Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook

Zondervan Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.741 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 27100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Review 1 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging Story

Date:June 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pegg Thomas
Location:Ossineke, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Picked off the orphan train and raised by the kindly Mr. and Mrs. Fisher, Diana Brennen is swept off her feet by handsome and wealthy Tyson Applegate. No more than a pawn in the game of frustrating his father, Tyson abandons Diana and travels the world, only to disappear on the battlefield in far off Cuba.
The day before the courts will declare Tyson Applegate legally dead, and the day before Diana will announce her engagement to Brook Calhoun, Tyson walks in on her dinner party.
He claims to be changed. She vows she will not be used again. His father hates her. Her mother distrusts him. An orphan boy, a stray cat, and a scraggly dog round out a household in chaos. Only God can bring order and calm to the Applegates.
Engaging characters and interesting story. There are multiple flashbacks to the past which,while they fill in background, I found occasionally hard to follow in the beginning. Hang with it though, it comes together well in the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is part of a series by famed author Robin Lee Hatcher. I would recommend that you read the others in the series before reading this one. You don’t have to but I think it will help you better understand the characters. The story itself is entertaining but not one of my favorites by this author. I thought the characters were not very well developed. They just did not draw you to them and that made it hard to want to keep reading about them. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the author.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:May 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
susanmsj
Location:Odessa, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"To say the least, it was inconsiderate of Diana's almost dead husband to show up at her engagement party." This may very well be the best first sentence ever. And the rest of the story is just as good. This is the third book in the trilogy about the Brennan siblings. It is a great way to end the series. I like the way Ms. Hatcher gives us a glimpse of Diana's and Tyson's past at the end of each chapter. It is a great way to show their journey. I would recommend this book and this series.
I received this book in an online giveaway and was not required to give a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story!

Date:February 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diana thought she had found love when she was younger but the man she married only did so to spite his father. After leaving her for years and being presumed dead she is planning to remarry as soon as the courts declare him deceased. The night of her engagement party the man she thought was dead walks in and claims her once again as his wife. Being almost penniless she does not have much choice other than to stand by his side as he runs for office and then he promises she can have her freedom. The only hitch is he wants to win her heart back.
Tyson has returned a changed man. He is now a believer and wants to right his wrongs. He knows the road to winning Diana’s heart again will take time but he is determined to try.
This book is the third in a series. I have not read the first two books but this book can easily be read as a stand alone.
What I liked: This book has an interesting writing style. The author starts in the present but every few chapters she jumped to the past and told the story from the beginning and then jumps back to the present. I was not sure if I was going to like the style but it worked very well in this book and was quite enjoyable. Tyson and Diana where very real characters. I liked how Tyson works to win back the trust of his wife with patience not forcing her. I also like how the relationship between him and his father healed. A very good book about forgiveness and how God can work in one’s life to bring peace and forgiveness.
What I did not like: Not much this was a very well written book.
I liked this book a lot. I highly recommend it. Like I said above this book can easily be read by itself but if you have the time go back and read the first two book. The last chapter of this book the other characters come into play and left me wanting to know their story too. This is the first full novel I have read from this author and I look forward to reading more from her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diana Brennan came west on the orphan train and was given a home with a loving couple who cherished and spoiled her. At 17, she fell hard for Tyson Applegate, the son of a wealthy mine owner. After a whirlwind courtship and marriage, Tyson took off for adventures around the world, including fighting with the Rough Riders in Cuba. Receiving no word of him for seven years, Diana's infatuation with her dashing husband died an ugly death, and she is ready to move past the old pain and marry again, just as soon as Tyson is declared legally dead.
But when her husband returns, supposedly a changed man, he wants to reunite with his wife and run for the senate. While Diana suspects the election is his real reason for wanting her by his side, she agrees to maintain his home and to campaign with him, but when it is over, win or lose, she wants her freedom. He agrees with one condition----she must give him a chance to change her mind about him.
My Review:
I have not read the first two books in the series, but this novel was easy to get into, and effortless to get lost in. The premise is funny to start with: Diana thinks her husband is dead (after seven years, what is she supposed to think?!) and when Tyson shows up, it throws a wrench in her well-laid plans. Diana was definitely my favorite character, and while Tyson is fun, he really irritated me at times. But that can be any man - real or literary!
Other than the fact I wasn't crazy about Tyson, I really enjoyed that Hatcher doesn't get overly long-winded with the supporting characters. Sometimes having a story within a story is nice, but more often than not, I find myself preferring characters that support the hero/heroine instead of having their own story, their own drama, etc. In this case, since it is a wrap up of a trilogy, I was happy that it was to the point and fast paced. I'm sure I would have benefited from reading the first two in the series - but it's in the works! Happy reading to any soul that cracks this one open.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Let go and let God...

