Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for River North Winter in Full Bloom - eBook

River North Winter in Full Bloom - eBook

Funny and touching book about one mother's empty-nest-a story filled with of hope, redemption, and reconciliation.

Plus you will:
>

  • Be inspired by the gentle love story between Lily and Marcus
  • Be encouraged by one woman's search for family
  • Be challenged by a story that highlights Mother's Day
  • Be entertained by a story that is partially set in the exotic city of Melbourne, Australia
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.76 out of 5
    4.8
     out of 
    5
    (50 Reviews) 50
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
    5 stars
    42
    4 stars
    6
    3 stars
    0
    2 stars
    2
    1 star
    0
    48 out of 5096%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    Review 1 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Be Enchanted by the Story and the Writing

    Date:March 5, 2014
    Customer Avatar
    debhgrty
    Location:Plymouth MA
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    This winter, curl up with this book by prolific author, Anita Higman, and have those chilly days warmed by your reading. Anita is a best-selling and award-winning author with 33 books published. She is also a wonderfully warm and witty woman. I so enjoyed meeting Anita at the International Christian Retail show in 2012.
    Winter in Full Bloom will capture your attention as its heroine, Lily, captures your heart. Lily, divorced from her cheating husband, has a fiery confrontation with the mother who she felt never loved her. Not able to bear the scorn, and learning the shocking fact that her mother had another daughter, Lily travels half-way around the world to Australia to find the sister in hopes of building a relationship. While in Melbourne, she is accosted by a man who just may have the key to her past. Against her better judgment, Lily becomes friendly with him and enlists his help.
    Will she find her sister? Will the stranger stay in her life? Will he solve his own problems? Will her mother ever reconcile with her? Read Winter in Full Bloom for the answers – and to be enchanted by the story and the writing.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Endearing story of overcoming challenges

    Date:February 26, 2014
    Customer Avatar
    MaryAnn
    Location:OR
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Lily Winter, a recent widow and new empty nester, finds herself on an unexpected journey to Australia seeking the twin sister she didn’t know she had. Feelings of rejection by her “odious” mother and straying late husband are disrupted by a chance encounter with a fellow Texan who has fled to Melbourne. Sparks ignite as Marcus Averill and Lily become better acquainted, and their lives soon intertwine as do their similar family problems.
    Can Lily and Camille bond as adult siblings? Will they ever be able to relate well to their mother and forgive the hurts of the past? And how will Marcus fit into Lily’s family drama? He also needs to receive forgiveness and restore relations with his parents as well as forgive himself. The multiple threads and layers of this novel and the author’s skillful characterization and word-weaving make for a satisfying read. The characters grow so dear you don’t want to say good-bye but hope for a sequel to learn what happens with Camille.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Beautiful Story of Redemption

