Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook

B&H Books Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook

Katie Rose Fisher loved Samuel Beachy with an intensity that shook theirAmish district. No one doubted they would one day marry, until Samuelturned his back on the church and joined the world of the English.

Alone now in Clover Ridge, Katie Rose dedicates her life to God and theschool children she teaches each day. Although she secretly longs for more,Katie knows God's hand is at work, and she is happy.

News correspondent Zane Carson never even knew Oklahoma had an Amishcommunity until he got the chance to live among them and learn abouttheir day-to-day activities. Their simple way of life is intriguing, but not halfas much as the young teacher.

Katie Rose is flattered over the attention she receives from Zane, but shehas resolved to never marry. Even if she were to entertain the idea, it surelycouldn't be with an outsider like Zane.

Never one prone to the restraints of organized religion, Zane finds a comfortin the rituals and blessings in the day to day righteous living of this smallAmish community. He finds himself, God, and love with Katie Rose.

But as Zane draws closer to Katie Rose, Samuel comes back to repent hisways and return to his place at her side. Can Zane convince Katie Rose thathe is committed to adapting to her way of life, or will Samuel win her affectionsback for himself once again?

Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An unexpected joy!

Date:March 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another masterful telling from Amy Lillard.
WOW!
I’ll say it again. Amy Lillard has such an amazing talent
It is amazing to see so many different perspectives in her work. In the first book of this series: Saving Gideon, we had the perspective of an outsider looking in.
In Katie’s Choice we get the added perspective of a hard-core unbeliever who also happens to be a journalist.
Amy writes with such realism, she puts you in the shoes of each character and the different perspectives are absolutely wonderful.
One of my favorite things about this genre is that the lack of things like intimacy before marriage or bad language force the story to be so much more developed than most mainstream fiction.
Mainstream fiction depends on that “hook” to sell books and Inspirational fiction actually has have a well developed plot and storyline to make it.
Amy Lillard is a prime example of that.
Her plots are well-constructed and they flow well. She doesn’t feel the need to fill the pages with overblown drama or unbelievable events. You follow along the story and it all feels perfectly real while still being highly entertaining.
I feel blessed to have found such a terrific new author and I hope to see many more books of hers in the years to come.
Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story, loved it!!

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I have to start out by saying I am a bad street team member. Ach! Too often when you are an active reviewer books pile up fast and this was the case with this book. I did read the last book in the series so I started out this book, knowing if the boy would get the girl. At first I was wondering why read it, you know what happens, but I am so glad I took the time to read this book. It was a fun story. It also gave you more insight to the relationships that you have read about in the previous book, and even the latter book. I LOVED the practical jokes. The Fisher men got one over on Zane, his first day of working in the fields but he got them back. And the gig was on then. More practical jokes and tricks followed and they really made the story even more enjoyable for me. This book is a wonderful story and I loved it 5 stars from this reviewer.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heartwarming and faith inspiring

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindi
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Zane Carson, a news correspondent is sent on an unusual assignment. He's heading to Oklahoma to learn about the Amish way of life. His mission is to not only report, but actually live with an Amish family for three months.
Katie Rose teaches at the local Amish school and is raising her brother's children after he lost his wife during childbirth. Katie has accepted that she will never be married because her beau left the Amish for the English world.
Can Zane learn what it's truly like to be Amish? Will Katie be happy with her life as a teacher and fill-in mother?
This would be a great book to start with if you are not familiar with the Amish, as the story gives a lot of information on their beliefs and way of life. There are some terrific spiritual lessons in this novel that made the storyline even better.
I give Katie's Choice 4-1/2 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Katie's Choice