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:SW MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First I read to find out how a "dead" man can appear to spoil his wife's engagement to another man. Then Hatcher quickly draws the reader in like a cool stream in summer beckoning to a barefoot kid. You can't help becoming deeply immersed in this story of love, betrayal, and lust for power and money. Both orphans and rich, all find the need to rely on God for change and/ or forgiveness. A poignant reminder that life is full of hurt that must be let go, traded for God's forgiveness and love, if indeed we are to thrive the way He desires for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diana Brennan came west on the orphan train and was given a home with a loving couple who cherished and spoiled her. At 17, she fell hard for Tyson Applegate, the son of a wealthy mine owner. After a whirlwind courtship and marriage, Tyson took off for adventures around the world, including fighting with the Rough Riders in Cuba. Receiving no word of him for seven years, Diana's infatuation with her dashing husband died an ugly death, and she is ready to move past the old pain and marry again, just as soon as Tyson is declared legally dead.
But when her husband returns, supposedly a changed man, he wants to reunite with his wife and run for the senate. While Diana suspects the election is his real reason for wanting her by his side, she agrees to maintain his home and to campaign with him, but when it is over, win or lose, she wants her freedom. He agrees with one condition----she must give him a chance to change her mind about him.
My Review:
I have not read the first two books in the series, but this novel was easy to get into, and effortless to get lost in. The premise is funny to start with: Diana thinks her husband is dead (after seven years, what is she supposed to think?!) and when Tyson shows up, it throws a wrench in her well-laid plans. Diana was definitely my favorite character, and while Tyson is fun, he really irritated me at times. But that can be any man - real or literary!
Other than the fact I wasn't crazy about Tyson, I really enjoyed that Hatcher doesn't get overly long-winded with the supporting characters. Sometimes having a story within a story is nice, but more often than not, I find myself preferring characters that support the hero/heroine instead of having their own story, their own drama, etc. In this case, since it is a wrap up of a trilogy, I was happy that it was to the point and fast paced. I'm sure I would have benefited from reading the first two in the series - but it's in the works! Happy reading to any soul that cracks this one open.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read.

Date:October 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary Lou
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book very much. Loved the story. This is probably my favorite Author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Learning To Trust Again

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great book by Robin Lee Hatcher. In this book we meet Diana Brennan Applegate, she is an Irish immigrant, and ended up on the orphan train. Diana ended up with a good family, but married young when dashing and wealthy Tyson Applegate sweeps her off her feet. He on the other hand has married her to get his inheritance. In the end, thinking only of himself, Tyson takes off and travels around the world. In his travels he finally ends up in Cuba, he is serving with Theodore Roosevelt, and the Rough Riders.
When Diana has word her husband is missing and presumed dead, she is angry with him. As the years past she moves on with her life, and the day before she can finally have Tyson declared dead, she is at a party to have her engagement announced. You can probably guess, but Tyson shows up at the party.
He claims to Diana he is a changed man, and now follows his God and Savior. Of course she does not believe him, she is still so hurt from her abandonment. Tyson offers her a deal, if she will come and be his wife, in all ways but one, he will let her leave in November, and provide an allowance and home for her. He wants to run for US Senate, and needs her. Of course, he hopes that being with him will bring her back to him.
We find her setting up the household and having dinner parties, and doing her job, but can she control her heart? Will Tyson, and her staff, be able to put up with all the strays she brings home? We are ready for a variety of animals and people!! She has such a big heart for those in need.
Will Tyson be able to convince her that he has changed, what about his controlling Father? There are a lot surprises to be found here. It is one fast paced, and interesting read, and you won't be able to put it down.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Where the Heart Lives #3

