Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook

Thomas Nelson Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Review 1 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Women Living Well by Courtney Jospeh

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Breanne
Women Living Well by Courtney Joseph is a book written to encourage and inspire Christian wives and mothers to evaluate their lifestyles and walk more closely with Jesus. This book is full of biblical advice and practical ideas for helping women develop better relationships with God, their husband, and their children. Courtney covers topics such as: connecting with God amidst the distractions of our lives, marriage, parenting, and homemaking. Furthermore, she addresses the effects of the media revolution and how that impacts various areas of our lives. Essentially, Courtney leads by personal example and calls women to live well in all areas of their life.
I found this book to be refreshing and inspiring as I grapple with being a woman in the digital age. Courtney writes with a warm and wise approach as if she is talking to a friend. In an increasingly busy world she encourages me to simplify my life and spend time with the people who really matter and do the things that have lasting significance. She has challenged my perspective and helped me cultivate a more peaceful home and lifestyle. I couldn't put this book down and I highly recommend it to all women striving to grow in their walk with the Lord and embrace biblical womanhood in today's culture.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes a great gift!

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
TonyaTells
Location:Goldendale, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Women desire to live well. However, living well in this modern world is a challenge.The pace of life, along with the new front porch of social media, has changed the landscape of our lives.Women have been told for far too long that being on the go and accumulating more things will make their lives full.As a result, we grasp for the wrong things in life and come up empty.
God created us to walk with him; to know him and to be loved by him.He is our living well and when we drink from the water he continually provides, it will change us.Our marriages, our parenting, and our homemaking will be transformed.
Mommy-blogger Courtney Joseph is a cheerful realist. She tackles the challenge of holding onto vintage values in a modern world, starting with the keys to protecting our walk with God. No subject is off-limits as she moves on to marriage, parenting, and household management.
Rooted in the Bible, her practical approach includes tons of tips that are perfect for busy moms, including:
Simple Solutions for Studying God s Word How to Handle Marriage, Parenting, and Homemaking in a Digital Age 10 Steps to Completing Your Husband Dealing With Disappointed Expectations in Motherhood Creating Routines that Bring Rest Pursuing the Discipline and Diligence of the Proverbs 31 Woman
There is nothing more important than fostering your faith, building your marriage, training your children, and creating a haven for your family. "Women Living Well" is a clear and personal guide to making the most of these precious responsibilities.
-- I was so excited to hear that Courtney was coming out with a book. Her blog and everything else she has been involved in has been such a blessing to me. This book is totally for women who want to become all that God created us and wants us to be.
She is currently doing a bible study with this book, so glad my review is timely. I had to read and re-read it, I just gleaned so much information from each page. I love how she says we are all busy with the ipad, iphone but are we listening to the great I AM?
This study is perfect for small groups, you will be blessed no matter if you read it by yourself or with a group though!
I received a copy of this book, in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed the fresh perspective of the book and high

Date:November 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Suncoast Momma
Location:Tampa Bay, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Courtney Joseph of Women Living Well and Good Morning Girls is the author of Women Living Well, Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home. (Disclaimer: I received this book as a review copy.)
The social media changes of our lifetime have transformed the landscape of the lives of mothers, yet God’s principles remain timeless. Women Living Well is an encouragement to mothers to find the time in their too-busy lives to make the time to walk with the King. The book is divided into four parts.
Part One – Your Walk With the King
I loved this section and read through it quickly. It reminds the reader to take the time to slow down to connect with God and offers practical ideas to have a more meaningful quiet time with God. The last section discusses the effects of the media revolution on our lives and offers many helpful tips on using social media time wisely. (Lessons I wish I knew years ago!)
Part Two – Your Marriage
Women Living Well opens with a narrative from Courtney Joseph’s experience on the Rachel Ray show which she felt did not go well. I have to admit wanting to throw down my iPad a few times while reading this section. My marriage is more egalitarian leaning and I disagreed with a few of her points but she is very gracious in stating that her and her husband have taken traditional roles in their home as this is what works for them. No matter whether our views are complementarian or egalitarian, we can all continue to learn to love and respect our husbands more, whether we are newlyweds or married for years.
Part Three – Your Parenting
Courtney shares timeless biblical truths about parenting interweaved with her own story. As with the preceding chapters, she offers practical tips as well as discussing the impact of the media revolution in the lives of our children. She is gracious in discussing the various educational options to consider.
Part Four – Your Homemaking
Practical ideas for juggling homemaking, ministry and work are offered here, as well as tips for bringing peace to your home and discussing the impact of media on our households.
I thought I had burned out on the topics of the Proverbs 31 Woman, homemaking and parenting topics but I enjoyed the fresh perspective of this book and highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A woman's guide to vintage faith in a modern world

