Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for White Rose Publishing Madeline's Protector - eBook

White Rose Publishing Madeline's Protector - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1794%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madeline's Protector - eBook
Review 1 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is the desire of your heart? Do you even know or can you even put that desire into words? Where do you look when you long to understand the mysteries within your own heart? Madeline’s Protector is set in England in the year of our Lord, 1821. Unique is the history of this nation and lands, and the author weaves a tale sure to ensnare your attention and capture your heart.
Madeline is a young woman scarred from the behavior of an unruly man and beset with fears that anyone she is close to will be lost to her sooner rather than later. Her father is a duke who has vast holdings along with a shattered faith and heart when he lost his first wife. Now, the duke is married to a woman who is cold and hateful.
Lord Devonshire, Justain Deleveaux, comes to Maddie’s aid when she unknowingly comes close to death more than once. Each time he longs to care for her because his past is littered with scandals as well as guilt when he loses his brother. Justain is now the lone heir who has been raised with responsibilities that long ago were laid upon each succeeding generation who became heir of the estate.
During one particular night in a storm, running for their lives in Justain’s carriage, tragedy befalls the occupants. Through the succeeding pages a tale full of twists and turns, joys and sorrows and faith against doubt begin to play out in the characters’ lives. What at first is thought to be a mistake or a chance meeting leads the readers on an adventure to see who will eventually capture the heart of the heir.
Like a chocolate covered treat, the previous paragraphs are my attempt to tempt you to want to read this excellent novel. I want you to know that normally I am not one to read in this genre, but I am so glad that I read and enjoyed this one. I plan to share this story with others. Yes, it has romance in it and the fulfillment of that romance can be found in One and One alone. Faith in Christ enables us to receive a gift we don’t earn, but is given with a death of love that words cannot describe.
Pick up a copy, spend time getting lost in a historical romance that is so much deeper than mere words can convey. However, don’t be surprised if you think of others who may enjoy such a tale as this one titled, Madeline’s Protector.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Regency Read

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
calliegh
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not really a fan on Regency novels. However, this one proved me wrong. It was well written and very inspiring. As Madeline and Justain come to know one another, Madeline is able to keep her faith despite trying circumstances. After many losses and disappointments, Madeline finds herself married to a mystery man. Her is kind and sweet one moment and mean spirited the next. Through it all Madeline maintains her dignity and her faith. Great read in the Regency category. It has made me look for more of this style and especially by this author.
I received a copy of this book from bookfun.org in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
This review is fromMadeline's Protector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME REGENCY!!!

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tablet
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Regency book lovers will love this story. A sweet love story with a lot of twists and turns. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough to see what would happen next. Great characters and excellent plot. Awesome book, Vanessa. Hope you will do a sequel. I highly recommend this book. I received a copy of this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
This review is fromMadeline's Protector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a step back in time

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Madeline’s Protector is the first regency romance novel I’ve read. It has an interesting storyline that draws the reader in from the very beginning. I enjoyed the way the story took me back in time and I felt as though I was there with the characters. Ms. Riley does a great job of tying in an intense plot with complex characters. An enjoyable read! I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
This review is fromMadeline's Protector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!

Date:July 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irishgirl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story was wonderful, I was drawn in from the very beginning! I was immediately connected to the characters and was caught up in the story, rooting for them along the way. Madeline and Justain were wonderfully written characters. Vanessa Riley is a very skilled writer who made an exciting adventure with never a dull moment!
This was a great story of forgiveness, letting go of past grudges and the peace of finally receiving God's grace! It is full of love, danger, misunderstandings, all keeping you in suspense and hungry for more.
Regency and historical fiction are my favorite and this book was the best that I have read in quite a while.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants a captivating story that covers Romance and Regency/Historical fiction all in one! I am anxiously awaiting and hoping for a Book 2!
I received this book from BookFun.org and Vanessa Riley in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
This review is fromMadeline's Protector.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Madeline's Protector a delightful debut novel

