Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for River North Harvest of Gold - eBook

River North Harvest of Gold - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harvest of Gold - eBook
Review 1 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
This review is fromHarvest of Gold.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another excellent book from Tessa Afshar!

Date:April 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harvest of Gold is the second book in Tessa Afshar's Harvest series. This book is set around the event of Nehemiah rebuilding the walls of Jerusalem. In it we continue to follow the story of Darius, Sarah, and of course, Nehemiah. Unlike Harvest of Rubies, we get to read the story from the point of view of all 3 main characters, something I immensely enjoyed. While I also liked reading the previous one from Sarah's view point, this one I felt had a little more depth. I liked knowing what was going on with each of them and what they were thinking.
If Harvest of Rubies is Sarah's book, then this one is Darius'. We get to know and understand him better. Honestly, he isn't a very likeable character, at first. He is hard, bitter, and I didn't care for how he treated Sarah. As I continued reading, I still had a hard time caring for him, though I did like him a little more. I finally fell in love with him about halfway through the book, when we start to understand what drives him.
Darius has a very high moral standard, so when Sarah doesn't tell him something important, he once again withdraws from her. I really wanted him to stand up and get it together, but that wasn't part of his character, yet. Even though I was rather apathetic toward him, I still enjoyed his journey. I was looking forward to seeing him redeemed and Ms. Afshar did an excellent job.
Sarah was her usual self; spunky, sassy, and bold. I still adored her and her heart. There was one point when I wanted to shake her, but that just made her more real to me. I have to really care about characters for them to frustrate me that much.
I believe the main spiritual themes of this book are forgiveness and surrender. Darius must learn both. He has spent most of his life refusing to feel or let others too close, but with Sarah in his life, breaking down his walls, he's struggling to maintain his distance. This alone makes him lash out at her when she makes a mistake. He lays all the blame at her feet and shuts down even further. He must learn to forgive, something that only truly works with the Father's help. He also must learn to surrender, which is a battle he fights through most of the book. I appreciated his struggle with both themes. Ms. Afshar doesn't try to gloss over either, but rather portrays both as the difficult issues they are.
Sarah must also learn to surrender, both to God and to Darius. She has been taking care of herself for so long, that she has a hard time trusting Darius to make decisions regarding her well-being. The same is true of her trust in God. When she faces a trial, she asks, "where are You, God?" as we all do at some time or another. She doesn't understand why God would allow the circumstance and she struggles to surrender to Him, to trust that He knows best.
I really enjoyed the secondary characters, Lysander, Roxanna, and Pari! While they really are secondary and we don't know them well, I fell in love with each of them. I wish Lysander and Roxanna would get their own book, but I believe Ms. Afshar plans to leave their story up to her readers' imaginations.
The descriptions were so vivid! I often felt as though I was actually there, traveling with them, or viewing the city of Jerusalem for the first time. Ms. Afshar really brings history to life in all of her books and this one is no exception! Her stories draw you in and refuse to let go until the end, even the occasional frustrating character can't take away from her masterful writing.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Biblical fiction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah and Darius have been married for almost a year, and things have not changed between them. She has fallen in love with Darius despite his faults and insistence that want nothing to do with the Jewish God. While there is mutual respect and tenderness between them, Darius cannot love her or believe in her God. Accustomed to hiding his emotions and true feelings behind a mask of indifference, Darius is unable to show Sarah the love she deserves. When a plot to kill King Artaxerxes is unearthed and Darius is called upon to hunt down the would-be assassin, everything they have worked for begins to crumble. Will they be able to resolve the differences they brought to a marriage they were forced into? And will Darius ever find the God his wife so desperately believes and clings to?
In the meantime, Nehemiah has been the highly esteemed personal cup bearer to King Artaxerxes for many years. After so long in the Persian court, he has grown soft and pampered as one of the king's servants. His heart is burdened and grieved, however, when he hears that the walls of Jerusalem have been torn down and the city ravished. Upon further investigation, he discovers that the inhabitants have long since fled, and those who remain are on the verge of breaking from the desolate living conditions. Will Nehemiah find the support he needs from those in high places to rebuild Jerusalem? Can the Lord's people be restored to their former glory?
This was a stunning re-introduction to the lives and story of Darius and Sarah. The supporting characters were just as good as before, and of course, the intrigues of the Persian court are beyond what words can describe. Afshar does what every author of biblical fiction wants: to take the reader to a time and place where we can feel we are truly a part of the story, and to a life that we can only dream of. To walk in our imagination the places of the past where the people of the Bible called home. To breath the heartbeat of the story as if it was our own. All of this is accomplished, and more; for you will feel like you have come home.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
This review is fromHarvest of Gold.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent biblical novel!

