Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover

Tyndale House NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover

The popular Life Recovery Bible in the New Living Translation with an incredibly easy-to-read 10.5 text size. Designed for both the Christian who is seeking God's view on recovery and the non-Christian who is seeking God and answers to recovery, the Life Recovery Bible will lead readers to the source of true healing-God himself. The features of this best-selling Bible were brought together by two of today's leading recovery experts, David Stoop, Ph.D., and Stephen Arterburn, M.Ed.

  • Recovery notes pinpoint passages and thoughts important to people in recovery
  • Twelve Step devotionals discuss the important truths of the Twelve Steps in the context of Scripture
  • Serenity Prayer devotionals reflect on principles from the Serenity Prayer illuminated by specific Bible passages
  • Recovery Profiles feature recovery lessons drawn from the lives of key Bible people
  • Recovery Principle devotionals show how the Bible addresses many specific concerns of people in recovery

Features:

  • 10.5-point Bible text size
  • Double-column format
  • Book Introductions
  • User's Guide
  • Life Recovery Topical Index
  • Index to recovery profiles
  • Index to Twelve Step Devotionals
  • Index to Recovery Principle Devotionals
  • Serenity Prayer Devotionals
  • Index to Recovery Reflections
  • 10.75" x 7.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.946 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 24100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Review 1 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome resource

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
smharry
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Life Recovery Bible is an awesome resource. All the footnotes are geared towards "recovering" from the hurts, hang-ups and issues that we all deal with. The Reading Plans are awesome as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little Bible to overcome our failures

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancy Talley
Location:Woodstock, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is given to inmates in the local jail as well as sent to inmates in prison. Even though it is more expensive than other Bibles, it is the one most inmates request. It helps them through the steps of recovery and the devotions are a wonderful aid. If you have a family member in rehab or trying to overcome a sin, this is the Bible for them. One of the easiest Bibles to comprehend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A bundle of blessings

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cathi
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is currently being used for a jail ministry. It is written that it may be more easily understood. The life lessons are great. The Lord has provided!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Recovery Bible has really great references

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
TSBC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Recovery Bible is such a help for our jail ministry. It helps women who are in need of God's love and just need help in general.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

TURN THINGS AROUND

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Royce
Location:Marksville, La
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS BIBLE IS THE BAR-NON BEST FOR THOSE WORKING A 12-STEP PROGRAM IN RECOVERY. IT SOURCES EACH OF THE 12 STEPS AND REFERENCES THEM TO RELATED PASSAGES IN THE BIBLE. THIS PARTICULAR ONE WAS A GIFT TO A GIRL IN PRISON WHO IS TRYING TO TURN THINGS AROUND. SHE WAS DELIGHTED AND SAYS SHE NEVER REALIZED HOW THE 12 STEPS ARE SO INTERTWINED WITH THE BIBLE. SPIRITUALITY IS THE BASIS OF THE 12 STEPS, AND THIS NLT LIFE RECOVERY BIBLE SHOWS HOW. CBC HAS IN-STOCK AVAILABILITY AND VERY GOOD PRICING. IT IS MORE THAN WORTH WHATEVER EFFORT IT TAKES TO GET IT.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the way they apply the Books to recovery

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grateful Child of God
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book when I was starting to attend a Faith based recovery group and found that the version doesn't make me feel ashamed of being in recovery but points out that the mess of a life I lived can be renewed into a message for others and to give others faith that if you but your trust in Jesus, He will guide you, hold your hand and will comfort you. I am so thankful for all the care that was put into the commentary notes and how they relate to life as I know it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Any Addiction

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jerry Chubb
Location:Apache Junction, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In addition to providing Scripture, there is helpful material specifically targeted to those struggling to escape their slavery to an addiction (actually, ANY sin for that matter). Excellent companion to anyone reading 'The Big Book'.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational with 'can do' help, it works!

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
utahlady
Location:Hurricane, UT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've given this bible to approximately 20 people and every one of them said it was the first REAL help they got and could relate to,. I will continue to give this to those in need, just wish I could afford to buy them by the case lot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sisc
Location:NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every thing I expected. ( Love Christian Books ) This one I great
for any one to understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen Caridi
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been ordering these in quantity for our Life Recovery Bible Study from CBD for about six or so years; and people really like using them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible has not only been an encouragement to..

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
talldoll
Location:Bakersfield
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
me but to the families that I mentor. I work for a church and focus mostly on "at-risk" families. I love giving this Bible to new believers because it has a built in Bible Study. The commentary part is amazing, encouraging and real.
this is a Bible the I would recommend for new and mature Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Avid Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I was looking for. The recipient of the gift was more than pleased and loves the layout and all the extra helps it contains.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent guide for recovery of any kind!

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
freebird
Location:Washington
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read that we all are in recovery of some kind, and that our purpose here on earth is to share the strength we receive through God's grace, word and love with others.
This study bible shows great examples of each of these and more.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Recovery Bible

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jayne Golden
Location:Columbia,SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one of these myself & as a Christian counsler & friend. Ihave given several to friends & family. It is a great Bible for life. Period. Whether you are a recovering alcoholic, addict or widow, lonely, life has been extra hard on you, widower, loss of sibling, parent, or whatever this is a great gift for yourself on someone else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Investment

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
DMDN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was bought to give to a young man being mentored. It is exactly what he needs and what I was looking for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is great.

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
LHOT
Location:South Korea
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I simply love Bible Gateway NLT Softcover! It's affordable and you'll not regret you bought it. It will strengthen your relationship with God as you develop a habit of reading it daily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Used it personally for a family member and other

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Charlie Cooksey
Location:Norman, Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My brother really benefited from it greatly.
I also have ordered these for a bible study with women
shelter that come from alcoholic and drug background and trying to believe God and not their friends who want them back into this life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is Awesome

Date:August 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Evangelist T
Location:CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible has be a remarkable asset for so many people in my life and my church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ding
Location:Pa
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was purchased as a gift to my nephew in rehab - it was the perfect Bible for him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NLT Life Recovery Bible, Large Print, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

RECOVERY BIBLE

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Antoinette
Location:Middletown, MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bible for a family member and reading it together with the 12 Steps included was and will be a life saving encouragement. Anyone who is struggling with any kind of addiction needs this resource
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>