Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Messy Spirituality - eBook

Zondervan Messy Spirituality - eBook

Often our inconsistent prayer lives and inability to keep up with Bible reading plans have left us feeling like failures. However, in Messy Spirituality Mike Yaconelli reminds us that admitting such failure and receiving God's mercy is the first step of true Christian spirituality. Through engaging biblical teaching as well as vivid personal stories Mike will point you towards the Savior who meets and transforms us in the midst of all our messiness.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Messy Spirituality - eBook
Review 1 for Messy Spirituality - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
jmckduck
Location:California
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book our life (small) group couldn't just read a chapter at a time. I would recommend it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Messy Spirituality - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Van Camp
Messy Spirituality describes how you don't have to have a perfect life to be a Christian, and how God loves flawed people. I purchased it to use for a spiritual group at a Mental Health Drop-In Center. I was afraid that the book might not work for a group, but it even has questions in the back for discussion!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Messy Spirituality - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tony Glisson
I'm a christian.....But I'm not very good at it. How wonderful and revealing it is to know you don't have to act a certain way, or do a certain thing a certain way, or to say or do it a certain number of times as it relates to GOD. This bood will turn a persons world upside down or right side up depending on how you look it. Either way, it is truly a blessing to anyone who reads it. Mr. Yaconelli has found a way for people to experience grace first hand instead of just knowing about it. I thought the chains were removed when I was reborn only to learn that they had been replaced with new ones as it related to my closeness with God. Messy Spirituality removes all of these chains in a very beautiful and gentles way. After reading this, I cannot fathom anyone or anything taking away what God bestowed on me with this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Messy Spirituality - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donald Lehrian
It's amazing how many Born Again, Spirit Filled, God Fearing(love and respect) Christians I have shared the message of this book with and the conversation becomes: Hey, that's me too and when I realize that I've slipped in "my" God relationship, I've been dissapointed in me and wondered how this could happen. This book helps me remember that only God is perfect and I am NOT even though God is working His perfection in me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Messy Spirituality - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann Askew
This is an excellent read for those of us who need reassurance that we are not alone in wanting to know the God who meets us in all conditions, loves us unconditionally and doesn't want perfectionism.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Messy Spirituality - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Corrina Kelley
What a wonderful book! Michael Yaconelli gets it. He understands grace from the inside out. He understands that we are all messed up and that is why we NEED a Savior! He blows the illusions of some churches and people who want Christianity and Jesus to be neat and tidy. Jesus brought radical thinking to the people of His time and for a lifetime. Christianity doesn't make sense. We don't get what we deserve. Instead we come to the feet of a loving God and He gives us grace, mercy, and compassion. He meets us in our sin and isn't scared to be there with us! And He loves us enough to save us from ourselves.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Messy Spirituality - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Stovall
I think this is a wonderful book. I've have not read a book in years that is more realistic than this one. I love to read, especially anything pertaining to the bible. The Title of the book is really why I bought it. I'm so glad I did. Now I don't feel so bad. I'm like a lot of people, that love the Lord, but feel that I miss the mark.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Messy Spirituality - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patrick Timney
I've read this book a couple of times, and we're now using it with our small group to provoke thinking and discussion. If you are looking for a knowledge based/intellectual type of book or study, this is not the book for you. However, if you want something that is honest, and straight-forward that will challenge status quo thinking, and will really cause you to think about your relationship with Christ and with others, this is the book for you.The questions that accompany each chapter are of a more personal nature, designed to provoke discussion and, while some of them are a bit simplistic, are a good jumping off point for groups or even individuals. I highly recommend this book, particularly for people who struggle with perfectionism, trying to live up to unrealistic expectations or who simply need to be reminded that God loves and works through broken, "messy" people!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Messy Spirituality - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
A Keith Turner
Fantastic outta the box look at Christianity. Great for new church starts and those who do ministry with a fresh outlook
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Messy Spirituality - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Stephen Crawford
This is an awesome work of of literary style. Mike knows from vast experience about the pain we go through in churches. We are to love one another, bear one another burdens and pray for one another. This book is absolutely essential to every one of GOD's children, it will give you insight into yourself and how GOD feels about you. Our responsibility is to respond to his ability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Messy Spirituality - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Deborah
I give this book an unequivocal 5 stars. I have recently stopped attending a church (after almost 18 years!) where I have suffered emotional damage that I KNOW that the church leaders did not mean to inflict. We have obviously had long relationships and loved our leaders very much. Also, and most importantly, God did not release us earlier. In all fairness I've learned so much that although the experience had it's share of pain I would not trade it for anything. We are all here on this earth to learn! Anyway, this book was a wonderful balm to my spirit. The church members were always judged inadequate to lead in any way, only family members had any input in the church, and any of our perceived faults were proof of our inadequacy despite the fact that we old timers showed so much grace to the pastor for his faults! It was a one way street. We were disqualified and expected to keep cheering him on unconditionally. God released us recently and I felt like I'd had surgery and the novacaine had worn off. This book was such a balm for my spirit and has helped me so much. God's strength is made perfect in our weakness but man continues to forget that. I will be buying several copies for friends and relatives who are feeling inadequate. He is using all of us in the middle of our struggles! We will never "arrive" in this lifetime. I highly recommend this book. The enemy seeks to make us feel useless. This book will lead you to God's love for you which is ultimately what empowers us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.