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Courtney Joseph is a graduate of the Moody Bible Institute with a degree in Evangelism and Discipleship. Courtney’s passion and sincerity has made her a leader in the Christian blogging community; and she has been featured on the nationally syndicated television program, The Rachael Ray Show. Her most recent book Women Living Well offers her advice in maintaining "vintage values in a modern world."
Courtney's book is at first a Christian testimony of a stay at home Mom who also happens to be a popular blogger. In her book she tackles all of the issues a woman in the "modern world" might face: educating your kids, being a Mom, taking care of the home, finding a little quiet time for yourself, being a good wife and all the while maintaining a relationship with God.
Through each chapter Courtney shares her life, bares her soul and tells stories that are both relational and real. And in truth, her life won't look like yours - there will be some things that she talks about that you might not have much to relate to - and that's ok. At no point is Courtney offering you a "step-by-step" guide or a "how-to" to be the perfect Woman Living Well. Rather her thesis would be that we follow the principles laid out in the scriptures - and use the bible as our guide.
This book is not very big and is a quick and easy read. Courtney obviously has a lot of experience writing and so her voice is very easy to follow.
Thank you to Thomas Nelson for this review copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristin
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recieved a free copy of this book to review and I was so pleased with the book. The tag line of the book pretty much sums up what it is about” ” Finding Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids and Your Home”. I loved the down to earth style that Courtney wrote the book with, it felt more like talking to an old friend than reading a how to book. The content of the book was very relevant and really focussed on how putting God first will help you put all of your priorities in order. She talks about how as women it is no longer “the norm” to live a set apart life that focuses on our faith and our family, and about the criticism that she has received for choosing to play a traditional role in her family. I love even the way that she orders the topics in her book, talking first about our relationship with God as the very most important thing and following that with chapters on marriage, and then family, and ending with chapters about making our house a home. She does a great job of communicating what our priorities as Christian women need to be, and giving her own insights on how to keep those priorities straight in day to day life. I would definitely recommend this book for the wife and mom who is feeling like she needs some help balancing and putting her priorities in order in her day to day life. It was very helpful and very encouraging.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great advice for stay-at-home and work-at-home mom

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Most women, if they are honest, struggle with balancing their spiritual walk, their marriage, their kids and everything else and keeping a check on their priorities. Fifty years ago, women didn't have as many distractions as we have today. Television, telephones, computers, Facebook, and that's just the technology distractions. Add the stress of working outside the home and the kids' extra-curricular activities and there is precious little time to do the important stuff like cooking, cleaning, laundry and quiet time with God and quality time with your spouse and children.
Courtney Joseph, author of "Women Living Well", shares fresh ways to hold on to the family values that existed before technology and the media got involved. It requires intentionality, focus, purpose and strategy. It means giving up the world's view of what a woman's life should be and taking on a biblical view of womanhood. It won't make you popular, but it will bring you joy and contentment.
Most of the concepts Courtney outlines in her book are common sense. We've heard it before, but now we are listening to the wisdom of someone who is living it--someone who is not afraid of sharing what doesn't work as much as what does.
If you are a stay-at-home or work-at-home mom, you will find most, if not all, of Courtney's book helpful and easy to follow. However, if you work outside of the home, you won't find a chapter on how to balance the priorities of motherhood and marriage while working 8 hours a day outside of the homeplace. She glorifies the stay-at-home/work-at-home mom which is fine for her. It is a choice of many families, but some mothers are working full-time out of necessity rather than desire. If you are one of these women, you will find the first three parts helpful, but the final section on home-making will probably be out of your reach.
Courtney's main objective is for wives to check their priorities against those God has given in His Word and see where we can improve. God may ask us to do some pretty tough things, but Courtney assures us that obedience and submission will increase our joy and we will find contentment in a world that is constantly begging us to live with discontentment and stress.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from BookSneeze, as part of Thomas Nelson Publishers' Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris Bush
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is literally the BEST book I have ever read that literally applied to my life in exact place that I am in. I love that its not just about homemaking, or just about marriage, or just about parenting, or just about marriage. It is a combination of all three along with a challenge/devotional aimed at improving our marriages. I love that Courtney does not abandon her blog fan base, I faithfully read her blog and participate in Good Morning Girls. So to have this book is pretty darn amazing to me! I have already benefited from it and I plan on rereading it again but a bit more slowly.
FYI: I received my copy of this book as part of the book launch team as well as part of the booksneeze program. This is my HONEST opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource for Christian Women

