Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook

Zondervan Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 1173%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook
Review 1 for Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Misleading, a Samson commentary, how not to fail.

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Destiny
Location:MN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Okay book, quick read, too much focus on an Old Testament man best known for failure and falling into sin. Reads more as a commentary on the life of Samson with a few of Craig's original stories included. Seem like a book where the author is pressing to write a book rather than a book flowing out by inspiration. More focus on the sickness, sin than on the cure, Jesus. Could have been written the other way with more focus on Jesus and less on sin. I have read other books by Craig, and would recommend the Christian Atheist instead of this. Not his best work, but by no means bad. I still intend to read books by Craig, he is a good story teller.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
bencjr
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book really inspire me as a man whom God created that the best the God has for us doesn't comes to our laps. Their are times as believer's we must fight for those things which God has promise for us. "If God be for me who can be against me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's time that men be men

Date:September 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris Tabone
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“God created men to have the heart of a warrior, placing a desire within us to stand up and fight for what’s pure, for what’s true. A man has a warrior’s heart (13).” In his book Fight, Craig Groeschel challenges men to be a warrior for God by “knowing your weaknesses and turning to God to empower you to be the man he made you to be (27).” The point is that men turn first to God, gain their strength through the Holy Spirit, and they then live it out.
Fight is a quick and easy read, but just because it’s an easy read doesn’t mean that the material is easy to flesh out. Craig uses the example of the Old Testament character Samson to explain the areas in a man’s life that we need to be on the lookout for. For example on page 60 Craig talks about how we must turn the I want “it” in to I want “God.” When we begin to act and live in such a manor we will begin to be able to fight again sinful issues within our lives.
This book is a great read and one that every man young and old should check out. By being willing to stand up and fight we could see a generation of men who take the role given to us by God more seriously and the result could be a better world to live in.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Perfect for potty-page-turning

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Buehler
Location:Toronto, ON
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Craig Groeschel isn't funny. That's probably harsh to say about a guy I've never met, seeing as how reading such a comment written by someone else towards me would probably hurt my feelings. But I think he knows his jokes are bad--most preachers do. But they still spit punchlines like their paycheque depends on it.
What does that have to do with Groeschel's new book Fight? Well, if anyone has watched/listened to one of his sermons, you would recognize that he writes in a similar voice. Fight is posed as a book for men, and the general audience target seems to be men married with children--although the content is not exclusive. Groeschel's basic premise is that all men will have battles that they must fight in life, and God provides the strength we all need to fight like the "warrior" God has made us to be, using the story of Samson in the Bible as an example of everything men should NOT be like.
Maybe I'm simply not the intended target, but the macho, jock-talk, oh-I-wish-I-was-an-MMA-fighter talk just doesn't motivate me to pick up my rugged cross and run a hundred miles with it over my shoulder. The warrior-speak just doesn't do it for me. But I suppose for those men who are into jock-talk and oft picture themselves as Mel Gibson in Braveheart, being told you're a warrior is inspiring.
Something else I don't care for is the short 2-3 page "chapters". Where a "normal" book that I am used to reading has a handful of chapters with subheadings to break up the chapter a bit, Fight is organized in a way that those subsections are chapters unto themselves. I suppose again the target reader is someone that is labeled as having a short attention span? I don't know. I will say it makes for great a great potty-page-turner, where you can finish a chapter easily in a sitting.
In spite of how my analysis may sound, I actually very much enjoy Groeschel's writing, speaking, and all that has become under his LifeChurch.tv ministry. But I find this book to be quite shallow in life-changing content. It's as if Groeschel was under contract to right another book, and this is the best he could come up with.
Fact of the matter is, the book reads like a really long drawn out sermon. Groeschel is hosting a simulcast on October 26th focusing on the topic of Fight, promoted as a men's ministry event. I think if you register and listen in on the content of this event, you won't need to buy the book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very good resource for men

