Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons

Tyndale House Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons

In the years 2014 and 2015, four lunar eclipses, called "blood moons," will occur during two significant Jewish festivals: Passover and the Feast of Tabernacles. Prophecy watchers have heralded this celestial phenomenon because it has occurred in the last millennium only at crucial times in the history of the Jewish people.

In Blood Moons Rising, Mark Hitchcock will explore Bible prophecy, the history of Israel, and the phenomenon of the four blood moons. He'll take you on an in-depth tour of what the Bible says about the last days. He'll show you how current newspaper headlines are obvious signs of the coming of the end. Then he'll dissect whether the four blood moons fit into prophecy found in Scripture.

You won't want to miss this in-depth discussion of the facts - and also the fiction - concerning the four blood moons.

Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons
Review 1 for Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing Prophecy Analyzed, Easy to Read

Date:July 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author explains the attention-getting prophecy of the blood moons / lunar eclipses, then uses plain language and Scriptures to show why there are accuracy problems with it. I like the easy to understand explanations, even when they become a bit repetitious; the repetition works, for emphasis. I also like the appendices with texts and further references for when I get through mulling this over, and I want more in-depth information. He seems to be an authoritative writer who gives the data and lets us make up our minds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great and Relevant Resource

Date:July 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
HmschlMama
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anything by Mark Hitchcock, in my opinion, is an excellent resource to have in your Christian library, especially when dealing with the subject of End Times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
When I saw this book on the Tyndale Summer Reading list I was a bit apprehensive about reading it but since our library had it I decided to go ahead and go for it. You see my mother in law is way in to the whole blood moon prophecy thing and I know it isn't Biblical so I was not looking forward to reading a book on the topic. But to my surprise I found out a few chapters in that this was a book showing from Scripture why the blood moon prophecy is not Biblical. I was so excited. Now I could get some good answers for her and understand what is being said about it.
I didn't necessarily agree with everything on his view of eschatology but you don't need to to be able to realize that this whole blood moon prophecy business is false. I would highly recommend this book for all Christians as this is a big lie being spread around right now and we need to know how to discuss it from a Biblical perspective.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Understandable Biblical prophecy

Date:June 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Norfolk, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a hard time getting started with this book as my eyes were busy rolling up into my head. “Oh brother, another book predicting the second coming!” How many times has it been predicted so far?
Did you know that in 2014 and 2015 there will be 4 “blood moons” (so named for the reddish color taken on by the moon during a full lunar eclipse) that occur on four Jewish festivals, the Passover and Feast of the Tabernacles each year? Figure the odds! The odds are, it has happened at least three other times, and each time a crucial event has occurred for the Jewish people. With this being the fourth one, it must surely portend the beginning of the end, right? Through wonderfully thorough and easy-to-understand explanations, Mr. Hitchcock lays out a very coherent explanation of why he thinks not. He quotes C.S. Lewis, “As a Christian I take it for granted that human history will some day end; and I am offering Omniscience no advice as to the best date for that consummation.” We should all be that careful! The author states, “It’s true that the Rapture could happen in 2014 or 2015. It can happen any time.”
This was an excellent exploration of Biblical prophecy, the history of Israel, and the phenomenon of the four blood moons, easily accessible for the prophecy challenged (me!). It was a quick and enjoyable read….and I can’t believe I said that concerning a book about Biblical prophecy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Read

Date:June 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Blood Moons Rising is another suspenseful must-read for this summer. In this book, the author explains to his readers about biblical prophecy concerning Israel, their history, and what Israel has to do with the four blood moons that are expected to take place in 2014 and 2015. The author teaches its readers about what the Bible says about the end times and what those last days may be like. He, then, compares the biblical prophecies to stories that were printed in newspapers and why they point to these days as the precursor to the end times and the importance of Christians to be paying attention to the things we read in the newspaper or watch on news channels. The author also explains what the blood moons are and their significance to the last days and where they are mentioned in the bible. Though this book was interesting, I also found it to be a little chilling because with all the facts presented in the book, it seems as if the last days are not far from occurring and there are so many people who have either not heard of Jesus and His salvation, but also those who reject. Reading this book has helped stress the point that Christians need to take the news seriously and use the more frequently occurring disasters as a motivation to make Jesus’s name known.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blood Moon Rising

