Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Follow the Heart, Great Exhibition Series #1 -eBook

B&H Books Follow the Heart, Great Exhibition Series #1 -eBook

Set during the Industrial Revolution and the Great Exhibition of 1851, Follow the Heart is a "sitting-room romance" with the feel of a Regency-era novel but the fashions and technological advances of the mid-Victorian age.

Kate and Christopher Dearing's lives turn upside down when their father loses everything in a railroad land speculation. The siblings are shipped off to their mother's brother in England with one edict: marry money.

Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Follow the Heart, Great Exhibition Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for Follow the Heart, Great Exhibition Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific start to a new series!

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always enjoy a book written by Kaye Dacus. She has a mature writing voice that is crisp and clean. Her writing is rich in detail, full of imagination and subtle spiritual themes. In Follow the Heart, we get a glimpse into the excitement surrounding The Great Exhibition in 1851. Plus, it's a two-for-one romance! Kate and Andrew are the main couple, but Christopher and Nora play prominent rolls in the story, as well.
Kate Dearing sets sail to England with her brother, Christopher, under the assumption that she must marry someone wealthy in order to save her American family from financial ruin. Of course, she meets two gentlemen who desire her hand in marriage but only one can reign supreme. Will it be the viscount, Lord Thynne, who has charm and sophistication, and plenty of money? Or will it be Andrew Lawton, the landscape architect, redesigning the gardens at her uncle's home, that she's seen in a compromising position with, twice?
The love triangle in this book is fascinating and exciting without crossing the lines of propriety. I could have routed for either gentleman, and if truth be told, I almost wished she would have picked...oh wait. I can't tell. They're both worthy of Kate's love but only by following her heart will she find true happiness.
Christopher Dearing doesn't have any trouble following his heart! Almost as soon as he lays eyes on Nora, he is smitten. But, Nora is a governess and beneath his position as an attorney. Their budding relationship and subsequent secretive courtship is sweet and endearing.
Fans of Historical Fiction will appreciate this well written and captivating story. It kept me wishing that if time travel were possible, I would like to travel back and see the Great Exhibition. It would have been a sight to behold!
Thanks to B&H Publishing, through Netgalley, for my advance reader copy. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Follow the Heart, Great Exhibition Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love or Money

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kate and her brother are sent to England to live with a relative and find a rich spouse to keep the family from being penniless due to a railroad deal gone bad. Kate is older and knows that her age and the fact she does not have a dowry is going to make it harder to find someone to marry. What she does not expect is to find a handsome garden designer who shares her love for plants. When a viscount shows interest in her as well she must choose her family or her heart.
This is the first in a new series that takes place in the mid 1800’s.
What I liked: The story was interesting and I liked the characters for the most part. Though I found the story about her brother and the governess more interesting at times then the main story. I also liked hearing about The Great Exhibition and the description of the glass building was quite impressive.
What I did not like: The story was slow at times and even though the story line was interesting it also felt a little weak. Maybe its just hard for me to understand needing to marry for money to keep the family happy. Her father made a bad choice and expecting his kids to bail him out seemed silly.
Over all it was an okay book. I really liked the ending and felt the last 25% of the book made up for the slow beginning. I am interested to see if the next book in the series has any ties to this book. If you like historical fiction you might like this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Follow the Heart, Great Exhibition Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love overcomes

Date:June 6, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the clash of characters, the upstairs vs. downstairs type of stuff. It had whispers of Downton Abbey in it, even though it's not the same era, but the storyline reminded me of Dowton Abbey somewhat.
I like how Kate wasn't confident in her looks and she wasn't perfect but when men got to know her they found her beautiful. Isn't that what ever woman wants, to be found beautiful, to be seen for who we really are? And Kate struggles with who she is and how she is expected to act and how she really wants to act.
Love wins, isn't that the type of story we want to read? Love wins over money and over others expectations. Love wins because God is love and nothing can defeat Him.
Kaye weaved two wonderful romances into one story. I can't wait to read another Kaye Dacus book, if this is any indication I have found a new author I enjoy reading.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Follow the Heart, Great Exhibition Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kate Dearing and her brother, Christopher, are given only one instruction from their father when they leave Philadelphia for England…marry for money. Both siblings must marry someone of wealth to save the family they are leaving behind. Their father has invested unwisely and lost all his money. In a last ditch effort to avoid selling his home and letting everyone know they are destitute, he sends his two oldest children, Kate 27 years old and Christopher 24 years old, to live with their uncle, a baron in England. The Great Exhibition of 1851 is being assembled as they arrive, but their uncle fears for their safety and advises them not to attend. Christopher is disappointed as he is very interested in the Industrial Revolution. He is a railroad lawyer and figures if he can’t marry for money, maybe he can marry for love and work to support himself and his bride.
Once on English soil, the siblings soon fall in love with people completely below their social station in society’s eyes. Kate is “on the shelf”, and with no dowry can’t be picky if any aristocratic gentleman offers for her hand in marriage. Her uncle hosts a month-long house party, inviting eligible men for her to choose from and eligible ladies for Christopher to do the same. Kate immediately finds herself the focus of a 40-year-old bachelor, who is a viscount. Is he an answer to her prayer? He is kind and attentive, but he doesn’t love her and she doesn’t love him. Respect and admiration are enough to base a marriage on, right? Kate’s heart belongs to the garden architect, Andrew Lawton. He loves her, but will that be enough? He can’t provide for Kate in the manner she is accustomed to and his future employment is in question.
The reader sees Kate learn, after much heartache, the value of praying to God and listening for His answer. She had been praying, telling God what she wanted to happen and getting no answers from God. I can sure relate to having done that before! This served as a reminder to me to pray for God’s will to be done, not mine. I would have liked a little more action and little less gardening to take place in the story. I did like the dual love stories of the brother and sister taking place at the same time. The pages turn quickly and this makes for a pleasant way to spend an afternoon or two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Follow the Heart, Great Exhibition Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Engaging

