Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Sweet Mercy - eBook

Bethany House Sweet Mercy - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 2696%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sweet Mercy - eBook
Review 1 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eve Marryat has life all figured out. She knows who she wants to be in life (not like her sister, Cassandra,) and she knows what she believes (Prohibition means exactly that. Prohibited.) It is 1931, and when her father gets laid off from his job he packs up the family and relocates them to Mercy, Ohio where his brothers are. Eve's uncle, Cy Marryat provides a place for the family at Marryat Island Ballroom and Lodge, and in return, they help him run the place.
Happy to escape the haven for criminals St. Paul has become, Eve settles on life on Marryat Island like she's lived there forever. She becomes friends with the some of the local young people, and life that summer is just one happy day after another. But when she accidentally discovers something that was never meant for her to find, will living on the island may turn out to be exactly what she was trying to get away from in St. Paul? And what will happen with the new friendships she has made - especially with one young man called Link?
There was a lot of surprises for me in this book. I try to open each novel with an open mind and the knowledge that it is just a story, woven from the mind of the author. But Tatlock wrote a tale that mirrors the hopes and dreams that will always be constant themes for humanity. The hope of a fresh start. The dream for a better life. Things we all want at some point in our life. This novel speaks of the things that are important; family, moral choices, and most of all - love. A wonderful place to escape for a few hours, and a story you will regret having to finish.
This book was provided by Bethany House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

3.5 Stars

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Allen
Age:18-24
Gender:female
plot:I thought that the plot of this book was interesting. At times, it was predictable, but it also kept me guessing.
characters:At first, I thought the main character seemed unrealistically naive, especially for her age of 17. However, it was slightly necessary for the story line.
themes:The biggest theme in the story was that there is good and evil in everyone. It was well presented and executed throughout the book.
emotion:I didn't think that there was an emotional depth to the story. I didn't feel connected to the characters or their situations while I was reading.
overall:I really enjoyed this book. It was entertaining and exciting. I looked forward to continuing the story when I would take a break.
---I received this book for free from the publisher for this review.---
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

sweet mercy review

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Sweet Mercy" by Ann Tatlock is a novel about Mercy, Ohio during the height of the prohibition era. Eve ( a naive 17 year old) and her family fall on hard times and have to move from St. Paul, MN, a city full of criminals and bootlegging, to Mercy. Her uncle Cy owns a resort there and gives her family jobs and a place to live. Eve thinks in a black and white world. Drinking is evil and so is anyone who does it. She believes so deeply in her cause that she can be annoyingly self-rightous. Mercy introduces her to a whole new way of thinking about herself, drinking, people, and right and wrong. This is short novel and a very quick read. Took me about a day and a half to read. The word play of Tatlock is marvelous, her characters are awesome. Eve meets interesting characters along her way to adulthood. Jones, the albino cousin; Jimmy and Marlene, the Bonnie and Clyde wanna-bes; and Link, the college educated bum. Tatlock tells a remarkable story. I give this one an A. I received this book for free from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a sweet, entertaining coming-of-age novel

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christian Fiction Section
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Eve’s father announces that their family is going to be leaving St. Paul and moving to her uncle’s lodge in Ohio, she couldn’t be more thrilled. As a young girl, she’s grown weary of witnessing crime and murder. Living in a city filled with gangsters and bootlegging has imprinted memories in her young mind that she wishes weren’t there and she looks to the lodge in Ohio as a safe place to start over.
At first, Eve enjoys being around her generous uncle Cyrus and easily makes friends with guests at the lodge and with her cousin, Jones. She helps with the duties of the lodge whenever needed and cheerfully feeds the poor men from the nearby shantytown. But when she begins to realize that things at the lodge are not what they seem, how can she know who to trust? Are her new friends who they say they are? Who can she turn to in this world of secrets and betrayal? And dare she risk endangering those closest to her by revealing what she learns?
Ann Tatlock weaves intriguing bits of history into this Prohibition Era novel and draws us into the story with her fascinating characters. We see Eve’s friendships develop (and, some of them, die) and can’t help but hope that Link will be the one person she can trust. As we watch her summer unfold, Ann captivates our attention as one surprise after another keeps us turning pages. Sweet Mercy is a thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying read that left me pondering bits of our nation’s history in ways I did not expect. I enjoyed Ann's character development and the plot of her story is intriguing, while somewhat expected. I found myself predicting what certain pieces of information would mean later in the story (for example, Jonas' radios), but still guessing what would happen next in the story. It was the perfect mix to keep me reading. Thank you for an enjoyable read, Ms. Tatlock!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mercy, Sweet Mercy!!

