Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Publishers Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook

Bethany House Publishers Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook

When Addie Cramer's mutter and daed decide Phillip Eicher is the man for her to marry, they claim she must honor them by obeying their wishes. But then she falls in love with Jonathan Mosier--part of the family with whom the Cramers have a long-held grudge.

With the help of others in her community who long to see the quarrel healed, Jonathan and Addie struggle to continue their relationship against both sets of parents' wishes. But when one of Addie's vengeful brothers harms a member of the Mosier family, Jonathan intervenes and is banished from Lancaster County.

Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Review 1 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply amazing!!!

Date:March 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED this book and I LOVE Leslie!!! She is a fabulous writer! I love this Amish rendition of Romeo and Juliet even more than Shakespeare's original! I have loved this whole series' concept from the very beginning and enjoy the way Leslie weaves Shakespeare's classics in Amish settings! Cate, Bob, Pete, Betsy, Mervin, Martin, etc. from Courting Cate make reappearances in this sequel and help throughout the story. I love how this book plays out. From the beginning I enjoyed how Leslie had the characters fall in love slower. Yes it could still be considered "love at first sight" and yes they do fall in love the first day, but it felt like it had enough time to develop instead of just glimpsing each other and BAM! they're in love! LOL! All of the characters are wonderful! And Leslie does a fantastic job of expressing the frustrating aspects of Addie's parents attempting to force her to marry someone she doesn't love! I even love Jonathan more than the original Romeo! His Faith and passion made me fall in love with him right along with Addie! :D Some of my favorite scenes from the play appear in there own ways; such as the party scene where they meet. And I really have come to love the first person way Leslie writes in; it made me feel closer with Addie and more involved with what she goes through. The only grammatical thing that I personally don't like is the He when referring to The Lord isn't capitalized, but I digress! From great twists to a fantastic end I love this book through and through! I can't wait to read Minding Molly!!!
Songs: "How Great Thou Art" Carrie Underwood, "'Tis So Sweet To Trust In Jesus" by Alan Jackson, and while all the lyrics of this song may not match this book overall it does and I just love this song! :) "Overcomer" by Mandisa
Songs may change in the future.
Revelations 21:5
~ASC
*I received this Book from Bethany House because I was interested in it and wanted to review it this in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings. ~ASC
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adoring Addie

Date:October 15, 2013
Addie Cramer is raising a family and taking care of a household. The problem is that she’s only eighteen years old. While she doesn’t complain about all the work her parents have her do, she longs for a husband and children of her own to care for. Lately, she has also been wondering how she will know when she’s found the right guy. Then she met Jonathan Mosier. But she can’t be falling in love with a member of a family that her parents detest can she?
Jonathan Mosier is nothing but a perfect gentleman who loves God and follows his ways. I enjoyed how Jonathan shared his faith with Addie and it helped with her walk with God. Addie is the only daughter of seven children. The responsibilities of the household fall on her shoulders due to the fact that her family is very dysfunctional. I was truly annoyed at the way Addie’s parents treated her.
Since Adoring Addie is based on the play Romeo and Juliet I was wondering how it was going to end since Romeo and Juliet both die at the end of their story. I won’t tell the ending but I can say at one point there is a very tense moment that had me turning the pages to discover what was going to happen. I was glad that Leslie Gould included an epilogue so I knew how the characters’ stories continued.
Like Romeo and Juliet, Adoring Addie had to come to an end. There was really only one person whose story wrapped up a little too easily and quickly for me. It was Addie’s brother Timothy and his reaction to Jonathan’s cousins, Marvin and Mervin, and also to his parent’s confrontation. His responses don't seem realistic.
Addie was introduced in Courting Cate, the first book in The Courtships of Lancaster County Series . Since I enjoyed Courting Cate and learned a little about Addie in that book I couldn't wait to read Adoring Addie. I look forward to reading more by Leslie Gould.
The Courtships of Lancaster County Series
#1 Courting Cate
#2 Adoring Addie
I received a free copy of this book from and Bethany House and The Christian Manifesto in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amish angst and struggling romance

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The title could be a bit misleading since only Addie’s little brothers adore her until a newcomer is attracted to Addie Cramer, the hardworking, compliant only daughter. Adoring Addie, the second book in The Courtships of Lancaster County series, presents a troubled Amish family in the midst of a feud—not the serene, peace-loving Plain folks we usually picture. Set in Paradise, Pennsylvania, this story evokes quite the opposite as we learn about Addie and her family’s ongoing struggles. And don’t get her dad or older brothers started on the Mosiers—they might all forget their commitment to nonresistance.
I did not find the novel a light read because of the heavy topics it deals with, but it does make one ponder choices and consequences. I wished I could shake some sense into the characters so they would behave better! Once again we see how events and decisions in the past affect others and the future. Can Addie and her beloved Jonathan Mosier help bring unity and find lasting love or will she be forced to marry the bishop’s son? How many people will be hurt before the rift is healed, or will it ever mend?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Who couldn't adore Addie?