    Date:February 17, 2014
    Customer Avatar
    Britt98
    Location:Grand Prairie, TX
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I will admit that I was a little nervous to begin reading Winter in Full Bloom because I knew that the main character was a widow, entering a new stage of life. Lily’s only daughter has gone off to college and she is feeling a little lonely with her “empty nest”. I was afraid that I would be very sad about Lily’s husband’s death and her loneliness. However, I discovered that the book really is not about those feelings in that way. It is so very good and packed with so much!
    When the book begins, Lily has been a widow for a year and her daughter is in college. Lily attempts to reconcile with her very strange and angry mother. During this reconciliation attempt, Lily discovers some information that instantly changes her life. She hops a plane for Australia.
    In this story, Lily must overcome some big fears and face the doubts about herself that she carries around. Her time in Australia uncovers even more about her family that she did not know and opens up many new questions and possibilities for her life. It also introduces a possible love interest into Lily’s life. But, this man has family problems and issues of his own. I loved watching the relationship develop between the hero and heroine of the book. Watching them attempt to overcome their pasts while trying to establish a relationship was heartwarming. The side characters in the story were also very well-developed and had problems to overcome as well. There were so many interesting turns that this book took, and each one gave me an even greater insight into the minds of these characters. I truly enjoyed this lovely story of redemption.
    I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review, which I have given. All opinions expressed are my own.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:December 17, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    debwilson
    Age:18-24
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Lily Winter's wings are folded so tightly around her daughter that when empty nest arrives, she feels she can no longer fly. But Lily's lonely, widowed life changes in a heartbeat when she goes to visit a woman who is almost a stranger to her-a woman who also happens to be her mother. During their fiery reunion, her mother reveals a dark family secret that she'd been hiding for decades-Lily has an identical twin sister who was put up for adoption when they were just babies.
    Without looking back, Lily-with her fear of flying-boards a jumbo jet and embarks on a quest to find her sister which leads half way around the world to Melbourne, Australia. Befriended by an imprudent Aussie, he might prove to be the key to finding her sister. But her journey becomes a circle that leads her back home to attempt a family reunion and to find the one dream she no longer imagined possible-the chance to fall in love again.
    My Review:
    There is something wrong with all the people in this story, and for that, we the readers, thank Higman from the bottom of our hearts. I've read some stories where the characters had past hurts, past sins to hide, and things they were still dealing with that affects them at the time of the story. A little baggage is necessary for dramatic stories, and for setting a backdrop to the tale.
    But this novel just blew me away with the family drama and terrible pasts. While a little bit of not-so-great past is what makes novels great, Winter In Full Bloom just takes the prize on messed up families and damaged relationships. I couldn't believe that people so damaged can even function, much less forge new friendships and renew family alliances.
    There is something wrong with each of the characters - desperately wrong. I wanted to fix them all, but I was helpless to help them as I watched them traverse the waters of new life. So many times I wanted to shake them and demand that they look to the One who could heal them of their pain, but I am not so good at that myself. I related to so many themes in this book, and despite the ugliness of life, there was also healing from the God who watches over us no matter where we walk. A somewhat depressing and dark novel, but one of those books you just can't put down.
    This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    This book is a well written Christian romance.

    Date:January 7, 2014
    Customer Avatar
    K J Massey
    Location:Fort Worth, TX
    Age:Over 65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Winter in Full Bloom is a well written Christian romance filled with interesting characters, settings, and family issues. It is a sweet story that shows God working in lives and relationships; the importance of faith and forgiveness; and the ability of people to offer others second chances.
    It is inspirational fiction and I would recommend this book for readers looking for characters with faith and problems that require introspection and prayer. Thank you, Anita Higman for your writing.
    I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.
    I give it a 4 out of 5
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Something For Everyone

    Date:January 2, 2014
    Customer Avatar
    ruthhill74
    Location:Yelm, WA
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I am not one for contemporary romances. However, on occasion I read one that truly takes me by surprise. I was absolutely mesmerized by this book from page one, and I can only hope that this is not the last I will read of these amazing characters! Anita Higman is a masterful storyteller, and she fearlessly goes where many Christian authors may fear to tread. She deals with atheism, loss of faith, and dysfunctional families. Have you ever wondered what it would be like to have lived almost half of your life and discover that you had an identical twin? Read her book, and discover the mystery! This book never seems to be preachy. God and faith are naturally woven into the fabric of the tale. I believe that although this is a "typical" romance, you can rest assured that the situations that are encountered within the story seem realistic. I believe that everyone can identify with doubt and fear. In fact, I believe that each reader will probably see himself or herself within one of the characters. I probably most identify with Lily since I am a single parent who is nearly forty. Surely, my story is different--vastly different--but there are elements of her life that truly resonate. And, the fact that the main characters seem to identify with music and writing, I feel like I am right at home. Although I never found myself in true tears, it does not mean that my emotions were not steered. The ending is gorgeous and bittersweet, and I found myself tingling all over more than once throughout the story. I was never bored, and I believe that this book will be on my mind for some time. I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    The details paint a lovely vivid picture.