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diana Brennan was one of many children, which also included her two siblings that rode the orphan train west. She was one of few that actually found loving adoptive parents. Then her world fell apart when Tyson Applegate her husband and love of her life deserted her and he was later presumed a casualty of war. She vowed never to give her heart to be broken to another man.
Then Tyson Applegate returns to the surprise of Diana and his father. He finds she is engaged to be married and puts a stop to what plans she had for her future. He proposes for Diana to remain his wife for at least six months while he campaigns to run for the senate. She grudgingly agrees but only as a business arrangement with a chance for him to change her mind about him and remain as his beloved. Can she forgive him for deserting her and breaking her heart?
Their faith and trust in God is the way to their redemption.
This author never fails to entertain me. The only problem I had with the book was that I did not want it to end. Robin has written a touching story of broken will and mistrust of those whom should have been trusted with their heart and future. As in the relationship between Tyson and his father which stemmed a similar situation in the relationship between Diana and Tyson.
If you are looking for a good read about family, romance, forgiveness, and redemption this is the series to read.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan/Litfuse Publicity Group for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Delightful Love Story

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"To say the least, it was inconsiderate of Diana's almost-dead husband to show up at her engagement party." How could a lead-in line like that not pique your interest in a story? That kind of "hook" is a great example of the quality of writing in Robin Lee Hatcher's Beloved and the other two books in her Where the Heart Lives series.
The three Brennan children were orphaned and sent west from Chicago on an orphan train after the death of their mother. Despite their best efforts, they were separated and never heard from each other through their growing-up years. Belonging and Betrayal tell Felicia's and Hugh's stories after they reach adulthood and settle in Idaho. Youngest sibling Diana is the subject of Beloved, the third and final book in the series.
This series was my first venture into Robin Lee Hatcher's writing, but it will certainly not be my last. Robin tells a captivating story that is a delight to read. The characters come alive and invite you to share their joys and struggles. Moving with Diana through the ups and downs of her journey, watching her learn how to give and receive love and forgiveness, and witnessing her growing faith make this book a very enjoyable read. While I thoroughly enjoyed the entire series, Beloved was my favorite.
Thanks to Litfuse Publicity Group for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun finish to the series!