Date:May 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
gcw1
Location:York, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BLOOD MOONS RISING
Bible Prophecy, Israel, And The Four Blood Moons
By Mark Hitchcock
The four blood moons are getting a lot of attention, with all that is going on in the world. Bible prophecy tells about the moon turning to blood before the second coming of Christ. The four-blood moons forecasted in 2014 - 2015, has opened a lot of talk and brought the prophecy to center stage in the Christian community. Mark looks at the prophecy from a Biblical viewpoint and uses scripture to explain what he thinks will happen. He compares his finding with others who have written their interpretation of what may take place. The book is very easy reading and easy to understand and filled with a lot of information.
One thing the Bible tells is that only God the Father knows when the second coming is going to take place He has not even told the Son (Jesus Christ). As to who’s interpretation is right, only time will tell what God has planned, when that time comes we won't be caring one way or the other who was right, because God will be right and we believers will be with Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

interesting

Date:April 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My thoughts: When I first saw Blood Moons Rising offered as a book to review, I really thought it was an end-time novel. I had never heard about the blood moons, though I had heard about the moon turning to blood as an end sign. But I am neither a theologian nor a Biblical scholar and am not even well versed in debating or discussing Biblical prophecy. I’m just a lady that has attended church all her life and heard some really good preaching. I am a Christian and I take my Christianity seriously. So when I received the book and saw that it was a non-fiction treatise by Mark Hitchcock on the subject of the four Blood Moons and the theory of blood moons previously and prophetically affecting the Jewish peoples, I decided to do a bit of research prior to delving into the pages of Blood Moons Rising.
As I found in my own research and saw in Mr. Hitchcock’s book, there is theory that John Hagee adheres to based on the premise that since these blood moons centuries ago occurred when major events also occurred impacting the Jewish peoples, that during the years 2014-15 when there would be four of the blood moons occurring the events would serve as a sign of end times. Mr. Hitchcock disagrees with the reading of signs into these occurrences. Mr. Hitchcock also disputes the methods of interpretation used by these theorists.
Blood Moons Rising is not a heavy read, but it certainly is not light reading either. I believe Mr. Hitchcock has stated it concisely in this statement referring to Mr. Hagee and other theroists …. “speculation and a misinterpretation of Scripture.” We are to be careful in our interpretation of the Bible and especially in assigning signs in the sky and earth as prophetic to the coming of Christ and the end of time.
Points of interest:
John Hagee published a book called "Four Blood Moons: Something Is About to Change," which suggesta a link between the new lunar tetrad and a biblical prophecy about the apocalypse.
Joel 2:31 KJV states: "The sun shall be turned into darkness, and the moon into blood, before the great and terrible day of the Lord come."
Revelations 6:12: "There was a great earthquake. The Sun turned black like sackcloth made of goat hair. The whole Moon turned blood red."
Tetrad dates coincide with Passover (April 15, 2014 and April 4, 2015) and the Jewish observance of Sukkot (Oct. 8, 2014 and Sept. 28, 2015)
DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary copy of Blood Moons Rising: Biblical Prophecy, Israel, and the Four Blood Moons from Tyndale Blog Network in exchange for my honest review. Opinions expressed are solely my own and I received no compensation for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A biblical response to blood moon speculation