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Madeline's Protector
By Vanessa Riley
Madeline St. James and Justain Delveaux, Lord Devonshire are brought together through a misunderstanding/mistaken identity and an attempt on one of their lives. But when Madeline takes a bullet that could cost her her life, Justain does what is necessary to save for life.
But Justain's act of heroism could cost Maddie her reputation. When Justain agrees to marry Maddie can this marriage that is in name only ever be anything more than a source of heartbreak for Maddie?
But Maddie is determined to be a true helpmate for her husband and to win his heart for Christ. But the man who almost ended their lives before will stop at nothing to end them. But Justain has sworn to be Madeline's protector as he is the reason that she has come to the attention of his greatest enemy.
But when the pair go to Avington - the estate of the St. James, Madeline's father and stepmother could destroy the fragile beginnings of a true relationship that are just beginning between the two.
Madeline's Protector is an exciting foray into the Regency period, with change and unrest coming to England. Justain is a quandary, a man who is searching for fulfillment in his life. Caring for the downtrodden and yet determined to have his word obeyed without question. A man of honor who at time feels as if he has nothing of worth in himself. Madeline has a great faith and she relies on this to help her in this marriage and in helping her new husband discover his true worth in the sight of God. But is her faith enough to sustain her in the unexpected position she now finds herself in?
If you're a fan of Regency, Historical English Fiction, and Romance you're in for a treat as this delightful book wraps all three up between two covers. Hopefully Vanessa will revisit Madeline and Justain sometime in the future with a sequel!
I was provided a copy of this book by the author Vanessa Riley and BookFun.org in exchange for my honest review of Madeline's Protector.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
This review is fromMadeline's Protector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Madeline's Protector by Vanessa Riley

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
MrsTina
Location:Frederick, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Madeline's Protector *****
by Vanessa Riley
Lady Madeline St.James, daughter of the Duke of Hampshire flees her home in Shropshire after being attacked by Kent, her step-mothers nephew. She is fleeing to her aunt, Lady Cecil Glaston in Cheshire. Only her trip does not go smoothly, in fact it is anything but smooth. One disaster after another befalls her and her abigail Mrs. Elsie Wilkins. First a broken wheel, a thief takes her guineas and her driver disappears. She chases after the thief and falls right in the path of a racing horse and wagon. Seeing it approach she sends up a quick prayer. Lord Devonshire, Justain Delveaux reacts quickly and hauls her to safety as the driver-less wagon rushes past them and crashes.
Since Madeline is now without transportation to her aunts' in Cheshire, Justain offers to take her and Mrs. Wilkins in his carriage. Madeline is not sure she can trust him, she has found in her young life that trusting others leads to heartache. But with her faithful companion along to protect her and her faith, it is the only choice she has.
Justain however has his own problems, the murder of his brother, his father's recent death and trying to reestablish his estates. He is searching for the person or persons who killed his brother and was to meet someone who could give him information. As he awaits his contacts signal he encounters Madeline and her problems. But what if she is his contact? He can't let her go until he finds out.
As they travel bandits ambush and attack the carriage. His trusted driver is shot and killed, the carriage overturns and Mrs. Wilkins is also killed. Madeline is crushed under the carriage and is injured. He manages to free her and takes her to a secluded place in an old miners cave to hide from the bandits who are looking for them. Here he finds she has been shot in the leg and he must remove the bullet to save her life.
After a few days of hiding they are rescued and taken to a nearby inn so Madeline can be attended to by a physician. Her aunt arrives and as the story unfolds she insists that Justain and Madeline marry in order to save her reputation. Madeline comes to care for Justain but doubts he would ever love her. Still she fights to win his love as well as his soul. Justain soon realizes that he loves her and wants to always be there to protect her, but is unsure of her feelings for her.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it. It is filled with love, danger, twisting plots that keep you guessing throughout the book and God's healing of their wounds.
“I received this book from bookfun.org in return for my honest opinion”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
This review is fromMadeline's Protector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Stop, thief" Madeline St. James grabbed the coarse sleeve of the man who stole her guineas. As she, continues to race after him. Madeline's boot heel gets caught in the in her dress, tripping her. An oncoming wagon is approaching. She is trying to get her boot free by tugging and yanking, but she could not free her boot. Lord Devonshire comes to her rescue, by pulling her out of harms way. I recommend you read this book to find out more about what happens to Madeline and Lord Devonshire. I received this book from www.bookfun.org to review.
Excellent!!!!! Madeline's Protector by Vanessa Riley was an exciting book to read. I could not put it down. It captured my attention from the beginning to the end. I literally could feel the emotions of each of the characters. One moment, I would be smiling, or being angry, and the next moment crying. Overall, It was an extraordinary book! Madeline's Protector was a joy to read. It is on my list of "to read again, and again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
This review is fromMadeline's Protector.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Regency Marriage of Convenience