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seventeen year old Eve Marryat is only too happy to leave the crime ridden streets of St. Paul Minnesota and move to her Uncle Cy's vacation lodge in Mercy Ohio.
A staunch supporter of Prohibition, Eve can't imagine why anyone would break the law! After all she is a "good" person, her family has always been "good" people!
But things aren't always as they seem, and maybe her self-righteousness is only a mile wide and a inch deep!
When Eve finds out her very own family is involved in bootlegging all of her idealistic views are suddenly threatened. Is anyone truly good? Can anyone be trusted?
What a wonderful book about "Mercy"!I was touched by the sincerity of the characters in this book. Some surprising plot twists, and a understanding of the verse "love covers the multitudes of sins" (1 Peter 4:8)
Sweet Mercy comes to such a sweet and beautiful conclusion.... "no one is all bad, just as no one is all good" but the love and mercy of Jesus can still cover the sins of even the vilest sinner who will believe on Him!
I received this book free in exchange for an honest review from Bethany House Publishers. The views expressed here are solely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leahhhh12
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn’t sure what to expect of the book Sweet Mercy. I had never read anything by Ann Tatlock before, but the cover drew me in, along with the description of the book. When I received a free copy of the book, I didn’t hesitate to dive right in. I am very glad I read this book because I found it very entertaining and enjoyable.
The book starts with a Grandma and her grandson. They are returning to a house from the Grandma’s childhood and as it is filled with memories, the Grandma tells her grandson the story of her childhood. We are then transported back to 1931 when Eve Marryat, the Grandma in the story, is a young girl of 17. A year and a half after the stock market crashed, Eve finds herself moving to Ohio with her family to live with her Dad’s brother. There they work for her uncle who owns the Marryat Island Ballroom and Lodge.
Leaving behind St. Paul and its den of gangsters and lawbreakers, Eve is anxious to find herself in a safe haven. However, during the time of Prohibition, Eve will soon learn that Ohio is anywhere but a safe haven. When she runs into bootleggers and their still, she must decide what she must do and who she can trust.
I really liked the cast of characters that Ann Tatlock created. There were some that you found yourself liking a lot, and then others that were disagreeable right from the start. I especially found myself drawn to Link. However, because of the circumstances in the book, I was unable to determine who I should “trust” along with Eve.
The twists and turns in this book make for a great story that will keep you guessing as to how everything will be resolved.
I found the time period to be interesting as well. I believe I have only read one book about Prohibition before this one and as I enjoyed that one very much, I was excited to read another book about the same time period. Sweet Mercy did not disappoint and I am very glad I had the chance to read it. This is a book that I am glad found its way to my bookshelf… and I plan to keep it there!
I received a free ecopy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review and was not required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great coming-of-age story set during Prohibition

