Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook

Zondervan Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 1688%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Review 1 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotion

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
lorealle
Location:pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so so so excited to receive this devotional. I am a huge fan of the Proverbs 31 team and I just adore Lysa TerKeurst. I could not WAIT to dive into this devotional the day I received it. Isn't it so exciting y'all when you're so excited and the book doesn't disappoint you?
Each days devotional includes a quick and easy read each day, with a few verses to meditate on, a brief commentary from the author, a reflection question or two, and a call to respond in some way. The devotions were short enough that even the busiest of mamas could fit it into her schedule. It is written in such a way that you can relate to every single devotional. There is a nugget that you can take away from each one and that is powerful.
This would make for a great gift for a friend or a sweet treat for yourself. I think this is one your going to love!
This book was provided to me free of charge by booksneeze.com in return for my honest review. The opinions i have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick read for encouragement

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bern
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In general, I tend to stray away from "devotionals". Time and time again, I've found that it's God's word that proves to be the most powerful book that motivates, encourages, exhorts, and spurs me on. When I am weary, His promises give me hope. When I am tired, His word reminds me that He will uphold me.
I enjoyed the Encouragement for Today devotional from the Proverbs 31 Team. Each page was not too long and began with a verse or two. The devotional felt person and very relatable. Even the titles would catch my eye, for example, "Do I have Father Issues?" or "When My Mean Girl Wants to Come Out." I especially appreciated that section at the end of each devotional to Remember, Reflect, and Respond - because it did give me tangible things to consider as I read through. I also liked the Power Verses at the end relating to the topic of each devotional.
Although the devotional was a nice one, I would have liked the Power Verses to be written out - so I could readily read them, but it was an impetus to look up the references in my Bible. In the section, Respond - it would have been nice to have a response and an assignment to dig deeper in the word considering the topic of the devotional.
Otherwise, this was a nice devotional to go through in the mornings or evenings to set my mind on the right things each day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gigi
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've subscribed to the Proverbs 31 ministry's daily e-mailed devotionals, so I was already familiar with the style when I agreed to review the book version, Encouragement for Today. A compilation of devotionals from a variety of writers affiliated with the Proverbs 31 ministry, the book is definitely geared toward women (no great surprise considering the name of the ministry itself).
Like most devotional books that I've read before, this one provides a quick and easy read each day, with a few verses to meditate on, a brief commentary from the author, a reflection question or two, and a call to respond in some way. I have to say that I was pretty lukewarm about this one; I've had other devotional books that spoke to me a lot more than this one. It's by no means a deep book, and I found myself wishing for something with just a little more meat to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to read devotional

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Milk Donor Mama
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Encouragement for Today by Renee Swope, Lysa TerKeurst, Smantha Evilsizer and the Proverbs 31 team offers daily devotions for women.
What I liked most about the book was the personal stories it contained from each of the authors' lives. Each daily devotion includes that plus scripture, and actions to respond, reflect and remember.
The daily devotions touch upon topics such as forgiveness, control, power, and death. The selection I enjoyed the most was the one about worry. I could be a professional worrier. I'm not sure if it's because of my upbringing, personality, being a mom, or something just in my nature, but this was a big one for me.
I also liked that this book is an undated devotional. So many daily devotionals are dated and it makes the reader feel as if she must start on daily devotionals on January 1st or else not even bother.
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary advanced reader copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for completing a review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinion here is mine. I did not receive any other compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Short without being shallow

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Creative2xmom
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by the Proverbs 31 Team, this book of 100 quick devotionals seeks to encourage women today, no matter their place in life. The variety of these devotionals spans from friendships, peace, loneliness, confession, and so much more. Each selection is about 2 pages long, perfect for a quick minute in the morning, or whenever you can find a moment or two of quiet. Additionally, you'll find an appendix of the Lord's names, a reference for each, and their meanings.
While I'm not typically fond of devotionals in this format, I found that I quite enjoyed this one. The selections were honest, true to life, and deep. And while some devotionals leave you wondering how to implement the lesson in your own life, this book includes a remember, reflect, respond, and power verse for each selection. And because of the shortened format, it's an easy way to start your day with a little encouragement in the morning.
This would be a good devotional to share with a friend or on your own. It's short and to the point, without being shallow. I will be recommending this one to mom's in my circle.
*Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book for review from the publisher. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real Life Devotions

