Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook

Thomas Nelson You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.852 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 27100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Review 1 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Prairieville, La
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book. I have been going through a tough time. This book has really helped me to realize that I will get through this with God's help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helped me and my son as we both go through cancer

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Murrieta ,Ca.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max Lucado is his usual humorous yet deeply spiritual,
informative and encouraging best.
A foundational truth is always the basis of his works
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Max is always good

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ivysew
Location:Mt Olive, Il
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not read all of the book yet, but Max is my favorite author and this book is no exception to his quality work. It answers many of the questions we are asked about why things go bad, why we feel lousy etc. But the part that gives me courage is how he makes me feel it is ok to feel bad and that I can give God's message even when I am not in a mountaintop place. I know this book will give comfort to many people and also guide Christian leaders to a deeper handling of those who grieve, depressed, and facing hard times
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is great.

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tiger483
Location:Bradenton, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book as a Christmas present for a friend. My bible study class has been studying this book for the past several weeks. We have learned through our study that this book is not only relevant to our lives today, but it has also helped us to understand the meaning(s) of things that have happened in the past.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent gift..

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Linn
Location:Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not too many pages or insultingly large/thick for people in acute times of their lives.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lindy13
Location:Miami, FL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I gave this book to a co-worker and she loved it and said she bought it for her family. She said it was really great. I will read it soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You'll Get Through This by Max Lucado

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grace
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was very encouraging and depicted different aspects of Joseph’s journey. Max presented the trials of Joseph and how, despite their evil, God used them for good. God doesn’t cause bad things to happen but yet, he can derive good from amidst them. Lucado emphasizes that God has a plan for our lives and will let this plan take place despite our struggles and challenges. God can use these challenges to develop our character and give us traits of patience, forgiveness, understanding, and compassion. Joseph’s story is a powerful one. A story of animosity, betrayal, dishonesty, loyalty, temptation, endurance, patience, forgiveness, and most of all, love. Lucado succeeded again by included personal accounts relatable to Joseph’s story, biblical references, and interesting/unique perspectives. I would definitely recommend this book to those searching for answers in their struggles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God turns everything to His Good!

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josh Phelps
Location:Winchester, Ky
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever gone through something that puts you so far down you don’t think things can ever get better? Many of us, if not all, have gone through things or know people that have gone through things. In his book, You'll Get Through This, Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times Max Lucado talks about how God can use anything to His glory.
You’ll get through this. It won’t be painless. It won’t be quick. But God will use this mess for good. Don’t be foolish or naïve. But don’t despair either. With God’s help, you’ll get through this. You fear you won't make it through. We all do. We fear that the depression will never lift, the yelling will never stop, the pain will never leave. In the pits, surrounded by steep walls and aching reminders, we wonder: Will this gray sky ever brighten? This load ever lighten?
This excerpt from the book helps to show that things aren’t always easy or quick, but in the end if you hold fast to God and who he really is you can and will make it through.
This book is great, having been through some things in my life and seeing where I am today I would recommend this book to everyone. Not just those that are going through some things but for anyone. We will all be put in a situation, our own or a friends, where these words will come in handy.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You’ll get through this is Max Lucado’s latest offering and is a book that is written to help us get through the hardships of life. It offers hope to those that are in the mist of darkness that sometimes seems to be our constant companion. Within these pages we are taken on a journey through the life of Joseph and how the things that he went through we can relate to today. Been thrown under the bus by family? Joseph was. Been falsely accused of something? Joseph bought that t-shirt also. But while it seems that God is sometimes silent, he is always working behind the scenes to bring about good in our lives.
Some of my favorite chapters were:
Stupid wont’ fix stupid.
Is God Good When Life Isn’t?
Keep calm and carry on.
As always, Mr. Lucado uses his extraordinary storytelling to convey his idea's along with numerous true stories to bring home his point. I sure that people will read this book because of the tough times we are experiencing, but really this is a book for anytime and not just for Christians. I believe that this could be an excellent book to give to a non-Christians that are maybe looking for answers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Service

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jo Brown
Location:Dalton, Ga
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is wonderful, but aren't all of Max Lucados books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Encouraging

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
reds
Location:NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max Lucado intertwines the Bible story of Joseph with real life situations which I found excellent. This book is encouraging no matter what situation in life you are facing right now. Excellent - plan to re-read this one for sure!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Max Lucado being Max Lucado

