Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Murder By Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness

Howard Books Murder By Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness

When the Whitakers were attacked by a gunman in their own home, Patricia and their younger son, Kevin, were killed. Kent and their older son, Bart, were wounded. Resolving to forgive whoever was responsible, Kent is stunned to learn that the murder plot was orchestrated by Bart! A true story of betrayal, mercy---and redemption. 224 pages, softcover from Howard.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Murder By Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness
Review 1 for Murder By Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness
This review is fromMurder by Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
matt5fourteen
I read this book last year. Once I started, I couldn't put it down and ended up reading it all in one setting. This is an awesome true story of forgiveness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Murder By Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness
This review is fromMurder by Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tonya
Murder By Family is a wonderful written book! I admire Kent for being able to write his feelings down in book form.It shows through Gods love we can get through the worst of times!!I will pass theis book on for many to read!! Thanks Kent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Murder By Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness
This review is fromMurder by Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Murder by Family by Kent Whitaker is an unbelievable story of betrayal and forgiveness. What would you do if someone killed your spouse and child, shooting you as well? Could you forgive? Could you do it if you found out that it was your other child? Kent Whitaker faced just that dilemma. Returning home one night after celebrating his eldest son Bart's graduation from college, his life changed forever. He heard a shot when younger son Kevin walked into the house, another as his wife stepped forward, and as she fell, he saw a figure wearing a face mask, before Kent was hit in the shoulder from another shot. When a fourth shot rang out, Kent thought that Bart must have been shot as well, and as he lay in wracking pain and bleeding out, believed that his entire family had been killed. While lying in the hospital, Kent felt God's peace come over him, and he forgave the shooter and murderer of his wife and Kevin, but as the police quickly focused in on Bart as their number one suspect, that forgiveness was tested. Kent compares his suffering to that of King David with the betrayal of son Absalom; even though his son tried to have him killed, he did all he could to model God's unconditional love and forgiveness. Kent's story is absolutely amazing and could only be told by someone with enormous faith. I've read some poor reviews of this book, and I don't think that those reviewers can comprehend the power of faith. Kent doesn't excuse Bart's actions and faces all of the consequences of the shooting, however, I do think that he spent too much time trying to explain the inexplicable. It's a powerful story of a father's love.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Murder By Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness
This review is fromMurder by Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Murder by Family by Kent Whitaker is an absolute must-read for those who struggle with offering forgiveness. This heartbreaking, yet wonderfully inspiring book gives an incredible present-day example of what true forgiveness looks like. The author is the father of a death row inmate. You may think that is difficult enough all on its own, and youd be so very right. But that is not the whole story. The author is a victim of that same inmate. Kent Whitaker has had to forgive the attack on his own life and the murder of his wife and youngest son by his firstborn!In an attempt to gain his inheritance, Bart Whitaker hired his roommate to murder his family. The horrifying events surrounding the December 10, 2003 murders are frankly and passionately recalled in this memoir honoring the memory of Kents wife, Tricia, and his youngest son, Kevin. At the same time, this book speaks volumes to the heart of Christianity as the reader is permitted a glimpse into the testimony of forgiveness that a father offers the son who wanted him dead. WOW!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Murder By Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness
This review is fromMurder by Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Velasquez
This book is a testimony to the power of God's grace to give us His strength to love & forgive others thru a most difficult tragedy. Expertly written, easy to read, and I felt like I was going thru the events & struggles with the Author. I brought the book into my work and it has not been on the shelf since!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Murder By Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness
This review is fromMurder by Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christina Ross
i am in the process of reading it now and i have really enjoyed it, it is an easy read and i am looking forward to the other 2/3 of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Murder By Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness
This review is fromMurder by Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marylouise Baldridge
I bought this book for my husband for Christmas and he raved about it so much that I also read it. Kent Whitaker's family story is heartbreaking, yet awesome. He exposes his true experiences and feelings and creates a memorable impression that will inspire readers to trust God in spite of the most devastating circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Murder By Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness
This review is fromMurder by Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janice Beck
Not only a heart wrenching story of Christlike love, but a wake-up message to all parents!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Murder By Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness
This review is fromMurder by Family: The Incredible True Story of a Son's Treachery and a Father's Forgiveness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deborah Lively
The book is fantastic. I hate that it's true but it was written very well and I'm enjoying it. It's an easy read. It was very easy ordering the book and I will order more in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.