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Americans Katharine and Christopher Dearing have a problem. Because their father has lost his fortune, they must, in essence, sell themselves to the highest bidder and marry money to save their family from financial ruin.
During a time when women of wealth were groomed only to marry money, a life of service for Katharine was out of the question. I must admit, living in the day and age in which we do, I find it repulsive that women and daughters were treated as possessions. Things to be bartered with by undisciplined and selfish fathers and brothers. This created a wave of sympathy and empathy for Katharine's plight. Although her brother wasn't totally unfeeling, he could find a way to be self-supportive and marry whom he chose. Yet, even that would leave the burden of their family's financial issues on Katharine.
Parents who make mistakes are normal, as I myself can attest to. But parents that make the mistakes and then expect their children to clean up the mess? Unfathomable and disturbing. I honestly did not see a way out for Katharine in this book. Her heart had found the man it could love. But poor and obscure Andrew wasn't the answer to her family's financial woes.
Ms. Dacus is a seasoned author and it shows. I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Follow the Heart and will be reading more from her in the future. Scenic settings, great plot structure, and imperfect heroes and heroines? Yes please! I love how her characters were flawed. Self-sacrificing, yet flawed in such a way that made the reader care for them and wish they had a fighting chance.
Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Follow the Heart, Great Exhibition Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ehhh...okay.

Date:May 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Follow the Heart is the first book I've read by Kaye Dacus. I had a very hard time getting into the story. It was the kind of book I found easy to put down and wasn't particularly eager to pick it back up again.
Now, that doesn't mean it was bad. The storyline picked up about halfway through, but I think it had to do with the main characters for me. I much preferred Nora the governess over any other character, but the focus is more on Kate, the penniless American who needs to marry wealth.
I would have probably liked at least two books, each telling a sibling's story. It would allow the reader to perhaps get more background on the characters and feel more emotion over their circumstances.
Such as: I had a hard time telling if the author meant for Lord Thynne to be a nice guy, just not meant for Kate, or a creep or what? And really...what was the chip on Edith's shoulder? What made her so nasty when everyone else in the family is friendly? In such a short time, it was difficult to get the true understanding of many of the characters.
I would give Kaye's books another try, but unfortunately, this one wasn't really my cup of tea.
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Follow the Heart, Great Exhibition Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for traditional regency fans!!!

