Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook

B&H Books I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Review 1 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Should be read by every church member.

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book at a church in Vermont, I could not put it down once I started reading it. I found it to be very helpful to learn how better to serve my church. It helped me very much to get through some things I was dealing with at this very moment in my church. I am ordering one for my pastor and my husband, because I want to keep my copy to read over and over again when I start feeling to important, or selfish, or complaining about my brothers and sisters in my church.
Thank You, Thom Rainer for a well needed book!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book!

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ldhennigan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My pastor recommended I read this book to help me grow in my faith and make me a better member of CHRIST's church and he was so right! I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what our church needs

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
norske rev
Location:Des Plaines, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little book has the potential for major impact in every church where it is read and applied. As I completed each chapter, I thought, "This is just what we need to give to everyone who becomes a member in our church." A must-read for every Christian who wants to please God with their life. I am going to propose to our leadership that our church adopt a covenant containing the principles which appear at the conclusion of each chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for the new Christian or small group leader

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dr Nicholson
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
firstlady
Location:Chicago
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was used for our church planning retreat. We wanted all participants to approach plans for the church with the same, servant attitude, to move the church forward with the right attitude. The book encouraged members to give as Christ gave.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jack
Location:Indian Head, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book. Every church member, old and new should make the commitment to read and do all they can possibly do to practice it. The book is short but very much to the point on the responsibilities of a church member. It is enlightening for most and a great reminder for others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has a word for every ministry.

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Prophetess7
Location:Summerville, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first began to read this book I could not put it down. I even saw some things that I needed to change about me. I took it in and then I made a change. I think every church member should get this product. I gave one to my Pastor and he had a meeting on it with the church members.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Whoppie
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of Rainer's best books. A powerful message in a small book. We are now using it to introduce new members to our church
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Parish Admin
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was amazing! I would recommend that every church should purchase this book and give away to their congregation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfect for Group Study

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Each chapter in this little book of only 96 pages is followed by a pledge for the reader to consider and sign. Next come questions to study and discuss, lending the book perfectly to a group study.
I liked Rainer's illustrating church membership by comparing it to country club membership. His way of thinking helps make his points.
Thank you to B&H Publishing Group for my copy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for a New Members' Class

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
David Frasure
Location:South Lebanon, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This short book does a great job with 1 Corinthians 12-13 while challenging Christians to a deeper level of covenant relationship with their local churches. It challenges gossip and grumbling in a positive way and explains the pressures that pastors face on a regular basis. At CBC prices, it would be a great gift for new members as well as a fine study for the church as a whole.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

hits the nail on the head

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
flick
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a great book that addresses the selfish thinking that permeates and is destroying the church in the Western world.
We live in a culture of selfishness and Christians have too a great extent been infected with that, and bring it into the church. This reflected in the "worship wars" and other ongoing conflicts in the church. Disputes over minor things are rampant. Young people are very open about the fact that their commitment to church comes after their social life, trips, making sure their kids are in every available club and sports activity, and "if they feel like it," etc. Even the middle age and seniors often take the position that they have attended Sunday service and that is all that's all that is necessary.
I was so impressed by the challenges in this book that I purchased a copy for every member of our church board. Their reaction has been extremely positive to its content, but are uncertain has to how to get the message across without being accused of being judgemental and old fashioned.
The one drawback is the chapter on praying for Pastors and church leaders. While church leaders were included in passing, the passage was really about how bad Pastors have it. I found this a bit simplistic and not realistic to a great many churches. Nevertheless the point about praying and supporting Pastors and church leaders is very important.
All six points are essential to the survival of any church, and I like the presentation of six chapters with study questions at the end of each. Will make a great small group study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jacque
Location:Italy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book contains a practical lifestyle in every Church. I believe it will be of much help to every Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:Glennville, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great summary of what we should be as church members in a compact but thorough book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book reminds us why we are church members.

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
District Lay Leader
Location:Hollister MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you read the table of contents of the six chapters, its a must read. Each chapter tells (I will) on the six steps of being a church member. The book gives you the three W's Who, What & Why you are a CHURCH MEMBER.. Thom S. Rainer writes great books and I have not read a bad one yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Church Membership Responsibility

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eva Scott
Location:Greensboro, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This small hardback book has six chapters which cover what a church member's responsibilities are to their local church, and how this fits in with Christianity.
The book has questions for study at the end of each chapter as well as a pledge to sign that you will accept the responsibility that is mentioned in that chapter.
This book would make a great study for small groups or if you want to know what God says about local churches and how important they are to the kingdom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for orientation

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
just a servant
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading this little intro to what it means to be a church member, we are considering having all our membership read it along with making it required reading for a new members' class. From working with church leadership we've realized that the typical church member doesn't realize the responsibility and significance of being a church member. We are not merely joined to Christ at salvation, we are joined to his people. . . it's not just expected that we participate . . it's part of our identity.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Member's adjust their Attitudes

Date:June 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mudhart
Location:Northeast Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to read this helpful writing. The message is plain, clear and well written, using Scripture to teach and remind the reader of our responsibilities as members of our local churches. A great lesson for pastors and teachers to share with their students. Church members will be moved to adjust their attitudes because they further understand the difference it can make.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Message is a good reminder to all church members

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jim Smith
Location:Fairfield, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is quick and easy to read/understand. It's Biblically-based, and is a great reminder to all of us church members that we need to look for opportunities to serve. Rainier reminds us that serving God and others is truly a joy and a gift. I downgraded him a bit on "Quality" for a few reasons. First, I'm not crazy about his writing style of asking a pointed question and then answering it in a somewhat condescending way. Read the book and you'll see what I mean. I suppose some people need this "kick in the pants", but most of us are responsible adults. Second, as is typical with evangelical pastors, he writes solely from the extroverted personality viewpoint and doesn't take into account the introverted church member. I heartily recommend that all Christians, especially pastors, read Adam McHugh's "Introverts in the Church". Finally, as is also typical of evangelical pastors, he doesn't acknowledge that each of us will have "seasons" in our lives when we simply will not have time to adequately serve in our church at the level he'd like to see because we have things going on in our lives (such as dealing with aging parents with health issues) that overload us somewhat and keep us from serving in the church as much as we'd like to. All in all, though, this book does have a lot of important reminders that we should meditate and act upon.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lawndrew
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This small book was full of great ideas for people about being church members. We're going to use it for a membership refresher class for everyone and then for future membership classes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>