Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook

Thomas Nelson Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Review 1 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun Read

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anna Byler's is raised by her grandparents. In her opinion they are the best grandparents ever. Although to the young men that would like to invite her to the singing are give her a ride in their buggy her grandfather is unapproachable on the subject. Anna is totally ignorant of the young men's problem with her grandfather. That is until she overhears them talking about this very thing. She gave them a good tongue lashing and informed them they were wrong. To her disappointment they were right. On top of this other people in their Amish community had problems with her grandfather being so strict when it came to the Old Order Ways of the Amish. You see her grandfather is the Bishop for their Amish Community.
Anna even found out her grandmother was hiding things from her grandfather. So, why is he being so strict? Doesn't he know he is alienating himself from the community?
When Jacob Hosetler moves to Paradise he is determined to change the Bishop's mind and court Anna. With Anna, her grandmother and Jacob taking a stand to change the Bishop's strict ways they find they may have gotten in deeper than they ever expected. The Bishop is determined to stand his ground.
This was a fun read. So much love in this family but the author has managed to create in them a very dysfunctional family. She shows how seeds of deceit can tear not only a family apart but the whole community. A tender loving man yet hard as a rock when it came to Old Order Ways. The character of the grandmother was so sweet yet she had a compulsive disorder. The author has a wonderful and humorous imagination when it comes to creating her characters.
I wonder if we can see any of ourselves in any of these characters. Like the seamstress that hoards fabric or the person that is obsessed with shoes. I must admit I do see myself in that I can not have enough books. So you leave know wiggle room when it comes to the rules of house or church?
I gladly recommend this book.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Booksneeze/Thomas Nelson for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anna loves the grandfather who raised her, but his strict adherence to the Ordnung is scaring away any boy who might be interested in her—except newcomer Jacob.
In normal circumstances Anna Byler would have her choice of any of the young men in her Amish community. But because of the strict rules enforced by her grandfather, the bishop, the available suitors are afraid to court her. Then handsome Jacob Hostetler moves to Paradise and decides Anna is worth the challenge.
Anna sees that the bishop’s legalism is dividing the community and risking the lives of its members—but her grandfather doesn't. When she is forced to deception in order to pursue her dream of marriage and family with Jacob, Anna feels her own faith slipping. If only she could get her grandmother to help her stand up to the bishop. But Mammi is keeping secrets of her own.
Anna wants to honor her grandparents, the two most important people in her life, but her heart is divided by the rules that guide their little Amish community and the growing love she has for Jacob. How can she be true to both?
My Review:
Legalism in the church setting I am all - too familiar with, so I have a whole lot of an opinion with this novel! Anna's desire to please and honor her grandparents, while being forced to be deceptive in order to pursue romantic possibilities, is also a theme I have personal experience with, so naturally, I loved this book.
That being said, Wiseman creates a story full of likable, believable characters; complete with situations that are true to life (I've been there, done that!) and weaved a story of love, forgiveness, hope, despair, acceptance, rejection and second chances. It's a fine line that's drawn when a family forbids a relationship, yet the individual feels it's the right one. It doesn't always work out in the end, but it is a tough call to make when you love your family yet want that other person more than life itself. Anna faces this scenario among many other mini-conflicts, and Wiseman drew me to the story from the very first page. A triumphant novel for the world of Christian Amish Fiction, and recommended for any lover of reading.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

unforgettable story of forgiveness

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth Wiseman has written a beautiful story about forgiveness and change. Anna and Jacob are in love and long to court, but Anna's grandfather, the Bishop refuses. He forbids many things from the community and won't allow them to see Dr. Noah for medical care. Jacob's family is in turmoil and the grief his father feels is cutting him off from the ones who love and need him most.
Then there is Lucy, the young woman with the Scarlet A, who longs for friendship and acceptance for her and her young son, Benjamin. Will she ever be accepted? Can she find forgiveness?
How will Jacob and Anna ever find peace to date when her grandfather remains unmovable.
You will find some delightful recipes from the story as a bonus to the incredible story.
This is a 5 Star ***** piece of work.
I received a pdf version of this book from booksneeze and the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Story!

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Larry K
Location:Northeast Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Last night I finished 'Plain Peace' and here are 5 reasons why I personally enjoyed the story....
1) This story teaches the Gospel of Forgiveness. As a Christian, I have been taught in my 31 years as a believer that forgiveness has to be a big part of our existence, for it is the core of our beliefs.
2) It really does show that the Amish are just as human as Englischers, (Non-Amish.) People in 'Plain Peace' like John Hostetler, who struggled w/ tremendous guilt. And Marianne, who has a illness that needs daily attention and hides things from her husband.
3) Humor. Beth never lets one of her novels go by without at least a little sense of humor. Ole Bishop Byler questioned at one point if sending stuff to Ebay to sell, meant sending stuff to the coast.
4) The characters used in Beth's previous Daughters of the Promise books were well spread out in 'Plain Peace' and all of them acted their same wonderful selves.
5) Prayer. So often the characters, from Lucy to Cora, expressed their dependence on the Lord, all prayer with an emphasis on healing and growing in their situation.
Thank you Beth Wiseman for once again successfully touching my heart deeply with this very creative read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book was awesome

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
teen
Location:st. louis, mo.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to read this kind of book. I love getting book that go on and on. I love your products too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't Miss This Great Read!

