Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs

NavPress The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs

An evangelism-friendly version of Eugene Peterson's bestseller! Portable and priced right for distributing to the unsaved. Paraphrase presents the New Testament in a conversational language that everybody can understand plus Book introductions. Size: 3.75" x 5.25" x .75". 512 pages, softcover from NavPress.
Average Customer Rating:
3.882 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
1 out of 333%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Review 1 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very small font.

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
OboeJane
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed in the small print. I found it difficult to read because of such close spacing of lines and type. I wish it was just a little bit larger in every way and still fit in my purse.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
booboo
Location:virgina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered these for my teenage Sunday School class. They were exactly the right size for purses and pockets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Compact, but print too small to read!

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
loaljo
Location:McMinnville, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was excited to find a compact New Testament/Psalms/Proverbs to give to my unsaved son, but when I got it in the mail, the print was so small I had a hard time reading it, even with my glasses on. That's what I get for buying something online! I would've sent it back, but it would've cost me more in shipping than I paid for it, so I kept it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen-ann Oconnor
perfect compact size...my first message version, i like what it adds to my new king james version
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicki Sindelar
This was perfect for my High School Sunday School class as "my gift". So many of them were struggling with getting meaning from the NIV and that the Bible was too long and boring. They were very excited to be given a personal bible that they "wouldn't mind reading". My prayer was that seeing that God's word will relate to their everyday lives would get them started to be in His Word everyday. This one was small enough they could throw it in their backpacks and take it with them places. One even commented that it looked easier and smaller to read than the book they had at home they needed to read for English this weekend! PRAISE GOD!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roy Crosier
The print is just too tiny. I use it for student evangelism, high school age, so they can probably read it, but some just won't because of the small letters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Henry Mena
I Love it. I read it every day sometimes three times in a day. I love how it is written, the word usage and all. I'm about to order the numbered version so I could compare it line for line with other bibles - that was the only thing I didn't like about it, There's No Numbers for the verses just the chapters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patsy Vailes
Very disappointed with this, I did not read the description thoroughly. Thought it was the larger complete bible. Print really too small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ada Barnes
When my son first came back to the Lord after being away for many years, he was having a difficult time understanding the King James version of the Bible. I had purchased THE MESSAGE for myself as a supplement to my other Bible material for my own studies. I told him to begin by reading the Psalms. Each morning we would call each other very early from the East coast to the Central States to discuss what he had read. The miracles God has brought into his life through this version, whick is so easy to understand, is wonderful. Now he is attending Church,and uses the King James for comparison, and has bought Bibles for his children. I bought the pocket Bibles to give to my twin grandsons who have learning disabilities. They are using them daily. The rest of the Bibles will be given to those God leads me to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sherley Hannay
I love 'The Message' I and love sharing this "translation" with those that aren't famliliar with it. This pocket size New Testament plus Psalms and Proverbs is the perfect way to introduce them to the Scriptures which are written in today's language. Sometimes I laugh when reading it as it hits me right between the eyes with the vivid imagery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Hinkle
I wish I knew what the font was. It is so tiny I can't begin to read it. But no worries--I'll give it to someone with better eyes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Laurie Alvarez
Handy, can fit in purse, easy to understand, simply wonderful!I will eventually buy them in bulk to hand out, great witnessing tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna Wicks
It was hard at first to read a Bible in that translation because of "traditional ideas", but I find it a wonderful addition to the other translations for study purposes. It IS in today's language and gets the point across quickly. What a blessing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ernest Jelliff
Handy size to easily carry and be ready to share the good news of Jesus. The Message reads so understandably.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jean Anderson
The kids I have given these to are not just "snapping them up", they are READING them and "getting the message"!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Evelyn C. Waugh
I like this small edition of The Message because it is easy to carry with me. My one concern is the size of the print, which is difficult for older persons to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Message Pocket Paperback Edition: New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Schupska
the print in the Bible is so small I won't even read them. I'm very disappointed in this little Bible. I thought it was a larger size. I guess it would be my fault ordering the wrong size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.