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ccdova
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is just so. darn. encouraging!
Some books by Christian writers (especially women, I'm really sad to admit), come off a little well, "preachy." If you're still reading, I'm sure you know the type - when every chapter makes you a little more depressed than the last, before you finally finish and tuck it away on the shelf, feeling like a terrible wife/mom/sister/friend/employee/church-member/Christian-who-just-doesn't-have-it-all-together.
In this book, Courtney presents solid Biblical truths about wifehood/motherhood/keeper-of-the-home-hood and is completely transparent and honest about how hard it is to live up to them. Her encouraging tones comes across more "trusted confidant" than "holier-than-thou preacher."
Don't believe me? Try these quotes on for size:
"Mothering is an intense, around-th-clock job, and solitude is not something that just happens by chance. We have to create it."
(p. 8)
"'Lord, help ... I just need help.' Tears bubble under the surface. No more words need to be said. The Spirit understands what words cannot express."
(p. 26)
"It's the daily love of listening, forgiving, caring, respecting, and being sensitive to the other person that builds a great marriage. If you get to go out on a date night - that's the cherry on top!"
(p. 78)
"Parenting is hands-down the hardest thing I have ever done in my life. It has been the ultimate sanctifier for me. God has used it to humble me and keep me on my knees."
(p. 135)
"Rejoice in your uniqueness. Have fun being you! Delight in your individuality!"
(p. 196)
The book covers four important areas, vital to all women who want to live well:
1. Our "walk with the King" (our relationship with God)
2. Marriage (relationships with our spouses)
3. Parenting (relationships with our kids)
4. Home (how we build our nests)
I loved this book and highly recommend it to all women who want to live well!
Note: As part of Courtney's launch team, I received an advance PDF copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST HAVE BOOK!!

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this awesome blog maybe almost 2 years ago. I really enjoy her thoughts on being a wife, a mom, and just being a woman of God. When I knew she was writing a book, I knew it would have to be one that I would need to read and hold tight to. I was like a kid on Christmas morning when it finally arrived! I love how the book is set up. I love how she throws in just the right verse to meditate on, and hopefully for us to memorize. Not only does the book encourage but she challenges you to think about your life, how you view things, and how you react to things. The way she will add stories from her own life really add to the book. If you are looking for a book to inspired you to be the person God called you to be, not as the world expects it, you will not be disappointed by getting this book!
Her description on the front really sums up the book, “Finding your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home.” I really plan to keep this book handy to read and to give as gifts. Thank you Courtney for stopping and writing a book! Also, thank you Nelson Books and the Booksneeze program for gifting me this book for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome read for all women!