Date:November 8, 2013
Stories of forgiveness and redemption always get me.There’s something so beautiful about the power of redemption and how forgiveness can change a person. Those make some of the greatest stories and movies. I dare you not to cry in any of those scenes! I’m helpless against them.
It’s in this same theme that Robin Lee Hatcher sets the third installment of the Where the Heart Lives series. Beloved follows Diana, the youngest of the siblings in the series.
I really enjoyed the first, Belonging, and I feel the same way about this one. It was a sweet story, that, as I mentioned, displays how wonderful forgiveness can be. Diana is sweet and compassionate and Tyson is honest and real. Hatcher also does a fine job showing that while a person can change, it doesn’t mean the consequences disappear. But some things are worth going to battle for. Plus there’s secondary characters you’ll really like too (and can I count animals as secondary characters?? :) )
If you've enjoyed this series so far, you'll definitely like this one. Beloved can work as a stand alone as well, so if you haven’t read the first two, there’s still plenty to enjoy with this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Just finished a breathtaking story written by Robin Lee Hatcher and it is a superb read! I read some time ago another novel by this author called, A Heart of Gold, which is one I highly recommend as well. Both of these novels are rich with the threads of faith, redemption, and understanding how God sees us as His.
In Beloved, we read of another orphan train coming west with couples looking to adopt a child, taking them home that same day. Hugh, Felicity and Diana are together on that train as three siblings who recently lost their mother. With each stop, the tension grows within the little one’s stomach as they are sure to be split apart, fearing never seeing each other again.
Tyson Applegate is the sole heir of his father’s fortune, but he alone is also the recipient of the control exercised over him by Jeremiah Applegate. Through meeting at an event, Diana and Tyson wed shortly thereafter; however, after returning home to introduce his new bride to his father, everyone’s lives were changed by one decision. Years later, Tyson strolls into a room to stop an announcement even though no one knew he was coming or why. Once again, as time presses on, lives are changed forever.
I don’t want to be sharing too much more of the tale with you because I don’t want to be spoiling the pure enjoyment of reading the adventure! I can tell you that it was really easy to lose track of time as the climax kept getting more interesting with every page I turned. In January 2014, Robin’s next novel, A Promise Kept, is due to be released and I cannot wait though I suspect I will have to. Bummer, I do love a good story!
Well, with Christmas coming up this is one novel to give as a gift because it is very exciting as well as filled with adventure. It is a book to perhaps curl up with once the snow starts flying along with temps dropping and a mug of hot cocoa. However, if you can read it and enjoy it now, either way this is one to keep in your personal library to read again and again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diana Brennan came west on the orphan train and was given a home with a loving couple who cherished and spoiled her. At 17, she fell hard for Tyson Applegate, the son of a wealthy mine owner. After a whirlwind courtship and marriage, Tyson took off for adventures around the world, including fighting with the Rough Riders in Cuba. Receiving no word of him for seven years, Diana's infatuation with her dashing husband died an ugly death, and she is ready to move past the old pain and marry again, just as soon as Tyson is declared legally dead.
But when her husband returns, supposedly a changed man, he wants to reunite with his wife and run for the senate. While Diana suspects the election is his real reason for wanting her by his side, she agrees to maintain his home and to campaign with him, but when it is over, win or lose, she wants her freedom. He agrees with one condition----she must give him a chance to change her mind about him.
My Review:
I have not read the first two books in the series, but this novel was easy to get into, and effortless to get lost in. The premise is funny to start with: Diana thinks her husband is dead (after seven years, what is she supposed to think?!) and when Tyson shows up, it throws a wrench in her well-laid plans. Diana was definitely my favorite character, and while Tyson is fun, he really irritated me at times. But that can be any man - real or literary!
Other than the fact I wasn't crazy about Tyson, I really enjoyed that Hatcher doesn't get overly long-winded with the supporting characters. Sometimes having a story within a story is nice, but more often than not, I find myself preferring characters that support the hero/heroine instead of having their own story, their own drama, etc. In this case, since it is a wrap up of a trilogy, I was happy that it was to the point and fast paced. I'm sure I would have benefited from reading the first two in the series - but it's in the works! Happy reading to any soul that cracks this one open.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Married Couple That Needs To Heal and Romance

Date:November 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robin Lee Hatcher in her new book, “Beloved” Book Three in the Where The Heart Lives series published by Zondervan brings us into the lives of Diana Brennan and Tyson Applegate.
From the Back Cover: A most unwelcome guest surprises Diana at her engagement party — the husband she thought was dead!
Diana Brennan came west on the orphan train and was given a home with a loving couple who cherished and spoiled her. At 17, she fell hard for Tyson Applegate, the son of a wealthy mine owner. After a whirlwind courtship and marriage, Tyson took off for adventures around the world, including fighting with the Rough Riders in Cuba. Receiving no word of him for seven years, Diana’s infatuation with her dashing husband died an ugly death, and she is ready to move past the old pain and marry again, just as soon as Tyson is declared legally dead.
But when her husband returns, supposedly a changed man, he wants to reunite with his wife and run for the senate. While Diana suspects the election is his real reason for wanting her by his side, she agrees to maintain his home and to campaign with him, but when it is over, win or lose, she wants her freedom. He agrees with one condition—-she must give him a chance to change her mind about him.
Beloved. I think this is one of the most romantic words we have. If all husbands and wives called each other that way we could eliminate infidelity. God calls us His beloved and, again for me, it speaks of tenderness and faithfulness. Tyson is none of those things and when the time comes for Diana to declare him legally dead he shows back up again. ”Beloved” is a book all about change. Tyson changes because he has grown close to the Lord, however he has to prove it to Diana. Diana is not the same person he married seven years ago. Both of them have to learn to trust each other and to heal from their mistakes. It takes God to break through the pain and start the healing process that only the power of love can provide. Ms. Hatcher has given us characters that are marvelous, meticulously crafted, and each one literally breathes on the pages. Robin Lee Hatcher has written a well done novel that I liked a lot.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beloved by Robin Lee Hatcher - 4.5 stars