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mesu Andrews
Location:Washington
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engaging. Inspiring. Heart- stopping and heart- rending. Harvest of God takes readers on a journey from ancient Persia to the broken-down walls of Jerusalem, re-building our hope as Nehemiah’s story is woven through a complex plot with multi-layered characters we love and hate and then love some more. A fabulous biblical novel that sent me straight back to God’s Word!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

LOVED Harvest of Rubies, LIKED Harvest of Gold...

Date:September 15, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After nearly a year of marriage to Darius, Sarah has gained Darius' respect, desire, and perhaps even his trust. Her love for him, though, is unrequited. When they discover a plot to assassinate the king, they begin an unexpected journey that will lead them from the king's palace to Jerusalem, a city of broken walls and broken spirits. While Darius investigates the plot behind the thwarted assassination attempt, Sarah serves as a scribe to Nehemiah, her cousin and Jerusalem's new governor. When tragedy strikes Sarah and Darius, their relationship unravels and their only hope lies with the One who can heal all. Once before, God redeemed Sarah's missteps and turned it for her good. Will He do so again? Or is her hope for Darius' heart lost forever?
Harvest of Gold by Tessa Afshar is the sequel to Harvest of Rubies. Although Harvest of Gold probably could work as a stand alone novel, I highly recommend reading Harvest of Rubies first for greater enhancement of Sarah and Darius' complete story. Like Tessa Afshar's previous novels, her writing style was lovely and the settings were realistic, but somehow enchanting at the same time. I enjoyed reading about the Persian and Jewish civilizations. The plot's pace as well as a few unexpected elements kept me interested throughout the story.
My only complaint about this book was that somehow Sarah and Darius of Harvest of Gold didn't feel quite like the same Sarah and Darius of Harvest of Rubies. Some of this could have been the switch from first person point-of-view (in Harvest of Rubies) to third person point-of-view (in Harvest of Gold). However, I think it was more of an unprecedented character shift that was not derived from normal character development and its subsequent progress. I don't say this to discourage anyone from reading the books, I say it as a simple word of caution. I LOVED Harvest of Rubies, so when Harvest of Gold wasn't quite what I expected, I was initially a little put off. Obviously, that feeling passed and I went on to enjoy Harvest of Gold. I do recommend both of these books to anyone who enjoys historical Christian fiction.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great price for an e-reader product

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deepremio
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I felt limited with the e-reader download only to Christianbook.com, however, I enjoyed having the convenience of getting to read the novel right away and for a great price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
This review is fromHarvest of Gold.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another fantastic fiction!

