Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook

Zondervan A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.742 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 31100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
Review 1 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose turned her back on the man she loves after he assisted the Englisch during World War II---only to discover she's an Englischer herself. Born in the midst of the hardships of The Great Depression, Rose grew up in Berlin, Ohio, in the arms of a loving Amish family. But she is overwhelmed by self-doubt when she learns that she was born Englisch and abandoned when her family moved West in search of work. Was she meant to be Amish or would she have been better off growing up with her own kind---Englischers? When the man she loves leaves her behind, Rose is certain he left for good. Yet Rose discovers sometimes our greatest gifts are the ones we fear.
My Review:
This little novel packed a very big punch! It is the sort of story that makes you want to read more about the time period and made me very sad that it had to end. If only there was a way to ask Goyer to write a sequel to their story! The setting was one I had never considered before through the Amish's eyes, and as it turns out, I loved it.
Between the time setting of WWII, the mystery of Rose's past, and the uncertainty of her future with Jonathan, this was a spectacular novel that is not to be missed! As the mystery of her life unravels, Rose discovers more about who she is and how the family she has is really the most important thing in her life. The best part was that Rose's story was based on a true story - and that just made this a spectacular read.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming!

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricia Goyer has penned a heartwarming, Amish Yuletide tale set amongst the snow-covered hills of Berlin, Ohio, and of a young Amish woman's search to find out which world she truly belongs in---the Amish or the Englisch.
When her fiancé, Jonathon Fisher leaves Rose Yoder and their Amish community to become a medic working in field hospitals during the war, she turns her back on him. Though still in love with Jonathon, Rose feels he has betrayed his faith by joining the war, and feels he is more Englisch than Amish. However, she has many lessons to learn about judging others when her world is shattered by the news that she was adopted and that her birth parents were not of the Amish faith. Rose searches for answers, and in doing so she finds out the meaning of true love, self-sacrifice, and God's plans for her life.
This is a wonderful read for any time of the year...truly thought provoking and enriching! Tricia Goyer touches on some deep issues that will leave the reader reaching for the tissues---adoption, shell shock and PTSD, and feelings of rejection. But she does so with finesse, compassion, and dignity to the sufferers...leaving no doubt that trusting in God is the answer to life's deepest problems. Nicely written, with realistic characters and storyline, A Christmas Gift For Rose gets a thumbs up from me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Amish Christmas Story

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, Tricia Goyer has done it again with another wonderful Amish story just in time for the holidays. There is never a dull moment in this book, and I was pleased to read about the real life inspiration behind this story. This is full of emotion, love, and of course, the strength of the Amish people. Tricia is a master at painting these people flawlessly without any kind of judgment nor criticism.
My favorite thing about Tricia is the way she seamlessly incorporates the Christian faith into each of her books. She never preaches, but she shows faith in action. While the story is somewhat predictable, it is a good kind of predictability. If you like Amish books, I call this one a must-read in anticipation of the upcoming holiday season.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Historical Fiction Romance

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would classify "A Christmas Gift for Rose" as an Amish historical fiction romance with an emphasis on the historical romance. Set near the end of World War II, this story opens with the main character, Rose, feeling both heart-broken and perplexed. Her ex-fiancé has just returned from an overseas tour of duty as a medic. His choice was controversial and suspect because the Amish are pacifists. His people expected this man to go to jail for refusing to serve rather than volunteer before even being drafted. Rose has heard all of their worries, complaints, and judgments and feels she must stand firm in her decision not to marry after all. She hasn’t heard his side of the story, though.
And Rose’s life is about to change with unexpected news about her own, shaky standing among her people. Rose will have to come to terms with who she is and to whom she belongs as everything she believes is hers will seem to be taken away.
I enjoyed reading this story and appreciated how author Tricia Goyer handled such subjects as military service, post-traumatic stress, poverty, and adoption. Readers who favor historical fiction with an enduring message will want to read this book.
I thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending a complimentary eCopy for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Christmas Gift for Rose by Tricia Goyer is a touching and emotional story that deals with war, love, and Amish life versus life as an Englischer. Rose grew up during The Great Depression in a loving Amish family in Berlin, Ohio. She is engaged to Jonathan but she breaks the engagement when he enlists in the Army and goes overseas to serve as a medic during World War II. The Bishop and others in the community tell her that she should forget Jonathan for he has gone against everything that the Amish believe about war and fighting. When Jonathan returns to the community, he does everything that he can to change Rose’s mind about marrying him by explaining that he worked as a medic and did no fighting. In an unexpected way, Rose learns that she was actually born into an Englischer family but was left with the Yoder family when her birth parents moved west hoping for a better life. Shortly after learning that she was born an Englischer, she also learns that Curtis who works at the grocery story is her brother and that she has three other brothers. After Jonathan learns of Rose’s birth family, he leaves town and does not tell Rose where he is going or if he will be back. She is torn between remaining Amish or becoming an Englischer and she is also trying to decide if she should marry Jonathan.
Tricia Goyer did an excellent job in the writing of this book. It is a little book but a big story. The characters are so well developed that they come to life and I felt as if they were friends. Dialogue was gripping and kept me turning page after page and not stopping until I had finished the book. The description of all the scenes/actions taking place were vividly described so well that I was right in the middle of whatever was taking place. There were several surprises in the story and they just added to the enjoyment of the story. I really like that the author showed the faith and love of the main characters and how they looked to God for guidance and forgiveness. I especially liked the way the author ended the story and it left me wanting more. Would be nice if Tricia writes a sequel.
I highly recommend this book to everyone that loves a great Amish story with a wonderful ending. Being based on a true story makes it an even better book.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Zondervan as part of the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

