Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough - eBook

Thomas Nelson Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
8 out of 1080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough - eBook
Review 1 for Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

'didnt get' the premise of this book

Date:April 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
vanessa walters
Location:Red Cloud, Neb.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this book, based on the cover and what was on the back of the book...be honest, I didnt really get what this author was trying to say. I read it through fairly quickly, and as I often do, I re-read it again, more slowly and thoughtfully. I STILL didnt get it. I believe that Mr. Bethke was trying to tell the readers, that we are to trust in Jesus, not church/denomination rules and regulations..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

"A" for effort, but missed the boat.

Date:March 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
pastor frank
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted to like this book, I really did. I appreciate what he says about us being saved by grace and none of us being perfect. I agree absolutely. The problem I had with the book was the author acts like because we're sinners saved by grace we should have no expectations of ourselves or other believers to live Godly. It was sort of a just give up on yourself and others because we're just sinners.
He also falsely likens Pharisees to fundamentalists. The Pharisees' problem was not fundamental adherence to God's law, it was in fact the opposite- they dismissed the law in favor of their traditions! Jesus chided the Pharisees for violating God's law to keep their traditions. That is not fundamentalism.
The author correctly warns against zeroing in on select parts of scripture, but he does the exact same thing! He ignores the scriptures that instruct us to strive for godliness and personal holiness and basically be satisfied that we are saved and from there, just to be ok with falling short of the glory of God. There is a theological name for what this book is, anti-nomianism. The Reformation Era church under Luther (the main proponent of grace alone, faith alone) recognized anti-nomianism as heresy. To paraphrase Luther, God's law still serves a purpose- to show us our sin and drive us to the cross and the cross points us back to the law to show what God expects out of the sanctified man/woman. Will we fall short? Yes. Is that an excuse to kick back and be comfy in our sin. NO. I felt the author seemed to be suggesting we should have little to no expectations of Godly living from Christians. Maybe I'm wrong, but that is how it came across to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
The NerdHerd Reads
I know this isn't the type of thing I usually review. In fact, it isn't even the type of thing that I read. However, I was hooked. I couldn't stop reading. At least, when I had to, I didn't want to.
Bethke talks about subjects that are tricky, maybe even controversial. But he does so in a way that can relate to teens and adults, but also in a way that is humorous. He isn't poking fun at anything, but he keeps you entertained so that you continue reading.
Bethke basically walks us through his walk with faith and God, expanding and using those issues to further his points. Because of that, this book had many little anecdotes, some hard and embarrassing for him to share, I'm sure. He does so with an open vulnerability, but also with his characteristic humor.
Bethke digs deep into the Bible, supporting what he says with Scriptural evidence. He doesn't claim to be a pastor or theologian, and he's not ashamed to admit when he doesn't know something.
Drawing from personal experiences, especially as a teenager, Bethke tries to make this understandable for young adults and teens. He shows them that he relates to them, he understands them, that he went to the same thing. He encourages and uplifts, by just being someone who's there instead of someone who has all the answers.
After all, I'm pretty sure Jefferson Bethke is the only one who can get away with comparing the Bible to Jersey Shore.
Bethke also brings up points that are tough, but he doesn't do so in a self-righteous way, as someone who knows all the answers. Instead, as someone who is just asking the questions, like the readers.
Some of the things Bethke says might be controversial (maybe to the older generation) but I feel like they need to be said, and I'm glad he did. Jesus > Religion is such an eye-opener. It will really make you think in a way you hadn't before, and quite honestly, in a way you may not want to.
I'm not sure what else that I could say that could adequately explain how I feel about this book. Like I said, I was hooked, and I hate reading this kind of stuff. I feel that every Christian should read this book, no matter where you are in your walk of faith. If you've ever had doubts or questions, this is the book to start with. If you're not a Christian, because you've been turned off by other Christians you've met, first off: I'm sorry. Second, you should read this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing* Awestruck* Tameless Beauty*

Date:December 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
April Rockdaschel
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the book I've been looking for. It especially reached me because I went to the same College he describes for his Freshman year. I'd like to tell the author "Thank you". Since I can't, I will spread this publication through word of mouth. Warning: This is not casual reading! This isn't inspiring,...It's either life changing, or life devastating. I pray the reader chooses the first.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Thing to Note

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
dsilb
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very very well written account of one key note we need...Jesus. He does it all - His grace not my works.
That's it. Done. Anything more is my vanity trying to earn what He gives and I cannot earn. Grace. Wow! Read this book.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book!!!

