Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Claiming Mariah

Tyndale House Claiming Mariah

After her father's death, Mariah Malone sends a letter that will forever alter the lives of her family. When Slade Donovan, strong willed and eager for vengeance, shows up on her front porch, Mariah is not ready to hear his truths: her father's farm, the only home she's ever known, was bought with stolen gold. With Slade ready to collect his father's rightful claim and force Mariah and her family out on the streets, Mariah must turn to God for guidance. Though Mr. Frederick Cooper, a local landowner, promises to answer her financial woes if she agrees to be his bride, Mariah finds herself drawn instead to the angry young man demanding her home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 34100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Claiming Mariah
Review 1 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Western Romance at Its Best

Date:June 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Beaverton, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book where you know the main characters will fall in love before the end, but it seems like a "no-way" situation. Mariah struggles to keep her deceased father's ranch operating when Slade and his brother show up and lay claim to the property. Our heroine is distressed not only for herself, but because she needs to provide for her grandmother and sister, Amanda who is back East. Add Marian's persistent suitor, the unexplained loss of cattle, ranch hands that seem a little questionable, and the flavor of the Old West and you have a memorable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Historical Romance!

Date:June 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Veronica
Location:MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such an enjoyable historical romance! I really felt for the characters and all they had gone through in the past. It's understandable why Slade is angry and bitter, but the importance of forgiveness is pointed out, both for Slade to forgive and to accept it from God. I like that the salvation message is clear and that it's emphasized how important prayer is. The romance is wonderful with plenty of romantic moments. The story is well-written and keeps up a good pace. I'm looking forward to her next one! I definitely recommend it if you like historical romance!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding love and forgiveness in the face of hatre

Date:June 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
jsrn18
This is a beautifully written book about a girl and a cowboy who have a hatred towards each other because of a choice made by their fathers but come to a common understanding. It reminded me of Romeo and Juliet. The story lays the foundation for coming to terms with others choices and finding a way to forgive and forget things that you have no control over. Great and powerful message!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Claiming Mariah

Date:June 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought Claiming Mariah by Pam Hillman was a good read. There were some unexpected twists. I would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Story!

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Martha
Location:Kalispell, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When we begin this story, we cannot help, but be drawn to the lovely, hardworking Mariah. She is trying to do what is right, but when Slade comes charging into her life, demanding his rights to her ranch, she does the honorable thing and hands it over in confusion. I imagine you would feel helpless in that situation, she had to earn money for train tickets, support her grandmother and worry about her blind sister away at school.
The characters in this story are real. They each have pain they are dealing with. The romance is light, not too detailed, but the pain is more raw. Slade- guilt and pain from blaming himself for his brother’s injuries as well as dealing with the anger from the things his father, the townfolk and others put him through. Mariah- blaming herself for her sister’s blindness and wondering why she did not know about her father’s issues.
The other characters that are secondary, like Buck, I would love to see a story about him. You could not help but like him. Injured by a wild mustang, he loves animals and had just a gentle heart.
Ms. Hillman makes you finish the book, and want more from her. She makes the story just real enough that you relate to the story in a personal way, without making the story so real that you don’t want to read it.
I look forward to reading more of her books as she writes them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

sweet story with secrets

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Claiming Mariah" is a sweet romance by Pam Hillman which is filled with secrets, suspense and love. Pam dives right into the story and action on the very first page with the two Donovan brothers showing up at Mariah's home to claim the ranch as theirs due to the past between their fathers. Mariah has been living on her family's ranch with her grandmother and she cannot believe the truth; however Mariah is concerned of her father's reputation and carrying for her grandmother and sister. As Slade Donovan comes involved in Mariah's life and in the ranch, secrets are uncovered and things may not be as these two individuals have perceived them to be. As Mariah seeks God's guidance she can feel His leading, but she is not prepared for what all is to come.
This is such a sweet story and one that is filled with action and loveable characters that I was immediately engrossed in and did not want to stop reading! There are things that are uncovered and past issues that need to be dealt with and so much growth and changes for these two main characters that you cannot help but become completely involved in their lives. I highly recommend this historical romance set on a ranch as it will draw you into the story and on a journey with these characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful western romance