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read all the books in A Daughters of the Promise series I could not wait to read this book. The author did not let me down. There were issues in this book that we usually don’t read about in Amish fiction. I love that the author chose to write about problems that are real; not only in the Amish communities but in the English world too.
Sometimes people have a hard time giving up control and Bishop Byler is a perfect example. I found it both funny and sad how his wife Marianne handled her controlling husband.
A death in a family can be devastating. Some people have a hard time coming to grips with it and shut out those who love them. The results can be heart breaking and pure agony for all involved. This story is a perfect example. Can deep hurt and wounds heal?
We follow the lives of several families in this story. We learn that it is only through our faith in God that we can heal from bitterness, unforgiveness, and unwilling to forgive ourselves. How seeking the Lord through prayer and sharing our hurts with loving friends can bring us into a right relationship with God and give us plain peace.
I highly recommend this book to those reading this review. You will love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plain Peace

Date:December 18, 2013
Anna Byler lives in Paradise, Pa with her strict grandfather, who is the Bishop and her grandmother, who is keeping many secrets from him. When Anna takes a romantic interest in Jacob Hostetler, whose family is new to the area, her grandfather forbids her to be with him. Anna struggles as she wants to be with Jacob and tries to be the granddaughter she was raised to be. Jacob and his family are hiding their own secrets, hoping their past will stay back in Ohio.
Being truthful in relationships is the focus of Plain Peace. Offering forgiveness to those that have wronged us is also a theme. The main plot of the story is of Anna and Jacob's relationship but there are several other interesting subplots interwoven into the story.
Plain Peace is the sixth book in The Daughters of Promise Series. Each book in the series shows a woman discovering the meaning of faith, hope, and love as she is on her journey in the Amish community. I haven't read any other books in the series and I had no trouble understanding anything about the area or the characters in Plain Peace. As I read I met characters and their learned about stories from the previous books, it made me want to read the rest of the series to find out more about them. I really enjoyed this book. Beth Wiseman is an Amish fiction author that I always like reading.
I received a free copy of this book from BookSneeze and Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest review.
Comment Comment | Permalink
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great series!

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome series that everyone should pick up. This series was the beginning of my love of Amish fiction. I love how the family evolves but each story is so touching and inspiring. At the end of the book you will find Amish recipes that are spoken of in the book. Something one might not realize is that this series ties in with her other series the Land of Canaan. It isn’t vital or necessary to read both series, but they float back and forth as Beth Wiseman writes these 2 series together. People visit different people from the other town and some of the stories tie together. I love both series. This story is about a young girl raised by her strict grandfather who is the bishop of the area. His strictness brings forth the thoughts of deceiving family; even the bishop’s wife isn’t being totally truthful. This story brings forth once conscious of being truthful and to honor those in authority. Once again Beth Wiseman writes a great book that inspires. Thank you to the Booksneeze reading program for my honest review for this copy. Thank you also to Thomas Nelson for publishing and providing this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Marriage and Romance

