Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition

Tyndale House The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition

From Rudolf Otto's mysterium tremendum to Martin Luther's "insanity" and Jonathan Edwards's fiery sermons, Sproul's classic offers an accessible exploration of history and Scripture that will help you understand---and live with---the tension between God's terrifying holiness and his inexplicable grace.

Sproul explains, "How we understand the person and character of God the Father affects every aspect of our lives....God is inescapable. There is no place we can hide from Him. Not only does He penetrate every aspect of our lives, but He penetrates it in his majestic holiness. Therefore we must seek to understand what the holy is. We dare not seek to avoid it. There can be no worship, no spiritual growth, no true obedience without it. It defines our goal as Christians. God has declared, "Be holy, because I am holy" (Lev. 11:44). To reach that goal, we must understand what holiness is."

Allow one of the all-time classic works on God's character to guide you more deeply into the presence of God as you respond to God's holiness. This edition of Sproul's work includes challenging study questions for individuals or small groups.

Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Review 1 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bern
Location:Philadelphia,Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book is very informative and makes me think longer than before
I think every one should have this book
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nick
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Expands your perception of what God's holiness really entails. Seems to go off on tangents at times, but it then brings right back around to the main point and explaining it all with easy understanding. A must read for every believer and definitely for new believers who really want to look at God with the right mindset. He is more than love, more than power, more than awesome. He is holy, holy, holy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for the thinking survivors

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kim Casey
Location:Colorado Springs
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked up this book 2 years ago aiming to understand God's greatness. I was also reading The Wounded Heart for survivors of abuse. Yes, I've struggled with doubts, anger and injustice. I was surprised how Sproul helped me in my journey of healing. I appreciate his logical approach to faith with the assumption that not all readers have unquestioning faith. (even Sproul). I also learned the value of God's name and using it properly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Rock
Good reading and alot to think about, especially realizing how much our culture has declined in revereencing God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann Lytle
We are using the video program in our church home group. I ordered the book for myself because I like the study very much. I would recommend this book to anyone who is eager to bitter understand His holiness & draw closer to God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dejan
This book is a must read for any Christian. If you want to learn or rediscover what you have forgotten about how Holy God is, this is the book for you. The best part of the book was when he talked about the life of Martin Luther and that he almost went insane after discovering God's Holiness. Biblical Exegesis is also provided on Isaiah 6, Mark 10 about the rich man, and much more! A Must Buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev John Brown
I have been looking for a book like this. I have read it through, and I am now going back through it and marking each passage that has spoken to me in some way. This New Year I will be spending a lot of time in this book. Thank God for leading me to The Holiness of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Darryl Strong
5 out of 5! At least 2-3 times a year, I find myself referring to this book to help me to remember how pure, holy and perfect God is. The Holiness of God does a great job of applying the attribute to all three persons of the Godhead(Father, Son and Holy Spirit). After reading this book, no man or woman shall ever refer to God & Jesus as 'the man upstairs'. The book will help its readers to appreciate the holiness attribute of God and will impact the worship and the daily walk of it's readers - Be holy, because I am holy" (Lev. 11:44).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
William Mcfadden
R.C. Sproul delivers a complicated topic in a way that anyone can understand. He is a man with a true understanding of God's word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Taylor Lynde
Probably Sproul's masterpiece, This is such an important doctrine, but seldom discussed as WELL and in a head on, understandable way. This is one of those books i will reread every few years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dan Saugstad
This is definitely a fruitful book. Extremely easy readability, whether you read from deeply theological to the devotional, all will profit from this book. It definately opened my eyes to the Holiness of God, and also led me to have my own experience of a deep respect and fear of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2005
Customer Avatar
Ed Ormsby
I am a frequent reader of Christian literature, but there are only two books that I consider "must reads" for every Christian. The Holiness of God is one of the two (the other one is The Gospel for Real Life by Jerry Bridges). Sproul's book drives you to your knees as it expounds upon the holiness of God and man's contrasting sin. But it also lifts you to new heights of praise and thankfulness for God's most precious gift of grace: His Son Jesus. Sproul's book has helped me to better understand God's holiness, God's judgments, and my sin. And in doing so, he has helped me to better understand, and respond to, God's glorious grace. Well done Mr. Sproul, well done indeed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
David Herring
This is Sproul at his best. With humble earnesty and soulful satisfaction, he unfolds some of the intricasies of life in the shadow of God. Starting from Scripture, he moves to his own personal encounter with God as well as the writings of Martin Luther to help us understand an appropriate of God and ourselves. This book is an excellent resources for new believers searching for something deeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2003
Customer Avatar
Jason Clements
"What is that which gleames through me and smites my heart without wounding it? I am both ashudder and aglow. Ashudder in so much as I am unlike it; aglow in so much as I am like it." These were the words of St. Augustine in response to the Holiness of God, and after reading this book prayerfully along with the Bible I understand what he meant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2003
Customer Avatar
J. Torres
This book is everything the people below said and more. Sproul really has a way with words, and this book brings it out "full blast". One of the best aspects of this book is it's apologetic value, see it's chapter of the judgement of Aaron's son's, good stuff! Also, "Luther's insanity" is great! This book is truly a modern classic!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2002
Customer Avatar
Justin Childers
We need more books focused on God. We live in a world that is totally focused on man. I challenge you to get into this book and be awestruck at the holiness of God. This book is a wonderful treatment on one of the most important subjects in the world.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2002
Customer Avatar
Wayne Clifford Villarreal
"I had not been a Christian very long when I picked up this book. At the time it was just what I needed to read. The manner in which Sproul presents the holiness of God in his book is amazing. I suggest that you purchase this book. It is a must read."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2001
Customer Avatar
Mark Smedberg
This is absolutely one of the best books I have read in the past few years. R. C. Sproul does a wonderful job of "standing up" for the holiness of God. He shows how we have lost our reverence, respect, and awe for our Creator. We EXPECT grace, rather than see it as a gift and NOT deserved. God's justice is explained clearly and biblically. This is a must read for all who seek to worship God as He really is!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Holiness of God, Revised and Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2001
Customer Avatar
Katie
This book is amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.