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura Fabiani
Location:Montreal, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book I read by Ann Tatlock, and once again I really enjoyed her storytelling. It's a great summer read.
Sweet Mercy is a coming-of-age story set during the Great Depression and Prohibition. When Eve Marryat's father loses his job, they move away from crime-ridden St. Paul, Minnesota and move back to where her father grew up in Ohio. Eve's Uncle Cyrus has invited her family to live and work at his Marryat Island Ballroom and Lodge, where Eve and her family have spent past summers. She has good memories of this idylic summer retreat and loves it the moment they arrive. During that memorable summer Eve discovers the stirrings of first love, meets a homeless young man named Link, and faces a dilemma when she realizes that things are not what they seem at the Lodge.
Eve is an interesting character. She is forthright and a little self-righteous. She also has a good sense of justice and is sensitive, kind and generous. The story is told from her first-person point-of-view and I enjoyed seeing her blossom. We see things from her perspective, her naive and innocent perspective, which was refreshing. Although at times, she came across as being much younger than her seventeen years. I found it interesting that Tatlock chose for Eve to have a very close relationship with her father. Her mother seemed absent to me. She was loving but seemed oblivious to her daughter's emotional feelings.
The historical setting really made this story memorable with the contrast of a beautiful summer vacation spot with the suit-clad, fedora-wearing gangsters that proliferated during Prohibition. Tatlock showed us the human side to these men and why some chose to break the law. She also showed us how the Depression changed people's lives. Link would often appear at the Logde along with other men who knew they would be given a free meal, and I truly liked how Eve came to develop a relationship with him.
This book was such a pleasure to read. It was clean and well-written. I am now a fan of Ann Tatlock's novels and look forward to reading Travelers Rest. If you like Christian fiction that isn't preachy, I would recommend this one.
Note: There was one short scene that included gun shooting and killing. Not gory or too descriptive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Had Me Hooked At The Prologue

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grace
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweet Mercy by Ann Tatlock is the novel you have been searching for. As always, this favorite author did not disappoint. Her cast of characters will draw you into their lives with the prologue until the fantastic, neatly tied up in a bow , conclusion revealed in the final chapter and epilogue. I just loved this novel and the theme laced throughout these pages, Sweet Mercy.
Sweet Mercy is set in the early 1930's, in the era of the Great Depression and Prohibition. When Eve Marrat's father is laid off from his job at the Ford Motor Company, in St. Paul Minnesota, he packs up his family and returns to his childhood home in Mercy, Ohio. Eve's uncle, Cyrus, opens his lodge to them as not only a home but also employment.
This naïve, wide-eyed, young lady is thrilled to be moving away from the gangsters, such as Al Capone, and the bootleggers that filled her neighborhood, to a wholesome, upstanding neighborhood. Eventually she learns that Uncle Cy's lodge is at the heart of the local bootlegging industry. With her faith in her uncle destroyed, she contemplates what action she should take, as a Christian, and as a daughter and niece.
Although there were numerous characters in this novel, which is very typical of this author, every character had a necessary role. My favorite character was a bum named "Link," who Eve befriended throughout the novel. He eventually assumes the role of a trusted friend and confidant as he observes much more than Eve imagined. The masterfully written conclusion was much better than I hoped for. I loved every page of this mystery and know you will, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is one "sweet" story.

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweet Mercy by Ann Tatlock is just what the title suggests, it is one "sweet" story that I am thankful I requested to read. I have read other books by Ann Tatlock and have not been disappointed and I was mesmerized by this book.
The story takes place back in 1931 when times were very different, since it is set during the Great Depression and Prohibition. Eve Maaryat lives in St. Paul Minnesota and thrilled to move to Ohio when her dad loses his job with Ford Motor Company. They get to live with her uncle at his Maaryat Island Ballroom and Lodge where her father will work and the family will help out. Eve believes she will leave all the gangsters in Minnesota and will find "good people" and this will be a "safe haven" for her family. She soon will encounter an interesting mix of people and will forge an unlikely friendship with a strange young man-Link. Now comes the interesting part of the story-Eve finds out things and people are not what they appear to be. Will she risk exposing people and force her family to make more decisions? Can't say anymore without giving a good part of the storyline away. I was totally surprised when the ending was coming-never saw where the story was heading.
This is one story I will read again-it was that good. It was also a story set in-some ways-simpler times and just made for an interesting read. Love when these "sweet" stories really turn out "sweet". Make sure this book is on your summer reading list.
Thanks to Bethany House for sending me this book for free just for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An Average Novel