precious story

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricia Goyer has written the sweetest Christmas story I have had the pleasure to read! I love the parallels she draws to Heidi, as Rose volunteers at the local Amish school once a week and reads a chapter to the class. I won't spoil it though and tell you how it relates to Rose's special story. I have always thought of adoption as the most precious way to tell I child: "We CHOSE you for our family!" Rose is having a hard time understanding how her Englisch family could have abandoned her to her Amish family when she was very small. She is filled with doubts about her own identity.
Added to this, the love of her life, Johnathon has returned from working as a medic in WWII, and she feels that he has abandoned her and their Amish faith too. Her Englisch neighbor, Harold, fought in the war and has Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder which was referred to as "shell shock" at that time. Can Rose, Johnathon, Harold, and Rose's family help each other discover again the true meaning of family and Christmas? This is certainly a five-star book.
I received a kindle version of this book from booksneeze in exchange for my honest review.
About the Author:
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Christmas Gift for Rose by Tricia Goyer

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
LoveForever
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rose Yoder is a young Amish woman living in Berlin (Ohio) during the Great Depression. Her potential husband is on questionable circumstances with the rest of the Amish community, and Rose herself is unsure of her feelings of him. In the midst of her relationship woes, she unexpectedly finds out a very important detail about herself, concealed from her until now. Her life as she once knew it was no longer. Or was it?
This story was very short, only 144 pages, yet the entire storyline fit perfectly into the pages. To say the least, it was a quite a quick read, and proved to be uplifting and heartwarming all at once. The writer put a lot about God in the book, and naturally with Amish Fiction, examples of Godly living in it as well. Living in such a fallen world, it is quite inspiring and soul strengthening to read such a work.
Rose was only an “okay” character. I’m not trying to sound over-critical or picky, but sometimes her train of thought and her decision-making made me furious. Her head always seemed to be in the clouds, and she was so indecisive and didn’t know what she wanted. In the end, all was well, but to some extent, I believe the writer added in some extra stresses to make the story more entertaining, whereas I think it made it more drawn out and maybe even a tad annoying.
All in all, I would highly recommend this novel to others. It’s truly inspiring and very God-centered. Talk about uplifting! Beware, though, it is quite a short book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hang on to your emotions!

Date:October 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose should be married to Jonathan by now but when he enlisted in the military she broke the engagement off. Jonathan has returned and she's doing her best to avoid him but then she finds out that she isn't truly Amish so will she be accepted in the community any more than he is. Jonathan was a medic, he didn't even carry a weapon, she's an Englischer raised Amish, will things ever be right in her life again?
This is a very touching story and you need to have some tissues ready, especially at the end.Tricia did a wonderful job of messing with your feelings for such a short book, mine were totally captured with this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A True Story Of Christmas

