it all you will wonder who Winter will end up with, or is she going to be caught as a spy? Will either the Colonel or Bennet turn her in if they find out?
An excellent story rich with American history. I can't wait for the next book in this series.
I received this book through First Wild Card Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ring of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spies, Intrigue, Action, Adventue and Romance

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roseanna M. White in her new book, “Ring Of Secrets” Book One in the Culper Ring series published by Harvest House Publishers introduces us to Winter Reeves
From the back cover: Love has no place in a world of spies.
1779–Winter Reeves is an aristocratic American Patriot forced to hide her heart amid the British Loyalists of the City of New York. She has learned to keep her ears open so she can pass information on British movements to Robbie Townsend, her childhood friend, and his spy ring. If she’s caught, she will be executed for espionage, but she prays the Lord’s protection will sustain her, and Robbie has taught her the tools of the trade–the wonders of invisible ink, secret drop locations and, most importantly, a good cover.
Bennet Lane returns to New York from his Yale professorship with one goal: to find General Washington’s spy hidden among the ranks of the city’s elite. Searching for a wife was supposed to be nothing more than a convenient cover story for his mission, but when he meets Winter, with her too-intelligent eyes in her too-blank face, he finds a mystery that can’t be ignored.
Both are determined to prevail at any cost…and each is committed to a separate cause. Will God lead them to a shared destiny or lives lived apart?
I won’t ever know for sure but I think it is possible that Ms. White saw the same History Channel documentary where they talked about Washington’s spies, The Culper Ring and the invisible ink written on already written letters between the lines which is where we get the expression from. This is one exciting adventure. Both Winter and Bennet have an agenda which is opposed to one another yet there is a romance brewing between them. Ms. White does a nice job of keeping that tension between the two of them throughout the whole story. “Ring of Secrets” is great fun to read. Ms. White has a great way of telling the story and moving it along at a nice pace. Her characters are wonderful and she gives them life and unique voices. I liked it a lot and am looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Harvest House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>