Date:October 30, 2013
I was immediately drawn into the story when, in the first few pages of the novel, Tyson (Diana's husband who is presumed dead) shows up just as Diana is about to announce her engagement to another man. For reasons she is not even certain of herself, Diana agrees to reunite with Tyson for six months while he runs for political office. This certainly isn't your typical romance novel storyline!
Diana immediately struck me as a strong and complex character. While it seems that she's overcome many of the challenges of her childhood, it's obvious that there are plenty of new challenges in her adulthood. She wants to do the right thing but often acts out of fear and resists vulnerability. Of course, though, as she continues to welcome "strays" into her life, those fears are constantly challenged and vulnerability is required. Tyson too is an intriguing character. He has a wild past but by the grace of God he is determined to be an honest, upright man. I loved how he often reflected on the mistakes of his past as he made decisions about his current circumstances. Mrs. Fisher, Mr. Applegate, and Ned were great additions to the story as well and gave the book a well-rounded feel.
I also liked the way the story alternated between the past and present. It was easy to follow and a unique way to give some of the back story that I definitely wanted to know!
Robin Lee Hatcher has delivered another great novel! With characters that are easy to love and a story full of raw emotion, I enjoyed every moment spent with the story. I highly recommend! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan and Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another awesome book by Robin

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first book of Robin's that I read was The Shepherd's Voice, and since then I have read most of her novels. This one is another winner. Through the extraordinary use of explicit words creating a landscape with vivid imagery, the reader is immersed in the lives of western people in the late 1800s. From the unique beginning, through turmoil, blessings, and struggles we learn to know and love both Diana and Tyson, though both are far from perfect. Trust and forgiveness are perhaps the main themes explored in the novel, but relationships between parents and child, husband and wife, man and women are also investigated in depth.
How completely do we love and trust our dear ones, those of our own family, or even those we rub shoulders with? Is it conditional? My mind was expanded to consider this, also to consider other issues such as can man be changed without or before accepting God's grace? Although these questions come to me now, the reading was so thorough I only began to think about these things after the book was finished, which did not take me very long. It is an exceptional novel I hope you take the time to read for yourself.
I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group and Zondervan Fiction in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE ALIVE IN BOISE!!

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not having read the first two books in “Where the Heart Lives” series, I was a bit at a disadvantage as to their stories being connected or related to the characters in Beloved. However that didn’t diminish my interest and enjoyment of this skillfully orchestrated tale of Diana Brennan Applegate and Tyson Applegate’s awkward twist of the unexpected. Ms Hatcher wrote a whopping shock wave in the first few lines that hooked my curiosity without a doubt. Diana Applegate and Brook Calhoun were about to announce their engagement when Diana’s dead husband appeared –not as a ghostly figure, but alive laying claim to his bride!
Before continuing the story, Robin Lee Hatcher recounts some background about Diana Brennan as a six year old and two siblings traveling on an orphan train westward to find families willing to give them a home. The children were separated when Diana was chosen by the Fisher family who raised her with love. At seventeen Diana marries Tyson Applegate, son of wealthy Jeremiah Applegate, a tyrannical mining tycoon. Tyson has an ulterior motive for marrying Diana, which will be revealed progressively. Diana’s heart is broken when Tyson abandons her and defies his father to “do his own thing” for years and eventually winds up in Cuba with Roosevelt’s Rough Riders. Diana received a message that Tyson was missing and presumed dead. The living Tyson had caught wind of Diana and Brooke’s impending marriage and decided he should do what is right and stop the whole thing before the proceedings Diana had started to declare him dead progressed.
Tyson has found redemption in Christ and come to the realization that Diana is his “Beloved” and returns to Idaho a changed man. He is praying for the chance to prove this to Diana through a proposal with subsequent intentions that explain his need for her to continue as his wife….for at least six months. He bought a lovely large estate in Boise and announced his candidacy for the Senate. If she decides after six months to leave, Tyler would not grant a divorce, but would continue to provide the home for her and her mother, Gloria Fisher, as well as a hefty allowance for life. Diana eventually agrees to the six month trial period even though she is untrusting and bitter. She is not willing to have her heart broken twice and ensues with prudence.
Beginning in the 1880’s and crossing over into the next century – early 1900’s, the historic facts are real, the emotions are real – although confused and misplaced at times; and the fictional writing is awesome! The reader of Beloved can be sure of some uproarious fun and frolic from new characters adding their personalities to the blend, which caused tears to flow through my laughter at Ms Hatcher’s wit. There is more than one character who is not who they seem, as well as mystery of thieving in their midst. Redemption and reconciliation of those seeking God’s grace and love is unconditionally granted. It seems every character has experienced change and new tender realizations that flow throughout the story.
Even though Beloved is a story that can stand alone, it ultimately dawned on me that the characters of each book in this series have been brought to a miraculous gathering truly of God’s design. Robin Lee Hatcher is without a doubt in tune with humanity as we are and who God is. Beloved is one of the most touching stories I’ve read. It is thoughtful and provoking and I heartily recommend it to those wanting their hearts warmed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid characters, well-written