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Becky Dempsey
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is set in Wisdom, Wyoming Territory in late spring, 1882. I have always liked historical romances, and this was no exception. Pam Hillman has a way of making you feel transported back in time, you can almost feel the breeze coming off the creek behind the barn.
After Mariah's father dies, she sends a letter which sets in motion events that will change everything she's ever known. Slade Donovan shows up and informs her that the ranch has been bought with money stolen from his father and demands full ownership. A neighboring rancher has offered to take care of her financial problems if she agrees to marry him. But she doesn't love him and finds herself being drawn to Slade instead. She watches the ranch begin to flourish once again under Slade's direction all the while knowing that as soon as his mother and sister arrive, she is out of a home herself. How will she support her sister and grandmother with no where to go?
But there is not just the bad blood between Slade's and Mariah's fathers to deal with, the number of cattle is dwindling and they also have to get to the bottom of what is going on.
Will Slade and Mariah be able to get past the past and move forward with their lives, together?
I thought the characters were well developed and real. You find yourself back in the 1880's and if you just took a stroll down the road, you'd come upon the Lazy M Ranch where Mariah would offer you a biscuit and ham before you went away again.
I also liked how Mariah always turned to pray and God for her answers and relied on Him even in the hard times.
I found myself wanting more story involving Slade's brother Buck and Mariah's sister Amanda. Surely they would find common interests and maybe even romance? Maybe another book could tell their story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!!! :)

Date:May 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
This is the first of Pam's books I've had the privilege to read, and it is a privilege. I love how God provides. I've wanted to read Claiming Mariah for a while now and was overjoyed when I got the chance to read the paperback! It is amazing! It's one of those books that I didn't want to put down! Pam's writing is great as she keeps you going wondering what's gonna happen next! I LOVE all the characters from Mariah and Slade to Mariah's grandmother, Slade's brother, and Cookie the bunk house cook!!! The messages of bitterness and forgiveness weave through the plot gracefully as these characters face loosing far more than just a ranch. I always love to find and read a great western and Pam has written just that. You can always tell when an author doesn't really spend time around ranch life and horses, but Pam sure has!!! She writes in a way that shows she takes every detail into account. Forgiveness, pain, sadness, healing, shocking turns, love, fear, murder and much, much more await you in Claiming Mariah. This has made it to My Favorite Books list and I highly recommend it.
Songs: "Leaning On The Everlasting Arms" by Alan Jackson, "Valley Of Pain" by Randy Travis, and "One Day At A Time" by Merle Haggard**
Luke 6:37
~ASC
*I requested and received this book for the purpose of reviewing. This in no way affected my opinion and the above is what I truly think about Claiming Mariah. ~ASC
**Songs etc. may change in the future..."One Day At A Time" by Jeannie Seely
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cowboys, Romance and Mystery...Oh My!

Date:April 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Claiming Mariah is the first book that I have read by Pam Hillman; I wasn't disappointed.
After Mariah Malone's father had passed away, she discovered that her father had been involved in theft. In order to right the wrong her father had committed, Mariah wrote a letter of apology to the Donovan's, the family who was wronged. What Mariah didn't expect was for Slade Donovan to appear on her doorstep demanding that she relinquish her childhood home and ranch to him. Losing her ranch is only half of her problems. Mariah soon discovers that not everyone is who they seem to be and she finds herself needing to find someone that she can trust.
From page one, I was drawn into the story wanting to learn what is going to happen to Mariah, her grandmother, and their beloved ranch. I also wanted to understand the reason why Slade was so determined to take the ranch from Mariah and her family. As the story progressed, the answers to my questions were answered.
I liked the characters in this book. I found Mariah to be a strong, honest, and God-fearing woman. I understood why she chose not to correct the assumptions that Slade chose to make. I also understood why she didn't want to lose her childhood home, but that she would do what was right. Slade was a great cowboy, a true man of honor. I also liked the slow progression of feelings between Slade and Mariah that grew as they began to become friends. Woven in between the romance there is mystery and suspense that made the story even more interesting! I will definitely chose to read a book by Pam Hillman again.
**Claiming Mariah by Pam Hillman was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Claiming Mariah
This review is fromClaiming Mariah - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I can't wait for Pam to write another book!