Date:October 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricia Goyer in her new book, “A Christmas Gift For Rose” published by Zondervan takes us into the life of Rose Yoder.
From the back cover: Rose turned her back on the man she loves after he assisted the Englisch during World War II—only to discover she’s an Englischer herself.
Born in the midst of the hardships of The Great Depression, Rose grew up in Berlin, Ohio, in the arms of a loving Amish family. But she is overwhelmed by self-doubt when she learns that she was born Englisch and abandoned when her family moved West in search of work.
Was she meant to be Amish or would she have been better off growing up with her own kind—Englischers? When the man she loves leaves her behind, Rose is certain he left for good. Yet Rose discovers sometimes our greatest gifts are the ones we fear.
Tricia Goyer has an attention to details that help draw you into the story as well, of course, as her marvelous characters. World War II and the repercussions of being in the war and being a pacifist and against it. This is the climate that Rose finds herself in when the war is over and Jonathan comes home. This is a story of the real meaning of Christmas and finding yourself and accepting others. Both Rose and Jonathan are presented in such a real manner that you feel as though they are friends of yours and when the book eventually ends you are sorry to see them go. “A Christmas Gift For Rose” is an exciting book with the romance taking top priority as each of them deals with their individual issues. Ms. Goyer has done it again. I liked this book a lot.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amish fiction with rich characterization

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Inspired by a true story, A Christmas Gift for Rose is a heartwarming novella of sacrifice and deep love. This is Tricia Goyer's very first Christmas novella - and while novellas tend to be light, easy reads, this goes a lot deeper than normal with its characterization and plot. This is a very enjoyable and moving read.
I was expecting a light, heartwarming Christmas read, but found so much more. Tricia writes in an easily flowing style as she explores themes of Amish pacifism and a family's struggle during the Depression years.
The story opens in November of 1945, with Rose having broken off her relationship with Jonathan over his decision to serve as an Army medic. For in Rose's mind, as well as many in their community, "to join the military was to turn one's back on being Amish." And to further complicate matters, Rose discovers she had not been born into the Amish family that she grew up in and loved.
According to Amish teaching, Jonathan should have had no part in supporting the war, yet he could not wait at home and do nothing. Reflecting on the parable of the Good Samaritan, Jonathan asks, "Should we place our religion above the care of others?"
I can understand how parents who had lost a son in the war would resent an Amish man sitting in jail or growing crops rather than serving his country. But on the other hand, some Amish men, like Jonathan, found a way to serve without having to fire a weapon. For the Amish to criticize Jonathan seems awfully legalistic. I was also frustrated with Rose at first because she let people's negative opinions influence her attitudes and actions, but then I realized how difficult it is for any of us to withstand negativity.
Rose's neighbor, Harold, was a sympathetic character who I loved. Harold returned from the war with what would be diagnosed as post-traumatic stress syndrome today, and both Jonathan and Rose reached out to him with sensitivity. I wish we could follow Harold's story beyond the pages of this story.
Tricia brought in an Amish Thanksgiving ritual that I thought was very meaningful - the morning being a time of fasting and reflection before the family celebration begins. I would like to personally draw from this in some way.
With spiritual themes beautifully woven throughout, A Christmas Gift for Rose comes to a heartwarming and emotional conclusion on Christmas Day. This story would make great reading during the Thanksgiving/Christmas season, or at any time of the year.
This book was provided by Litfuse Publicity Group and Zondervan in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet Christmas Story

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Christmas Gift for Rose is a quick, sweet read from Tricia Goyer. Rose's story -- the secret she learns about her past and her uncertainty as she comes to grip with the truth -- gives a beautiful picture of what love and family are all about.
Set near the end of World War II, the book offers a look at the struggle faced by many Amish in deciding how to deal with war. There are also glimpses into the trials faced by servicemen who bring home with them the horrors of war, and the impact those events have on their families.
One of the most interesting things about this story is the inspiration from which Tricia wrote it. During a trip to Amish country, she had the opportunity to meet and visit with some Amish couples. While there, she was told the story of the grandmother of one of the Amish men who was left in the care of an Amish family when her family moved away. That story grew into A Christmas Gift for Rose.
Thanks to Litfuse Publicity Group for providing me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great seasonal novella