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Alexandria, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I’ve read a lot of books for men. How to be the spiritual leader of the home, how to be the man of the family, how to be a better father, etc. In his book, Fight: Winning the Battles that Matter Most, Craig Groeschel has written a book about how men were called to be warriors. He’s pretty clear that this is a book for men, and not for women. He even encourages women to put the book down. I didn’t appreciate that, because if this book really applies to me, then it would be great for my wife to read this book.
In essence, Groeschel explains men are designed to by God to be holy warriors. I don’t really disagree with that thesis, because most men do want to be the warrior and show their mate how they will fight for her. They (we) want to be the knight in shining armor to rescue our damsel, who’s in distress.
I was surprised Groeschel chose to be base the book on the life of Samson. While there are many positives we can take from Samson’s life, I find as many negatives and things I should not be doing. The purpose of choosing Samson is to teach what was right and what was wrong. Groeschel was able to help me learn more through his study, but I still felt Samson could have been one part of the picture, and he could have used other biblical characters to help bring home the point about what men should be like.
Groeschel pointed out how men usually show emotion by demonstrating anger as opposed to the many other emotions which are within us. He concludes or surmises that possibly that anger is really self-directed, or directed toward God, and others. Anger usually is what will drive a man to action. He also speaks about other issues such as greed, envy, and lust.
This is a pretty short and easy read. I think most men will see themselves at various points in the book. Groeschel’s goal is for men to take over the spiritual leadership in their families and to move closer to holiness through self-discipline.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read.

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
johnnybgamer
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most by Craig Groeschel
“…within every man, God has planted a divine desire to fight for righteousness.” – Fight, p.13
As king of the flannelgraph boards, the Biblical/historical figure of Sampson is one that many a young boy wishes to be. Set apart by God from birth, Sampson is the original superhero. Fight, by pastor Craig Groeschel, examines the life of Sampson in parallel to the modern Christian male. Both have been created by God in His image; both are prone to utter and complete failure. Groeschel goes out of his way to point out that Sampson’s failures, like ours, are never due to one time events. Like the falling blocks in a game of Tetris, our decisions stack up and can eventually lead us down a road to ruin. However, like Sampson, we are never beyond God’s redemptive power.
Fight is organized into 3-4 page chapters. I enjoyed these easy to digest chunks of truth. My biggest and only complaint with the book was the unneeded machoism that permeates throughout. Much like John Eldredge’s Wild at Heart, Groeschel felt the need to add blanket gender assumptions such as:
“Think about it this way. There are two kinds of movies: chick flicks and, well, everything else. Do chick flicks inspire men? Do they make them want to be stronger, braver, better men?What about in Pride and Prejudice when Keira Knightley’s character says to her new husband, “You may only call me ‘Mrs. Darcy’ when you are completely and perfectly and incandescently happy.” And he responds with, “Then how are you this evening…Mrs. Darcy?” and kisses her on the forehead. And then, “Mrs. Darcy,” as he kisses her on the cheek. And then, “Mrs. Darcy,” as he kisses her on the nose. Again, if you’re a guy, you have no idea what I’m talking about right? Or if you do know, you’re trying hard to forget.” (page 14)
Despite comments such as the one found above, I enjoyed my time reading Fight. Craig does a fantastic job going beyond the Sampson depicted in Sunday school flannelgraphs and digs into the heart of what made him a man. I highly recommend this book.
I was given a copy of this book by BookSneeze. All opinions are my own. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical and Challenging

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
pastormatte
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Craig Groeschel is one of my favourite authors.
He has written some of my favourite books.
Books on church leadership.
Books on dating.
Books on Christian living.
Books on being a pastor.
I regularly follow his church’s podcast and try to keep up with his sermons as much as possible.
Needless to say, I enjoy the resources Craig Groeschel puts out.
And so when I was given the chance to receive an advance copy of his upcoming book for men, I jumped at the opportunity (well, not literally, but I did get really excited).
I was not disappointed.
This book reads like a devotional book, with five sections containing seven short chapters each (so it would take five weeks to go through, reading a few pages each day).
In this book, Craig focuses on the story of Samson, and how men can overcome the lies of the enemy and the pull of the sinful nature in order to fight – and win – the battles that really matter in life.
And I must admit, I was a little curious how he could spend an entire book focusing on the life of Samson.
It’s one of the most well-known stories in the Bible.
Most people have heard it ever since Sunday school.
Could I really learn anything that I hadn’t already been told for years?
Absolutely!
Craig dives into the details of Samson’s life, and points out things that I had never realized.
He successfully takes the story of Samson, and uses it to draw powerful application points for my life.
If you are a man looking for an excellent read, I completely recommend picking this book up when it comes out.
And if you a woman, wanting to find out ways to encourage your man to reach his potential in Christ,
then I also encourage you to read it (Craig also invites you to read it).
—–
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God uses imperfect people