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth Wiseman in her new book “Plain Peace” Book Six in the Daughters of the Promise series published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Anna Byler.
From the back cover: Anna loves the grandfather who raised her, but his strict adherence to the Ordnung is scaring away any boy who might be interested in her—except newcomer Jacob.
In normal circumstances Anna Byler would have her choice of any of the young men in her Amish community. But because of the strict rules enforced by her grandfather, the bishop, the available suitors are afraid to court her. Then handsome Jacob Hostetler moves to Paradise and decides Anna is worth the challenge.
Anna sees that the bishop’s legalism is dividing the community and risking the lives of its members—but her grandfather doesn’t. When she is forced to deception in order to pursue her dream of marriage and family with Jacob, Anna feels her own faith slipping. If only she could get her grandmother to help her stand up to the bishop. But Mammi is keeping secrets of her own.
Anna wants to honor her grandparents, the two most important people in her life, but her heart is divided by the rules that guide their little Amish community and the growing love she has for Jacob. How can she be true to both?
“Plain Peace” is all about marriage. Anna wants to get married, her grandfather, the Bishop, has strict ideas on her marriage, how keeping secrets in a marriage is harmful and what happens in a marriage when there is the death of a child. There is also a focus on secretly hoarding and how that affects people. Then there is the romance. This is a book about what is important in life: family, faith and forgiveness. Ms. Wiseman knows how to create characters that live on the page and that we get to know and love. Get ready for an interesting read that will keep you emotionally involved.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2013
Plain Peace is the sixth book in the Daughters of the Promise series. I loved this story. The characters were interesting and had some real depth to them.
Anna Byler is the granddaughter of a very strict Old Order Amish bishop. Even though she knows he can be unreasonable she has seen his love and compassion and aches when others view him wrongly. When she meets and falls in love with Jacob Hostetler, everything seems perfect. But then out of a misunderstanding, her grandfather forbids her to see Jacob again. Anna is faced with going behind his back or obeying his wishes and possibly losing Jacob. She doesn't want to end up like her grandmother who is always keeping secrets, but she feels like she has no choice.
Jacob's family has moved to Paradise to escape from the constant sadness and memories of their home in Ohio. As they all struggle to come to terms with their oldest daughter/sister dying, they begin to find some hope amidst the grief except for Jacob's father who is so fraught with grief that he barely acknowledges anyone. Then Jacob meets Anna who is everything he has ever dreamed of. How can he convince the Bishop to let him court her?
This was a very good read. The best part of the story to me was the push toward forgiveness and how important and valuable it it to everyone involved. It's so much easier to forgive someone else that it is to forgive yourself, and the author portrayed the angst of the person very realistically.
I was given this book free from Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Plain Peace by Beth Wiseman

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Anna Byler had never dated. For some reason none of the young Amish boys had never approached her and she felt inadequate. Jacob Hostetler was new in the community and Anna found herself drawn to him. When she overheard a few of the young men talking about her being unapproachable because of her strict grandfather, Bishop Byler, she was devastated. Was her grandfather really that strict? Hadn't he always had the best interests of the people in mind? Anna knew she had to do something to prove she was dateable so she asked Jacob out on a date and Anna was ecstatic when he agreed. But Anna hoped it would turn into more. She soon began to realize what others were saying. Her grandfather was all about strict rules and when she found out the magnitude of the secrets her grandmother was keeping from her grandfather she knew a change was needed. But what would it take for him to come to his senses? And would he ever agree to her seeing Jacob?
Jacob Hostetler was new to the community. His family left their old home to get a fresh start after the death of his sister, Leah. His father had withdrawn from his role of taking care of the family and kept to himself because he felt responsible and Jacob prayed this move would heal the wounds of his family and give them a new life as a family. Meeting Anna Byler was the beginning of Jacob's healing. She was the most beautiful girl he had ever seen and he could share his worries, hopes and dreams with her. He knew he wanted a life with Anna but with Bishop Byler forbidding him to see her he wasn't sure if they could ever be together. Can they change her grandfather's mind? And will his family ever be what they once were?
Plain Peace in the sixth book in the Daughters of the Promise series. While I haven't read all of the books in this series, I have read Plain Proposal and I can say, from my experience, the books only get better and better. The storyline was just great and covered a broad range of issues such as, the death of a child, diabetes and adultery. The plot was fully developed and came to a beautiful, complete ending. I felt satisfied after I finished. There were no loose ends leaving me feeling as if the story wasn't finished and I love that. I fell in love with the characters and I guarantee you will as well. This book can be read in order as a series but it can also be read as a stand alone novel. But, from what I have read so far, you will surely want to read the others and you "to be read" list will soon be growing. If you like Amish fiction with depth and a storyline that covers powerful issues you'll love this book.
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review. The opinions stated are mine and mine alone and I received no monetary compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Plain Peace by Beth Wiseman

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Monday, November 18, 2013
Plain Peace by Beth Wiseman
Beth Wiseman continues on with her Daughters of the Promise Series in her new novel Plain Peace. Set in Paradise, PA, Wiseman tells the story of Anna Byler, granddaughter of Issac Byler, the most strict bishop their Amish community has ever known. Feared by some and disliked by many, Issac doesn't have many friends and therefore neither does Anna. Suitors are afraid to even talk with her, so she has never been courted. Only Jacob Hostetler, the newcomer from Ohio, has shown an interest. Against her grandfather's wishes, Anna secretly meets with Jacob and a relationship begins. Other secrets surround the little Amish community too. Jacob's family is still hurting by a loved one's death, Anna's grandmother has secrets she is keeping from Issac and even an English woman with Amish connections from town is interwoven into Wiseman's plot. Using characters from her previous novels, Beth Wiseman sort of "ties up loose ends" with this one. The story moves along at a good pace and the English woman's story seems realistic. However, I'm not sure how believable some of the storyline involving the Amish really is. It was a good story, just probably one I wouldn't read again. I appreciate Thomas Nelson sending me a free copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
Posted by basketballorange301 at 5:58 PM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Typical Amish Fare