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Cuppa of Joy
Location:Quebec, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Courtney Joseph is a woman who has been an encouragement to so many women, wives and moms through her ministry and blog. In October of 2013, she released a new book, Women Living Well ,that bring the wisdom, encouragement and openness of a godly woman who daily strives to Walk With the King to print. Through the pages, Courtney walks with her readers on a journey to finding joy in God, their relationships, their family, their children and their homes.
"Living well in this modern world is a challenge. Increased responsibilities, kids' activities, and the new front porch of social media have changed the landscape of our lives. Women have been told for far too long that being on the go and accumulating more things will make our lives full. As a result we grasp for the wrong things in life and come up empty."- Courtney Joseph
Each chapter brings biblical perspectives and insights into God's view of women. There are so many voices in our culture sharing their own opinions on the role of women. But, Courtney puts aside the noise and takes the reader on a journey through the pages of scripture to see God's viewpoint. I promise you'll walk away encouraged!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ways to Walk with The King!

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
RevDrReBecca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This is an amazing book that captures the importance, worth, value and depth that a woman offers in this world. The influence that every woman possesses is captured eloquently as she speaks intelligently and emotionally to how we impact this world and the ones we love daily as we choose to walk with the King every step of the way. This is a book written by someone knowledgeable in the Word and offers a step by step guide on how to walk with the King while we walk on this Earth. If you are newly married, young or elderly, homeschooling or not; this is a book on how to help YOU walk with the King! I’ve already began buying copies for friends, women in my ministry and one for own my daughter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa Muck
Location:Reno, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read book. She will speak directly to your heart. You will feel as if she was sitting on your couch sharing a cup of coffee with you! She loves her family, home and God! Her books will teach you with loving words and you will feel encouraged as you read. This book holds a special place in my heart as well as my home...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Call to Return to Biblical Principles

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
my blessed life
Location:Hopkinsville, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Women Living Well is one of the most inspiring, convicting, encouraging, and challenging books that I've read in quite a while. I am very happy to share with you about it and recommend it to you.
The subtitle of Courtney's book, 'Finding Your Joy in God, Your man, Your Kids, and Your Home', gives a peek into the topics addressed in this book. Women Living Well is divided into four parts: 1.) your walk with the King, 2.) your marriage, 3.) your parenting, and 4.) your homemaking.
Courtney shares some wonderful, practical advice on carving out time in your day to spend with God. She makes some wonderful points on keeping the social media monster at bay in our lives, and particularly encourages us as women to connect with other women along this journey. It's incredibly important to have a support group (or even a support person) on this journey called life and having someone like-minded in faith is even more important.
The first section of this book is only the beginning of many nuggets of wisdom and principles from God's Word that Courtney reminds us of and shares with us. And I hope that you will be encouraged to grab a copy for yourself and the women in your lives. I believe if more women followed such godly wisdom our families, nation, and our world would be an incredibly better place.
Women have bought into so many lies and they are destroying our culture from within. A return to what God desires for us brings so much freedom and joy and fulfillment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Women Living Well***A must read for all believers!

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a new believer...I just recently gave my life to Christ several months ago, and I have been following the Women Living Well blog. So when I found out Courtney Joseph was writing a book I had to have it! This book is a breath of fresh air! She gives encouraging words that uplifted me and helped me on my journey with God. She helps in so many areas of this life we are living on Earth. Courtney shows that she is an ordinary woman just like us, living this busy life that we have, but fully putting God first in everything! And she helps us do the same thing! The book gives practical tips on how to accomplish this! This book is a must read. I have recommended to many friends. You will not be disappointed when you read this book!
I received an advance copy of this book for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging, Practical, Pointing us to Christ