    Date:December 10, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Beverly
    Location:Ohio
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Has a conversation ever left you so bewildered by the information you are given, that you are determined to dig deeper for answers, no matter what? Lily found herself in that very state of mind. A conversation with her mother sends her on her plight across the world for those answers.
    Soon after arriving in Australia, Lily develops a unique friendship with a peculiar, yet handsome man who may be able to help her on her quest. Is she willing to bare the details of her dysfunctional family to a stranger in the hopes that Marcus is more than a man looking for a date? Together, Marcus and Lily begin their search for information that may lead them to even more than the answers that Lily is so desperately looking for.
    When an unexpected romantic relationship develops, Lily finds herself having to choose between returning home in hopes of reconciliation with her mother and staying in Australia and taking another chance at love.
    Winter in Full Bloom is a beautiful story filled with an element of surprise at every corner. It is an enjoyable read that teaches so much about love, forgiveness, healing, faith, and new beginnings. The details within the story were written to paint a vivid picture.
    Anita Higman takes you on a journey around the world to show that sometimes the very thing you want the most is worth waiting for. “Wait” is sometimes the answer God gives to our deepest desire. The message that “God makes all things beautiful in His time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11) rings clear throughout the book.
    A copy of this book was provided to me by bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review. The opinions expressed within this review are strictly my own, and no other compensation has been given.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:December 8, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    debwilson
    Age:18-24
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Lily Winter's wings are folded so tightly around her daughter that when empty nest arrives, she feels she can no longer fly. But Lily's lonely, widowed life changes in a heartbeat when she goes to visit a woman who is almost a stranger to her-a woman who also happens to be her mother. During their fiery reunion, her mother reveals a dark family secret that she'd been hiding for decades-Lily has an identical twin sister who was put up for adoption when they were just babies.
    Without looking back, Lily-with her fear of flying-boards a jumbo jet and embarks on a quest to find her sister which leads half way around the world to Melbourne, Australia. Befriended by an imprudent Aussie, he might prove to be the key to finding her sister. But her journey becomes a circle that leads her back home to attempt a family reunion and to find the one dream she no longer imagined possible-the chance to fall in love again.
    My Review:
    There is something wrong with all the people in this story, and for that, we the readers, thank Higman from the bottom of our hearts. I've read some stories where the characters had past hurts, past sins to hide, and things they were still dealing with that affects them at the time of the story. A little baggage is necessary for dramatic stories, and for setting a backdrop to the tale.
    But this novel just blew me away with the family drama and terrible pasts. While a little bit of not-so-great past is what makes novels great, Winter In Full Bloom just takes the prize on messed up families and damaged relationships. I couldn't believe that people so damaged can even function, much less forge new friendships and renew family alliances.
    There is something wrong with each of the characters - desperately wrong. I wanted to fix them all, but I was helpless to help them as I watched them traverse the waters of new life. So many times I wanted to shake them and demand that they look to the One who could heal them of their pain, but I am not so good at that myself. I related to so many themes in this book, and despite the ugliness of life, there was also healing from the God who watches over us no matter where we walk. A somewhat depressing and dark novel, but one of those books you just can't put down.
    This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Not to be Missed