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thursday, July 4, 2013
Madeline's Protector by Vanessa Riley, ©2013
Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. --Isaiah 41:10
If all the young men of England leapt off a cliff, Madeline St. James wouldn't care. Then she'd have peace. Her nightmares of courtship would end, and she'd cozy up with a Psalm in her aunt's quiet sculpture garden.
Yet, a chance meeting and a bullet wound change everything, and Madeline must trust the Good Shepherd has led her to the altar to marry a dashing stranger, Lord Devonshire.
Death and pain are no strangers to Justain Delveaux, Lord Devonshire, and he vows his dutiful bride will be kept safe and in her place. Though this compromised marriage is in-name-only, his wife and her unwavering faith both intrigue and allure him. Perchance when he thwarts his brother's killer, Justain will tempt the unpredictable Madeline with the comfort of his arms.
But can Madeline and the stubborn earl forge a true bond before the next disaster strikes?
Debut Novel: softcover, ebook, audio
Nineteenth Century (1800's) England, the Regency Era is the perfect setting for sweeping passion that combines the ravages of war, the throes of love, the appetites of nobility and turmoil in the church. Regency England is a rich landscape, possessing all the ingredients to nurture enduring stories of the transforming nature of God's love in imperfect vessels. Vanessa has been collecting Regency History Information for a decade and she's made it available to you. May you be enlightened and entertained.
~*~
Arrangements were made in haste, and my step-mother thought one attendant sufficient.
And your father, the duke, would allow you to be transported in this manner? I'm astounded, Lady Madeline.
She balled her fist beneath her book. My lord, I am the duke's daughter. Should I ask for proof of your peerage?
I never seek for anyone to prove themselves. I wait for their character to be revealed. Lord Devonshire shrugged. It seems odd to allow a cherished daughter to travel far from home with little regard.
--Madeline's Protector, 19
~*~
A scarlet cloth. Has she been deceived? Is she on a mission she knows nothing of? As the carriage approaches further to her destination, her wonderment is portrayed. Is she going to, or from?
Surrounded by highwaymen, their coach eases its comfort.
Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, Vengeance is mine; I will repay, saith the Lord.
--Romans 12:19
Lord Delveaux Devonshire has spent his life seeking to avenge his brother's death. Will he destroy the love that has come to him? From the depths of a pit, an abandoned mineshaft, to the open range of turbulence as the wrong perpetrator is sought, who is being targeted? The risk of opening self becomes wrath as unsuspecting conversations are overheard. What began as protection is an undertaking to override pride.
~*~
Moving slowly through the twists of the passageways, they passed her hall of bronze and marble figures. Madeline stopped and examined her favourite hewn and cast works of art. She'd picked up a chisel and hammer once to create a figure from marble, a pony. It wasn't bad with smooth lines for its mane. Alas, Father found out and forbade it, not wanting her to risk injury.
Do you need to rest, Lady Madeline? The wrinkled hand on her arm felt secure and strong. Meriwether was such a dear man.
No. Just wistful.
Someday, my lady, you'll know true joy, and not have to stare at what others have created from stone.
She smiled at the valet. Stone lasts.
--Ibid., 215
~*~
Both have searched for love and acceptance. Walls of pain and hurt keep them apart, but seemingly not at the same time. As one reaches out, the other withdraws. What will become of their stilted hearts? Will they trust, or be driven apart?
This is an intriguing story. I liked the stance Justain Delveaux takes to preserve his vows. He is angered by his forced marriage and Maddie St. James is saddened upon learning of the condition of his inheritance. He feels guilty for receiving his title and she seeks to avoid fear of her prior life at Avington Manor. A marriage of convenience.
*** Thank you to Book Fun bookfun.org and author Vanessa Riley christianregency.com/blog/author/admin/ for the copy of her debut novel. No other compensation was received. This review is in my own words.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
This review is fromMadeline's Protector.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting, complex characters

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Madeline's Protector was an exciting read, full of danger and many misunderstandings between the hero and heroine of the novel. Madeline is a believer, who finds herself in a marriage of convenience with Justain, a man who does not follow God.
Justain has real trust issues and during the story he flips back and forth between trusting and being suspicious of Madeline. He also holds a vendetta against the man who murdered his brother. These feelings of anger and mistrust lead to difficulties in the marriage.
Madeline has her own issues to deal with. She has had a great deal of hurt in her life and feels that she loses those she loves. With Justain changing back and forth between being kind toward her and antagonistic toward her, Madeline finds herself very confused most of the time.
Vanessa Riley has done a good job of writing an interesting story with complex characters. I received this book for free from the author through The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
This review is fromMadeline's Protector.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Madeline's Protector by Vanessa Riley