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
MrsClidence
Location:Stockton, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had never read anything by Ann Tatlock so I wasn't sure what to expect. I am normally not a huge fan of stories written in the first person, but this book was an exception. At first, I wasn't sure I was going to be into it: normally I have to be captivated in the first few pages. So it took me a while to get into the book, which is a negative. The plot was solid, and the ending was pretty climactic, which was a positive. The characters were interesting but I didn't feel as drawn into their world as I normally am when reading a good book. Overall this book was pretty average; nothing extraordinary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History & Mystery - Great combination!

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
AMKreations
Location:NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The novel, Sweet Mercy, by Ann Tatlock, is set during the Prohibition period of our nation's history. Seventeen year old Eve travels with her father and mother to her uncle Cyrus's home in Mercy, Ohio. The family is forced to relocate due to economic hardship. While her father is reluctant to return to his childhood home, Eve is anxious to flee the haunting memories of her life in corrupt St. Paul, Minnesota.
Eve is a somewhat naive young woman, who feels that Mercy is a bit of paradise, cut off from the corruption associated with the Prohibition. She loves the island and lodge, which have become her home, quickly settling in to her life there, making friends, and even meeting her mysterious step-cousin. It is not long before she realizes that even in Mercy, bootleggers are well established in business and people are content to just turn a blind eye to their dealings, instead of upholding the law. Will her self-righteous attitude help to make the world a better place or cause more trouble than she has ever imagined?
I absolutely enjoyed this read. The author was engaging and the story well written; full of mystery and suspense, as well as history and a little romance. The main characters were well developed and likable. I appreciated how the author made use of historical facts throughout her novel. She had me interested from cover to cover. I will definitely consider looking for more of her work to enjoy.
I received a complimentary copy of this book to review for Bethany House Publishers book review program. All thoughts contained in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Slow Summer Read

Date:June 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda Costinak
Location:Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was eager to read another Ann Tatlock novel after having enjoyed Promises to Keep. Sweet Mercy promised intrigue and excitement, but it took a very long time to get to that point. The story starts out slow and I kept waiting for things to pick up. When the plot did begin to move along, I felt I had to hang on tight as it moved almost too fast. I was wishing that more of the book was a good as the build-up to the ending.
Having said that, I did enjoy the story. The main character is sweet in her naivety, the cousin is heartbreakingly real and the visitors to the lodge are suspicious and intriguing. I enjoyed the setting of the lodge and found myself longing for such a place to escape to while reading. The simplicity of life was relaxing and Tatlock did a great job describing it in such a way that I could almost hear the water in the river and the band playing in the gazebo. Sweet Mercy is a great summer read if you’re looking for a slower paced story that can help you escape to a relaxed setting and enjoyable characters.
I give this book 4 stars out of 5.
I received this book free from Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best historical fiction books this year

