Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Blink Merlin's Shadow - eBook

Blink Merlin's Shadow - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merlin's Shadow - eBook
Review 1 for Merlin's Shadow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Continuation of Engaging Writing

Date:July 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written Melodies
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Forged in the fires of Britain, with the sword crafted by his dying father, Merlin impales the Druid Stone thwarting Morganthau's devious scheme to usurp King Uther and redistribute power to the Druidow. Destruction of the Stone forces the evil within to beckon another mortal vessel to its bidding. Feeding on hate, weaknesses, and selfish desires, the alluring power calls to the darkness of the soul. Sorrow-laden by her parent's death, plus the loss of the only home she has ever known, rage-driven Ganieda fights the pull of the darkness, but inevitably succumbs to the enchanting "Voice."
Yet, as warned by his mother, Merlin's quest was far from complete. Actually, it had just begun. Seeking a safe refuge from their pursuers, Merlin and his faithful companions constantly dodge dangers while eluding capture. From the forests of Kernow to the coast of Dintaga and through the valleys of Kembry, Vortigern hunts the ragtag group. However, at some point, the chase must end. Seized during a Pictish raid, Merlin and company head north escaping Vortigern, but march to an unknown fate.
Merlin's Shadow is a continuation of Treskillard's engaging story-telling and well-developed characters. It opens with a concise summary of Merlin's Blade allowing readers to immediately jump into book two with a good grasp of the previous novel; thereby, negating the lost feeling many readers experience upon starting a book in the middle of a series. Told from multiple points of view--that of Merlin, Ganieda, Morganthu, and King Uther's traitorous Army Captain, Vortigern--readers delve deeper into these characters enabling notice of personality changes from the earlier novel.
Throughout the book, readers experience Ganieda's incessant torment and conflicting emotions torn between wanting love, acceptance, and a place to call home or choosing a heart of malice. Merlin, on the other hand, regains his visual abilities, but looses sight of his unwavering faith. Though wallowing in self-doubt with each new hardship, Merlin refuses to give in to circumstance. Merlin's Shadow is a well-crafted tale wrapped in prophecy, adventure, faith, vengeance, perseverance, and tenacity.
On a side note: I thought Muscravel died in Merlin's Blade. If anyone else thought the same thing, please let know that I wasn't alone.
I received a complimentary copy from the author for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merlin's Shadow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an exciting read!

Date:May 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Birdie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pursued relentlessly by enemies who wish to destroy them and take control of the kingdom, Merlin and his rag-tag band of friends and allies are still on the run, trying desperately to protect orphaned prince Aurthur. But the forces of evil are strong, seemingly insurmountable. When only God can save them, will Merlin trust Him or will all be lost?
This book was just as fascinating and irresistible as the first book in the series, "Merlin's Blade". The author weaves an intriguing tale blending Arthurian legend and history, making these books quite unique. The story is absolutely gripping, I could not put it down. It is a lot darker than the first book as the conflict and plot deepen; and by the end, I can hardly wait for book three because I can't see how the story can come out well. This is an excellent read, and I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys King Arthur stories, fantasy, and even pictic and druidic history.
I recieved a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merlin's Shadow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definitely was not disappointed with Merlin's Shadow! It continues the story right after Merlin's Blade ends and you join Merlin's crew as they're on the run. There's action at every turn and it makes you want to keep reading. I'm really looking forward to the next (and final?) book in the series!
Disclaimer: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merlin's Shadow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fast paced story!

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Merlin's Shadow picks up right after Merlin's Blade ends. Merlin and his companions are on the run from Vortigern and his men, but they are not the only ones after Merlin. Old threats emerge along with new threats. It seems wherever they turn, someone wants to bring harm to either Merlin or Arthur. It is a non-stop ride following Merlin and his companions as they race away from these threats and try their hardest to keep the young Arthur safe.
Robert Treskillard is able to weave the mythology of King Arther and supernatural aspects with a bit of historical fiction from this time in Britain when it is out from under Roman rule, but still settling into what it will become. The world that is presented is a dark world that Merlin lives in, full of battles, and grabs a hold of you as you dive further into the story.
Merlin through the story, has pushed forward as the leader of this rag tag group of five. However, through his strengths he reveals his weaknesses. One weakness in particular, which is witnessed in the beginning, I wanted to slap him for. Merlin promised Natalenya and her mother that he would protect Natalenya at the end of Merlin's Blade. However, when times got hard for them, and their chase intensified, Merlin pulled away from Natalenya and in doing so, left her vulnerable. I would like to say it was Merlin being naive, but I don't know. His thoughts shifted from where I expected them to go.
All in all, I really enjoyed Merlin's Shadow. It was a fast paced book from the very beginning and it kept me questioning, "What will happen next?" I'm interested to see how things will wrap up in the third book, Merlin's Nightmare.
Thank you to Booklook (formerly Booksneeze), I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merlin's Shadow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Nc
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surrounded by evil men who wish to kill them Merlin and his companions flee north to protect Briton's future king! But to Merlin's horror he quickly finds out that that the traitor Vorigern is not his only enemy,now he realizes that even his little sister,Ganieda wishes him and the young Arthur dead! They flee from one perilous journey to the next trying to find safety but it is not there! As his world begins to crash down around him Merlin starts losing his faith,but his faith in Jesus is the only thing that can save them!
WOW!This is one of those books you just can't put down! I love to read books about medieval times and legends of medieval times and as you can tell by my blog that I've read quite a few medieval stories but the Merlin's Spiral trilogy is probably my favorite medieval books I've ever read! They are Awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merlin's Shadow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Villains