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Favorite Scene:
"Her soft tongue grazed his cheek. Justain wasted no time in enfolding her in his embrace. He'd been tempting her this past week, finding ways to hold her hand during their isolated travels. He'd stroke her hair for no reason.
Madeline's lips slipped to his neck.
He groaned and lifted her head. "What is it that you want of me, Madeline? I'm your humble servant."
She smoothed the crush of her fushia gown."Everything, but you'll only give this much." Madeline motioned with her fingers an inch.
He patted her hand down to the blanket. "You don't think that you'll win everything or that I'm not capable of giving more?"
"It's getting late. We should settle in for the evening." She started searching for her crutch.
He sat up and pushed the staff from her reach. "Answer my question."
"You hide me notes that speak of unveiled emotions. That's not you. You're restrained, even in the way you kiss me." Madeline set the dishes back into their basket. "I believe you will always hide parts of yourself from me. You don't trust me enough."
"Trust?" He shook his head. "My sending you notes has nothing to do with trust."
"You're right." Madeline put a final plate away. "Your heart has too many defenses. My knight bears too much armour."
"Well, a man needs to know when his attention is wanted. You should speak of your desires."
"Why, for you to kiss me on the forehead? Pat my head like a good girl." She tossed a mug into the basket. It clanged as it banged against the other dishes. "Sorry, I guess I hoped there was more to it. The poets make a kiss sound grand."
Excellent. Madeline felt frustrated. Justain untied the ribbons of her bonnet and tossed the hat to the blanket. "I've never thoroughly kissed you, Madeline."
The heart-shaped face studied him. She narrowed her eyes. "Thoroughly?"
His words must have puzzled her, but if he was to do this now it must be right. "May I?"
Madeline nodded her consent.
He flicked away the pins of her chignon to free the bundled tresses. Then, gripping her shoulders, he drew her back into his arms and nibbled the edge of her jaw. "The poets don't lie." His lips covered hers. Tasting and nipping, he found his reward, the moist temptation of her deepest kiss.
Trailing his fingers down her back to encourage her, he felt her temple. Should he relent?
Her flailing hands settled on the space between his shoulders. She tightened her grip and pressed further into his embrace. Madeline saught his mouth with urgency, matching his intensity.
Justain pulled her to his chest as he sank against the heavy wool.
She touched his face and smooth away wisps of hair drizzling down his cheek, then reclaimed his lips.
His thoughts spun. Strawberry fragrance swirled around him.Justain hadn't expected Madeline to be this warm, this inviting. Who was being seduced?
This was too public a place to conceive a Delveaux heir, but would her exploring mood last if he moved them indoors? "Madeline, we should go in before it gets dark."
"Not yet." Her thumbs twisted in the tails of his cravat, yanking it asunder. She lingered about his Adam's apple before returning to his mouth.
The measured pacing of their romance erupted in flames. She was kindling wooc, and her warmth blazed his skin.
He wrapped his arms about her tightly. "Shall we retire for the evening?"
She abruptly pulled back. Her large eyes seemed filled with questions. No, she wasn't quite ready to surrender.
He released her, sat up, and closed the basket. "We have a long ride tomorrow. I suppose I should get you settled into your room?"
"Yes, I think that's best.""
My Thoughts:
After her mother's death, Madeline St. James grew up in constant fighting and bickering between her father and step-mother. Before leaving to stay with her aunt, Lady Cecil Glaston, she was attacked by her step-mother's brother. She has known nothing but heartache for years and her only illusions of love are gathered from the poems she reads. When her purse is stolen and Justain Delveaux comes to her aid, it starts a series of events that lead them to marriage. While Madeline has come to care for Justain, she has her doubts he could ever love her. Not only does she fight to save his soul, she fights to win his love.
After the death of his father and, most recently his brother, Justain Delveaux is fighting to restore his family's estate and assests. He is constantly on lookout for the tirrants that are trying to kill him, or so he thinks. After so much devestation in his life he turns to alcohol to soothe his spirit, not realizing only God can soothe the wounds and hurts he carries with him at all times. When he helps a distressed Madeline, he never imagines their paths will forever become joined. But he soons comes to realize that he loves Madeline and wants forever to be Madeline's Protector.
Madeline's Protector was a very enjoyable book. Vanessa Riley stayed true to the history of the "Ton" or "The Society of London". She wove together an exciting romance and suspense all in one. As they say" The Plot Thickens". In Madeline's Protector you never really knew what to expect next. It kept you guessing with the turn of every page. The romance between Madeline and Justain was a battle that was fought hard all the way to the end. Neither knew how to trust and put their demons aside, but God brought them together and healed their wounds. A great read! If you like regency romance, you'll like Madeline's Protector!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
This review is fromMadeline's Protector.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

