Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Review 1 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a book for all generations

Date:May 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
SincerelyAlli
Location:Charleston, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though the cross repels, it also attracts. It possesses a magnetic quality. Once you have been to the cross, you will never be the same. The greatest vision of sin is at the cross, where we also see the greatest vision of love.
Although it has been many years since Billy Graham has retired from the pulpit, the heartbeat of his years in ministry is sincerely described in his 2013 book release, The Reason for My Hope.
Possibly the most highly regarded Christian leader of several generations, Billy Graham continues to meet us at the most personable level as He so vividly describes the reasons Christ died for us and what that means for those who choose to follow Him on Earth. Graham's humble heart is displayed in one of the first pages of the books where he states, One of the greatest privileges of my life has been the opportunity to associate with numerous men and women...and I thank God for the contribution these countless individuals have made to my life.
In this extraordinary book, Billy Graham walks his readers through controversial and pondered topics of people of all walks of life such as: the battle between good and evil, the meaning of the cross, the teachings of Jesus while on the cross, the reality and myths of Heaven and Hell, the second coming of Christ, and most importantly, He outlines very clearly why salvation is truly the most important gift given to mankind.
The Reason for My Hope is the best book I have read in years. I could not put it down, and I constantly found myself underlining passages that I wanted to reflect on. I plan on buying many copies of this book to give to friends. This book is the perfect read for persons of every generation, and it has become a favorite in my personal book collection. This is one of those rare books that you can discuss with both a teenager and a grandparent. Perhaps that's why people of all generations today are still able to identify with Billy Graham; he has the rare gift of meeting each person right where they are to explain and plead for people to proclaim Jesus as their Lord and Savior.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The power of the cross unto salvation

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Serving Jesus Christ
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very moving DVD carrying the simple message of the cross -- God's plan of salvation for mankind through the blood of Jesus Christ. This message brings out the needs for; first the church and, next the hope for a confused and suffering world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Graham delivers a strong message of truth

Date:February 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Millstreetreader
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Billy Graham has spent his life preaching the message of forgiveness and salvation. Now in his mid-nineties and not physically strong enough to continue the crusading life, he has NOT put aside his desire to share Christ's promise. Instead he shares through his writing, something he can do from his armchair at home. His new title The Reason for My Hope shows clearly that there is only one reason for true hope and that is Christ's death on the cross.
Graham warns that too many are trying to make Christianity into their own designer religions with a main focus on belonging, not believing. People search for the spot where they fit right in, where they can enjoy activities and socialization, and feel good about themselves. But that is not what we are called to do. Graham reminds us that Christianity is not a spectator sport; we cannot buy a ticket and remain on the sidelines. Becoming a Christian means changing our lives completely -- a butterfly kind of metamorphosis. Christ is not someone you can relegate to a corner of your heart and life.
Graham also warns that our busy lives which often leave no time for reflection or prayer are harmful. The pop culture that surrounds us can be much more dangerous than we think, for some equaling a 21st century version of pagan worship. There have been several recent books lately offering glimpses into Heaven. Graham makes clear the path to that future, but also earnestly forces us to consider the alternative that no one seems to take seriously. While the writing is easy to read, this is not a book to be read for pleasure and then put aside. Just like his crusades, the book asks us to look inside our hearts and to listen to the warnings.
I received this book from Book Sneeze for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Reason for My Hope

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
gcw1
Location:York, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE REASON FOR MY HOPE -----SALVATION
by Billy Graham
Billy Graham does a great job explaining salvation, why salvation is his reason of hope. In the eight easy, to read chapters he defines sin, hell and most of all salvation. I found the book hard to put down when you start to read. Billy has been telling people about Jesus Christ and salvation for about 70 years and has not lost anything in his enthusiastic description of salvation in this book. I think this should be necessary reading for all believers and non-believers. Billy has many stories of redemption and repentance that he shares with his readers. Billy, in his 90's, still can give a strong reason for accepting Jesus Christ as savor.
He gives many thought provoking statements about how things in America are heading down the moral ladder and why we need salvation. The book is not long but packed with the greatest reason for eternal life.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding book

