Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Merciful Scar - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Merciful Scar - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Merciful Scar - eBook
Review 1 for The Merciful Scar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kirsten is a normal girl on the outside, but she is slowly dying on the inside. An accident in her family has broken how she sees herself, her family, and God; and the only way she feels anything at all is by carving tiny lines into her skin. Despite the physical pain that comes from such actions, the emotional pain she is suffering far outweighs a little blood she draws from time to time. Feeling guilt from the past and thinking she can do nothing to change her life, she tries in vain to ease the pain that is threatening to overwhelm and overtake her.
Now at twenty-three years old, she still fights the demons of her past. Her boyfriend of several years provides somewhat of a crutch for her, but when she discovers he is seeing her best friend, her world comes crashing down around her. She does what she knows will ease the pain - a knife, a little line, a little blood, and a little guilt eased temporally. But this time the line isn't so little, and this time someone sees her. She lands in the psych ward because it is believed she tried to kill herself.
Knowing she has gone too far this time, Kirsten takes her pastor's suggestion to go to a sheep ranch that has a treatment program for people like her. But no matter what she does or where she goes, she cannot escape from the pain and guilt of her past. Will she ever find the redeeming grace and forgiveness everyone talks about but seems to elude her? And will she ever be able to forgive herself for what she has done?
If you have ever done anything in your past that you can't forgive yourself for, you will certainly empathize with Kirsten and understand how she got to the point of cutting herself. While this book is directed more for the YA group, I think that readers of any age (not children, of course) will benefit from reading this novel. Cutting is not something that we know a lot about as a society, and unless it affects us in some way, it's one of the issues that gets swept under the rug. Forgiveness is a simple thing, freeing and liberating in nature. But forgiving yourself is the hardest thing to do sometimes, as Kirsten learns and experiences firsthand.
This book was provided by Thomas Nelson Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Merciful Scar - eBook
This review is fromThe Merciful Scar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Story of Redemption

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
aschae92
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Summary:
Kirstin’s life is complicated. Actually, it’s more than that. It hurts. She has a boyfriend who’s making her second-guess her convictions, parents for whom she can never be good enough, and constant reminders that she’s at least partly responsible for a terrible tragedy that still haunts her years after it happened. She’s overwhelmed by life, and she cuts herself. The pain distracts her from the storms in her life, while also giving her a sense of control. But then she accidentally goes too far and finds herself in a psychiatric hospital under the supervision of people who believe she’s trying to end her life. The only way out is by staying on a ranch owned by Sister Frankie, a retired nun, and helping take care of Frankie’s sheep. The ranch is home to other people weathering other unimaginable hurt. But Kirsten is on the ranch for a reason, and although her physical and emotional scars run deep, they’re not to deep to be redeemed by mercy.
My Thoughts:
The Merciful Scar is a serious story, showing readers not only Kirsten’s wounds, but the wounds of others she encounters. Kirsten deals with her pain by self-injuring. Because of this, some of the scenes made me cringe and want to cover my eyes. But Kirsten is so real that I cared about her too much to leave her in the middle of her darkest moments. Faith plays a huge role in the story, but the book is never preachy. Even if you’re like me and can’t relate to everything Kirsten goes through, I’m guessing you’ve still had moments when you felt helpless and maybe even hopeless. Maybe, like Kirsten, your scars run deep. This book shows that, yes, life can be inexplicably hard, but like Sister Frankie so beautifully shows Kirsten on the ranch, we have a Good Shepherd who carries us and loves us. This book is powerful. It’ll make you cry, smile, and cry while you smile. It’s a story of redemption, healing, and Mercy strong enough to rebuild a broken life.
**Kirsten is in her young twenties, so this book is a good read for college students. Although some of the big issues in the book are handled well, I recommend this story for people in their late teens or older.
In Conclusion:
Rebecca St. James is an inspirational singer, writer, and actress (Sarah’s Choice, 2009). I looked forward to seeing her collaborate on this novel. Nancy Rue holds a very dear place in my heart, and will always be one of my very favorite authors. Her books for tweens made me fall in love with reading and I firmly believe my love of story-telling stems from the connection I felt with her books as a middle-school girl. There was something so relatable—so real—about those books that inspired me to live for Jesus and be who I was made to be. Those books still sit on my shelf, and although I’ve read them countless times, I still flip through them every now and then. I love her adult books, too, and I’m thrilled to add The Merciful Scar to my collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Merciful Scar - eBook
This review is fromThe Merciful Scar.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Something to consider reading!