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
pastor2519
Location:West Point, UT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We all make poor choices, and sometimes those choices concern the things that we think are important. Using Samson (read about him in Judges, chapters 13-16) as the primary example, Pastor Craig Groeschel does some teaching on how to pick our battles in such a way as to make an impact for God. In his latest book, Fight: Winning the Battles that Matter Most (Zondervan, 2013), Groeschel makes a strong case for allowing God to use us despite our weaknesses. As he puts it, Samson is the strongest man to ever live, but his story doesn’t have a happy, ‘walking-with-God’ ending. Why, because he made some poor choices. (Can you relate?)
Samson was a Nazarite; set aside, dedicated to God, and as such made three vows. 1) No booze; 2) don’t touch anything dead; and 3) hair doesn’t get cut. Of course if you read the Sacred Text, you’ll see that Samson broke all of his promises. Goreschel points out that as Samson got off track, and lost focus, he allowed lust, entitlement and pride to take over. He listens to his emotions instead of God.
Groeschel writes in an engaging style, he’s pastoral, but reading this book was like reading a letter written to me. He’s transparent, but not in the tabloid sensationalism style, and time and again he referred to his own Samson moments. Time and again I was reminded that I have Samson moments too. We’re all faced with Samson moments, but Groeschel shows how he uses (and we can use them too) his faith, an active prayer life, and knowledge of the Word of God to overcome the loss of focus moments in our lives.
The happy ending is that Samson after a life of letting his “I want it” emotions rule his thinking was able to turn back to God. My take away from this book is that I’ll never measure up to the super-heroes of the faith, but that doesn’t mean that in my imperfections I can’t be used.
Learn to be a warrior, you’re going to have battles, and you’ve already got the tools you need to fight those battles (faith, prayer and the Word of God). The choice is yours – what kind of decisions will you make?
I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a favorable review.
4.5 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple. Practical Book

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reformissional Rev
Location:Pittsburgh, Pa.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have all probably had to fight for someone or something at one time in our life or another, and most people don't enjoy losing. But, sometimes the difference between winning and losing is understanding how to fight and knowing what it is that is worth fighting for in this life. And learning to fight is the subject of the newest book by author Craig Groesschel, titled simply Fight, that is due to be released this October.
Craig Groeschel is well known throughout the world as the Pastor of one of the largest churches in the United States, Life Church, in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. With a congregation of multiplied thousands, he has had to speak with his share of more than a few people who had some challenging fights, and with others who fight every day to stay spiritually strong in a world of compromise. In the book Fight, he uses the Biblical model of Samson as an example of the wrong way to fight, and draws out many Biblical principles that can easily be applied to our lives.
He states very directly that the book is primarily geared toward men but, knowing that women will also read the contents, he encourages every reader to learn how to apply the truths contained in the pages to the areas we all struggle with most. What are some of those areas of struggle? For men in particular, from Samson's life he chooses to focus on lust, entitlement and pride. And later in the book he adds some thoughts about failure and regret that can easily be applied to multitudes of beaten down warriors.
I found his stories, particularly those which he tells about himself, to be hilarious and sometimes familiar to anyone who recognizes the challenges all of us face from time to time. The book is very easy to read and the chapters remarkably short, proving that you can say a lot in only a little bit of time. As the subject matter is very important in men's ministry, he covers the issues well and any man should find himself hidden somewhere in between these pages.
I received this book free from the publisher through the http://BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I believe that whether you're a man or a woman that you will gain insights into the world of the way a man thinks and feels. And if you will apply the principals contained in this book, then you too can learn to fight...and to win.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Helping Men Become Godly Champions