Date:September 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
learningtable
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by the team at Proverbs 31 Ministries, Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living features 100 devotions to equip women and offer them hope and inspiration. These devotions, targeted specifically at women, are topical, authentic, inspiring, and grounded in God’s Word. The readings are honest, and include topics that reflect the realities of women’s lives, which are not always pretty. Topics such as nagging, integrity, unforgiveness, and friendship are presented in one hundred short passages that include “Remember,” “Reflect,” and “Respond” sections, with opportunities for journaling:
“Take note of God’s redemption today in the extraordinary things we often take for ordinary: a flower pushing up through the dirt, a baby growing in its mother’s womb, the rain watering the hard ground. Thank God for these things and for the redemption he’s working in your life, even now” (p. 71).
Each devotional reading in Encouragement for Today begins with a Scripture verse chosen for its relevance to the topic. The devotions can be read in five minutes or less, and then the response sections can be carried on throughout the day. I find that these readings fit in perfectly with my morning routine and then I meditate on the inherent lessons as I go about my day. I especially like how this book is directed toward real women and not an unattainable “ideal” that is impossible to live up to, and therefore, impossible to relate to. Encouragement abounds in articles like:
• When Friendship is Tough
• In the Midst of Dirty Dishes
• Calming the Mama Drama
• When God Hurts Your Feelings
• When Your Husband Has Given Up
• When Doubt Won’t Go Away
• Mean Girls
• Jesus Loves Those in Messy Marriages
Real life is messy, especially with husbands and kids and houses to take care of, and the writers of Encouragement for Today “get it.” This book will help you grow closer to God and will give you a new perspective on your struggles and the encouragement to move forward.
{The publisher provided me with a review copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinions.}
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Something for everyone

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Georgia
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Review: encouragement for Today
Encouragement for Today
Devotions for everyday living
I was thrilled when this devotional came in the mail! It was written by the authors from the Proverbs 31 team. I have been getting their devotions through email and have enjoyed them, so you can imagine my expectations when I received this book. They met every one. I will say in all honesty that I don't connect with every single devotional, but there are some that seems to be written just for me. There are 100 insightful, scripture based devotionals written especially for women. They are indeed encouraging and challenging. I am grateful to The Booksneeze Blogger Program for providing me this book in exchange for my unbiased and honest review. I would highly recommend this book to any women at any stage of life. There is godly encouragement for everyone in this well-written devotional book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouragement for Today Devotions {Amazing!}

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Texas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hey Readers,
Encouragement for Today Devotions is a blessing in my morning madness. Encouragement for Today is a great collection of devotions placed in book format. The best pick me up and wisdom packed in just so many pages. The messages in this book range from everyday occurrence and mundane things to God in the midst of the deepest darkest places. Encouragement for today is a great for the everyday living person, who can’t get enough of God’s wisdom.
This book was very intriguing. At first I thought this would be a generic day to day devotion book but as always Proverbs31 knows how to hit it out of the park; this book isn’t day to day but person to person, situation to situation. This particular book challenged me to see things through a different perspective; Jesus can meet me in any situation if I just call on Him. So far, each devotion has had me thinking. I’ haven’t been through any of the women’s personal trials but I have my own and if their perspective can change to see the outcome in a better light then I know I can. The information from one devotional to the other was very well in balance, I would recommend this book to those going through trials and those who want a daily devotional with Jesus just because.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well written devotionals from the P31 Team