Date:October 6, 2013
“Nehemiah rolled up a parchment and tapped its end against his palm. “Because I believe I was called to this. What do you think destiny is? A smooth path that never jostles you? No. When you walk in your destiny, you will crash and fall more times than you can count. But the secret is to hold on to God’s vision for your life—and for the lives of those He puts under your charge. No matter how many times you fall, crash, and fail, you get up. You get up and face your obstacles.”
Continuing with the story of Sarah and Darius, Harvest of Gold, by the incredible story teller Tessa Afshar, takes us back into the days of Artaxerxes and one of the greatest empires the world has ever known: the Persian Empire.
I love all of Tessa's books. Her writing style, her research and her stories are wonderfully written and they keep you turning the pages. Harvest of Gold was no different: it makes me want to read the first one again. What an era of history she brings to life! The world run by an Empire, which we will probably never fully grasp, the politics, the uprisings, the contrast between rich and poor. oh man! I wouldn’t mind traveling back in time to see some of it. It’s such an intriguing backdrop to a story.
I think another aspect to a great novel is a great supporting cast. I loved the side characters in this one (especially Lysander and Roxanna). I hope more releases come out with some of these characters! Hint, hint :). I want to story to continue because it’s such fantastic biblical fiction!
Plus, can we all give a shout out to the brilliant bolds that make up all of her covers? I love them!
(Thank you Moody Publishers for the review copy!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
This review is fromHarvest of Gold.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Raechel
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can’t describe how excited I was when I heard back from the publishers that I could review this book. I was even more excited when I received the book in the mail – I think I squealed about it the entire day, and after! I am, dare I say, Tessa Afshar’s biggest fan. I adore her books. They have all made such impact on my life.
This is the sequel to Miss Afshar’s “Harvest of Rubies” (excellent book!! Read it, do) and thus it is the continuing story of Sarah and Darius.
I was very pleased with this book, and it is so well-written. Just like the other books of Tessa Afshar’s! :)
“Harvest of Gold” is about the rebuilding of the walls of Jerusalem, and what is cool, is that in this book part of it is written from Nehemiah, the cup-bearer to the King, and also the one in charge of the rebuilding of the walls, point of view. To be honest, I wasn’t sure at first if I’d like Nehemiah’s part, because I was so used to Sarah’s. But I was delightfully surprised! I really enjoyed his parts in the book as well.
With each book of Miss Afshar’s, I am continually amazed – each book awes me even more!
The ending of this book is like, the best possible ending. The last few chapter are just amazing. There were parts that had me in tears! Miss Afshar has the ability to bring me to tears through all her books :)
However, I would recommend this book for older readers, rather than younger, as it deals with minor intimate marriage concerns. 17 and up would probably be my age recommendation.
That aside, I really enjoyed this book, and there are many valuable lessons in it. It is a book I will read again and again.
I’m pretty sure I could rave about her books all day long :) She is most definitely one of my very top favourite authors!
As I said, this is the sequel to “Harvest of Rubies”; you could possibly read this on its own, but I believe it is much more enriched when you’ve read the first one before this one. That way you understand a lot more and it has more depth and meaning.
Truly, this is an excellent book!! I am so thankful for the chance to read and review it. Five plus star book! :) (My Mum agrees with me that the books are excellent – she’s read them all too!) =)
A big thank you to the publishers, as well as Tessa Afshar!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
This review is fromHarvest of Gold.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not quite as good as the first book

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I came into this novel with rather high expectations, because I really enjoyed the previous book, Harvest of Rubies. However, though this book did have its high points, I can't say I liked it quite as much.
First of all, this book really was a bit too mushy for my tastes (yeah, so the main characters were married, but that didn't really make me less uncomfortable. I skimmed some parts). It took me a while to get into this book. The author's writing style is very direct- her plotlines and characters are very good, but there isn't a lot of "pleasure of the language" itself that makes books such as the classics stand out. Sometimes I felt it was a little too straightforward with "such-and-such did this" or "so-and-so did that" with rather boring sentences. However, as the book went on and I got more into the plot, this didn't bother me so much. My favorite part was in the last half, where Darius really starts to change and grow in his faith. So don't get me wrong: I did like Harvest of Gold; it just wasn't my favorite.
I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
This review is fromHarvest of Gold.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah and Darius have been married for almost a year, and things have not changed between them. She has fallen in love with Darius despite his faults and insistence that want nothing to do with the Jewish God. While there is mutual respect and tenderness between them, Darius cannot love her or believe in her God. Accustomed to hiding his emotions and true feelings behind a mask of indifference, Darius is unable to show Sarah the love she deserves. When a plot to kill King Artaxerxes is unearthed and Darius is called upon to hunt down the would-be assassin, everything they have worked for begins to crumble. Will they be able to resolve the differences they brought to a marriage they were forced into? And will Darius ever find the God his wife so desperately believes and clings to?
In the meantime, Nehemiah has been the highly esteemed personal cup bearer to King Artaxerxes for many years. After so long in the Persian court, he has grown soft and pampered as one of the king's servants. His heart is burdened and grieved, however, when he hears that the walls of Jerusalem have been torn down and the city ravished. Upon further investigation, he discovers that the inhabitants have long since fled, and those who remain are on the verge of breaking from the desolate living conditions. Will Nehemiah find the support he needs from those in high places to rebuild Jerusalem? Can the Lord's people be restored to their former glory?
This was a stunning re-introduction to the lives and story of Darius and Sarah. The supporting characters were just as good as before, and of course, the intrigues of the Persian court are beyond what words can describe. Afshar does what every author of biblical fiction wants: to take the reader to a time and place where we can feel we are truly a part of the story, and to a life that we can only dream of. To walk in our imagination the places of the past where the people of the Bible called home. To breath the heartbeat of the story as if it was our own. All of this is accomplished, and more; for you will feel like you have come home.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
This review is fromHarvest of Gold.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the wait!!

