Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Discovery House My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English

Discovery House My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English

This edition of Oswald Chambers' My Utmost for His Highest combines the readability of the modern NKJV edition of the Bible, with the timeless wisdom of Chamber's bestselling classic devotional in readable, easily understood, up-to-date English. Featuring daily insights on everything from adversity and assurance, to worry and worship, My Utmost for His Highest will help you to apply biblical truths in today's modern world. Includes complete subject and Scripture indexes, along with 366 timeless, inspirational devotions, and a forward from Charles Stanley.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Review 1 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a must for everyone

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Horse Lover
Location:Placerville, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading these daily devotions will bring you into n intimate relationship with Jesus....I've given MANY as gifts. Can't go wrong with this book, and CBD has the best price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Oklahoma
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book is smaller than the one I somehow lost, but it was printed many years ago. So smaller book, smaller words. Would like to have it in larger print, but the service of order and receiving was excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
okielady
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read it every morning to start my day. It is a great devotional to start your say.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pappy
Location:St John,IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this devotional. It is so much easier to understand in today's English.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Start to My Day!

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Munko
Enjoy reading each day, very inspiring and rewarding. What a great way to start each day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Val 3
Location:UT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is so inspirational-I love his style of writings and his thoughts for every day
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought it was a handsome volume

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol Mcdowell
Location:Asheboro, N.C
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought as a graduation gift for my nephew who is entering Bible College this fall. Hopes he likes it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book to challenge growth in Christ

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
mariasmom
Location:Ainsworth, IA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I like My Utmost, but have found the original edition difficult to understand.
This updated version makes it easier and we do enjoy reading it
together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great devotional reading.

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
William Crane
Location:Highland, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book! It was given to my by a wonderful Christian friend. I liked the book so well, I bought it for a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a wonderful resource for getting to know God

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jessica Dowling
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given this book over twenty years ago by a friend. I have read it almost daily ever since. God has used it, along with my Bible, to teach me, instruct me, correct me, rebuke and enlighten me in many ways and to reveal Himself to me more fully. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a
deeper understanding and knowledge of who God is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Over all it is great -- I will tell allmy friends

Date:December 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tapp
Location:Oregon City Or.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This a very good for a daily devotion it will get people( or me) to start reading the Bible more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill Murph
The insight Oswald Chambers had for the human condition is amazing. Aside from the Bible, this devotional has been invaluable in my growth spiritually and understanding of my relationship with my Lord and my Savior Jesus! A must for serious disciples of Jesus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Gordon
A great and timeless daily devotional. This devotional will bring your walk with God to a higher level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
JoAnna Williams
This was bought for me by a relative. If anyone wants to be more like Christ this is the devotional to read. It will find you out just where you are and will help strengthen you. It meets your everyday need to grow in the Word of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
JoAnna Williams
This was bought for me by a relative. If anyone wants to be more like Christ this is the devotional to read. It will find you out just where you are and will help strengthen you. It meets your everyday need to grow in the Word of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Victoria Juckett
This is one of the best devotionals I have ever read. It inspires, teaches, and that is why I ordered more for my husband and keep one for a gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rhoda Buckley
Of all the Devotionals I have read over 30 years, this one is timeless and always speaks to my heart. Iron sharpens iron, and deep calls to deep. It is simply the BEST...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mom
We purchused this addition for our kids (12 & 10) because we are using it as a family devotion but I have to say that since I read the orginal in the morning on my own I have gone back to it to stress a point that the translation at times misses. Kids are smarter than we think and it's been wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gina Baines
I just love this book, it is very hard for ME to understand & I just keep reading it & pondering on it. It has helped me in my journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for My Utmost for His Highest, Updated Edition in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sharon Mulligan
A study to help you to grow in your faith, daily reminders of God love and mercy to us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>