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to dive into Courtney Joseph’s new book -- Women Living Well. And with a subtitle of “Finding Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home”, I suspect most Christ-following women will be interested in what is shared and how she shares. Not everything she does you will want to do, not every tip you will utilize...but you can tell that she has a heart for God and for helping us to grow - closer to God and our family. Also, it’s very encouraging to see the influence her mom was in her life growing up, because we as moms all desire to leave a legacy!
Women Living Well is split into four sections, which are mentioned in the subtitle. Here are just a few great quotes from each area...
**Our relationship with God: “I learned that I could not throw in the towel when the hike with God got tough. It was this duty of listening to God’s voice in His Word and prayer that maintained my daily life. Time with God was as crucial to me as breathing.”
**Our marriage: “Let go of your expectations, remain steadfastly faithful to your marriage vows, and remember that you married a sinner who needs grace--the same grace Christ gave us at the cross.”
**Our parenting: “I had to learn to strive for progress, not perfection, and to focus on the character traits that I wanted to see in my children rather than on the negative things they sometimes did.”... “Dear mamas, do not lose heart. Do not grow weary of doing good (Gal. 6:9). We are raising the next generation, and we can’t do it alone, We need to daily be on our knees in prayer, not just for our husband and children, but for ourselves!”
**Our homemaking: “God does not base your worthiness of His love on the cleanliness of your home. We stand before God justified by the blood of Jesus! But I want to encourage you, do not grow weary in your mundane tasks. Mundane tasks are the hidden treasure to creating a home that is a haven.”
Courtney Joseph shares some of her ups and downs, but always points us to God’s truth! She also reminds us (and I believe this is a VERY important element of this book) that all these areas of our lives will look different from each other’s because we are all individuals who are married to their own husband and raising unique kids in varying home situations. Her emphasis throughout is that God is our living well and filling up with Him daily and purposefully will transform our marriages, our parenting and our home management. What a clear and encouraging message she shares through out Women Living Well!! Read it with a highlighter and then make it personal -- apply God’s truth shared in her practical tips, lots of very practical tips!
More about the author... “... After over a decade of leading women’s Bible studies, mentorships and workshops in her local church, she decided to move her ministry on-line at WomenLivingWell.org and WomenLivingWell.TV. Courtney’s desire is to see women living well through discipleship in God’s Word. ... This led her to co-found the rapidly growing, on-line Bible study community at GoodMorningGirls.org.  There thousands of women globally, join together daily, to dig into their Bibles through on-line devotionals, videos, free Bible reading plans and tech-based accountability groups.” --from her “About Me” link on her website
Disclosure: I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group’s book review bloggers program, BookSneeze. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
I also received an ebook since I was a part of ithe launch team for this book. I was familiar with Courtney Joseph through her websites, especially Good Morning Girls and the Bible studies available there (my kids and I LOVED the last Christmas one!). I looked forward to getting an advanced glimpse at her new book, however I still reviewed this book as I would any other --with honesty and grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Head knowledge and Heart knowledge

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy W
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Courtney pours out her heart in this book with a book on how a woman should live for Jesus. There's no manual, and many times there's not a mother or a mentor that can show us what we should be doing. Thank you Courtney for writing this book. I feel like I am on track with some things and need to kick it up a notch in other areas. I own a hard copy and digital!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Walk with the King and the King will walk with you

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Women Living Well, Finding Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home by Courtney Joseph
I had the honor of receiving an copy of this great book, from the author of a blog I follow and a group I take part in. Courtney Joseph founded the blog, WomenLivingWell.org in 2008 and the went on to create Good Morning Girls. Good morning Girls exists to inspire, encourage and equip women all over the world to get into God’s Word through an online communities. Bible studies, resources and videos were created for women to use free of charge. In my opinion her book Women Living Well, Finding Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home is the child born from both sites. In this book she shows Christians women, wives and mothers how to live the life Christ created us to live. You will find a combination of parenting advice, marriage advice and Bible study all rolled into one. She shows how today’s women are faced with many challenges of being so busy that we often push aside the most important. Courtney will give you the guidance to live like a Proverbs 31 women described in the Bible. Her ideas and advice is easy to follow and tailor to your own needs. This book will give you the encouragement to live in a Biblical way following Christ, expressing yourself, honoring your husband and walking with the King. This is a great book to help each of us live well as wives, mothers and women. I especially loved how she backed everything she taught with scripture. In each chapter you will find a how to, how to respect your husband, how to change the atmosphere of your home, how to use peace-filled words, how do we get the eagerness of the Proverbs 31 woman, and one of my favorites the how to of bubble bath basics. I would like to thank the author Courtney Joseph for taking the step of faith and writing this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, encouraging, inspiring read.