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best historical fiction books that I have read so far this year!
Ann Tatlock did such a wonderful job with Eve. She captured the in-between of being a 17 year girl perfectly, mature one moment and the next feeling like a little girl. Eve has a lot to learn about life and people, but what better place and time than a lodge full of summer visitors during Prohibition and the Great Depression. Eve thinks she knows right and wrong, everything is black and white, but as she spends time with people at the lodge and in town, she learns that it isn't always that easy. People aren't always what they seem and sometimes they make decisions for reasons that are hard to understand. But she is a genuinely kind-hearted girl that leans on her Faith, this helps her to face the hard things in life, be they small or large.
The cast of characters is wonderful, varied and realistic. You will find yourself falling in love with some, disliking others, feeling sad for some of them, and most definitely wanting to find out what happens to them next.
It was cool and quite rainy when I read this book but I was transported each time I opened the pages into a warm summer of Ohio. I found myself having to readjust to the “real world” when I had to lay it down. I often partly judge how much I like a book by the author's ability to paint pictures with words, drawing me in to the point that I can almost feel and taste as well as see with the characters, if I have to emerge from my reading and nearly reacquaint myself with my surroundings. The author managed to do this marvelously. I felt satisfied with how the story ended but also a little let down that it was now finished.
I was not familiar with Ann Tatlock's books when I saw Sweet Mercy, the cover and the synopsis on the back just drew me in. I'm glad that I was able to get this book for review and read it. I will definitely be looking for more books by Ann Tatlock in the future as well as checking out some of her previous titles.
Well worth the time to read, Sweet Mercy is a MUST READ for summer 2013.
(A copy of this book was provided by the publisher for the purpose of this review. I did not receive any financial compensation for this review. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bootlegging, Christian Values & a 17 yr old girl

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
nabagail
Location:Seattle
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
"Sweet Mercy"
by
Ann Tatlock
For seventeen year old Eve Marryat, 1931 held some fast moving life changes. The Depression had taken a toll on her family. Eve's father, Drew Marryat lost his job but, his brother had offered him employment and lodging at the family owned Marryat Lodge and Ballroom in Mercy, Ohio. Eve could not have been happier. Mercy, Ohio and in particular Marryat Lodge on the Little Miami River was an idylic place to live and work.
Life at the Marryat Lodge was amazing. They had wonderful rooms, meals were provided and they enjoyed meeting vacationers. On the surface life was serene and perfect but underneath the serenity there was crime and bootlegging going on at the lodge. Eve and her father were shocked at this revelation. They decided to return to St. Paul because they did not want to be a party to the illegal activities.
I would not like to ruin the story for anyone so I will leave it there. There are several surprises on the journey through this story, not the least of which is one about a well known criminal who asked the Lord into his heart. You may be surprised by who you meet in Heaven.
I recommend this book. It was over too quickly but was well written and enjoyable. This was a complimentary book from Bethany House meant for reiew.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A summer love story worth the read

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eve Marryat was a naïve young girl who believed her family was good in the midst of bootleggers and notorious murderers and gangsters. She was excited to be leaving the horrors of St. Paul for the “safe haven” of Mercy, Ohio. After her father lost his job during the depression, her Uncle Cy invited them to live and work at his Marryat Island Ballroom and Lodge.
Eve’s naïveté and innocence did not prepare her for the truth. Her uncle and the lodge are not what they seem and Eve refuses to believe otherwise. She forms an unlikely friendship with a young man named Link who she believes is a bum only looking for handouts and liquor.
The story begins when Eve’s grandson wants to know what happened at the Marryat Lodge and what was so important she had to return to find. She tells a story of the Great Depression, Prohibition, Al Capone, and her summer at Marryat Island Ballroom and Lodge—the summer that changed her life and her idealistic belief that people could be good, law-abiding citizens if they only knew right and wrong.
Even though the plot and ultimate result is predictable, I enjoyed the romancing of the young and innocent Eve Marryat. She wanted people to be good. She even tried to demand it, but she learned the hard way that people aren’t always good. Neither are they always what they seem.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House as part of their book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great look into the Prohibition Era