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cathy Thelen
Location:Melbourne, fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really felt for Addie. She was the only daughter. So all the housework and gardening fell to her. Her mother was in pain and couldn't help. She just made lists for Addie of all the things must do everyday. But Addie was also responsible for her younger brothers. Addie saw many things in her life she didn't understand but stood loyal to her family until she fell in love. Then she had to stand for what she believed in.
This was a great book. I would like to see a series done on Addie.
I was given this book for my honest review by bookfun.org
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Have your tissues ready!

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Addie Cramer is the only girl in the family with six brothers. The Cramers have a Hatfield vs McCoys relationship with the Mosier family. It hasn't always been this way, Addie's Daed and Dirk Mosier were best friends from the time they were little boys, until something happened and they became enemies. This disagreement has carried over to the next generation, at least as far as Addie's brothers are concerned.
Addie's parents want her to court and marry Phillip Eicher, the bishops son from the neighboring district, and she's considering it but just isn't sure it's what she wants. When she notices a strange man in their field one evening and at their house the next day for the BBQ she learns that his name is Jonathan Mosier, Dirk's son, and his family is moving back to the area to care for Dawdy Mosier.
You'd think with Addie being the only girl she'd be treasured and maybe spoiled (as spoiled as any Amish child would be that is) but no, she can't do anything right as far as her parents and two oldest brothers are concerned. She still tries to please them in every way possible, she's never done anything wrong, that is until Jonathan comes to town.
Your heart will break for Addie, I found myself wanting to give that family a piece of my mind to wake them up. Leslie really yanks on your heartstrings and you will NOT be able to put this one down until reach the end! If the next book, "Minding Molly" is anything like this one, I can hardly wait and it says it won't be out until February of 2014, DARN!
A must read! ! ! ! Oh, and have your tissues nearby while reading "Adoring Addie".
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED this book!!!

Date:September 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best Amish book I've read in a long time! It was a really well-written story, not to mention an incredibly sweet romance between Jonathan and Addie! Many Amish romances are cliche, corny, cheesy, predictable... but not the case with this one! I loved this book - absolutely loved it! - and can't wait to get my hands on the rest of the series. It was an excellent book. Anyone who enjoys Amish romances will love it, but this book was more than just a romance so even if you aren't into Amish romances but do like sweet stories, you should read this one!
Thank you to Bethany House Publishers for sending me a free copy of Adoring Addie in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pretty light read--Enjoyable!

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Simply Enchanted Life
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book two in The Courtships of Lancaster County series by Leslie Gould is another wonderful Amish Rendition of a Shakespeare tale!
These books are stand-alone so I wouldn’t worry much about which order to pick them up though I’ll say I really enjoyed this book more than Courting Cate.
Both books were really good but this one was simply my favorite of the two. The characters were enjoyable and easy to relate to.
About the Story:
Addie Cramer’s parents are set on her marrying Phillip Eicher and are furious when she begins to show an interest in Jonathan Mosier. I have to admit that Phillip drove me nuts. He was annoying and just irritated me. This of course was the desired emotion the author obviously wished to invoke.
The Cramer’s disdain for Jonathan stems from a decades old feud between the Mosier and the Cramer Family. Their hatred clouds their mind and skews their ideas about Jonathan, who actually is a really stand up kind of guy and a great Christian to boot!
The real reason for the feud is discovered by Addie and it’s a very tricky situation to deal with. This leads to a good bit of soul searching and thought on Addie’s part on how to best deal with and diffuse the feud—bringing peace and healing to both families.
This book deals with situations of alcoholism and depression that will really make you connect with these characters. They seem so lifelike!
I’ve read a good bit of skepticism about how one can retell such a tragic story such as Romeo and Juliet in a lighthearted Amish tale but the author captured the tale perfectly!
I am very eager to pick up the entire series. Most retellings are typical and annoying. These are a bit unique as they’re in an Amish setting and they’re much more lighthearted than secular tales.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Modern Day Romeo and Juliet…Amish Style