Date:September 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the immense pleasure and privilege of being on the launch team for Courtney Joseph's new book, Women Living Well. It is a wonderful book, filled with encouragement and practical tips and ideas on how to live a God centered life. She talks about how to take pleasure in the roles that God has give you to fill.One part that really spoke to me, in particular, was how she talked about praying while she did regular, ordinary tasks.
She talked about using those moments to pray for her family and/or to thank God for those things. For instance, when she was making her husband's side of the bed, she would pray for him and thank God for giving her a husband. When she washed the laundry, she would thank God for having clothes to wash. This really struck me. I recently had my fifth child only a little over a year after having my fourth so we were still technically adjusting to four children when the fifth came along. I had been struggling with so much to pick up and do with a year and half old son and an infant son. After reading this in her book, it opened my eyes. I was walking from our dining room into our family room and noticed a toy train on the floor. At first, I immediately had a bad attitude and thought about the five other people that had stepped over this train without picking it up. Then I thought about how my son loved playing with that train, and how if he wasn't around I wouldn't have a train to pick up. I picked up the train and thanked God for giving me that son who left trains and other toys all over my house. I thanked God for giving me him to love and to teach me how to love. I noticed that my attitude towards my household tasks changed after that. I still had times where I was tired and frustrated but they were less and less. I enjoyed taking care of my family in this way because I enjoy my family and I'm so thankful God gave them to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Christian Book for Women of today!

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristen Engelman
Location:Colorado, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Women Living Well, great title huh?! I know as a Christian Wife & Mother I want to live well. I want to live fully within God, wholly within my marriage, and beautifully in motherhood. I strive everyday to do my best here on Earth, and leave a mark on each day that I was given by my wonderful Heavenly Father.
One of my biggest obstacles as a woman in general is all the other women out there that make me feel oh so small. I see all these women who do a million and one things each day, cook all meals from scratch, look like they’ve never had children, have according to them faultless husbands, are well known within their church, have the straight A students, and at the end of the day just look miserable. I think about the mind battles they like me face each day. We as women in today’s world are told that its not possible to stay home and raise or even school our children, being a homemaker makes you the goody two shoes type, old fashioned. Does it make you that stereotype or does it make you a Woman of God?...
Within the pages of Women Living Well, Courtney expresses some hard topics that we as women face on a day to day basis. She opens up about her own life and choices and completely shares Jesus on every page.
I have followed the Women Living Well Blog for a few years now and never leave there discouraged, I feel uplifted, cared for, and fed by the words from that blog and now the words within the book.
Courtney is a wonderful woman who loves God, her husband, and her children more than life itself. She is strives each day to do the best she can and keep those old fashioned values that she learned growing up, if more women today put more effort in the old fashioned than the modern the world would be a little better.
I recommend this book to any woman out there, if your single, engaged, married, etc, please get a copy and really sink into the book and there is so much value within the pages and so much good for the heart!
Thank you Courtney for being a Real Woman who is not afraid to keep those old fashioned values, express your love freely, and be the wonderful woman of God you are. You have really touched my life and helped me become a better woman in my own walk within life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women Living Well: Find Your Joy in God, Your Man, Your Kids, and Your Home - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great encouragement for women...

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have followed Courtney on her blog for a while now and have watched as her platform and ministry has grown. This book is an extension of that. She brings up some great points and puts things in an easy to understand way.
I enjoy how personable she is, and the practical tips she gives for certain things like honoring marriage in the midst of today's media, etc. I really appreciate the real life stories that she shares to drive home her point.
One caveat is that she talks about a picture-perfect childhood with strong, loving, godly parents, and a blessed marriage in which her husband shares her faith and honors and values their marriage as much as she does. While her life isn't perfect, I think many of the things she encourages women to do are easier for her than for them, simply because of the blessed life she leads. For this reason, I think it would have been nice to hear other viewpoints in the book from women who have served God with their lives in those more difficult situations. Because, I agree that the Bible calls us to act in a certain way, but I think sometimes it can be difficult to hear those things from someone who hasn't had to do them herself.
However, in spite of that, I think this is a very encouraging and inspiring book for many Christian women.
I received an advance copy from the publisher for review. I was not required to submit a positive review and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>