Date:April 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much is being written about the four “blood moons” (lunar eclipses) taking place in 2014 and 2015. Their significance was discovered by Mark Blitz in 2007 and made popular by John Hagee in a book he published last fall.
Hitcock agrees with much of Hagee's views of the end times (such as pre-tribulation rapture) but thinks Hagee misinterpreted some Scripture and drew wrong conclusions from history. “My view,” Hitchcock writes, “is that much of what people are saying today about blood moons is based on speculation and a misinterpretation of Scripture.”
He reviews what he believes Scripture says about the end times, examines the historical evidence for the blood moons prophecy, and then draws conclusions.
Hitchcock notes that the blood moon theory is built upon four main ideas. 1) God uses the heavens to give signs to humanity. 2) The scientific fact of four blood moons in 2014-2015 falling on the Jewish feasts of Passover and Tabernacles. 3) Scripture mentions the moon turning to blood in conjunction with the end times. 4) When the four blood moons fell on Jewish feasts in the last 500 years (three times), something significant happened regarding the Jews.
He looks at what prophetic signs are and their significance. He takes us through the feasts in Leviticus 23, reviews where the eclipses are visible and the significance of that, looks at each of the Bible passages mentioning signs in the heavens and the end times, and finds problems with Hagee's conclusions.
He then looks at the past events associated with previous tetrads, noting that in two cases the historical events preceded the tetrads and in the third case preceded all eclipses but the first one.
Hitchcock reminds us of the detrimental effects resulting from previous declarations of dates for Christ's return (such as William Miller – 1844, Jehovah's Witness founder Charles Russel – 1914 and eight more dates, Edgar Whisenant – 1988, Harold Camping – 1994 and 2011). He notes the danger of assigning “significant” events to particular years (one can find an event of significant for practically every year), and his concern that proponents of the blood moon theory will find something in 2015 to validate their claim.
He also reminds us that Christians are always to be ready for the Lord's return. One reason – because we cannot know when that will be. “Date setting is futile and foolish,” he writes. We are not to get caught up in speculation about end time events.
Hitchcock has written a well researched response to Hagee's speculation. I highly recommend it. My only caution is that Hitchcock is a proponent of the currently popular pre-tribulation rapture end times theology. Readers need to be reminded that in the history of the Christian church, other views of the end times were held. Hitchcock bases much of his critique of Hagee upon his own belief that the (secret) rapture could happen any moment. While a (secret) rapture is not part of my end times theology, I do heartily agree with most of Hitchcock's critique of Hagee and do recommend this book.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of an independent and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review of “Blood Moons Rising"