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
releight
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this book pre-ordered as soon I finished "Harvest of Rubies," and the day it was supposed to arrive, I checked my door seven times to see if UPS had dropped it off yet. It was well worth the wait, and, just like the first book, I've already reread it and it has already changed my life. (I promise I don't say that lightly.)
There's plenty of mystery, humor, chemistry, history, and spiritual insight. I have never read a novel about Nehemiah, and it was so fascinating to enter and explore that world and time. The author takes more time to delve into Darius's history and character, and I loved seeing the journey of his relationship with Sarah, with all its pitfalls and victories. Sarah, aside from one foolish decision, was such an inspiration to me in my own marriage. The morning after finishing the book, at least four times I found myself saying something to my husband and then thinking, "Sarah would never have responded like that to Darius." Her love and respect and honor for him, even when he was not treating her well, have been so convicting and encouraging to me. (and I have a great husband!) It's probably impacted me more than most of the marriage books I've read and seminars I've been to! And of course, this book is packed with all kinds of spiritual insights and deep quotes (have I ever wanted to highlight a novel before?). It amazes me how Tessa Afshar can blend excellent fiction, witty dialogue, engaging characters, historical facts, and spiritual truths so well! I absolutely cannot wait for her next book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
This review is fromHarvest of Gold.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best Biblical fiction novel I have read in a while!
From the very beginning I knew I was going to enjoy this book. I don't know if it was Sarah or the story that won me over but nonetheless, this book is going on my keeper shelf. I confess, it wasn't until I was half-way through the story that I realized Harvest of Gold is technically a sequel to Harvest of Rubies; however, Harvest of Gold can be read as a stand alone. I only felt confused twice.
Oh, mercy. I loved Darius. I loved Sarah. They are an awesome couple. Both characters are beautifully written and I thoroughly enjoyed their story. I loved how she portrayed Nehemiah, I thought she did an excellent job bringing to life the man God called to rebuild Jerusalem's walls. He wasn't perfect. He was concerned. But though everything, he trusted in God.
All in all, this is a marvelous tale! Afshar represents the time period well. I hold such a deep admiration of her characters and I can't wait to see what she releases next! In the meantime, I'll be tracking down a copy of Harvest of Rubies to read. I highly recommend this to those who enjoy Biblical fiction.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher, through CFBA, in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
This review is fromHarvest of Gold.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Harvest of Gold continues the story of Darius and Sarah that began in Harvest of Rubies. This story is mostly set in Jerusalem when Nehemiah returns to rebuild the walls that had been destroyed by the Babylonians about 100 years before.
Sarah discovers she is pregnant right before she is set to depart with Darius and her cousin Nehemiah for Jerusalem. If she tells Darius, he will make her stay home and she will miss seeing her ancestral homeland, which she has longed to do. She will also be acting as Nehemiah’s scribe, so she will feel useful and enjoy her work. If she keeps her secret, Darius will feel betrayed and her marriage will have another hurdle to overcome. Will she endanger the health of her baby by rough travel?
Darius, with the help of Sarah, has uncovered a plot to assassinate King Artaxerxes. He is sent by the king to Jerusalem undercover to see if he can discover the originator of the plot. He has no plans to take his wife as he thinks it would be too dangerous. He soon discovers he has been outmaneuvered by Nehemiah and that his wife will be coming along. He doesn’t discover her pregnancy until it is too late. He immediately withdraws behind a wall that blocks his emotions.
As the assassination plot is eventually solved, the marriage between Sarah and Darius continues to stagnate. He refuses to show emotion, which Persians view as weakness. He will listen to nothing to do with his wife’s Lord. As he spends more time with her cousin, Nehemiah, his initial dislike for the man turns to respect and admiration. Darius must face demons from his past if he wants a future with his wife. He knows the only One who can help him do this is the Lord. Can he do it?
I very much enjoyed the conclusion of Sarah and Darius’ story. The journey of Darius in the efforts to save his marriage is admirable. We all have demons, but when we face them through God’s strength, we will be refined and made better people. I still enjoyed Sarah’s witty sarcasm, but also her newfound respect and obedience to her husband. I look forward to more books from this author. I can recommend this entertaining story comprised in both books wholeheartedly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
This review is fromHarvest of Gold.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Biblical Fiction