Date:September 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
PastorsDaughter
Location:WV
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My rating: **** Four Stars
When an accident strikes, fracturing her family, Kirsten turns to cutting herself to relieve the pain she feels. The cutting continues and eight years later she finds that her long-time boyfriend has been secretly seeing her friend. Kirsten cuts herself to get rid of the pain but this time the cut goes deeper then she wanted. Kirsten ends up in a Phys. Hospital and her Pastor suggests she goes to a work ranch where they have a treatment program he hopes will help.
When Kirsten goes she slowly learns how to heal....
Pros: I loved the story line! I was caught up in Kirsten's world and saw what it's like for a person who is in depression to go through cutting herself to relieve the pain. The story was fast paced, and sometimes very hard to put down! I become "friends" with the characters, and Rebecca ST. James and Nancy Rue really wrote the story well!
Cons: Sometimes the story dragged a little, and I wished it ended a little differently (the ending was a little abrupt for me), but other then that no other cons.
Bad stuff to consider: Kissing (not describe), Kirsten cutting herself for pain relief, Kirsten's ex boyfriend mentioned sleeping together but Kirsten stands up saying no, she won't do it, and nothing more is said about that. Kirsten's ex boyfriend get's her friend pregnant and abortion is mentioned.
Overall....
I really enjoyed the story! I had a bad cold the day I got the book in the mail, and all I wanted to do was lay around so this book was awesome to read during that day! Totally something to consider reading!
Note to ya'll: I got this free from booksneeze, and was required to do a book review on receiving this book, but all thoughts in this review were my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Merciful Scar - eBook
This review is fromThe Merciful Scar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully written

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Rue and Rebecca St. James have written a beautiful novel, one that mines the depths of human emotion while celebrating the triumph of mercy and God's grace. When I first picked up "The Merciful Scar", I was not entirely sure what to expect. I knew a book featuring a character who engaged in self injury to release her pain was a subject that may, at times, disturb me - and at times I was right. Cutting is a subject I deal with in my job all the time, and it can be difficult to watch people cope with their pain in that manner. However, I wasn't expecting to meet a character that not only made my heart hurt, but actually made me laugh out loud on occasion as well! Kirsten Petersen is one of those characters who steps off the page within seconds of being introduced to them, and I found the book impossible to put down because I simply had to see what would happen next. I loved Kirsten's inner voice, which she refers to as "Nudnik", a voice that seemed all too similar to the one that speaks in my own head sometimes, and one that provided for some hilarious commentary on Kirsten's life. The cast of support characters are equally wonderful, from Sister Frankie to Frankie's nephew Andy, and they add a lot of life and flavour to the story. The pacing is well done, and the scenes unfold with the sensitivity of skilled writers, unveiling ever more from chapter to chapter and drawing you deeper into the characters lives. Prepare to laugh, and cry, and come away filled with hope at all that God can accomplish.
If you are simply looking for an excellent book, then look no further. But if you are looking for a book that helps you understand why others engage in cutting to deal with pain (or maybe why you yourself struggle with this), then this book is an absolute must-read. Entertaining, insightful, and real, it is a book I plan on picking up again. 5 out of 5 stars.
A review copy was received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Merciful Scar - eBook
This review is fromThe Merciful Scar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