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
YMinister1204
Location:Athens, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You'll Get Through This by Max Lucado is another Lucado book cut from the similar cloth as many of his other efforts. Lucado has firmly entrenched himself in the same vein as a Joel Osteen or even Rick Warren in the idea that they attempt to reach the largest audience with the most generic of messages. If that is what you are looking for on the topic of daily attitude, then this book is a perfect addition to your collection. If you are looking for something with more meat and more of a challenge, then you will need to look elsewhere. With that being said, this truly is a good book concerning the idea of making it through this life with your sanity (somewhat) in place. One quote that really stuck with me was on page 87, "Let the composer complete his symphony. The forecast is simple. Good days. Bad days. But God is in all days. He is the Lord of the famine and the feast, and he uses both to accomplish his will." That quote sums up the gist of this book. A good read for those struggling with hard times.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book for Bible Study!

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bell
Location:Navasota, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Bible Study group has truly been enjoying this book! What a great springboard for some good, indepth conversations about real life problems and solutions. We all need to be reminded in those times of trouble that God is right there with us, seeing us through! What a gift! Love, love, love Max Lucado and how he uses the gifts God gave him to reach out to others and bring them back to Jesus!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a help when life gets rough

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
the ark
Location:acworth, georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a book that provides help and guidance for the tough times
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anniebell
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book for people walking through difficult times or have had a grief/loss in the past. Quick read, but contains life changing concepts that are easily adapted to life situations. I reccomend this book to ALL hurting people. God wants us healed/whole. Blessings!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love anything by Max but this book was so on time

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thing One
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you find yourself falling into despair, read this book. it is a book full of hope and reassurance that God sees us! He really does! He knows! He really does! thanks to Max for such a blessing of a book. He is one of my top five authors and I read a lot - mostly non-fiction Christian so....he's just good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
weince
Location:Columbia, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was typical Lucado. On the money......everyone will need this at some time in their life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You'll Get Through This: Hope And Help For Your Turbulent Times, written by Max Lucado, is a book that helps it reader understand that trials and tribulations can be overcome and utilized for growth.
To all of our lives, adversity will arrive. While life would be better without trials, difficulties and/or trials are an ever present part of our existence upon this earth. But these moments do not have to take over our lives, our thinking, or drastically alter the paths in which we are walking. In this publication, Max looks at some of these difficult moments of life and shares examples of how God can use them for His glory and the strengthening of our faith.
For its Biblical inspiration, this publication focuses on the difficulties in the life of Joseph. Being sold into slavery by his older brothers, wrongfully imprisoned in Egypt, forgotten, scorned, and mistreated, makes Joseph’s story the perfect example of how God can utilize the difficulties of life and use them for our good and His glory.
The impact of this publication cannot be overstated. Thus it is a recommended purchase/read for anyone who has or is currently walking through one of life's struggles.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Location:indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times by Max Lucado
Summary: Sometimes the challenges of life threaten to overwhelm us. We wonder how we'll carry on after the day the bottom dropped out. For you, it may have been the day of a financial crisis, a bad diagnosis, an accident, or you were served divorce papers by your spouse. Whatever it was, you knew your life was going to change dramatically, and it didn't seem like it was for the better.
In You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times, Max Lucado encourages readers through sharing the Biblical story of Joseph. Stripped of his identity, thrown into a pit and sold as a slave, his was a story of defeat and challenges, but as time passed God worked through his circumstances to bring redemption and reconciliation. And although it may seem hard to believe, you will get through this too.
The story of Joseph's life didn't end in the pit and neither does yours.
Reaction: I have always loved the writing style of Max Lucado, and this book did not disappoint me. I found myself comparing my struggles with those that Joseph endured and seeing how it is that God can work through these times and make absolute good come out of it. Faith isn’t an assurance that we won’t face troubles, but is a promise to help us through them. We can only dig deep into the source of strength that we have as believers and know that God is ultimately in control of all situations. I need more than wishful thinking to help me face struggles that threaten to overwhelm me, this book provides me with that. I appreciate Max Lucado’s candor as he reveals his own turbulent times and how God used them for good.
I reviewed this book as part of the Booksneeze blogger program.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for You'll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought-provoking book.

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bernadette
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lucado is a wonderful writer, very clear. His examples are concise and are always conducive to the points he is making. I found it very helpful and true to many of my experiences, as if the writer was talking to me personally. That is the mark of a good writer. i think many readers may have that reaction in reading this and so it serves its purpose. There is section at the back of the book, with questions to reflect upon that are based on information given in each chapter. It allows you to explore this journey once again and delve deeper. Definitely worth the read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>