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Addie has always been an obedient daughter. Even to the point of considering a marriage to Phillip Eicher; a man she does not love to please her parents. But when she meets Jonathan Moiser she realizes that she must follow her heart. How could she have known that there was a serious rift between their families?
Wanting to find a way to put an end to the rift between their families, Addie and Jonathan begin digging into a past that many would prefer stay buried. Adoring Addie is a moving story of two young Amish who discover love, forgiveness and truth.
Leslie Gould has successfully used Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet as inspiration for Adoring Addie, which is the second book in The Courtships of Lancaster County series. If you haven’t read the first book in this series, Courting Cate, you’ll be glad that it stands alone well. And if you did read Courting Cate I’m sure you’ll be glad to catch-up with Cate and Pete, I know I was.
**Adoring Addie by Leslie Gould was provided for me free by Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love At First Sight!

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Addie Cramer's family is intent on her marrying Phillip Eicher, the Amish bishop's son, but Addie lacks any feelings beyond friendship for the young man. Her parents are persistent that she marry Phillip in honor and obedience to them, but Addie's head is turned by another man. Jonathan Mosier's family has moved back to Lancaster County after living in another Amish community for several years. Upon meeting Jonathan, Addie's senses are heightened and she knows she's in love. Jonathan shares her attraction but their lives become chaotic because of their attraction. The Cramers and Mosiers have held a longstanding grudge against one another, and both families are unwilling to forgive and forget. Addie is forbidden to see Jonathan which only adds bitterness and despair to her unhappiness. An Amish Romeo and Juliet, Jonathan and Addie do everything in their power to overcome the unforgiving feelings that still have a hold on their families.
Leslie Gould has penned another beautiful Amish love tale, a facsimile to the well-known story of Romeo and Juliet, a story of obedience and compromise. Written with multiple levels and several diverse characters, the author has combined these elements into a well-told and successful novel. Numerous emotions are characterized, and examples of mental health issues, including depression, anger and alcoholism are depicted in an open and direct style. Forgiveness is the archetype the Amish manifest in their beliefs, and is at the core of this well-written story. I previously read and thoroughly enjoyed Courting Cate, and this second book in The Courtships of Lancaster County is no disappointment! I look forward to the sequel in this series.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are mine, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adoring Addie

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When will Addie Cramer own up to her parents that she has nothing in common with. Phillip Eicher, the bishop's son. She just can not image marrying someone she does not love. Besides he is very boring and knows nothing about the real Addie and her feelings. She wants to marry someone who is actually interested in listening to her wants, needs and fears. So far the only man that seems to be interested in what she has to say is Johnathan Mosier.
Johnathan Mosier is mesmerized at the first time he laid eyes on Addie Cramer and after talking to her he finds her to be humble, sincere and very attractive. The loyalty she shows toward her family and Amish community is from her heart and her trust in God.
Like the Hatfields and the McCoys the Cramers and the Mosiers hold a grudge against each other and would never agree to a union between the two families.
The author has written a wonderful story of a couple's heartache, a daughter's desire to honor her father and mother, reconciliation between friends, family and God. This story shows the readers how anger and harboring a grudge can harden one's heart and distant him from God.
Addie's father seemed to favor his son's over his daughters, being more interested in what a marriage union for his daughter would bring to him and his family rather than how his daughter felt about the man her father had chosen for her to marry.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Baker Publishing/Bethany House for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An Amish Romeo/Juliet Story

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
BTNSBJ
Location:Ashland, Ky.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
This book by author Leslie Gould is one I had a little trouble with in the beginning, as there were so many characters introduced early on, that I found it a bit confusing as to who was who and how they were all related.
It is the second book in a series called, 'The Courtships of Lancaster County' so maybe if I had read the first book it would not have been so confusing to me.
The author does a good job of moving the story line right along w/its modern-day Romeo/Juliet type of story w/out the sad ending.
Two Amish families have been upset w/each other for yrs., but no one knows why and the two main characters(Addie/Jonathon) fall instantly in love. They try their best to reconcile their families so they can be together but Addie's family wants her to marry the boring Philip Eicher, and tries very hard to keep Addie/Jonathon apart.
Several of the minor characters annoyed me because of the way they treated Addie and took advantage of her, but it did make the characters seem very real w/all of their flaws. I loved the character of Jonathon and what an awesome Godly man he was to Addie in how he treated/adored her.
I have never been a big fan of an author writing in the first person and this one is written in that fashion.
All in all, it was a good Amish fiction romance and a nice summer read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read!