review of the book The Merciful Scar

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to read this book from the minute I read the description on booksneeze.com
This book is about a girl who all her life dealt with her problems but cutting herself and cuts herself infront of her boyfriend and he calls 911 to get her committed to a mental ward. They said to help her, she can go live with a nun and her family and try to find herself through hard work, prayer and GOD. I like this book because she ends up finding love, happiness and her life gets turned around.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Merciful Scar - eBook
This review is fromThe Merciful Scar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kirsten is a normal girl on the outside, but she is slowly dying on the inside. An accident in her family has broken how she sees herself, her family, and God; and the only way she feels anything at all is by carving tiny lines into her skin. Despite the physical pain that comes from such actions, the emotional pain she is suffering far outweighs a little blood she draws from time to time. Feeling guilt from the past and thinking she can do nothing to change her life, she tries in vain to ease the pain that is threatening to overwhelm and overtake her.
Now at twenty-three years old, she still fights the demons of her past. Her boyfriend of several years provides somewhat of a crutch for her, but when she discovers he is seeing her best friend, her world comes crashing down around her. She does what she knows will ease the pain - a knife, a little line, a little blood, and a little guilt eased temporally. But this time the line isn't so little, and this time someone sees her. She lands in the psych ward because it is believed she tried to kill herself.
Knowing she has gone too far this time, Kirsten takes her pastor's suggestion to go to a sheep ranch that has a treatment program for people like her. But no matter what she does or where she goes, she cannot escape from the pain and guilt of her past. Will she ever find the redeeming grace and forgiveness everyone talks about but seems to elude her? And will she ever be able to forgive herself for what she has done?
If you have ever done anything in your past that you can't forgive yourself for, you will certainly empathize with Kirsten and understand how she got to the point of cutting herself. While this book is directed more for the YA group, I think that readers of any age (not children, of course) will benefit from reading this novel. Cutting is not something that we know a lot about as a society, and unless it affects us in some way, it's one of the issues that gets swept under the rug. Forgiveness is a simple thing, freeing and liberating in nature. But forgiving yourself is the hardest thing to do sometimes, as Kirsten learns and experiences firsthand.
This book was provided by Thomas Nelson Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Merciful Scar - eBook
This review is fromThe Merciful Scar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poignant

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Merciful Scar by Rebecca St. James and Nancy Rue is a story of renewal. Kirsten is a women avoiding her past that has an event that changed her life and that of those around her. Unfortunately she chose the path of pain over recovery which led her to the grand stand of avoidance. Kirsten was literally just fighting to live day to day under the guise of pain over recovery. Fast forward to know and yet another life altering moment has shown itself to Kirsten and she reverts to the only coping mechanism she thinks will work for her. This time, however, it did not and got her a stint in a mental institution where she knew she did not belong. Fortunately there was a more pleasing opportunity and she took with the best overall outcome for Kirsten. This is a book that must be read, it is amazing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Merciful Scar - eBook
This review is fromThe Merciful Scar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
When Kirsten was sixteen a tragedy happened to a family member and because of her guilt she started cutting herself to try to ease the pain inside of her.
Now she is twenty-three and is still struggling with pain deep inside her. One night, after a fight with her boyfriend, she wants to cut herself. She didn’t expect her boyfriend to return at the very moment she was cutting herself, and that things could get so dangerous. She ends up in a hospital psychiatric ward, because people believe she tried to kill herself.
A pastor from church stops by and tells her about Sister Frankie, an ex-nun, who takes girls like Kirsten under her care and ministers to them, so they can find healing at her ranch.
Kirsten knows nothing about ranching or sheep, but since she has no other options she decides to hear Sister Frankie out. Frankie is not the ‘sister’ she had expected to see—wearing jeans, boots and a baseball cap. Kirsten decides to give it a chance and goes with Frankie to her ranch for 30 days.
As a fragile and skinny girl, Kirsten finds ranch work heavy, but after some time she is learning and getting stronger. She also finds new friends and favorite animals to care for.
Frankie is like a mentor to Kirsten and she encourages her to listen to God’s voice. With Sister Frankie’s loving care and spiritual guidance, slowly understanding the things that haunt her will dawn and healing can begin.
Even Sister Frankie’s handsome nephew, Andy, seems to have ghosts from his past haunting him. A sweet friendship blooms between Andy and Kirsten and together they try to find healing from the scars of the past.
A touching story about a young woman who couldn’t carry her guilt on her own. She tried to relieve some of the hurt by cutting herself, but finally found healing in the most unexpected place. The reader will often be reminded of Psalm 23 throughout the book—The Lord is my Shepherd.
The authors captured the emotional aspect of the story very well and the tough subject was also made easily comprehensible for Young Adult readers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.