Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Living Stream Ministry The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit

Living Stream Ministry The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit

Now newly translated and revised, Watchman Nees The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit will literally transform your spiritual life from the inside out. You'll zero in on the vital importance of being sensitive and vulnerable to the work of the Holy Spirit. And you'll see why your inner attitude is far more important than your outward circumstances when it comes to fruitfulness and growth. 116 pages, softcover, Living Stream.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Review 1 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth every minute

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
DDMartin
Location:Fort worth, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I am not a fan of Nee's taxonomy, the truth that lies beneath the words is pure gold and worth the effort to mine it out. I found myself simply making mental substitutions as I read, e.g. I might change 'soul' to 'self' if I thought it agreed more with Scripture. The core teaching exposes the truth of Scripture about this subject which also happens to reflect my life experience, almost without variation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An 'ouch Hallelujah' read....

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
surfergirl
Location:Harlingen, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before you begin this book, you must be prepared to repent for this book tells it like it is and as is so often the case, we simply don't want to hear it.
If you are wanting to move into the inner room, then you need to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The key to living the Christian life

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Fleming
Location:Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have bought this book several times over the years to give away. It is so powerful and will make you hungry to read and apply everything that Watchman Nee ever wrote. That is because the Holy Spirit will witness directly to your spirit as Scripture is expounded and Jesus is lifted up, and you will understand the process the Lord uses to create true disciples.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Reading

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leslie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book contains a deep level of understanding about how the Lord deals with His children. We desperately need preachers and teacher like Watchman Nee in our contemporary Christian church. So few are willing or able to share the deep truth contained in the pages of this book. A "must read" for anyone that truly wants to be used of God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michcell Wallace
This is a book I would highly recommend to those desiring to break the outer shell in order for the inward spirit to flow. Excellently written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Ann Ray
If you ever by a book this should be your #1 to read. I believe every cChristian should read this one and any books by Watchman Nee. The Lord has really used this man for this very time we live in
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Palmer
I've read this book before and am reading it again. I just ordered a copy for a friend. Watchman Nee is an amazing man of God who shares his insights with us in a way we can understand and live. Reading this book can truly help set you free to shine your light and walk as a disciple of Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anita Goulet
would recemend this book to any christian that is having a problem with their christian walk
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Terry Elizabeth Jones
This is a necessary standard for all Spirit filled believers. These truths aid the believer in his walk of love and keep his eyes on his savior. Many lives would be greatly helped by understanding the truth in this deep yet foundational work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pete Lowe
Needed to read the book for ministry, tought to read at times when I had to look at my outerman.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Smith
This is a tool that every new believer and seasoned believer should have in their grasp. In all trials of life this book has the answers for which we are seeking. The Holy Spirit is the only way out of daekness. We truly need the light of God to examine ourselves as to what and who we are. This book will enlighten your spiritual walk with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hudson Reginald
if you are really sincere in your walk and want to be used in a great way for the Lord.You definitely want to get this book. I read it ten years ago, misplace it was lead by theSpirit to read it again. Not many of us are broken today, because many don't preach about it. But it is the greatest requirement in our christian walk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Devon Roeder
I now have a more complete view on how God want to use me and how he want me to live my life. I give it out as a gift in hope that God will use it to impact their life has he has used it to impact mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Monica Frick
This book was a great read! So much awesome revelation put into an easy way of understanding. Truly, Watchman Nee was given great wisdom and understanding from the Holy Spirit on the importance of allowing our outer man to be broken so that the Holy Spirit can be released through us without being hindered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Breaking of the Outer Man and the Release of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2000
Customer Avatar
Eurina Simon
This book is awesome and great! It has helped me to take a closer look at myself and desire to serve Him better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.