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
LauraV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adoring Addie by Leslie Gould is a wonderful book! The plot was quick moving. I finished it in 2 days! It is about a girl named Addie who is the only daughter in an Amish family. She is supposed to marry the boring Philip when she meets Jonathan. There is strife between her family is Jonathan's though and they must figure out a way to end the strife so that they can get married. It is a great read! I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

amish living

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paula Osborne
Location:Ga
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
~A Feud in amish lands~
Adoring Addie by Leslie Gould
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Adoring Addie is book #2 in series "The Courtship of Lancaster County"
by Leslie Gould
There was bitterness between the Cramers and Mosiers for as long as anyone remembered...Why??? No one would talk about this so it continued until...
Adalaide Cramer and Jonathan Mosier became friends and then wanted to become more then friends, they decided enough was enough and they would try to end the bitterness once and for all..Do you think two young people can undo what has been happening for many years in the community?
Addie's folks want her to marry Philip the son of the Bishop of their community and he too had decided they would be a good match for one another. He seemed to always be around.
Addie has brothers older then she and some younger but she was the only daughter of her parents and much work was put on her as her mother spent a lifetime it seemed in depression. Addie's aunt lived with them and was some help with the chores but the mother was always busy writing list and supervising it seemed.
I felt like Addie was always working and helping others and seemed to have little time for herself so when a young man (Jonathan) came into the community and started paying attention to her she was smitten from the start. His caring heart touched hers from the beginning. When the family found out he was a Mosier she was told to stay away from him and they seemed to double their efforts to have her marry Phillip.
Jonathan and Addie want to reconcile the two families, will their love be enough to keep them together or will long held secrets ruin their chance at happiness???
I received this book from Bethany House publishers to read and review, I give my honest thoughts here.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute Story- An Amish Romeo and Juliet

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lindsay
Location:Sunbury, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading Adoring Addie by Leslie Gould, which is basically an Amish Romeo and Juliet story. Addie Cramer, the only daughter in a family of boys, is made to work hard while her brothers run amok. Her parents and suitor, Phillip, have her future planned out for her, but one day she falls instantly in love with a newcomer to the area, Jonathan Mosier. A feud between the Cramer and Mosier families makes their love even more forbidden and tempers flare as the couple fights for a way to reconcile the two families so that they can be together.
It was a really cute book and I finished the whole thing in no time. The main character, Addie, was likable and definitely developed as the story progressed. I did think the initial romance was a little bit weak (maybe I am just too pessimistic to believe in love at first sight) and the ending was a bit "thrown together." There was some mystery and a few twists and turns in the story kept my interest. I found myself "rooting" for the forbidden couple and feeling outraged at the way Addie was treated by her family. Overall, this was a nice book and I would recommend it.
(I received this book as a gift from the publisher, Bethany House, for the purpose of writing a review. The opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun retelling of Romeo and Juliet, Amish-style!

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
BookLoverKaren
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this new take on Romeo and Juliet. Though I usually balk at love-at-first-sight stories, Gould did an artful job of setting up the scenario where I could see the obedient and careful Addie grasping at this one opportunity to take control of her own life.
I was very curious how the author would handle the ending, but don't worry--I'm not going to give away any spoilers. You'll have to find out for yourself.
I thought Adoring Addie was a good follow-up to Gould's first Shakespeare retelling, Courting Cate, based on Taming of the Shrew. Now I'm waiting eagerly for the next installment in The Courtships of Lancaster County, Minding Molly, based on A Midsummer Night’s Dream, releasing in 2014.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Bethany House for the purpose of review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Amish Romance

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!!! Adoring Addie was great! It is the second in a series. The first was Courting Cate, also a favorite of mine. But I have to say that I liked this one even better...and that is saying something. The author has done a wonderful job and the story is a retelling (based on) Romeo and Juliet. I am happy to report that the ending is not the same as the classic.
The characters are so sweet and believable and their love is so true. They have so many obstacles to overcome. I have found that Leslie Gould is very good at creating characters that you love, as well as very unlikeable characters to play the adversarial roles. Makes for some great story telling. I highly recommend this book for fans of Amish romance and Christian romance. The book can stand alone, however, I think it is even better if you know the other characters from the first book, Courting Cate, which is based on Taming of the Shrew.
I was blessed to receive this book in a contest and was under no obligation to offer a review. However, I am very happily reviewing this book and recommend it highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Enjoyable Romance