Date:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
KarenW
Location:St. Petersburg, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Encouragement for Today contains 100 devotions by Lysa TerKeurst, Renee Swope, Samantha Evilsizer and other members of the Proverbs 31 Team. Each devo follows a set pattern: Bible verse, essay, prayer, a 1-3 sentence main point, questions to reflect on, a challenge to respond, and a few more verses to look up.
The women who contributed to this volume write about friendships, husbands, children, physical struggles, work and the economy, spiritual growth, and finding one's way as a woman of God in American culture. You'll laugh; you'll cry, and sometimes you'll find yourself in the story. Best of all there's honesty, authenticity, and truth contained within these pages.
This would make a great personal devotional, but lends itself well to a women's group study, particularly using the sections entitled "Reflect" and "Respond."
I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program in return for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It Really is Encouragement for Today

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cc Sweeny
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Encouragement for Today is written by the wonderful ladies at Proverbs 31. It’s a devotional made up of a 100 devotions that relate to the lives of busy women. Some of the authors that help write many of the devo’s are Lysa Terkeurst, Renee Swope, Melissa Taylor, and the list goes on.
The overall message is that God is with us and teaches us in every situation even when we can’t seem to find him in it. For example, messy marriages, dirty dishes, swim lessons, and so many more. I’m sure you could name some.
For me, anything that comes from the Proverbs 31 team is gold mine. I get the devo’s sent to me through email every morning but to have a couple of them in a book format is amazing and quick for easy access. When I don’t feel like checking my email, I could just grab the book. What I really enjoy is the reflection part that follows toward the ending of the devo’s. Plus, the cover of the book is so relaxing, calm, and inviting.
Over all, it’s a real good devotional that encourages you and gives great study material to ponder over. It not encourages you, but helps sharpen that brain on the Word of God.
This book was given to me by booksneeze as an advanced copy. By no means was I forced to write a positive and/or negative review. Everything written is solely my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A favorite devotionals for women of all ages

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
MIMom
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A group of women from Proverbs 31 Ministries teamed up together to write Encouragement for Today which offers 100 devotions for women in all different walks of life. Most of the devotions are comprised by Renee Swope, Lysa TerKeurst, and Samantha Evilsizer (who together wrote about 40 of the devotions), although 15 other women also contributed to this devotional. Each two-page devotion is titled and has a theme verse. Most of the devotions are personal anecdotes, though some are based off of Biblical accounts. Often there are Bible verses embedded within this portion. Next, there is a short, but pertinent prayer followed by a three-part section: Remember, Reflect and Respond. Each devotion ends with a couple of "Power Verse" references.
I was not sure quite what to expect when I chose to review Encouragement for Today. I had only heard of the P31 ministry in passing conversation and I didn't know if I needed yet another devotional taking up space in my home. But I'm so thankful that the Lord led me to this book. He has already spoken to me through so many of the devotions and I know He will continue to use them to encourage or admonish me in His perfect time. I first fell in love with the cover-- it looks like a cover you would see on a Real Simple magazine; it's simple, yet peaceful photograph drew me away from my current, chaotic life with young children. But the real beauty comes from within the pages. I love how this devotional causes the reader to focus back upon the take home point (the "Remember" section), while offering a homework lesson of sorts for life application (the "Respond" section), thus fulfilling the call to not be hearers only, but doers of the Word of God as well (James 1:22). In addition, I loved the power verses, as it forced me to have my Bible close at hand, thus directing me back to the source of Truth itself. Finally, I loved, Loved, LOVED the "names of God" section that are included in an appendix. I've read His different names before, but it is so handy having them listed out as a reference. My only frustration, though minor, was the use of multiple versions of the Bible (nine that I counted); I understand that it helped to illustrate their point in their devotions, but it irritated me, because it almost seems like they are fishing for perfectly applicable words. I would still definitely recommend this devotional to my friends and have already signed up for their daily email.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great devotion book