Date:October 15, 2013
This review gives more insight than just "it was/wasn't a good book" or "this is/isn't a must read". While I try not to give too much away, sometimes it's difficult to write about the story and have it not be revealing.
Zane Carson was a war correspondent for a Chicago magazine. To ease back into the job after being shot he headed to an unfamiliar country – Amish country. He planned on having one of his easiest assignments ever. He’d stay with a host family and write about his experiences while living among the Amish. But being attracted to Katie Rose Fisher was not part of his plan.
Katie Rose believed that it was her calling to be single and teach the children in her Amish community. She was once in love with Samuel Beachy until he left to become English. After spending some time with Zane, Katie had to fight her feelings for yet another Englisher.
I was wondering why an Englisher would be welcome in the Fisher home. There are at least two reasons. Katie’s dad agreed to have Zane live with his family to raise money for his wife Ruth’s cancer treatments. It was easy to see he truly loved his wife. He was hoping the exposure would bring people and their money to their community. I liked Ruth and I couldn’t wait to discover if she was cancer free or not. It was sad to read about Ruth and her having to deal with the effects of surgery and chemotherapy to get rid of the cancer. Another reason is Englisher-soon-to-be-Amish Annie Hamilton. Annie is a minor character in this story. She was introduced in the first book in the Clover Ridge Novels, Saving Gideon. Now that I’ve read Katie’s Choice and about her and Gideon’s meeting I want to read their story in Saving Gideon.
Zane lived on a cooperative as a child. The members of that community were not much different from the Amish – except there was no mention of God. They both lived off the land. So it wasn’t hard to see how Zane easily worked on the Fisher farm.
Zane was raised by agnostic parents. His world was turned upside down by the way the Fisher’s lived out their faith. It was obvious the family loved God. Katie Rose lived for God. She saw Him in everything. I like how Zane discovered God in a way that wasn’t pushed down his throat because that would have never worked for him.
There were a few negatives about this story. Part of the ending felt rushed. This same part also seemed to be written differently than the rest of the story. Monica, Zane’s fiancée, had an unbelievable reaction to more than one situation that affected her life. One was when Zane decided to no longer have an intimate relationship with her. The other was when she discovered if Zane was or wasn’t in love with her. Readers may find it questionable that an Amish woman and an English man would be attracted to one another. Overall, it was a good read. I enjoyed this story so much I found it hard to put down.
Clover Ridge Series:
Saving Gideon
Katie's Choice
I received a free copy of this book from B & H Publishing and The Christian Manifesto in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming Amish Tale!

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this heartwarming Amish tale, author Amy Lillard takes us on a special journey -- where two people from very different worlds find new hope, faith, and healing for their broken lives.
Zane Carson, a war correspondent, has received a strange assignment and certainly not the one he was hoping for. Having his heart set on going to Juarez, Mexico to cover the war on drugs, he receives the news that he is to travel to the Amish country of Oklahoma instead. Before he leaves he asks his beautiful girlfriend, Monica, to marry him when he gets back from his three month assignment there.
Katie Rose has given up on her dream of being an Amish wife and mother of a houseful of children. After the love of her life, Samuel Beachy, leaves the Amish and joins the Englisch world six years prior, a heartbroken Katie Rose feels it is God's call on her life to take care of her widowed brother's children and teach school. Neither Katie nor Zane can stop the undeniable attraction between them, but both know nothing can become of it. Zane is "almost" engaged and Katie is Amish and never the twain shall meet. Especially when Samuel Beachy returns to the community wanting Katie back and Monica says "yes"...
This is my first novel by Amy Lillard, but certainly not my last. She covers some tough topics such as breast cancer, PTSD, and Down syndrome with finesse, and I found myself alternating between tears and laughter at the trials and antics of the main and secondary characters. Yes, the conclusion was predictable as I have read so many Amish books, but the journey there was superb!
A copy of this book was provided by Net Galley in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Quite Believable

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is book two in the series and it again deals with an English person coming into the Amish community and dealing with how that can go. I found it a so so book.
What I liked: I liked both Katie and Zane. Zane needs to slow down and get a handle on his life and coming to Amish country helps him do that. Katie is still dealing with being dumped by her almost husband and when Zane starts to break through the wall she has put up around her heart she also starts to see life still has a lot to offer her yet. I also liked how we got to go a little deeper into the family and learn more about Katie’s mom and her battle with cancer which we first learned about in book one.
What I did not like: Honestly this book is really not very believable. Yes I know this is fiction and it does not have to be, but after reading this genre for a few years this story-line just did not sit well with me. Giving up everything to live with the Amish would be a huge commitment and it just seems to far fetched in this book.
Over all this was an okay book. I did enjoy the story just felt the idea of Zane considering becoming Amish was to easy. But its well written and I am interesting to see where the third book will take this story and to see how Katie’s mom is doing now that her cancer treatments are over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A nice read!!!