Date:June 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book of Pam's that I've read, both have been e-books, and I must say that I enjoy her writing. Pam pulls you into the story and you are feeling the anger, love and faith as if you were one of the characters. I don't see any new books coming out by Pam but I will surely be on the lookout for more. I would highly recommend this book as a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ranching, Betrayal, Murder and Romance

Date:April 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pam Hillman in her new book “Claiming Mariah” published by Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. takes us into the life of Mariah Malone.
From the back cover: After her father’s death, Mariah Malone sends a letter that will forever alter the lives of her family. When Slade Donovan, strong willed and eager for vengeance, shows up on her front porch, Mariah is not ready to hear his truths: her father’s farm, the only home she’s ever known, was bought with stolen gold. With Slade ready to collect his father’s rightful claim and force Mariah and her family out on the streets, Mariah must turn to God for guidance. Though Mr. Frederick Cooper, a local landowner, promises to answer her financial woes if she agrees to be his bride, Mariah finds herself drawn instead to the angry young man demanding her home.
With the Lazy M ranch now under Slade’s careful eye, he unearths more than he ever imagined as a devious plot of thievery, betrayal, and murder threatens the well-being of the ranch, endangering those who hold it dear. As the days dwindle until the rest of the Donovan clan arrives at the Lazy M ranch, Mariah and Slade must rise above the resentment of their fathers and see their true feelings before greed changes their futures forever.
I have never read of two women running a ranch. Mariah and her grandmother are running the Lazy M but the Donovan’s feel it is their ranch and they want to take over. Simple enough really. However there is more going on than either Slade or Mariah know about and the two of them must band together to withstand the evil being plotted against them. Ms. Hillman has given us great characters who live and breathe on the pages and draw us into their lives so that we root for the good guys and do not want the bad guys to win. Slade and Mariah are meant for each other but before that can happen they will have to reconcile with their pasts and their fathers so that they can embrace the present and their futures. All I can say is that “Claiming Mariah” is great fun.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Story!

Date:April 17, 2014
What an amazing story! Claiming Mariah is the perfect blend of plot, characters, and setting. Pam Hillman's talent lies in her writing style, which made the story come to life. Her descriptions allowed me to imagine things so clearly—all the way down to the posture of characters while they were talking. When you add in the fact that this story is utterly romantic with a healthy dose of adventure, I just loved it! I found it so hard to put it down and flew through the pages!
I'm not sure how I've missed out on Pam Hillman's previous books, but I can promise I won't make that mistake again! I highly recommend Claiming Mariah! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific!!!!

Date:April 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is so good that I couldn't put it down! It drew me in right from the beginning, with a fast paced plot that kept me hooked. I loved the Wyoming setting, and the wonderful characters who found a place in my heart. Definitely a book I will be adding to my favorites shelf.
Slade Donovan is a hardworking cowboy, who had a rough childhood and is determined to right a wrong. He is decisive and compassionate, always on the lookout for his younger brother, Buck.
Mariah has a way with stray cats, as well as stray people. She is sensitive to Buck's shyness but never hesitates to come to his defense. Mariah was my favorite character, I loved how she didn't despair but made the best of every situation, reaching out to others and not closing herself off to others.
I also loved Mariah's grandmother, who was not only a fun character, but often a sage voice of wisdom.
I loved this book from the very first page to the last one, it does exactly what a western historical romance should do. It swept me back in time, with a hero and heroine that I could empathize with and cheer for all the way. It is superbly written in a style that flows and engages with a well developed cast of characters. I loved everything about this book, and I could not recommend it more. I've added it to my top ten favorite books of all time list :D
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When Adversity Strikes

Date:April 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As you open the cover of Pam Hillman’s new book, you are drawn in, a compelling page turning and fast read. A look at pioneering American, in the new Wyoming Territory, at a ranch run by two woman in the Town of Wisdom.
What happens is almost beyond belief, living with people your whole life and maybe not really knowing them? How could that happen? This can be said of both Mariah Malone and the arriving cowboy who wants to take everything from her, Slade Donovan. At first it is just Mariah and her Grandmother, who seem to be following God, but love the influence they had on the people around them.
There are some tragic events, and some that will are so funny, you will laugh out load. Above all there is so much wisdom that is shared, along with the kindness of fellow human beings. I loved how they helped people keep their pride, but being able to help in ways that are unknown to them.
When adversity strikes, we find people that are opposing uniting, and helping one another. Will there be a way for all to survive? Maybe there will be a bit of romance, and the finding of new family, rather than getting rid of them? You will be surprised, and love how God works in these people’s lives, and we don’t see all that is happening until the very end. I for one am so glad that I chose to read this book. Enjoy!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun western.