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
firequeen
Location:TN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At last able to see, Merlin must flee to protect his future king. But what he sees leaves him with little faith or hope. Every turn seems to bring about the victory of his enemies, of murder and thieves. And he fails to see where God is in it all. Something that many people feel in their own trials.
Along with the spiritual message, Merlin's Shadow contains adventures that will keep you turning the pages. Merlin must over come many challenges to fulfill his vow and protect those he cares for.
Perhaps my favorite part of this story was the villains. Each had a depth that brought the story to life and made their deeds believable. I especially loved Ganieda's story, when I at last found out who she was to be.
My one complaint was that some of the scenes did not flow well together. At times the grandfather spied on Merlin, which for the hero was a weeks time, but it seemed like only a few hours for the grandfather. I found this a bit confusing, though it did not hinder my understanding of the story.
I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merlin's Shadow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Betrayal.
After destroying the sinister Druid Stone and freeing his people from its dark control, Merlin finds himself to be a royal advisor without a king. Along with his friend Garth and Natalenya, his betrothed, Merlin treks north with the orphaned Arthur in hopes of keeping the young ruler safe from soldiers misled by their turncoat captain. Relentlessly pursued by his nemesis Vortigern, Merlin and his band make for the fortress of Dintaga.
But dangers multiply when Merlin realizes that Vortigern is not his only enemy. Even his own sister appears bent on Merlin's destruction. As the threat on all their lives increases, Merlin discovers their only hope is sailing to the lands of eternal darkness and once again cleansing the world from an ancient and powerful evil.
My Review:
The single thing that makes this book great is the fantastic attention to detail in laying the groundwork for the novel. Everything, no matter how large or small is brought to life by the Treskillard's wonderful depictions of everything. From the dungeons to the weather conditions, the words jump right off the page and soak into your subconscious as if it was really happening.
It is not often that I feel a book that is part of a series can be read alone, but the author brings you up to date easily and without confusion. The clarity and vividness of the writing impressed me so much, I have to keep writing about it. You never feel as if you are reading another version of the oft-told tale, but as if you are reading it through new eyes, and as if you are discovering it for the first time.
This novel is masterfully told, with an original voice that never once is repetitive or incessantly long winded. Merlin is a character you can actually respect and admire, not someone that is just part of the required reading for the tale. You live everything as it is happening, and it is a full body experience; not just an exercise of the mind.
This book was provided by the publisher through CSFF for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merlin's Shadow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Read

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jobette
Location:Halifax, Nova Scotia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have found this book to be a great read for my son. He read the first book in the series and is halfway through this book (it was a Christmas gift) . He loves to read and it is a good alternative for what is out there for our young people today. He loves the time period and has actually requested to use it as one of his Novel studies for Home school, and I am fine with that.
Thanks and kudos to the author for his writing and this series as it has my son reading.
Sandra
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merlin's Shadow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Betrayal.
After destroying the sinister Druid Stone and freeing his people from its dark control, Merlin finds himself to be a royal advisor without a king. Along with his friend Garth and Natalenya, his betrothed, Merlin treks north with the orphaned Arthur in hopes of keeping the young ruler safe from soldiers misled by their turncoat captain. Relentlessly pursued by his nemesis Vortigern, Merlin and his band make for the fortress of Dintaga.
But dangers multiply when Merlin realizes that Vortigern is not his only enemy. Even his own sister appears bent on Merlin's destruction. As the threat on all their lives increases, Merlin discovers their only hope is sailing to the lands of eternal darkness and once again cleansing the world from an ancient and powerful evil.
My Review:
The single thing that makes this book great is the fantastic attention to detail in laying the groundwork for the novel. Everything, no matter how large or small is brought to life by the Treskillard's wonderful depictions of everything. From the dungeons to the weather conditions, the words jump right off the page and soak into your subconscious as if it was really happening.
It is not often that I feel a book that is part of a series can be read alone, but the author brings you up to date easily and without confusion. The clarity and vividness of the writing impressed me so much, I have to keep writing about it. You never feel as if you are reading another version of the oft-told tale, but as if you are reading it through new eyes, and as if you are discovering it for the first time.
This novel is masterfully told, with an original voice that never once is repetitive or incessantly long winded. Merlin is a character you can actually respect and admire, not someone that is just part of the required reading for the tale. You live everything as it is happening, and it is a full body experience; not just an exercise of the mind.
This book was provided by the publisher through CSFF for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merlin's Shadow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Epic Continues