    Date:November 24, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    The Happy Reader
    Location:Columbia, TN
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Ms. Higman takes us on a journey of life through an empty nester, Lily Winter, who has a heart of gold. Timid Lily, after hearing a secret her cold and distant mother has hidden from her for nearly forty years, travels halfway around the world with just a name and lots of hope. Little did she know her actions would touch much more than just her heart, but would set in motion a series of events that would change her views of her past, her present, and her future as well as those around her.
    For years, Lily has walked away from life and was content to live in the shadows, this is her story. This is how she learns to confront the demons of her past - betrayal of the worst kind as well as rejection from her own mother - and move forward and unlock the love in her future.
    Being the same age with a daughter on her way to college, I really connected with Lily and felt her pain. Her happiness. Her sorrow at the rejection and distance her mother continually offered. I cheered for her when she blossomed and realized that God does have a purpose for His children - even after your own children have moved on. This is an inspirational book that encourages us to look beyond the bitterness we could so easily adopt and see the beauty of the blessings God has already given us. It teaches us how to forgive the unforgivable, how to love the unloveable, and embrace the beautiful when it's offered to us.
    Highly recommend.
    *I received a copy of this book free in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not required they be positive. My thanks to the publisher, River North for this opportunity.*
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 9, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    msandy
    Location:Petal, MS
    Winter In Full Bloom
    BY: Anita Higman
    This was my first book by Anita Higman, but not my last. This is a wonderful story, that I read in two days. Lily takes a trip to Australia to look for her twin sister, which she just found out about from her estranged mother. Lily has so many issues in her life to overcome and resolve. She meets Marcus, who helps her look for her sister and helps her take a closer look at her life. They help each other and become more than just friends. As she searches for her long lost twin her character evolves and develops into a more confident women. This story deals with issues including family dynamics, true love, reconciliation, forgiveness, and healing. Anita has a wonderful way of immersing the reader into the lives of the characters. I love the cover and the play on words between the title and her main character. I was given a free copy from River North publishers for my honest review.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Winter in Full Bloom by Anita Higman review

    Date:November 8, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    rose mccauley
    Location:KY
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Australia is a place my husband would like to explore someday, and after reading this book which begins in Melbourne, I want to go, too! The descriptions of this city and other close-by places in the Down Under are very well done. And I enjoyed learning a little of the Aussie slang for certain words. But, the main attraction of this book is the marvelous story and its unique characters.
    The whole story is told in the first person point of view of widow Lily Winters who goes to Melbourne to find her identical twin sister she only recently learned about. What struck me as I leafed through the pages to do this review is how well the author handled the whole story in only Lily's POV, but still made me feel like I knew the other two main characters--the sister, Camille, and Lily's love interest, Marcus Averill--as well as I did Lily. I don't read a lot of first person novels, but would definitely want to read another one by this author. Superb job of writing!
    There are also Lily's daughter and Lily's mother and a few other characters. Her mother is so set in her destructive ways, that you know only a miracle can change her, and like many miracles, it is not the way we expect it to happen.
    I don't want to give away any of the surprises which bring us to such a satisfying ending, but if you love romance and its happily ever after ending after lots of twists and turns, then I highly recommend this book.
    Although it was a gift to review, all opinions are my own.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Beautiful love story

    Date:September 19, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    CurledUpWithaBook
    Location:The Maritimes
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This was my first book by this author and I will definitely be looking for more of her books. I usually take my time reading books but I couldn't put this one down. A great story from start to finish!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Winter in Full Bloom by Anita Higman

    Date:October 25, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Wanda
    Location:NC
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Lily Winter had been estranged from her mother for ten years, but with her daughter Julie away at college for the first time and with Lily suffering from a severe case of "empty nest" syndrome, she felt the need to try and reconnect with her mother. Little did she know that on that fateful day that she would lose one hope and discover another. When her mother told her she had a twin sister, Camille Daniels, who lived in Australia, Lily knew she had to find her. What she didn't expect to find was love. The day Marcus Averill sat on the bench beside her with her cheeks stuffed full of marshmallows and despair in her heart, was the day Lily's quiet, lonely life changed forever. Marcus was quirky and funny and everything Lily didn't want. But underneath all of the antics, Lily soon discovered a gentle man with with a tortured soul. She found herself falling for Marcus and falling fast. Could they find a love that would weather every storm?
    Marcus Averill left Texas to flee his father's hatred. When Marcus' younger sister Ellie was killed in a car accident, his entire life changed. He was bogged down with guilt for falling asleep at the wheel and causing the fatal accident and had given up hope of ever reconciling with his parents. That is, until he met Lily Winter. That fateful day he sat beside her on that bench their lives became interwoven. Marcus helped her find her sister and she helped him find his way, his way back to his family and in the process she stole his heart. They both had their own separate lives they needed to repair, relationships that needed to be nurtured. Could they weather their storms and still maintain their love for each other? Or would making their family priority tear them apart forever?
    This book was a firestorm of emotions wrapped up in one neat little package. The moment I opened the cover a whirlwind of emotions was unleashed in me and continued long after the last page was turned. I was quite literally emotionally drained. I have often marveled at a writer's creativity and writing ability. That's why I am a reader, not a writer. The way Anita Higman wove this story left me in awe of both her creativity and her God-Given talent as a writer. This story was absolutely beautiful and I often found the tears flowing unheeded. Winter in Full Bloom was about Love, family reunions and Spiritual awakening. I rejoiced in the transformation of some of the characters and I absolutely fell in love with Marcus just as sure as Lily did. All of the characters endeared themselves to me and I thoroughly enjoy traveling with them on their journey. You, too, will love the journey and I say that with the utmost confidence. If you haven't read Winter in Full Bloom you surely don't know what you're missing!
    ** I received this book for free from Miss Anita Higman for my honest review**
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    A Heartwarming REad