Date:April 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Mariah's father was dying, he admitted to wronging a man he used to know. They were prospectors together. However, after an argument, he took off with the gold. With this money, he bought the ranch that Mariah had grown up on. He was sorry, and Mariah took it upon herself to write a letter to the man. The reply she received was not what she was expecting, actually, after the amount of time that had passed, she didn't think they had received the letter until Slade and his brother showed up on her front porch.
This is a story does well to point out, people are not always who they say they are. Who is in the right? Who is wrong? Who had the worst offense...or does it even matter in the end? Mariah has to do her best to determine who each person truly is and what their true motives are.
Claiming Mariah is a fun western full of cows, adventure, and cowboys! It reminded me a bit of Romeo and Juliet...not the depressing everyone dies sort of way...far from that. It was in the feuding families aspect. The anger and bitterness of one generation can be passed down to the next so easily and the truth of the feud can get a bit jumbled in the mix. If there isn't any willingness for forgiveness, the ability to move on from the fight will never happen.
This was a fun story to read, I love westerns, so the book already had a big positive for it, and the story also had a quick pace which made it so easy to read. I look forward to reading more by Pam Hillman.
Thank you to the Tyndale House and Litfuse Publicity, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Read Indeed

Date:April 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Loren McGhee
Location:OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my very favorite Scripture is Romans 8:28--"And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose for them."
I think this story reveals this Scripture in such a beautiful way! Mariah and Slade are brought together through circumstances that will take both of them on a journey of truth and forgiveness! When Slade arrives demanding to take ownership of Mariah's home, and the farm too, Mariah is shocked to say the least! She has worked hard and doesn't want to let it go but Slade leaves her no choice but to sign it over.
Both of them have allowed unforgiveness and guilt to rule their lives in some aspects and it keeps them from seeing the blessings that are right in front of their own eyes! But then, haven't we all been guilty of that at some points in our lives! It is so moving to see Slade and Mariah work through each of their past and let go of that unforgiveness!
Claiming Mariah is a WONDERFUL READ! I highly recommend it to any and all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mariah Malone is a 23-year-old woman trying to make a go of her ranch after her father’s death two years ago. She is also responsible for taking care of her grandmother and her younger sister Amanda who is blind. She is also foisting off the marriage proposal of the local town dandy. She is barely making ends meet when a stranger appears at her door. Slade Donovan shows her proof that her father stole some gold, shot a man and left him for dead. That man was Slade’s father. Slade has proof that the mine where the gold came from belonged to his father. Slade wants the ranch and the land it sits on as Mariah’s father used the gold to purchase it. In order to save her family’s name, Mariah agrees to sign over the deed to the ranch. Slade agrees to let Mariah and her grandmother stay in the house until his mother and sisters arrive from Galveston.
As Mariah and Slade are forced to interact due to the running of the ranch, they begin to become more comfortable with each other. Mariah has a deep faith in God, but Slade has given up on God. Slade’s father was an alcoholic and an abuser. Slade prayed for his dad to stop, but in Slade’s eyes God didn’t answer his prayer. Slade and his family grew up very poor and he blames Mariah’s dad for this. Mariah and Slade fall in love, but neither think the other capable of forgiveness in order to move forward in their relationship. Can Slade see past his own bitterness to God’s provision and blessings?
This is a lovely romance set in 1882 in the Wyoming Territory. The main theme is one of forgiveness and trusting in the Lord for provision and answering of prayers. This book is easy to read, the chapters short and the plot easy to follow. This is the first novel I’ve read by this author and I’m looking forward to see what she has in store for future novels. Maybe the next one will continue the Donovan story, but it will center on Buck (Slade’s brother) and Amanda (Mariah’s sister).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Have for Western Romance Lovers!