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stacelito
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although Ann Tatlock is the 2012 Christy Award Winner, I had never heard of her but expected great things.... And she did not disappoint! Somehow she has written 9 other novels and I have just learned of her.
Sweet Mercy is set in the Prohibition Era, first in St. Paul, Minnesota and later in Mercy, Ohio. Seventeen year old Eve loves the Lord and Prohibition and is as idealistic as many Christian seventeen year olds can be. She learns, through a series of events, that everything isn't as black and white as she origionally thought. 
Eve, her family and the life situations in which they found themselves seemed real. I genuinely felt like I was reading real journal of events and greatly enjoyed a taste of what it may have been like being a devoted follower of God and trying to discern how to live that out in the 1930's.
I will add that this story opens 50 years later as Eve searches the attic for a token of love given to her from her husband of 48 years. As she recounts the stories of her life in the island lodge to her grandson, Sean, I found myself wondering several times which trinket placed in her memory box was the one that drove her to the hotel's attic in the first place.
This was a fantastic summer read and I came to love Eve as she transitioned from naive and idealistic to a young woman who still stands her ground but sees life with a few shades of gray, rather than so black and white.
In order to comply with Federal Trade Commission regulations, please note that Bethany House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book and all the opinions expressed have been my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You don't want to miss this one!

Date:June 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy Downes
Location:Broken Arrow, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweet Mercy by Ann Tatlock is not only a wonderful book, but it will give you a lot to think about. At first, I had trouble identifying with the main character, Eve Marryat. The story takes place in 1931 during Prohibition and the Great Depression. Because I live in post-prohibition, I just could not identify with this character’s strong aversion to alcohol being bought and sold in stores. However, Tatlock did such a fabulous job of writing that it wasn’t long before I could see and feel the events through Eve’s eyes. I understood what she and the other characters were going through and sympathized with her pain.
I also learned a lot about this historical period; things I never learned in history class. Never before had I grasped what the average citizen went through during this period of time when gangsters, bootleggers, bank robbers, money launderers, and corrupt lawmen ran the businesses, the banks and the local government. When the average citizen watched people get gunned down in the streets right in front of them and car bombs were frequent events. When advertisements in the paper read, “Bullet holes rewoven perfectly in damaged clothes.” I just never knew how corrupt it was.
It made me begin to wonder what will happen to our country if gun laws get passed. Will we go through a Gun Prohibition that will be similar to the Prohibition in the 30s? Perhaps we need to reread our history a bit more closely and think about the long-term effects of passing laws like this.
Although the book is an eye-opener about the Prohibition era, it is in no way a boring read, nor is it depressing. It is a coming-of-age story, a love story, and a story of mercy. It has a surprise ending that made me both laugh and cry. After I was done, I went back and read parts of it again. That's how much it affected me.
Sweet Mercy is the perfect title for this book, too. You'll see what I mean when you read it. Trust me, you don't want to miss this one!
NOTE: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of writing the review; however, this in no way reflects my review of the book. My opinions are my own, good or bad!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eve Marryat has life all figured out. She knows who she wants to be in life (not like her sister, Cassandra,) and she knows what she believes (Prohibition means exactly that. Prohibited.) It is 1931, and when her father gets laid off from his job he packs up the family and relocates them to Mercy, Ohio where his brothers are. Eve's uncle, Cy Marryat provides a place for the family at Marryat Island Ballroom and Lodge, and in return, they help him run the place.
Happy to escape the haven for criminals St. Paul has become, Eve settles on life on Marryat Island like she's lived there forever. She becomes friends with the some of the local young people, and life that summer is just one happy day after another. But when she accidentally discovers something that was never meant for her to find, will living on the island may turn out to be exactly what she was trying to get away from in St. Paul? And what will happen with the new friendships she has made - especially with one young man called Link?
There was a lot of surprises for me in this book. I try to open each novel with an open mind and the knowledge that it is just a story, woven from the mind of the author. But Tatlock wrote a tale that mirrors the hopes and dreams that will always be constant themes for humanity. The hope of a fresh start. The dream for a better life. Things we all want at some point in our life. This novel speaks of the things that are important; family, moral choices, and most of all - love. A wonderful place to escape for a few hours, and a story you will regret having to finish.
This book was provided by Bethany House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Recommended for young adults