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jael
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Merlin’s Blade, Merlin finished strong, victorious, and in love, even if he was fleeing for his life, but in book two, his faith and plight quickly declined. And who wouldn’t? Faced with such obstacles as he did. Hunted, betrayal, slavery, and the powers of the druidow working against him. The odds were so stacked against him, I had to keep reminding myself, I know the ending, I know the ending! Arthur will be king, but how would he? That’s the beauty of this story.
In Merlin’s Shadow, we dive right into the story with Merlin and his band of people committed to baby Arthur fleeing for their lives. With several major point of views, we switch between Merlin, Merlin’s sister and her grandfather, and the newly proclaimed High King, Vortigern, all who are bent on destroying them. Then there are other significant threads running through the story such as Uther’s two girls and what might become of them and another subplot involving a certain king that you aren’t sure where they will interconnect with the main story, but you know they will.
But what has happened to Merlin? Once strong in faith and confidence, yet limited by his blindness, but now that his sight had been restored, he sees the scars on his face and his strength fails. Who could love him? Thus we find our hero turning in upon himself rather than trusting his God who has brought him thus far.
The story grew darker, wilder, deeper. The visions were awesome, adding mystery and dripping with creativity! I’m left thinking, how does one come up with something like this? Ha! And how the author wove the story together: all the different threads, the visions, the subtle provisions of God that protected them on their journey, although, it might appear to be a curse, but proved otherwise. One of my favorite aspects of reading is gathering clues along the journey to figure out what might happen, and I just dance with delight when I get them right. And I did!! But I can’t say what it is without giving away too much of the story.
Will definitely be reading book three. Highly recommended!
*In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received an advanced reader copy from the publisher.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merlin's Shadow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Epic Adventure Action Thriller

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robert Treskillard in his new book “Merlin’s Shadow” Book Two in the Merlin Spiral Series published by Zondervan gives us another adventure with Merlin.
From the back cover: Betrayal.
After destroying the sinister Druid Stone and freeing his people from its dark control, Merlin finds himself to be a royal advisor without a king. Along with his friend Garth and Natalenya, his betrothed, Merlin treks north with the orphaned Arthur in hopes of keeping the young ruler safe from soldiers misled by their turncoat captain. Relentlessly pursued by his nemesis Vortigern, Merlin and his band make for the fortress of Dintaga.
But dangers multiply when Merlin realizes that Vortigern is not his only enemy. Even his own sister appears bent on Merlin’s destruction. As the threat on all their lives increases, Merlin discovers their only hope is sailing to the lands of eternal darkness and once again cleansing the world from an ancient and powerful evil.
Just say the two words, Merlin and Arthur and, immediately you know you are in for a good time reading the story. Mr. Treskillard continues the story of Merlin and Arthur and brings them an adventure they are unprepared for. In a three-act play act two is always dark and “Merlin’s Shadow” is no exception. What Merlin and Arthur and the rest of the team face is a little darker and a lot more dangerous. Not only is Merlin challenged on what he is willing to risk in the protection of Arthur he is also challenged on what he is willing to risk for the Almighty One. ”Merlin’s Shadow” is an epic battle between good and evil. Mr. Treskillard has done an incredible job of bringing his characters to life and we root for them to win against overwhelming forces. “Merlin’s Shadow” is a wonderful, interesting story with power and depth that will keep you flipping pages. I am most definitely looking forward to the next book in the series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merlin's Shadow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Young Merlin's adventures continue

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second in the Merlin Spiral series, following Merlin's Blade. Treskillard is exploring the historical background of the relationship between Merlin and King Arthur in an imagined story of the time leading to the Arthurian legends.
In this novel, Merlin and his friends travel north with the orphaned infant Arthur, hoping to protect him from their enemies. His own half-sister is captivated by an evil Voice and determines to see Merlin dead.
Merlin's devotion to Arthur's safety is immense. He faces one challenge after another as he continues his task. It is said of Merlin, “If it was in his power he would give everything he possessed to save Arthur.” (332)
There is a definite battle between good and evil in this series. Merlin is a Christian but his faith is severely tested as he encounters various obstacles. He faces betrayal and deception time and again yet continues his sacred responsibility. It is gratifying to see Merlin grow into the spiritually perceptive and capable leader he needs to be.
This is a well written novel. The characters come alive and grow as the story develops. The action scenes are vivid and realistic. The sea voyages, storms and battles are intense. True to the nature of the druids, there are magical happenings in this novel. That might be a concern for some but they certainly follow in the tradition of the Arthurian tales.
Treskillard has done an excellent job of weaving a compelling story around the few facts known about Merlin and Arthur. This is an epic presentation of life and faith in the fifth century, the time after the Romans had left Britain but before the arrival of the Saxons. I look forward to the third and concluding book in this series. I've been introduced to the Sangraal (Holy Grail) and I want to know what happens to it and young Arthur.
I received a complimentary galley of this book through the CSF Blog Tour for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.