Date:February 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Janet P
Location:El Cajon, CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Reason for My Hope: Salvation is a book written by Billy Graham. In what could possibly be his last book (he's 95 now), Mr. Graham is still leading people to salvation through his message and the true stories contained in his book. The question Billy Graham asks throughout the book is: Who would refuse rescue? There are actually people who refuse to be saved, even if they're in a hopeless situation. Besides the question of why someone would refuse to be saved, there are thought-provoking questions asked of the reader in each chapter.
There are 8 chapters:
1. Rescued for Something
2. The Great Redemption
3. Sin Is In
4. The Price of Victory
5. Where is Jesus?
6. Defining Christianity in a Designer World
7. No Hope of Happy Hour in Hell
8. He Is Coming Back
This is an outstanding book and I would highly recommend it to anyone, not just because it might be the last book Billy Graham writes, but for the message of encouragement and hope in it which I think we all need to hear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real Hope

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the most powerful four-letter words is "HOPE". If you watch (or read) the news, you easily see how much this world struggles with hopelessness. Billy Graham shares the reason for his hope: salvation which, in his opinion, is the most hopeful word in history. It's the same message he has been preaching for more than 70 years. In this book, he is urging readers to see the need for Christ with a sense of urgency. The Gospel of Jesus Christ brings hope to us all. Jesus came to seek and save the lost; however, many people refuse to be saved. Many fail to realize that they are in need of a rescue. I enjoyed all the real-life stories shared in this book. I really appreciate Billy Graham's presentation of God's truths without any sugarcoating. He covers Who Jesus is, what sin is, Christ's victory at the cross, evidence of Christ's resurrection, Hell, authentic faith/true Christianity, transformation, carnal "Christians," the cost of following Jesus, and the second coming of Jesus Christ. He's spot on his diagnosis of our society. At the end of the book, Billy Graham explains clearly how you can be saved. I highly recommend this engaging & encouraging book! Christ's redemption story is the most beautiful story no matter how many times we read or hear it. It renews and refreshes our hope. If you're not yet a Christian, please do not disregard God's warning of judgment and God's offer of redemption as in the days of Noah. Jesus is our only Hope for Heaven--the only Way to salvation! Don't leave earth without Him!
~I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® book review bloggers program. All the opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Location:Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my Mom for Christmas as she had asked for it. She was thrilled to get it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Right to the point.

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kate
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Billy Graham's last plea to people about how to receive salvation. Right to the point. No beating around the bush. I consider him the greatest living Christian. A life devoted to helping people to understand God loves them and wants eternal life for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

“The Reason for My Hope: Salvation” by Billy Graha

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
tickmenot
Location:Kansas City
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Billy Graham very clearly writes how belief in Jesus has given him peace, even in the midst of a society that is seemingly crumbling around us. This book gives many examples from life today: the scary, empty things that preoccupy life in our culture or the instances of tragic happenings that have become so prevalent that they are almost common place. He notes that even non-religious writers and news casters have commented that our world seems to be “going crazy.”
Dr. Graham ponders why our society pays so much money for movies and entertainment that frightens us and leaves us feeling hollow, yet rejects the good news of Christianity that offers hope, peace and a wonderful future. He has a very real concern for all people who are not followers of Christ, for he believes the end times the Bible refers to are fast approaching. Billy Graham wants everyone to receive the free gift of salvation by following Jesus, along with the peace and heavenly rewards that go with that decision.
This book also includes Dr. Graham’s testimony of his complete belief in God, and how his life has been the richer for it. The importance of faith is stressed, and Billy Graham talks about his own. He also stresses that all the religions of the world have a place that their religious founder is buried, all accept for Christianity. There is no burial plot for Jesus because he did not stay buried, but rose to life again. Jesus’ empty tomb offers proof of eternal life to all who will believe.
The last chapter is devoted to what it means to be a Christian. Dr. Graham explains that becoming a believer in Christ involves commitment. He emphasizes that one must “count the cost” when making the decision to follow Jesus Christ. At the end, an example is given of the type of prayer to say if one wants to make the commitment, and follow Christ.
Enjoy this five star book! Dr. Graham has poured his heart into it, and is genuinely concerned for every person on this planet. It is geared for everyone, is very readable and I highly recommend it.
The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Thomas Nelson Publishing for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner. Despite my receiving the book free, it has not influenced my judgment, and I have given an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I'm not really sure where to start this review. This is the first Billy Graham book I've ever read and it did not disappoint.
The Reason For My Hope is a wonderful book to start the new year off with. The message of this book is the message of Christ: hope through Him alone. Billy Graham does an excellent job of pushing home the truth of Christ and what Christianity looks like in our lives today (or should) and how Satan has been blinding us to the truth from the beginning. He states the basic fundamentals of the Christian faith in an easy to understand way.
However, this is not an easy book to read. There were times it hit me in the gut like you wouldn't believe. But this is a book every generation needs because Billy Graham reminds us that Jesus is the only Savior and the only way to eternal life.
Next to the Bible, I would recommend this as a book every person should read regardless of age. I had a hard time putting it down and found myself underlining things in every chapter. It took me 4 days to read it and I was blessed by it. So now that you've read this review, go to your local bookstore and pick up a copy. You won't be the worse for it. :)
Note: I received a free copy of this book for the exchange of a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first learned about this book by Billy Graham called The Reason For My Hope through the YouVersion reading plan. It was a 15-day plan that shared excerpts of this book and also a worship video of a song from a Christian music artist that related to the day's reading. I noticed that Booksneeze still had copies of this book for review and so I asked for one.
Billy Graham is a well known evangelist that preached God's salvation message for over 70 years. He is now 95-years old and he wrote this book to share with the world the salvation message.
The book has 8 chapters and 207 pages. The chapters are Rescued for Something, The Great Redemption, Sin Is In, The Price of Victory, Where Is Jesus?, Defining Christianity in a Designer World, No Hope of Happy Hour in Hell, He is Coming Back. It's not a quick read. I would probably recommend you take your time reading this book. In the first chapter (I only read this chapter) he starts out by sharing stories of people being rescued. Asks the question at the end of the chapter So what is your story? HAVE YOU EVER BEEN SAVED? Then there's a Bible verse at the end of the chapter. This one was "I only say these things so that you may have salvation." (John 5:34 BBE). There's also a Bible verse at the beginning of the chapter, under the chapter title. "Be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you." - 1 Peter 3:15 KJV
was at the beginning.
I would recommend this book for all to read, Christian or not. It's a powerful message that the whole world needs to hear. There is hope and that hope is found in Jesus Christ.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® book review bloggers program in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Billy Graham Book