Date:July 22, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I always enjoy reading Biblical fiction and this book was no exception.
I have wanted to read something by Tessa for a while now but just haven't gotten around to it, but I am glad I finally did with Harvest of Gold.
Sarah, the main female character, drew me immediately. She is a smart woman who loves her husband but doesn't push him to confess the same love.
Darius, Sarah's husband, holds back from loving his wife, although it is obvious he does but something is keeping him from fully letting her into his heart. That alone will keep you turning pages.
The story of Nehemiah is worked into the book as well. I recently heard a message on Nehemiah so hearing the story again from a fictional standpoint was interesting. His complete faith and trust in God is something we should all strive for.
A great read for anyone who enjoys Biblical fiction.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
This review is fromHarvest of Gold.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shelly
Location:Illinois
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harvest of Gold is a great book. This is the third book I have read from Tessa Afshar. She is now on my favorite author list. Her characters have strong personalities and you will grow to love them. The scribe Sarah was raised by her father, had little female guidance, and never planned to marry. This led to many of the trials in her life. Sarah's life starts off in Harvest of Rubies and continues into Harvest of Gold. After reading Harvest of Rubies, I waited patiently for Harvest of Gold. It was well worth the wait.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
This review is fromHarvest of Gold.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Author builds depth into plot and characters

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
NanaJennifer
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put this book down. I kept relating the historic and Biblical plot to current events. I'm hoping a modern day
Nehemia will rise up and restore America and motivate Christians to a real relationship with the God of the Bible. Good read.
It is a positive, uplifting and exciting story but the underlying lessons and messages reveal the author's deep and authentic relationship with God and the Word. I'm reading it a second time...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All that glitters is A Harvest of Gold

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gringa93
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a continuation of Sarah and Darius's love story that began in <i>Harvest of Rubies</i>. The story begins with a summons to the King's court. Darius and Sarah rush to arrive on time to the King's summons. During their travel they are set up by thieves. Darius barely escapes with his life, and Sarah discovers a man with tattoos on his head that reveal instructions about an upcoming attempt to assassinate the King. Sarah's uncle, Nehemiah is granted his wish to rebuild the walls around Jerusalem. Darius is charged with finding who wants the King dead. Sarah doesn't wish to be separated from her husband for more than a year, so she keeps a secret from her husband. Keeping secrets from her husband was something she had promised to never do again, but her fears win the battle. When Sarah's secret is discovered through a tragedy, Darius once again shuts her out of his life. We see God's amazing grace in a strange twist of fate for Sarah, but will this be enough to bring Darius back to Sarah? Will Darius learn how to take down his walls protecting his heart and open it fully to his wife? Will Nehemiah be able to overcome the opposition to having Jerusalem's walls rebuilt?
I am so grateful that I was granted the privilege of reading an advanced e-copy of Harvest of God through Netgalley. I loved the continuation of Sarah and Darius's story. Afshar has a unique talent for weaving together a story that makes Biblical history come alive. <i>Harvest of Rubies</i> focused on the female psyche, while <i>Harvest of Gold</i> gives insight in the male psyche. Many marriages could learn a few things from this story on how fears can take over and bring problems without it being someone's original intent. The baggage each of us carry is shared with such care and insight. All of us need a Nehemiah in our life to help us see the walls we have built that need to be taken down, while learning which walls need to be built to protect us. This is why this book belongs on everyone's favorite shelf. I know that I will read this book again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Harvest of Gold - eBook
This review is fromHarvest of Gold.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love Harvest of Gold!

Date:April 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
living4Christ
Location:Canada, Quebec
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited to read this book! It exceeded my expectations. I tried to savor each page so I would not finish it so quickly but I just couldn't put it down until I completed it! The characters of Darius, Sarah and Nehemiah captured my heart through their struggles, strength and faith. I loved the chemistry between Darius and Sarah. Tessa Afshar has the ability to write Biblical fiction that not only has suspense, romance and an engaging plot. The most important factor that I believe that touches my heart/mind is the strong element of faith and God's Holy Spirit that is evident in this novel. Thanks Tessa for writing novels that not only entertain us but touch/ speak to our hearts through God's Spirit. I loved this book! I can't wait for Tessa Afshar next novel! Thanks to Net Galley and River North publishers for this Arc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.