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fight is a book for guys. Really. In every way, it's designed to appeal, minister to, and address a male audience stylistically and in content. Groeschel says that pretty clearly up front, encouraging women readers to just put the book down because it's "not for you." I was sent the book to review, though, so as a woman I pressed on and kept reading. After all, sometimes it's a help for me to better understand where my husband is coming from.
The book essentially argues that men are designed to fight, created by God to be holy warriors, and encourages Godly men to step up and fight the battles worth winning against sin and for their marriages, families, finances and personal holiness.
Interestingly enough, Groeschel chooses to study the account of Samson in the Bible--God's champion-gone-bad---mostly as an anti-hero, one that reminds men of what happens when they squander their potential, refuse their calling, and give into temptation rather than discipline themselves through obedience. It's not often that we really examine the story of Samson, other than to tell the sordid story of Delilah, and I think it is valuable to look at Biblical characters not just for the examples they give us of what to do, but also to show us what not to do. Samson certainly fits into that category.
As a woman, I was struck by how much of the book addresses men's emotional reactions, but not in a way that is typical of more female-focused material. Groeschel argues that, while women run the gamut of emotional responses, guys generally experience anger. Maybe it's directed at themselves, others, God, the situation or anything else, but generally it's anger that drives their reactions. So, Groeschel focuses here, on disciplining male emotions and overcoming anger or at least redirecting it. He also covers the topics of pride, lust (lots and lots of time spent on this topic), envy, greed, and the small steps that lead guys closer and closer to habitual and devastating sin.
The chapters are extremely brief and the book itself is fairly short. It's a quick read with amusing anecdotes and personal stories with humor that will resonate with a male audience. Overall, Groeschel is undemanding of his audience, never requiring extended attention, lengthy reading sessions, or even in-depth study.
Perhaps that leads to my main criticism of the book. It was hard to tell from place to place or chapter to chapter exactly what the extended argument was here. It seemed like a series of nearly disconnected chapters, like mini-talks or podcasts, strung together loosely under the theme of "stuff guys deal with."
In the final chapters, he seems to hone in on a final push for self-discipline and holiness, but he meanders his way there in the previous chapters. The overall progression seems jumpy as a result. A little bit on lust here, a little bit on pride there, a little bit on how men need to fight and then back to lust again and maybe another discussion of lust a little later on, as well. The discussions on Samson seemed secondary to the topic, added in to provide Biblical anti-examples, but not really the driving force behind the book.
Overall, this book will probably work well for guys, holding their attention, addressing practical problems, and encouraging them to step up as holy warriors for God, not being knocked out by sin, temptation, lack of discipline, and selfishness. But it isn't a particularly deep Bible study or even my favorite of Groeschel's books (but then, as a woman, it wasn't meant to be my favorite).
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fight: Winning the Battles That Matter Most - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

How not to be a godly man

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
wheelsms
Location:Chicopee, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pastor and author Craig Groeschel wants men to discover who they were created to be—a warrior. He believes God designed men to have the heart of a warrior, to itch for a fight. That doesn’t mean we were created to be “aggressive, alpha-bully punks.” Rather, God placed within the heart of each man a divine desire to fight for righteousness.
To explain his thesis, the author draws from the story of Samson, the strongest man who ever lived. While Samson’s accomplishments are legendary, he is better known for his failures, which were epic as well. As the author explains,
“God gave Samson unique abilities he could have used to advance God’s kingdom. But because of his vanity—and selfishness and lust and shortsightedness—Samson squandered them. I can sum up Samson’s life in just one statement: he was an incredibly strong man with a dangerously weak will.”
Throughout the book, the author weaves personal examples, funny stories, and principles from the life of Samson to flesh out his thesis.
To be honest, I have mixed feelings about the book. On the one hand, it was funny and entertaining. The principles were biblical. The examples seemed real. It is a book that men can relate to.
On the other hand, the book felt like a series of talks given at a men’s retreat and later compiled into a book. It is certainly Bible based, but the author does not teach the Bible. Instead, it feels like he is teaching principles of manhood and backstopping them with Scripture verses.
In teaching principles of manhood, I don’t think Samson is the best example of a godly man. He serves more as a model of what not to do rather than an example to follow.
Rather than showing men how to win life’s battles, the book explains how not to lose the battles as Samson did. For this reason, I think that while the book has some strong points, it misses the mark.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.