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little novel for the Christmas season. I usually stay away from the saturated genre of Amish fiction but I'm glad I read this one.
The time period is just after World War II. Since the Amish are pacifist, most of the men drafted ended up spending their time incarcerated. In this novel, two from the community went to actively serve and have returned. We read of the ramifications of them being outside the peaceful Amish community.
Another aspect of the novel is the importance of being born into the community. I had no idea it was next to impossible, at least at this time, to come into the community from the outside and “become” Amish. This comes to the forefront when a teen finds out she was not born into her Amish family but was, in fact, taken in when her Englisch family abandoned her and moved away. She struggles with who she is. “The Amish heritage was one you were born into. That was that.”
This is a fine novella about finding one's own identity within the Amish community. It is also a novel about trust when circumstances are not what they had appeared. It is also a good exploration of the Amish community and the concept of war. One of the men returning from war had enlisted – had not been drafted. Even though he had been a medic and not fired any shots at the enemy, the Amish community frowned on his actions. On the other side of the issue were the Englisch and their resentment toward the Amish. The Englisch sons were dying at war while the Amish sons were safe.
This novel was inspired by a real story of sacrificial love and is a perfect one to read for the Christmas holiday season.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Holiday times evoke some of the deepest emotions of the heart and soul in human beings, both of pleasure and of pain. For some it is a time for gathering with family members, traveling, each heart longing to be connected. Others find it hard because for a variety of reasons. The longing in the heart is loud and not fulfilled in the way many hope.
In this story, a young woman discovers her past that has been kept quiet until she was older, then it seems it was almost too late. While being raised Amish, Rose never quite felt as if she were complete. Her heart had a void and facing the future with Jonathan wasn’t something easily done without the healing her heart desired. Jonathan loved Rose, but his decision to serve in the military as a medic made life at home very hard on Rose. Now, he is back and wanting to move ahead by getting married, working with his hands to build many things with lumber.
In a story filled with intrigue, adventure, courage and romance, Tricia Goyer has shared a tale of hope by the merging of two families and two pasts. I sat and read this in a couple of hours, enjoying the well described history of the times, emotions the characters felt and the healing of hearts. Above all, in the story, is the theme of sacrificial love and God bringing hope through a gift the young couple doesn’t expect. I hope you enjoy novel and consider sharing it with friends and family alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's Beginning To Look Like An Amish Christmas~

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:Cosby, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited when this little book came in the mail. I love a good Amish book and I love Christmas. This book was such a fun read. It was inspired by a true story which made it so much better.
It is written in the time of World War II . Rose finds out that her life has been a lie ~ she is not really Amish at all. She was abandoned and taken in by her Amish parents ~ whom she loved with all her heart. Why did her birth parents leave her behind? Why had her family not told her the truth? What will the man she loves do when he finds out she is not really Amish? Will he love her? Will she even be allowed to stay according to the the Bishop? Does she even want to stay Amish? So many questions to answer in this little novella.
I loved this book and could not put it down. What a great Christmas gift this would make. I give it 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Relaxing book to read during the holiday season...

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura of Harvest Lane
Location:Carthage, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do adore Christmas books... I have at least... one, two, three, four, well never you mind! One more is just what I need. I mean like. ~smile~ Litfuse sent me a free copy of A Christmas Gift for Rose by Tricia Goyer in exchange for an honest review. (Just for you Mr. Government man!)
This book is well worth the asking price of $15.99. It's a gentle story of a young Amish woman whose best laid plans are going awry. It begins with her love, Jonathan, going off to World War II to serve as a medic. This is a major no no for the Amish. Other young Amish men sat out their days in prison or government work programs for dodging the draft as conscientious objectors. When the community finds out Jonathan went to war, they pressure Rose over his decision.
She then found she was adopted which leaves her feeling lost, alone, and afraid. Her decisions about how to handle the situations will shape her life forever. Tricia Goyer based this novel on a true story an Amish man told her of his grandmother growing up in the Great Depression and how her Englisch family left her with an Amish family to raise because of their extreme poverty.
This is a relaxing book to read during the holiday season that will encourage you to strengthen your faith and to be close to your family.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish, Christmas time and based on a true story!

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
raisingbookworms
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Amish fiction and I love Christmas stories so I knew this would be a winner. To make it even better it was inspired by a true story, Win Win! It was a sweet, endearing read that went by way to quick. I know this is one I will read many times. You will be on a roller coaster ride with Rose one minute your going to be sad then next happy. Rose is in love with a man her community and bishop are telling her to forget. Rose loves him with all her heart and she can't get forget the man she loves can she? She does give in to the pressure but he comes back and wants her back. Can she take him back? Just when she thinks she has her life somewhat figured out a bombshell drops. Rose wasn't born Amish she was born an Englisher, left by her birth parents to live with her adopted parents.
Rose is all confused and upset, she begins to question everything she was taught as an Amish girl. Can Rose get all the answers to her questions? Can her and Jonathon find their love again? Will Rose meet her birth parents? Will she stay Amish?
A Christmas Gift for Rose by Tricia Goyer is a wonderful book that I'm so glad to have on my bookshelf. I know this is one I will read many times over. I also know that I must go find more of her books at the library!
thank you Booksneeze for sending me A Christmas Gift for Rose, I really loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book I felt was a lot like other Amish books. I LOVE them so it is always a joy to go through and read another one. It was especially interesting because I have family in Ohio near Berlin and we travel through there when we go to visit. The book was a good love story about how someone went away to help at the military hospital but did not go against his religious beliefs and came back to the Amish community. It's like there are two stories in one and then they come together. The second part was the girl, who was adopted by Amish, so she was born and Englisher. It was a fantastic book about how people from two different communities but not, come together and see how God can use their situations and lives. The girl finds her brother, or rather, he finds her and lives in the Amish community with her family.
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes any type of Amish story, or good love story. Definitely one I will be reading again and giving to my mom for Christmas, as she also loves the Amish area and remembers going to Berlin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Christmas Gift for Rose by Tricia Goyer