New Author

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Madeline's Protector is love tale like no other. While I enjoyed the unique story plot, I though it was hard to follow along. From start to finish I was uncertain of the plot. I did enjoy the strong sense of spirituality the main character, Madeline, reflected. I did enjoy the mystery, suspense and the romance aspect to the story.
I hope the author continues her writing career. As usual we all need improvement, and I would love to see how she improves in her writing. I received an advanced readers copy, it was bound with a spiral which I enjoyed the easy use and automatic place marker it made.
I received a complimentary copy from, First Wild Card Tour, in exchange for this independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Some Good Surprises

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After being accosted by a nephew of her Step-Mother's, Madeline is heading to her Aunts for seclusion and hiding. When her carriage breaks down, and a thief relieves her of her purse, she is befriended by Justain Delveaux, or Lord Devonshire. Her misfortune doesn't stop there...then Justain's Coach is attacked.
Once they are rescued and Justain gets her to her Aunt, the Aunt tells him that he has compromised Maddie's Honor, by spending a night in a cave. Never mind he saved her life!
This story has a lot of twists and turns. Justain, has some growing up to do and need to rely in God's Will. Madeline has a great Love of the Lord, and tries to follow his will in all things. Come on a ride of old England, we travel the country side and old estates. There are some good surprises along the way, and some rather scary. Enjoy!!
I received this book through First Wildcard Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Regency Read

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Madeline's Protector was a great adventure full of mystery, suspense and romance. Madeline, a young woman of faith has suffered not only the loss of her beloved mother,a life with an unloving step-mother, but most recently a physical attack from a would be suitor. Fleeing from her circumstances her and Lord Devonshire cross paths, and here the adventure begins.
I enjoyed this book from start to finish and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great Regency read. I will definitely be watching for future novels from Vanessa Riley.
I received this book from Bookfun.org in exchange for my fair and honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2013
I really struggle to get into this book; I did not feel the chemistry between the main characters. The conflict between the two characters was drag out too long; in the future the author needs less conflict and more romance. Justain was horrible at times.
I receive a free copy of this book courtesy of TBCN for my honest opinion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wholesome Regency romance

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I am a fan of the Regency romance genre, so it's always a joy to find one in the Christian market. "Madeline's Protector" by Vanessa Riley has all the elements that make for a good Regency adventure - wit, attraction, misunderstandings, compromising situations, marriage in name only, guilt, danger, suspense, and revenge - with the welcome addition of strong spiritual themes. The Regency era setting and dialogue felt natural.
Justain and Madeline are both appealing characters and it was fun to watch their feelings for each other grow stronger as the novel progressed. In a conversation with her aunt, Madeline confesses that while she's fond of Justain, "my heart doesn't burst when I see him." Her aunt replies, "Sometimes love is quiet, a warm feeling of contentment. You light up when Lord Devonshire walks into the room."
Both Madeline and Justain exhibit great strength of character, and I liked the way Justain is drawn to Madeline's faith. Misunderstandings and pride still abound, though. Angry that his past had been investigated, Justain responds to Madeline's father: "I've spent one lifetime seeking approval, another trying to drown the need. I won't change to please you."
Fans of wholesome Regency romance will enjoy "Madeline's Protector."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Madeline's Protector - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My Kind Of Hero...

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janny
Location:Clifton, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although life had dealt Madeline many death blows, her strength in her faith and saving grace of Jesus Christ, and the belief that we are all lost without it, was very inspiring. I absolutely was hooked from the very first chapter to the very end, and wished it had gone on just a little longer. She had the courage to speak the gospel to her father when he was the most sick, not leaving it to chance or think about it tomorrow, she held her own and spoke truth to him.
It was fascinating to me to see how Justain's and Medeline's arrangement played out and seemed to be what a courtship should look like. Beautifully written and an enjoyable read. I will e recommending this to my sisters. I received this book from TBCN for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.