Date:March 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just when things couldn't get any worse for Mariah Malone, in rode trouble. Tall, dark and handsome Slade Donovan was about to change Mariah's life in an unbelievable way. After losing her father, she has managed to attempt to hold down things at her father's cattle ranch the best she could, but after fighting a losing battle after two years of profits she wasn't prepared for what Slade had on his mind.
In response to her letter advising him that she had recently been made aware of her father stealing half of the gold between her father and Slade's, she wanted to make things right. She wanted to offer him a cut of her cattle in hopes of mending the broken fences that kept the two families at odds. Only Slade wanted more than simply a pay off from Mariah. Armed with proof that the mine that both men found gold in was in his father's name only, anything bought with that gold was his, and he wanted to make sure that he got back what he believed he was entitled to and that meant the ranch and everything on it.
Believing that God had an answer for this shocking revelation, Slade's brother Buck was able to convince Slade to allow Mariah and her aging grandmother to stay on the ranch until his family finally came to settle in, and would pay for her upkeep of the house and meals for him and his brother. Mariah knew that the only way she and her grandmother could hope of traveling back to Philadelphia was to accept Slade's offer and save everything she could.
But soon Slade discovers the reason why the ranch hasn't been turning a profit and believes that Mariah's mismanagement of the cattle sales to pay for her sisters school in Philadelphia is something she has long overlooked. Without giving her a chance to explain, he immediately shuts down any attempt she makes and keeps his opinions to himself. Mariah concedes to sign the deed to the cattle ranch over to Slade as long as he promises he will keep the real reasons for the sale private to keep her family name intact in town. Will the two of them be able to work together long enough for them both to benefit or will the anger that Slade has in his heart drive her away forever?
I received Claiming Mariah by Pam Hillman compliments of Tyndale House Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained in this review are strictly my own. I love how Pam wrote this story from the hearts and perspectives of both Mariah and Slade. Mariah's faith keeps her strong in spite of the circumstances that threaten to leave her homeless and with nothing, while Slade keeps fighting the faith that Mariah has to keep God out for the unanswered prayers he had as a child. He loves what he sees in Mariah but can't see past his own hard heart for the answers to peace and happiness. Where as his brother Buck who is facing his own challenging odds keeps God in perspective and realizes that nothing that happens is God's fault. It will take an act of faith to bring Slade around. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars! Pam Hillman is now one of my must have authors! I am completely addicted to her western novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All the Makings of a Great Western

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this story Pam Hillman takes us out west to a town named Wisdom located in Wyoming Territory. Wisdom is a quiet town that is filled with God-fearing, hardworking folks. Mariah Malone's father, Seth was one of those decent and respected citizens; everyone will be shocked if the truth comes out of how he bought his ranch.
Mariah Malone has a hard time believing her father's death-bed confession of a terrible offense he committed as a young man. Seth had partnered with Jack Donovan in a goldmine and it seems Seth did some dishonest things. After hearing this news Mariah helps her father write a letter to Jack Donovan asking forgiveness.
Months later when Slade Donovan and his brother Buck arrives, Mariah is shocked to hear there was a lot more to the story than her father told her. Slade tells her he is there to claim the ranch that was bought with his father's money and he wants her out of his house and off of his land!
Slade never thought he would find a beautiful young woman running the Lazy M Ranch, in fact he hadn't thought about anything but the life-long hatred he's had for Seth Malone on the long trip to Wisdom. Now the only thing that matters is taking what rightfully belongs to him, and if that means Mariah and her grandma are left homeless then so be it.
After Slade shows Mariah the deed to the goldmine; which doesn't have her father's name on it, she feels she has to do what he asks. What will she do? Where will she go and how will she explain to her elderly grandmother that her son has caused them to lose the only home Mariah had ever known?
After having a talk with his brother Buck, Slade has a change of heart and tells Mariah that she can stay on as a hired cook until his mother and sisters come. What a life changing decision that will be! Does God have a plan to bring peace and forgiveness to the hearts of these two people who have been hurt by their fathers?
This is the first book I have read by Ms. Hillman and what a pleasure it was. Being raised in a home with a dad who loved Westerns this book was just like a trip down memory lane for me. There are cowboys, cattle and of course your run-of-the-mill cattle rustlers, and let's not forget the wonderful romance thrown in. The story line was so good it had me when I read the blurb on the back. Ms Hillman is certainly a talented writer and I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this story especially how she dealt with the hurt and unforgiveness in both Mariah and Slade's life. It served to remind me that when you hold on to unforgiveness you only hurt yourself. Thanks Ms. Hillman for an absolutely fantastic read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Claiming Mariah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Claiming Mariah, by Pam Hillman, is a marvelous novel. Set in Wisdom, Wyoming, in 1882, it tells the story of Mariah Malone and Slade Donovan. Their tale demonstrates our desperate need to stop and pray for God’s will before jumping into action on our own.
Mariah is certain that she is doing the right thing in sending a letter to Jack Donovan from her father asking forgiveness for past deeds. But months later, after her father’s death, Jack’s son, Slade, arrives demanding her ranch and wanting no part of forgiveness. Shocked at the turn of events, Mariah signs the ranch over to him, unsure of the future for her grandmother, blind sister, and herself. Slade finds the ranch in need of attention, dealing with both repairs and rustlers. And in spite of themselves, the two find themselves drawn to each other.
I enjoyed this book. I was inspired by Mariah’s faith in following God’s will, no matter the cost to herself and her family, as well as Slade’s journey through anger and injustice to peace with God. Secondary characters—Buck, Cookie, and Grandmother Malone—added a great deal to the story.
I would recommend this book to all who enjoy historical fiction set in the old west.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>