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I started reading this book when I realized there was one before it, and that I had the first in the series already. So I put Katie's Choice down and read Saving Gideon first. I'm so glad I did. While Katie's Choice can be a stand alone I think that I enjoyed it much more after already being introduced and loving the original characters. That said, there are really great scenes that I loved; though there are also lulls in the story. It didn't completely capture me at times when at others I couldn't put it down! The over all message and story is interesting and unique. I love how Amy gives you a character that you don't like and don't want to like in the beginning and then does something that makes you love them like the rest. Katie's Choice is wonderful for the reader that has just started reading Amish stories. You will learn along with Zane about their ways and customs, but it is also great for those that have read about the Amish regularly (though at times I personally got frustrated with Zane in his first views of the Amish). :) Amy captures how The Lord will provide and how resourceful the people that trust in Him can come to be! :) A journey of change and finding Salvation and faith lies with in these pages! :) From the cost of fighting cancer to the love and loyalty of family! Katie's Choice is an all around great read! :) Plus there are some great humorous scenes! :D I can't wait for the rest of the characters stories and see what Amy comes up with!
One last note that I must share is how I love that a Glossary is included! While as you read Amish fiction it becomes easy to know what they say without the help of a glossary it is still very considerate when it is included! :) The only question I would have for Amy is..."Where are the recipes?!?!?!?" ;) LOL!
My song choices: "The Love of God" by Dave Hunt, "Little Drummer Boy" Faith Hill,
and while I know I used this one for Saving Gideon as well; I must use it again for Katie's choice. On so many levels it works! :) (This time I'll use Dave's version :) ) "God Gave Me You" by Dave Barnes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not Just Another Amish Fiction Read!

Date:June 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have quickly become a fan of Amy Lillard. After reading her first book Saving Gideon, I couldn't wait to read Katie's Choice.
Katie Rose Fisher is a woman who has accepted her calling from God. That calling is to help care for her brother's children and to be the schoolteacher in her district. She is obedient to this call because of her love for children. She has resigned herself to a life without a husband and children of her own. This is what God wishes for her isn't it? She had one love in her life, Samuel Beachy. When Samuel left the Amish district and Katie for the English world, Katie was crushed.
Zane Carson, a war correspondent for Around the World magazine, was recovering from a bullet wound to his shoulder when he received a call from Jo, senior editor of the magazine. Zane was hoping to hear he was being sent to Juarez, Mexico to cover an assignment on the war on drugs. A very dangerous assignment Zane knew but he wanted the excitement of the job. Instead Jo wanted him to spend three months in Oklahoma Amish country. Surely, she was joking! She promised Zane that if he took this assignment she would make sure he got the Juarez assignment.
Katie being Amish and Zane from the English world both knew that what they felt could never be acted on. Katie had a close relationship with God. Zane wanted nothing to do with God. Surely there could never be any kind of relationship between the two. Zane was looking forward to leaving in 3 months after this assignment was done. Wasn't he?
The author not only brought two worlds together, she made it seem like a natural thing to do. There were moments of laugh out loud humor, moments of struggling with an illness, moments of seeing family and community working together and definitely moments of doing some soul searching. We see love, faith, and trust all coming together. Choices had to be made.
This book is very deserving of 5 stars. I urge you to pick up a copy. You will not be disappointed. I can't wait to read author Amy Lillard's next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful addition to the Clover Ridge Series

Date:May 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was wonderful. As the second book in the Clover Ridge Series, it follows the life of Katie Rose, who is the sister of Gideon from book number one (Saving Gideon) in the series. A great follow up to Saving Gideon, Katie's Choice introduces us to Zane Carson. Zane, a reporter, has led a hard life and does not believe in God. He is assigned to live with the Amish for three months and ends up living with Katie's parents. Can Katie Rose's heart open up to him and be healed from a previous hurt? Will Zane ever believe that God is real? Would he want to leave his former life and devote himself to God and Katie Rose? This was a sweet story and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was very hard to put down and I would recommend this book highly to any fans of Christian fiction and Amish romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Finding What's Important