Date:April 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
jwisaacs
In 2014 and 2015 we will experience lunar events which are drawing the attention of many people. There will be four occasions in which a blood moon (which is a full lunar eclipse in which the moon turns an orange or red color) will occur on the same date as a Jewish feast. This series of four blood moons has happened three other times in the past five hundred years. On each occasion, significant events have occurred in Jewish history in the years surrounding the events (though not precisely in the window of the four blood moons). As this next set of events draws near, speculation has arisen about whether or not there will be another historical event relevant to either Israel or the larger world.
Mark Hitchcock has written Blood Moons Rising as a response to the recent discussion of these events as popularized by John Hagee. Hagee has popularized this theory based on the teachings of Mark Blitz of El Shaddai Ministries. This view has received some attention in the media lately, and may receive more attention as the time of the four blood moons passes. According to Hitchcock, Hagee claims that “This is the hand of God orchestrating the signs in the heavens. The final Four Blood Moons are signaling that something big is coming…”1 Additionally, Hagee claims that America may be facing judgment if they do not repent.
The past three series of four blood moons occurred as follows: The first series was in 1493 and 1494, near the time of the Jews being expelled from Spain in 1492. The second of these series occurred in 1949 and 1950, just after Israel again became a nation again in 1948. The final occasion was in 1967 and 1968; the Six Day War in Israel occurred in 1967. Hagee’s claim about America’s future is based on the fact that 2015 is a Sabbatical year for Israel, a year in which Israel was supposed to allow the land to rest without planting in the Old Testament. Since Israel ignored this command, they were exiled to Babylon. Hagee applies this judgment to the United States, and cites events in the past which correlate to the Sabbatical years leading up to 2015 (the 2008 stock market crash, the 9/11 tragedy in 2001, as well as other events leading back to at least 1973). Hagee does not give specifics on what he believes will happen, other than to say “This we know: things are about to change forever.”2
A discussion about these theories raises many questions, such as: What is the Biblical basis for these views? Are these events necessarily being linked to end times, or just “a big event”? How often did four blood moons occur before five hundred years ago? Did significant events occur during those previous series? Is it a stretch to attribute the historical events to each time period since two of them only occurred in the years surrounding the events, and not on the same years as the blood moons? Are some making the claim that the fourth such event will be the most significant? Why is the commandment and judgment of Israel’s sabbatical years being applied to the United States? Why is 2015 cited as the year something will happen although 1948 and 1492 were not Sabbatical years? Is this theory a type of “date setting” about end times?
Hitchcock addresses many of these questions in his book. In addition to discussing the theories involved with these events, Hitchcock’s book also provides: a summary of several approaches to end times prophecy; an in depth look at the Biblical passages associated with the claims; and, a proposed chronology of end events based on a pre-tribulation and premillennial eschatology. Based on this framework, Hitchcock states that the blood moons events do not fit into an eschatology based on any Biblical prophecy.
“None of the verses quoted to support this theory mention four blood moons. The entire blood moons prophecy is based on something the Bible never specifically predicts. The Bible does mention the moon turning to blood in connection with Christ’s return, but it never mentions four blood moons, let alone four blood moons in conjunction with the Jewish feasts of Passover and Tabernacles.”
Hitchcock’s examination of five key passages used to build the blood moons theory leads him to conclude:
“Let me reiterate that I do believe in signs of the end times. I believe there are legitimate signs today that point towards the coming of Christ, and I have no personal ax to grind against the blood moons prophecy or is proponents. Nevertheless, I think a fair, contextual reading of the five biblical passages used to support this view shows its sizeable shortcomings.”
I have not read Hagee’s book and I am cautious about saying how well Hitchcock has represented his view. My interest is studying the Scriptural basis for this theory rather than evaluating Hitchcock or Hagee. Many world events are occurring which could fit a setup of the conditions for the end times events to occur: Israel has been re-established as a nation, the countries surrounding Israel continually threaten its existence, and it would not be surprising if imminent events result in more stage setting.
Each generation has looked to events of their time and hypothesized on how those events could fit into Biblical prophecy. Scripture teaches that the Rapture could happen at any time; if Rapture or some other significant event does occur soon, it will not necessarily be because of these lunar events. It is likely that an event in 2015 or soon thereafter will occur which some may attribute to this theory. On matters of end time prophecy, I take a skeptical footing and decide to ask many questions; Scripture is the authoritative filter for discerning the veracity of any claims. My responsibility is to obey God and remain busy until the end; I like to remind myself of the sage advice I was given as I began studying eschatology, “Be ready for anything.”
Notes:
1. Hagee, Four Blood Moons, 237.
2. Hagee, Four Blood Moons, 51.
Additional Note: I am not familiar with the beliefs of Mark Blitz or El Shaddai Ministries beyond the mention in this book. Supposedly, Blitz is the one who originally formalized this theory. A comprehensive look into this theory should include Blitz’s view; my purpose in this piece is to review Hitchcock’s book.
Thank you to the people at Tyndale House Publishers for a copy of this book for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book about 4 blood moons 2014-2015

Date:May 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
M. Moss
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Excellent, informative, Biblical, historical, and ultra-current. Mr. Hitchcock presents his case and evidence and lets the reader make his/her own decision.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blood Moons Rising: What Bible Prophecy Says About Israel and the Four Blood Moons
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellently Written

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
J4Life5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In 2014 and 2015, four lunar eclipses will occur. The eclipses will occur during two significant Jewish festivals. Prophecy experts are focused on this phenomenon because four blood moons have occurred at crucial times in the last millennium. Mark Hitchcock has studied the blood moon phenomenon and shares his discoveries related to how current events intertwine with the significance of the blood moons.
I thought this book was very interesting. What I appreciated the most about the book is the logical way in which Hitchcock presented the facts, without forcing his opinions on the readers. Books don’t come around very often with clearly written, logical explanations for the authors point of view, without conjecture or opinions. I thought Hitchcock did an excellent job explaining the significance of the blood moons so that even readers who are reading about it for the first time can understand the potential implications.
I also appreciated that Hitchcock stresses that although the occurrence of the blood moons could be significant, no one knows for sure what might occur. I enjoyed the historical snapshots into leaders pinpointing dates of significance which were proven false.
If you are a fan of books that look at Bible prophecy, this book is for you. It was very interesting and a quick read.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.