Date:June 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Millstreetreader
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When the movie Public Enemy was partially filmed in Wisconsin several summers ago, it fed a renewed interest in the Great Depression, Prohibition, and of course, the gangsters who thrived during that time. One of our young twenty something neighbors even got a "part" as an extra, and we all watched carefully to see her multi-second debut into the world of film. Despite all this interest in the time period, I was surprised to see prohibition and its underworld the subject of a Christian novel. I was even more surprised at what an entertaining story Ann Tatlock created with this subject.
Seventeen year-old Eve is delighted that she and her parents have left the Twin Cities to find work at her uncle's lodge in Ohio. Eve believes that St. Paul has become too much a city of gangsters and danger, and she wants peace. At first the Marryat Ballroom and Lodge seems ideal, providing not only a place to live and work, but also Eve's first chance at romance. Then Eve begins to see the realities around her. Each day, bums from the nearby "camp" arrive outside the lodge for a handout. When Eve makes friends with one young drifter named Link, her black and white views must face that life sometimes delivers gray. As a tentative friendship develops with her uncle's reclusive, albino step-son, Eve sees the sensitivity and hurt in the young man, while others only see a frightening "red-eyed devil." Like all of us, Eve finally must face that she has always been to quick to judge others, and maybe, just maybe, she doesn't have all the right answers.
I would recommend this story for young adult readers. Ann Tatlock wove into the story some details about Al Capone which are not widely known. I think those details added impact to the themes of forgiveness and judgment. While I thought the story flowed, I anticipated every turn and twist, and I was left with no surprises. Still, it was a fun read and worth the time. I received a copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sweet Mercy - eBook
This review is fromSweet Mercy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed this prohibition book

Date:June 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
daischop
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
For me alot of times, it is the cover art that will sell me on a book, that and the description on the back. So the cover art on this particular book intrigued me, but the back, I had to read several times to figure out if I really wanted to read the book. Finally, I threw aside my hesitations and went for it. I'm glad I did.
I received my book in the mail on Friday, and started it sporadically on Saturday. By Saturday evening, I was fully dedicated to ready the book, unable to stop until it was finished.
Basically, the premise of the book is set in the days of the Depression and the Prohibition. Eve Marryat and her family leave their home in St. Paul, MN to go home to her father's roots in Ohio. Eve is more than willing to leave the land of gangster's behind, having seen her own share of horrors at a young age. They arrive in Ohio, on Marryat island, where her father's brother owns a lodge. There, they stay to help work in the lodge and earn their keep. While there, Eve makes a friend and finds her first love. Unfortunately, a discovery forces her to tell secrets. Then, she and her father are forced to keep a secret, that has a potential for widespread consequences. They choose to return home, and turn a blind eye on what is happening. In the mean time, she meets a red-eyed devil and a bum from Shantytown.
All in all, the book was pleasant to read. It had a good plot and followed along a reasonable time line. I didn't feel like I was missing pieces along the way. I like the way the book started, and then the way it ended, almost like a story within a story. I liked Eve, although she did seem self-righteous at times. However, she did admit mistakes and wasn't too goody-goody.
As I said, I did enjoy the book and it was detailed enough that I was able to imagine myself there alongside Eve at times. That said, in hindsight, I realize that the characters weren't fully explored. Marlene, a friend that Eve met, wasn't much explored. You didn't miss her once her character left the pages. Marcus, Eve's first love...was another person who could come or leave. I like the book also, because even though it was set during the prohibition times, Eve was actually a good girl. She didn't delve into the flapper or want to try to drink, she was on the flip side, the ones against drinking. However, she was neither the one who was out holding signs and trying to root out the evil stills. She was a middle man, caught in a situation while she was trying to live out life the best that she could.
I did enjoy the book, and thought it was a good read. The only part where I thought it could develop more was in the richness of the characters and the era. For it to have received a Christy Award, I guess I was expecting something more along the lines of the book "Christy" or "Julie", two of my favorite books.
I received this complimentary copy from Bethany House Publishers to provide an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>