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beloved is the third book in Robin Lee Hatcher's Where the Heart Lives series. Dianna Brennan has been living in Idaho with her adoptive mother, waiting for her husband Tyson to be declared dead so that she may move on with her life and marry Brooke Calhoun. However, on the evening of their engagement party, instead of being presented with a death certificate, Dianna is confronted with Tyson himself, not only alive, but desiring for Dianna to stand by his side as his wife during his campaign for Senator. Can she pretend to be the happy, smiling wife required for a candidate's appearances? Can she live in his home and continue to hate him? Or will she be convinced that he's changed and allow her heart to be open to possibilities she'd thought gone forever?
When I requested this book, I didn't realize it was part of a series I'd read and reviewed before. I read the first book Belonging, which focused on Dianna's sister, Felicia, and reviewed it here, but never read book 2, Betrayal, which follows the story of their brother, Hugh. Even with not having the complete story to this point, this book read well as a standalone novel. I just found myself wishing I knew what had happened to Dianna's siblings along the way.
Tyson Applegate had a lot of reasons to ask for forgiveness, and was determined to not only tell people he'd changed, but also to demonstrate that the change went deeper than appearances. While he worked hard to show Dianna and his father his remorse, they were also forced to look within and examine their own hearts and motivations. I enjoyed that, while all of the characters were flawed in their own way, the growth that occurred was neither quick nor easy. Each character had to make their own decision whether they could actually change, or whether they would remain mired in the mistakes of their pasts. As Diana remembered her adopted father asking her, "Do you want to be right...or would you rather be righteous?"
I enjoyed this book, and while I wish I had read book 2 as well, the characters and story in this book were enjoyable on their own. I give this book 3.5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Beloved, Where the Heart Lives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Read!

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“I received this book from Book Sneeze/Thomas Nelson for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own”
The Synopsis:
Dianna Brennan came west on the orphan train and was given a home with a loving couple who cherished and spoiled her. At 17, she fell hard for Tyson Applegate, the son of a wealthy mine owner. After a whirlwind courtship and marriage, Tyson took off for adventures around the world, including fighting with the Rough Riders in Cuba. Receiving no word from him in years, Dianna is ready to move past the old pain and marry again, just as soon as Tyson is declared legally dead.
But when Tyson returns, supposedly a changed man, he wants to reunite with his wife and run for senate. While Dianna suspects the election is his real reason for wanting her by his side, she agrees to maintain his home and to campaign with him, but when it is over, win or lose, she wants her freedom.
He agrees with one condition–she must give him a chance to change her mind about him.
My Review:
This book was a very interesting read. I enjoyed the “clips of the past” that were at the end of every chapter and I loved how it was written. The main characters were very realistic and all had believable reasons for acting the way they did or the decisions they made, good or bad.
The way Robin Hatcher wrote the characters and had them change completely by the end of the story was very enjoyable. Whether for good or bad, most of the characters were different in the last page. Although there was not much action in this book, it still had some tense parts when dealing with the “bad guy”.
Filled with Christian morals, I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good story about “the man who learned better”!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>