Date:November 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I am generally a fan of Amish fiction, and this book was a typical one for this genre. I can't really complain. The characters were strong, and the story was nice enough. The author has a familiar writing style, and it was nice to see the people relying on God when times were tough. It was intriguing to observe the way the Amish people have changed in light of our modern culture--that was my favorite part of the book.
My only complaint is that the story seemed a little too mundane. I believe that since the market is flooded with Amish literature, it is essential for authors to write Amish fiction that takes a different angle rather than relying on what has gone on before. While I will read just about any Amish fiction that is well-written, I might be hesitant to read such books from this author again unless I can be guaranteed a unique story. But if you are new to the genre, this may be exactly what you are looking for.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plain Peace, by Beth Wiseman, is the sixth book in the Daughters of the Promise series. Those who regularly read Wiseman’s novels will also recognize many characters from the Land of Canaan series. As always, it is wonderfully written and keeps one’s attention to the very end.
Anna Byler, a beautiful Amish girl, has not ever had a date. Her grandfather, the bishop, is so strict that the young men are all afraid of him. So when Jacob Hostetler arrives in Paradise with his family, she dares to ask him to take her out. They quickly fall in love, but the bishop refuses to allow their relationship. This, along with the difficulties Jacob’s family has dealing with his sister’s recent death, creates a bleak situation for the young couple. Neither is comfortable either deceiving Anna’s grandfather or remaining apart.
I enjoyed reading this novel. I especially enjoyed the secondary characters, such as Marianne, a pillar of the faith. I was also glad to follow up on Lucy’s situation, carried over from another book. This was a great read, one I would recommend to all who enjoy Amish fiction.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book By Beth~

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:Cosby, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my stars ~was I ever excited to get this book in the mail. It is the 6th book in this series by Beth Wiseman and I just love her books. She keeps you turning the pages excited to keep reading.
This book can stand along by itself ~ and if you are like me~ and have already read the other five books~ you have been waiting for this release. It is a 5 star read for sure.
Anna is our main character and has been raised by her grandparents. Her grandfather just happens to be a strict ~ legalistic bishop who scares away any suitors she may have come along. Well that is until Jacob comes to town He seems up for the challenge! She finds herself having to deceive her grandfather and hopes to get her Mammi to go along with her only to discover that her grandmother has a few secrets of her own.
She wants to obey her grandfather and be true to the church but his legalistic ways are dividing the church and the community she loves.
How can she stay true to her grandfather and the church ~yet stay true to her heart?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another WINNER from Beth Wiseman

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
high plains
Location:WY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plain Peace is a very good Amish read. It has all the romance the reader expects as well as legalisms that leave the reader thinking the Amish are not so backwoods as people seem to think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anna loves the grandfather who raised her, but his strict adherence to the Ordnung is scaring away any boy who might be interested in her—except newcomer Jacob.
In normal circumstances Anna Byler would have her choice of any of the young men in her Amish community. But because of the strict rules enforced by her grandfather, the bishop, the available suitors are afraid to court her. Then handsome Jacob Hostetler moves to Paradise and decides Anna is worth the challenge.
Anna sees that the bishop’s legalism is dividing the community and risking the lives of its members—but her grandfather doesn't. When she is forced to deception in order to pursue her dream of marriage and family with Jacob, Anna feels her own faith slipping. If only she could get her grandmother to help her stand up to the bishop. But Mammi is keeping secrets of her own.
Anna wants to honor her grandparents, the two most important people in her life, but her heart is divided by the rules that guide their little Amish community and the growing love she has for Jacob. How can she be true to both?
My Review:
Legalism in the church setting I am all - too familiar with, so I have a whole lot of an opinion with this novel! Anna's desire to please and honor her grandparents, while being forced to be deceptive in order to pursue romantic possibilities, is also a theme I have personal experience with, so naturally, I loved this book.
That being said, Wiseman creates a story full of likable, believable characters; complete with situations that are true to life (I've been there, done that!) and weaved a story of love, forgiveness, hope, despair, acceptance, rejection and second chances. It's a fine line that's drawn when a family forbids a relationship, yet the individual feels it's the right one. It doesn't always work out in the end, but it is a tough call to make when you love your family yet want that other person more than life itself. Anna faces this scenario among many other mini-conflicts, and Wiseman drew me to the story from the very first page. A triumphant novel for the world of Christian Amish Fiction, and recommended for any lover of reading.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Plain Peace, Daughters of the Promise Series #6 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plain Peace

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Beth Wiseman. Her stories are full, rich and teeming with life.
She is able to create a story full of characters, situations, life circumstances and somehow weave them all together to make a wonderful story.
This book covers the story of Anna and Jacob. I loved reading their story and watching how God brings all things together for good.
A story of faith, love, struggle and forgiveness.
A book readers will love this winter season!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.