Date:October 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Rose Yoder is as Amish as anyone could ever be and she dreamed of an Amish wedding to Jonathan Fisher. That is until Jonathan decided to join the ranks of World War II. All Rose can see is that Jonathan had turned his back on her and everything they stand for. The Amish are not fighters and she feels Jonathan was wrong in his decision. Rose's world is thrown off balance by what she sees as Jonathan's betrayal and, on top of a broken heart, she finds out her life isn't quite what it seems. Rose finally finds out the reason for her constant nightmares... She was adopted by the Yoders but, worse yet, she's not Amish. Can Jonathan and her family make her see that no matter who her parents were she is as much a part of the Yoder family as if she had been born into it?
Jonathan Fisher has loved Rose for years but he feels he can be more help on the battlefield administering medical aid to the soldiers than sitting in prison for his refusal to join. The one person that he hoped would understand has turned her back on him, he is on the verge of being ostracized by his community and is beginning to think he would be better off in the Englisch world. His love for Rose is what keeps him rooted in their community but Rose is pushing Jonathan away and it has nothing to do with him leaving and everything to do with the secret of her past. Can Jonathan help Rose forget the past and move into the future at his side? Will his Christmas gift help her to come to terms with past?
I have to say I truly adore Amish fiction and a Christmas Gift for Rose did not disappoint me. I could plainly feel the war going on in Rose's heart and mind. She was Amish but, yet, she wasn't. It was an emotional tug of war but I loved the fact that she didn't have to face it alone. Her entire family stood by her and Jonathan's support was heartwarming. Even though Jonathan was dealing with his own deamons he fought for Rose and gave her the greatest gift she could have ever hoped for. The characters were absolutely loveable and the storyline was definitely different than any I have read before. I thoroughly enjoyed delving into their lives, sharing the hurt and the happiness. Tricia Goyer is a new author to me and one I will be adding to my "Favorite's" list.
**I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose turned her back on the man she loves after he assisted the Englisch during World War II---only to discover she's an Englischer herself. Born in the midst of the hardships of The Great Depression, Rose grew up in Berlin, Ohio, in the arms of a loving Amish family. But she is overwhelmed by self-doubt when she learns that she was born Englisch and abandoned when her family moved West in search of work. Was she meant to be Amish or would she have been better off growing up with her own kind---Englischers? When the man she loves leaves her behind, Rose is certain he left for good. Yet Rose discovers sometimes our greatest gifts are the ones we fear.
My Review:
This little novel packed a very big punch! It is the sort of story that makes you want to read more about the time period and made me very sad that it had to end. If only there was a way to ask Goyer to write a sequel to their story! The setting was one I had never considered before through the Amish's eyes, and as it turns out, I loved it.
Between the time setting of WWII, the mystery of Rose's past, and the uncertainty of her future with Jonathan, this was a spectacular novel that is not to be missed! As the mystery of her life unravels, Rose discovers more about who she is and how the family she has is really the most important thing in her life. The best part was that Rose's story was based on a true story - and that just made this a spectacular read.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Christmas Gift for Rose - eBook
This review is fromA Christmas Gift for Rose.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's Plan in hardship

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story of Rose and her life changed by God's plan. His divine plan sometimes is not revealed until He is ready to unveil it.
Rose raised as Amish didn't remember being English. She is afraid to marry the love of her life. Her own life is full of dreams of her past she cannot figure out. And Jonathan went off to be in military - which Amish didn't do.
God brings two families together; an Amish and an English. Yet all of it is God's plan.
Jonathan could night in war because Amish did not believe in it. Yet he enlisted and worked in hospital. any Amish could not accept his. It put a wedge between him and Rose.
Be sure to have Kleenx's handy at times.
Romance, hardships, hard decisions, sacrifices and so much love. God's love is over all in every part of this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>