Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Greatest Gift: A Daily Celebration of Jesus - eBook

Tyndale House The Greatest Gift: A Daily Celebration of Jesus - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Greatest Gift: A Daily Celebration of Jesus - eBook
Review 1 for The Greatest Gift: A Daily Celebration of Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed download

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Portage la Prairie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With downloading evokes you have the immediate use of the product. Thank you for making these available
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Greatest Gift: A Daily Celebration of Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Putting Christ in Christmas

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Onion Workshop
Location:Saskatchewan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann Voscamp never fails to surprise me! This book combines the Old Testament, Christ's birth and God's call to our human spirit, "Where are you in all of this hubbub?" It's another soul jerker!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Greatest Gift: A Daily Celebration of Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful, Fresh perspective on Advent

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
nelliecords
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED this devotional. I was so surprised by how rich and meaningful her writings were day after day. The questions at the end of each day are short and yet quite thought provoking. She also includes a small challenge for you to do each day - like smile at every person you see! Seems so simple yet quite difficult to actually do. Her writing style is very poetic and took me a little to get used to, but I am already looking forward to re-doing this next year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Greatest Gift: A Daily Celebration of Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly Inspired

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
jand
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These words are for all year long....I have given this book out as gifts to friends as it truly shows what a gift we have in Jesus, from the Father.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Greatest Gift: A Daily Celebration of Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Einnoc
Location:small town Maryland
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding read. One of the best Advent books I have
ever read. Very inspirational.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Greatest Gift: A Daily Celebration of Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved Celebrating Advent

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
MrsFly
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book helped my husband and I start a new tradition of celebrating Advent. Helped us keep in the forefront the real meaning of Christmas. What a blessing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Greatest Gift: A Daily Celebration of Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful way to prepare for Advent

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
smrtgama4jc
Location:Vancouver, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I gave this book as a gift for two friends with November birthdays and purchased one for myself. I am so thankful that I did! It really helped me stay focused on Jesus and the real reason for the season, The Greatest Gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Greatest Gift: A Daily Celebration of Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Have enjoyed this for our Advent season.

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean Kindstedt
Location:Rye NH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Greatest Gift has been a great addition to our Advent traditions. Ann Voskamp is using the Jesse Tree to tie in the Old Testament with the Christmas story. Using the Jesse Tree with the book, makes it a great time in preparation for Christmas. And putting the focus in the right place. On Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Greatest Gift: A Daily Celebration of Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful and Complete

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy B
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann takes us back to the beginning--the very beginning, where humans were created in the image and likeness of God. She unwinds the story of pain, the story of the fall. She takes you through the dawns of evil, reveals the depths of the depravity, realizes the desperation for a Savior.
She shows the goodness of God. The holiness of the Maker. The graciousness of the Father.
I loved the way that this Advent devotional was written. Truly beginning at the very beginning, showing the desperate need of humankind for a Savior before the miraculous event of God taking on flesh.
The Gospel glows throughout this book. Ann reveals and stresses through her poetic, real, and encouraging prose that Christmas was the means to usher in the true redemption. That Jesus was born to die, to give us life. But because He is God, the chains of death could not hold Him. He rose again, and gave us victory.
Christmas is beginning of the life--the promise fulfilled. Immanuel, "God with Us".
I highly recommend this devotional. The sweetness of the Gospel, the holiness of such an oft commercialized event--this devotional helps it all to come into perspective.
I adored the style of the formatting. The graphic design, the fonts, the colors--the peaceful art appropriate to its message.
Each devotional begins with a scriptural reading, followed by Ann's encouraging words on the particular passage. The following remaining pages for the day feature a quote appropriate to the day's topic and a few questions for pondering with blank lines on which to write out your own thoughts.
I am grateful to Tyndale House Publishers for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Greatest Gift: A Daily Celebration of Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

thoughtful and poetic meditations for advent

Date:November 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Advent is a time of waiting and preparing. Ann helps us do that by using the Jesse Tree (with ornaments you can make from her website). For each of the 25 meditations, there is a photo of an ornament, a Scripture reading, a meditation, a reflection, a quote, and questions for reflection.
Ann starts at the beginning – Genesis. She shows our need for a Savior. She continues by relating Old Testament stories to the coming of the Messiah. She includes Abraham, Isaac and laughter, Isaac and God providing a ram, Jacob and the ladder, Joseph and thin places, the ten commandments, Rahab, Ruth, David, Elijah, Jonah, Bethlehem, Esther, Zechariah, John the Baptist, Mary, and then … God with us!
Ann's beautiful prose and thoughtful reflections cause us to pause and think on the miracle of Christmas. This is a book to be savored as we prepare our hearts anew for the coming of the Savior.
Food for thought:
“Advent is made of the moments.
This slow unfurling of grace.” (5)
“The message of Christmas is that this world's a mess and we can never save ourselves from ourselves and we need a Messiah.” (139)
“We can always have as much of God as we want.” (233)
“It cost Him everything to be with you.
Who will spend a fraction of time just to be with Him?” (235)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.