    Date:October 20, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Rebecca
    Anita Higman creates a beautiful story full of hope, healing and new beginnings.
    After years of separation Lily Winters decides to visit her mother and receives the shock of a lifetime. In fact the news is so shocking it causes Lily to overcome her fear of flying and travel to far away Australia in search of answers. Upon arriving in Melbourne, Australia Lily forms a friendship that challenges her to move outside of the her comfort zone and really live life to it's fullest. Lily's journey is full of surprises-some wonderful and some not so joyful.
    I really enjoyed this story and it's characters. My favorite part of the story is watching the relationship develop between Lily and her newest friend from down under. The author does a beautiful job in this tender story of love and forgiveness. Winter in Full Bloom is inspirational fiction at it's best and I would highly recommend this book.
    I received a copy of this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5

    Winter in Full Bloom

    Date:October 10, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    StoryGirl
    Age:18-24
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Value: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    When I first saw this book, I thought it was a historical novel; however, when I clicked on it, I found out that it was, in fact, a contemporary. Anyway, I shrugged, thought, “why not?” and so requested this title for review.
    The book immediately got my attention with the first chapter. Anita Higman’s writing was quirky and relatable, although it was really hard for me to imagine someone spilling their heart out to complete strangers the way Lily did. That just ‘does not compute’ in my mind- I can’t imagine just meeting someone on a plane and then spilling out my heart to them (although I know that does happen!)
    This book deals with some heavy issues (most of them family-related) and I wouldn’t recommend it to younger readers for that reason, but also I don’t think it would be as interesting to them, anyway. Winter in Full Bloom still wasn’t quite my cup of tea; it was a lot about relationships, issues with family (especially between mothers & daughters) and then a bit of romance. Sometimes the plot twists seemed a little unlikely, and parts of it, though heartfelt, almost seemed a little sappy. I get I found it too...emotional for me. Although, considering that the main plot didn’t interest me very much, the book still managed to keep me reading, and luckily it wasn’t overly long.
    I revived this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 16 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Winter in Full Bloom will warm the heart!

    Date:October 5, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Blooming with Books
    Location:Bloomer, WI
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    WINTER
    IN
    FULL BLOOM
    by Anita Higman
    I was provided a copy of this lovely book by TBCN and author Anita Higman in exchange for my fair and honest review. And I have to be honest I wanted to review this book just from the cover. A beautiful winter scene with a garden in bloom - who could resist such a scene? Well, not I!
    And the story is equally delightful and at the same time also heartbreaking. Two families divided and a chance to reunite unless the hurts of the past continue to keep them apart. Having read Anita's Where God Finds You I was anticipating a book that would capture my imagination and hold it and I was not disappointed in Winter in Full Bloom.
    Lily Winter is a woman who grows on her journey to find the sister she never knew she had and along the way she discovers something she had lost a sense of her own worth. Her determination to find Camille is just the answer Camille has been looking for and together these two sisters - these twins, will find the healing and belonging that they have desired and just may be what their bitter mother needs.
    There is a secondary story which is vital to explaining Lily's state of mind when the story begins. And Lily's friendship with Marcus Averill (the Aussie who helps her search for Camille) is a means of bringing healing to a hurting person and perhaps his own family.
    I totally loved this book and am really hoping for a sequel dealing with Camille!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 17 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Wonderful book by Anita Higman