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Childoftheking84
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the chance to review the new devotion book out from the Proverbs 31 ministries! It is filled with 100 devotions to encourage you Women in your day to day life. Each devotion written by everyday women. I really liked this devotion book because it wasn't one of those day to day ones listed by date. It's one you can just go to anytime when you need a dose of encouragement. At the end of each devotion it gives you bible verses to look up that go along with the devotion. Plus it gives you a reminder to remember what to learn from the devotion. Then a thought on how to respond and what you can take with you from that devotion. This is a nice woman's devotion for somebody just wanting something encouraging and simple to understand devotions for each day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
slclarke
Location:Colorado Springs
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy reading. I also enjoy Bible Studies. But I tend to shy away from Women Focused studies. I feel they make me out to be weak, vulnerable and inadequate to do just about anything. I grew up attending a Methodist Church, became Baptist in college and recently find myself attending a Mennonite Church. Not sure exactly what that says about me but I can tell you one thing for sure. I am leaning more on God today than I ever have.
I recently requested Encouragement for Today, devotions for everyday living written by Renee Swope, Lysa TerKeurst, Samantha Evilsizer and the Proverbs 31 Team. As a woman of God I feel like I shouldn’t be reduced to one Proverb. Although I see so much truth in those 21 verses.
Each day there is a short reading, followed by a prayer, Remember, Reflect, and Respond, with 2-4 corresponding Power Verses. To be honest with you the stories don’t do much for me. I’m much more of dive into the word kind of girl, who loves to glean information and prayerful thought from scripture. The short devotional does get you to focus on what the author wants you to learn, but it reminds me of when I was a kid at church. The pastor would read a scripture then stand up and tell a 20-25 minute long story, he called a sermon with a nice moral ending. I’d rather we get down to the nitty gritty and read what God has already written for us.
Overall, I am enjoying this book immensely. And recommend it to other women as well. I feel there are a lot of truths revealed in this book that will help women make it through the day and see God more clearly among the dirty laundry at home and mundane work at the office. For me, in this time of waiting on God to move, I need to remain at peace and let Him reign in my thoughts + mind instead of the anxiety I create.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book!

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I jumped at getting this book when I saw the authors without even seeing what this was about. I get the Encouragement for Today daily email and I love it! It turns out it is 100 of these devotions placed in a book! This was an awesome idea! Life has gotten busy lately where I can’t get online to sit and read my daily devotion. There are times I see a heading to the email, in which I know I need to read that one! As reading through this book, I remember reading some of these and they are just as good as reading them the first time! I love how it starts with a verse, tells a story, gives a short prayer to remember, has a REMEMBER which is a simple overview of the story, a REFLECT which leaves you with a thought (if by reading it you don’t get your own conviction), a RESPOND on something you can do or work on, and finally a POWER VERSE if you want to dig deeper! This book would be a great gift for anyone or something great to have in your prayer/devotion library!
I would like to thank the booksneeze reading program for this copy (given for my honest review) and Zondervan for publishing such a great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Encouragement for Today by Renee Swope, Lysa TerKeurst, and Samantha Evilsizer is the most helpful devotional book for the everyday. I cannot think of another book like this that can help and encourage many individuals to endure the everyday aspects of life. I am so glad I had the chance to add this book to my collection of inspiring reads. I will be happy to lend this one to others but I will be sure to get my copy back. And I will happily refer to this book when I need just the right amount of inspiration for my situation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Encouragement for Today: Devotions for Everyday Living - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouragement for Today

Date:August 18, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You will find great inspiration for the day from the women of the Proverbs 31 Team in their latest book, Encouragement for Today.
This book contains 100 devotions that can pull you from the craziness of your world to rest in the One, who alone will hold you fast. The writers encourage you by presenting a devotion, along with thoughts to help you reflect on, respond to, and remember the word of your almighty God.
These women want to help turn you from the problems of your life to look upon Jesus Christ, your Lord!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.