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book. It helps you realize what exactly is important in life. Zane Carson is a reporter, wounded in Afghanistan. He is recovering and ready to get to get back in action. His Editor thinks it is to soon, but has an assignment for him. Visit and tell about life in Amish Country in Oklahoma.
Thus begins his life awakening moments, refreshing warm memories of his Childhood. He grew up in a Hippie Commune with his parents. Although they died while he was still young, and he finished growing up with his Uncle in Chicago. He was brought up without knowing God, and now he is going to live with people who base their lives on God.
Just before he leaves he asks his girlfriend Monica to marry him, she hadn't given him an answer.
Arriving in Oklahoma he has no idea at all how Amish people live. I was pleasantly surprised at how well he seems to adapt. He of course, being a reporter is full of questions.
Katie Fisher has been hurt when her intended left her a few years ago. He wanted to go English. She now is the Amish School Teacher, and helps her brother with the care of his family. One thing you notice as soon as she meets Zane is sparks. We all know this cannot be, he is Agnostic and she loves the Lord. He is English and she is Amish.
I loved how the whole community comes together, and basically the acceptance of the English man, of course there is a reason behind him being there, which you will soon find out.
Enjoy this quick pace read in the Oklahoma Amish Community. I for one am so glad there is another book in this series.
I received this book through First Wild Card Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Sweet Story

Date:May 8, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a very sweet story. I didn't feel a ton of tension for most of the book, which I love to feel when I am reading, but it was a nice story.
The author did have me wondering how was Zane going to come to the decision to leave the secular world and become Amish and how would he get out of his relationship with the woman he left behind before going out on assignment in Oklahoma?
A nice Genesis 5020 can be found in the book, with Zane being shot and then being assigned to this Amish story. I love how God uses those things that can make us miserable to bring us to His best for us.
Big surprises as the end that ramped up the tension for me and had me flipping the last hundred pages quickly to see how it would all work out.
Amy Lillard has created a beloved cast of characters that you will enjoy reading about, getting wrapped up in their story and make you wish to visit Amish country.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Katie's Choice: A Clover Ridge Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Trust me and pick this one up! It's so good!!!!

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommend seems hardly the word to describe my feelings after reading Katie's Choice by author Amy Lillard. This is one of the best books I've read this year and desperately needs to be added to anyone who loves Amish fiction! I would most definitely add this to your summer reading list even if your simply a fan of romance stories and have never read an Amish fiction novel before.
Picking up on the heels of its predecessor, Saving Gideon, the reader is once more back at the Fisher family farm in Oklahoma. This time it's to help with the financial worries facing the community in dealing with Ruth Fisher's cancer treatments. Asking an English reporter, Zane Carson to spend three months in their home learning about what the Amish life is all about, they are hoping since the English are so interested in the Amish way of life, this might be a way to help contribute to the ongoing cancer treatments Ruth has been facing since learning she has breast cancer.
Zane Carson is less than thrilled with his latest assignment in Oklahoma preferring to be in the midst of some war in a third world country at war. Yet still recovering from his last story in which he was shot, his editor Jo, promises if he can cover this story for three months, she send his to Juarez, Mexico to deal with the ongoing drug cartels. For Zane it's a no brainer to do this. Until he discovers that living life as an Amish person is a whole lot more challenging than he ever dreamed. Not just dealing with no electricity, but men are working from before sun up to sun down, plowing, planting and caring for the farm. Something this Chicago based city boy is about to get a rude awakening on. What he didn't plan on, was falling for Katie Rose Fisher, a plain and simple Amish girl dealing with her own heartbreak.
Katie Rose Fisher has been waiting for the man she dreamed of marrying, Samuel Beachy. She's been waiting for six long years and has resolved her fate in life, that Samuel will never return from living among the English and instead cares for her brother and his only child, while teaching the children in the one room Amish schoolhouse. She truly believed that after Samuel experienced his time during rumspringa, that he would return to the church and they would marry, but Samuel didn't want to return to the church. He wanted to remain English instead and never looked back. Katie now believes it's long past time to find someone else to marry and it's certainly not going to be the man moving into her parents home, no matter how good looking he is.
I received Katie's Choice by Amy Lillard compliments of B and H Publishing Group and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable one. Now I can say I thought Saving Gideon was my favorite but after reading Katie's Choice, I am stuck in the middle. Amy Lillard seamlessly weaves two beautiful genre's together in writing her latest novels in the Clover Ridge Series, Amish Fiction and Contemporary Romance, and for me and my book lover's heart, I am in LOVE! Hands down this one is a 5 out of 5 stars, which in my world means it's a permanent keeper on my library shelf, one that I will read more than once and will talk about long after reading it. I especially loved the relationship that Zane develops with John Paul, Katie's brother who himself is in the midst of rumspringa and the lessons they teach one another about growing up and practical jokes. There's even a discussion guide included to make this one a great novel for a book club along with a glossary of Amish words you'll found throughout the novel. Trust me, get this one! While you're at it, better pick up Saving Gideon too because it shares the story of Annie whom you will meet in this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.