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You might not believe this, but this is the first Billy Graham book I have ever read. My dad is an avid supporter of Billy Graham, and that has caused me to wish to avoid his writings. However, I cannot deny that for longer than I have been alive, Billy Graham has been an evangelist who has touched more people than I can even conceive. Even I rededicated my life at a Billy Graham crusade back when I was eight. Many would question my use of terms, but I was saved. As my mom describes it, "there was not turning back" when I went forward at that crusade.
As I read this book, I was amazed at how sharp this 95-year-old man of God is. He is well aware of everything going on in pop culture, and he is probably much more well-read than me. His stories were sometimes poignant and humorous, but they always resonated with his message. This book is easy to read, but it can certainly change your life.
What struck me the most was that Billy Graham's message is not just for the unbelievers. This is a book for all, no matter where you find yourself on the faith continuum. I was inspired, and I can hardly wait to gift this to my dad. I sincerely hope that my dad sits down and read this book. It is a book I would heartily recommend to all.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bgee
Location:Austin, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can tell that Billy Graham wrote this from his heart and soul for his love of God and people. Very interesting and honest- Faithful to the Truth of the Holy Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly a man of God, be blessed and read it

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rev. Billy Graham speaks in a way to reach all people. What a blessing he is to the world. He has delivered his message once again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mr. Graham explains salvation so very well.

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teresa
Location:Buchanan, North Dakota
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr. Graham explains salvation so very well using scripture and many personal stories which speaks to people very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
savvyshoppingmomma
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Reason for My Hope: Salvation" is a book by Billy Graham, published by Thomas Nelson Publishers. In this book, the 95 year old evangelist gives us an in-depth look at the topic of salvation. Consisting of eight simple chapters, "The Reason for My Hope: Salvation" discusses the need for salvation for everyone.
Billy Graham uses verses from Scripture, combined with a knowledgeable explanation of the verses and meaning, to illustrate his points. Tying in some stories of events in the news, personal antecdotes, and stories from the Bible, Graham makes the case for salvation easily. The book itself is not as long as others, only 185 pages. The topics and way the chapters are broken down into smaller subsections makes it easy to read in many sittings.
Overall I would give this book a 5/5. Billy Graham uses his many years of pastoral experience to speak right to the heart of man, sharing a message of hope in God. I would recommend this book to anyone - really this is a book that anyone could read and enjoy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Reason for My Hope: Salvation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

billy grahams last book

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
storms
Location:tampa florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"the reason for my hope salvation" will be billy grahams last book and will truly be a blessing. it will be a great inspirational classic that will be good for wed night bible studys or great to deepen ones faith or lighten the storms that one has on their shoulders. this will be a great gift for someone special .
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.