    Date:September 25, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    joeym11
    Location:Indiana
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Winter in Full Bloom
    By: Anita Higman
    I really loved this story from beginning to the end. I would rate it a 5 star.
    Lily the main character has had a very rough life from childhood of not being loved to a cheating husband who died. Lily finds out she has a identical twin who was given away. Lily is on the search for her which takes her to Australia. Lily finds more in Australia then what she was looking for. The story made me laugh and it made me cry. This story is of love and forgiveness. I would recommend this book.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 18 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    A Faith Walk

    Date:September 25, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    British
    Location:Ga
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Winter in Full Bloom by Anita. Higman
    This book has so many elements of faith, forgiveness, healing and trust. Lilly was God's instrument. A Nicely articulated and such an unpredictable read. Wide imagination with enough counsel to repair deep rooted pain. Well written and well received. One of the quickest books I have read. I am proud to write this honest review and give credit to Bookfun .org for placing this book in my hands. Anita I am now a fan.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 19 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5

    Too emotional & unrealistic for me

    Date:September 23, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    tmurrell
    Location:TN
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    Lily and her mother have never gotten along. After a ten year hiatus, Lily returns home to try reconcile with her mother. She's feeling the effects of an empty nest and hopes that she can somehow reconnect. But her mother drops a bomb shell that sends her half way around the world to Australia. Can Lily find who she's looking for and still have a second chance at love?
    This book was a mixed bag for me. I'm not a huge fan of overly emotional books and this one was definitely full of drama and emotion. The romantic part of the book was sweet and well done. The plot was a good one. And looking back after reading the story I can honestly say that I enjoyed it and it was a fast read. But quite a few circumstances in the book felt unbelievable and either rushed or forced. It was just a little too unrealistic in places for me.
    In summary, it was a good book, just not my style.
    I received this book free of charge from Book Fun in exchange for my honest review.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 20 for Winter in Full Bloom - eBook
    This review is fromWinter in Full Bloom.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Inspiring & Unforgettable

    Date:September 15, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Nancee
    Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Lily Winter embarks on a journey to the other side of the world in search of the sister she has never known. An embittered woman, Lily's mother has kept this secret for decades. Lily's only daughter has left for college and her husband is deceased, so Lily takes this time in her life to connect the missing pieces in her past. Panic envelops Lily as her fear of flying overwhelms her, but the flight to Australia is her only hope in finding her twin sister, Camille. Seeking solace in the botanical gardens in Melbourne Lily is introduced to Marcus Averill as he joins her on a park bench and strikes up a conversation. Not interested in making small talk Lily attempts to ignore the stranger, but his amusing and upbeat character wins her over. An American currently living in Melbourne, Marcus knows his way around and offers to assist in Lily's quest to find her twin. Marcus eventually discloses equally painful family circumstances of his own as they spend time together searching for Camille.
    Winter in Full Bloom is an unforgettable story of deception, betrayal, abuse, family dysfunction and unforgiving characters who dominate the lives of the main characters in this book. Anita Higman has done a magnificent job of illustrating reality in the heartache of her characters, while developing a plot that is both unpredictable and jolting. A book in the Christian Fiction genre, the author effortlessly weaves the essence and communication with God into the lives of her characters without forcing it on the reader. Non-Christian readers will enjoy this book, and possibly take away a bit of inspiration from their journey through the lives of these characters. Overall, I found Winter in Full Bloom to be a superb example of Christian literary fiction, and highly recommend it. I will undoubtedly read this book again.
    Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Wynn-Wynn Media in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for my review.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.