Date:May 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
CherylSec
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adoring Addie by Leslie Gould is the second book in the Amish romance series, The Courtships of Lancaster County. This charming book was inspired by Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet.
Addie Cramer and Jonathan Mosier fall in love, but a longstanding feud between the Cramers and the Mosiers stands in the way of their happiness.
Addie is torn between her love for Jonathan and her desire to honor her parents' wishes, especially when she believes their wishes are unjust and are based on resentments no one will acknowledge or explain. To make matters worse, not only do they refuse to allow her to court her true love, they are pushing for her to marry Phillip Eicher, a good man but a man she knows she can never love. Addie and Jonathan's only hope to court and marry is to uncover the mystery behind this feud and resolve it.
Adoring Addie held my interest from start to finish. The characters are interesting, fun and sometimes infuriating. I don't usually read Amish fiction, but I enjoyed both Courting Cate and Adoring Addie.
I received a free copy of this book, but I was under no obligation to write a review. I really enjoyed Adoring Addie. I look forward to Leslie Gould's next book in this fun romantic series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed every moment!

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The age-old tale of Romeo and Juliet takes on new life in Leslie Gould's "Adoring Addie", and I must say that I entirely approve! While I am not normally a fan of romances per se, I formed an immediate liking to the character of Addie Cramer and so enjoyed every moment of this story. The characters tread through some deep waters, including family feuds and bitterness, generational sin, the impact of depression, the difficulty in discovering who we are and that God has a purpose for our lives. Addie's relationship with Jonathan not only adds a beautiful romantic flavor to the novel, but serves as a catalyst to bring light into the darkness of the characters' lives, exposing secrets long-held and ultimately allowing sin and shame to be vanquished by grace and forgiveness.
"Adoring Addie" is very well-written, and the story unfolds smoothly from scene to scene. It is every bit as good as the first addition to the series, Courting Cate, and fans of the first novel will be pleased to see that Cate does make a minor appearance in this novel so they can get a glimpse into how her life continues to unfold. Readers who enjoy either Amish novels or just contemporary novels in particular will no doubt enjoy Leslie Gould's latest novel, and should plan on adding this book to their "must read" list. I award this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Romeo and Juliet tale

Date:April 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful Amish rendition of Shakespeare's Romeo & Juliet. Addie and Jonathan have fallen in love but have to figure out what caused the huge rift/feud between their families before the family will bless their relationship. This story also deals with alcoholism and depression in several of the characters. Having both issues in my own family, I certainly could relate to the feelings of pain associated with them. The Amish in Leslie's story do address the issues but I will not reveal a great deal as I don't wish to spoil the story for readers. I loved this book and was definitely rooting for dear Addie to find love and acceptance within her Amish home and community. I think those are things we all long to have, aren't they? This book can give some insight into the handling of the issues. I appreciate the way Leslie's characters are "real": they may be Amish, but they have their struggles to deal with too. The honesty in this storyline were very appealing to me. I know one thing, though, I am definitely eager to read Book 3 and see what happens next for the characters!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adoring Addie (The Courtships of Lancaster County Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fine Writing Based on Classic Literature

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
JulieSurfaceJohnson
Location:Prineville, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adoring Addie is one of those page turners that kept my interest from start to finish. The love story between Addie and Jonathan was pure and simple though the furor surrounding their romance was anything but that. Through it all, Jonathan remains steadfastly devoted to his God and his true love Addie. And it's through his love for her that Addie begins to understand the depth of God's love, something she'd never experienced from her troubled family. I appreciated the author's integrity in dealing honestly with her characters, even weaving in themes of dysfunction among the Plain folk (Addie's mother and brother Timothy and cousin Hannah all suffered from depression, some of which was genetic and some of which resulted from guilt-bearing over a long period of time). Gould has a deft hand with place descriptions and a gift for making characters real. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves Amish fiction but, more than that, to anyone who appreciates fine writing based on classic literature. (I received "Adoring Addie" for free in exchange for an honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>