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Malory
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me tell you, this is NOT a book you can just rush through. I totally mean that in a very positive way. This book definitely gives you some food for thought. His comparisons on Jesus' outlook on things versus the whole religious outlook is spot on. In my opinion, he's not calling Christianity (the truest form...beliefs, His Word, etc.) bad. It's the religion Jesus was against (the man-made and wrong kind) that he does. This book makes you take the time to look deep down inside and truly think about it all. He has interwoven his own personal stories along with biblical truths to show us just how much Jesus loves us and wants His best for us. He pointed out a lot of good points that made me have a few "aha! moments" of my own and, at times, his words would cause an "ouch" or two. This is definitely a book that I would and do recommend :)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phoenixblade
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this, It speaks to right where I am at. The authour speaks at a level that is like I know him
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Game Changer

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trina
Location:Sutherlin, OR
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jesus > Religion is a game changer; this book has the potential to shift how an entire generation knows Jesus and to clearly see when He’s being falsified and used, especially in the name of religion.
When Jefferson Bethke’s video went viral in early 2012, what impressed me even more than his spoken word poetry was how he responded to his critics. My expectations therefore were high for Jesus > Religion and Bethke exceeded them all.
Thoughtfully unpacking the message from his video and going much deeper, Bethke is open about his own struggles and shares his faith journey.
Bethke’s strength is in his gift for juxtaposition. He has the humility of someone twice his age, while speaking truth in today’s vernacular. Between intersections of words, Bethke calls us all out on our hypocrisy with directness and grace.
I would highly recommend first reading this book yourself before gifting it to someone who isn’t familiarity with the Bible. While Bethke does a great job of giving context to the stories he uses from the New Testament, especially in the later half of the book, not as much context is given for the Old Testament references. With discussion questions written provided at the end of each chapter, this is a great book to read and discuss with a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MIGHT MAKE YA MAD

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
jojosutiscorner
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was impressed- that this book puts a voice to everything we know to be true in God’s Word, but aren’t necessary living out. Things we sometimes ignore or twist to fit our own personal form of faith. Things we stand up for….but only to make ourselves feel better. I was impressed that Bethke did not hold back on who Jesus really is & what it really means to be a Christian.
I was challenged- this book really called me out on several things. It made me really re-examine my heart about things like…
Judging others
Being a two-face AKA hypocrite
Thinking the things I do in the name of Jesus, make me a “good person”.
Here’s an example of a portion of the book that challenged me…
“We talk about tithing, but the single mom next door can’t pay her rent.
We make sure we have our quiet times every morning, but could care less about actually conversing with Jesus.
We’ve never said the f- word out loud, but we have never prayed for our local homeless community either”
OUCH! Is this challenging you as much as is it me???
I was mad- at myself, at religion, at the idea that sometimes I think I know all the answers…I’ve done all the right things and that I’m a-okay in my book! I was mad that Christianity has gotten a bad rap because of do-gooders who feel like it’s their job to look down their nose at other people with “worse” sins than their own. I was mad that, sadly, many churches have become unwelcoming to dirty filthy sinners.
Guess what? I’m a dirty, filthy, sinner…that’s right. JoJo is a dirty, filthy, sinner. I’m no better than you. You’re no better than me.
CAUTION: THIS BOOK MIGHT CHANGE YOUR LIFE!!!
JESUS>RELIGION might change you life…. I really hope it does! But it may not. You may read this book and get mad for completely different reasons. You may feel that Jonathan is a little too honest, a little too open, a little too explicit. You may read it and think “that’s too deep, I’m not ready for that yet”.
But, if you are tired of keeping up the “act”. Tired of constantly “performing” to earn favor. If you are ready to fess up that you’ve messed up, that we all have. If you’re ready to experience the grace of God and see that grace extend to people you know.
Heed the invitation Jonathan writes about…
“Relax, you don’t have to have it all figured out. All you need to do is come to Him (Jesus)… He just wants dependency, He just wants you…”
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will change your life!

Date:October 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
jkbane
Location:Dothan, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In all reality this is a book I believe everyone needs to read. Whether you’re a Christian or not, it is a challenging book. Jefferson walks the reader through his history with religion and Jesus. He communicates a strong message of how Jesus is greater than religion. The resounding theme of the book is everything is about Jesus, it’s a message of the love of God through his Son.
The book doesn’t beat around the bush, Jefferson doesn’t hold back. It is message this generation needs and actually deep down wants to hear. This is your chance to take your faith to a whole new level! I encourage everyone to pick up a copy and when you are done reading, pass it along to someone else. But this is your warning…you will be challenged, you will have to make a choice to face fears and your perspective of people and sin may need altered.
While the book does discuss some heavy topics it is a VERY encouraging book. Many times are I was reading I was laughing, smiling and literally having a good time with the book. I felt as if my life was interacting with the words written. The message is a message of life! You won’t regret reading this book. It is worth the time, the money and investment. It is a message you will want to share with your loved ones.
Happy reading!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.