Date:May 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since Downton Abbey, I am officially a traditional regency fan! What does that mean? If you love historical romances set in the mid 1800's in London where social classes and marriage to a fine upstanding family are your cup of tea, then look no further than Follow The Heart by author Kaye Dacus in her Great Exhibition Series.
The story begins in Pennsylvania in 1850 where Katharine and Christopher Dearing's lives are to be turned upside down. Their father has lost the entire family fortune in a failed investment in the railroad. Katharine's opportunity of marriage to a wealthy family has been withdrawn when they learn she has no money for a dowry and her family's name is now tarnished in their social circles. Now forced to sell most of their family's belongings to keep their head above waters, their father sends Christopher and Katharine to live with their wealthy uncle in England in hopes that both of them may secure a marriage to keep the family from losing everything.
When they arrive at their uncle's estate in England, Katharine and Christopher are treated with the same respect that their cousins receive however, they are reminded by their cousin Edith that they are the poor relations from America and it would serve them well to remember their place. Now living at Wakesdown Manor in England, Katharine tries in vain to do all she can to find the most eligible man with not only a suitable title but the means to elevate her poor family back into a social standing again. Only it seems that no matter how hard she tries, she can't fight the feelings she has for Andrew Lawton, the landscape architect that works her uncle's estate. She knows she can't fall for Andrew because to do so would be beneath what her father and stepmother wanted for her but could cause their family to lose everything back in America. Her only hope is to find someone who can look back her age and background and save her family.
Her brother Christopher is hoping that he can find a way to save the family name and fortune by finding a contact in working with the local railroad companies now coming to take part in the Great Exhibition at the Crystal Palace. He doesn't want all the burden of saving their family to fall on Kate's shoulders even though she is far past the age of most women to marry and begin a family of their own. He hopes that using his expertise in railroad law he might find job that would allow Kate to find a man suitable for marriage that she truly loves instead of settling for money. Yet how can he hope for Kate finding true love among the lower class when he himself is falling in love with the governess Nora. Is it possible for Christopher and Katharine to find a way to save their family and still follow their heart?
I received Follow The Heart by Kaye Dacus compliments of B and H Publishing Group and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance Tours for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. This novel reminds me of Cinderella meets Downton Abbey, only instead of the wicked step-sisters, poor Katharine and Christopher have to deal with the oldest cousin Edith who is competing with Kate to see just who can marry the richest man possible. For Edith it isn't about love but about the title and fortune that accompany her dream of marriage. She will do almost anything to remind Katharine of just where she comes from and to prevent her from finding true happiness. I encourage you traditional regency lovers to grab a cup of tea, sit by the fire and immerse yourself in this wonderful novel created just for you by Kaye Dacus. I loved this one and the only disappointment I faced was when I turned the final page. It was over too soon and I wanted more of these characters. Good thing that Kaye is adding to this series in her upcoming novel An Honest Heart this fall. I easily rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and will be adding this one to my personal library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Follow the Heart, Great Exhibition Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book By Kaye Dacus

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Clover, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read all of Kaye Dacus' books and I've enjoyed every single one, own them all. She is just at home writing historical or contemporary novels. A lot of authors do not move as well between genres, but Dacus does this admirably. I always buy her latest book because I know I'm in for a wonderful reading time!
This book gives us two stories, actually, of brother and sister, Christopher and Katharine Dearing. Both are sent to England with the admonition to marry wealth to support their family after their father's disastrous investment back in Philadelphia.
Both Christopher and Kate fall in love with the wrong people, neither of which will be able to help their family back home financially. They must sacrifice their happiness to help family. But is this what God wants for them? Doesn't God want His children to be happy?
Christopher and Kate learn many valuable lessons in this novel, how to follow your heart and also how to trust God to bring happiness to your life and not the decisions you make.
If you miss this book, you miss a wonderful read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Follow the Heart, Great Exhibition Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Start to a new Series

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katherine Dearing has been sent from Philadelphia to England to find a rich husband who will be able to salvage her family’s financial situation. But at twenty-seven, is she too old to attract a rich husband? Or any husband? Accompanying her is her younger brother, Christopher, who has recently qualified as a solicitor specialising in railway law. He too is under pressure to marry well, although having a profession at least means he can support himself, but both of them find they are attracted to the wrong people.
The siblings are staying with their maternal uncle, Sir Anthony Buchanan, and their cousins, Edith, Dorcas and Florence. There Sir Anthony organises a house party where Kate and Christopher are introduced to many members of the aristocracy, including Viscount Thynne . They also meet Andrew Lawton, a garden designer currently working on the Wakesdown Manor gardens, and Honora Woodruff, governess to the youngest Buchanan.
I really liked the characters, even the ones I didn’t like (if that makes sense). Edith reminded me of Lady Mary from Downton Abbey—well written, but unpleasant and with too high an opinion of herself. Dorcas and Florence were much more likeable, even though they were only minor characters, so I hope we see more of them. A lot of the plot revolved around the gardens, as Kate is a keen gardener, albeit one with quite different ideas to Andrew.
I am always nervous when I see a novel set in England by an American writer, especially a historical. I have had too many ruined by insufficient research and an abundance of Americanisms, so I am relieved and pleased to say that Follow the Heart had no cultural cringes or historical anachronisms (and, in regards to factual errors, the subplot was heavily related to gardening, a subject I know little about, so I really can’t comment). I was also very pleased with the way the Christian aspects of the story were handled, particularly with Kate. My one issue is that the end of the novel felt a bit rushed—although that could be more about me reading too fast to find out how the problems are resolved.
This is the first novel in the new Great Exhibition series, set around Prince Albert’s Great Exhibition at Crystal Palace, London, in 1851. As Follow the Heart finished just after the beginning of the Exhibition, I look forward to seeing more of the Great Exhibition in future novels (hint, hint).
Thanks to B&H Publishing and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Follow the Heart, Great Exhibition Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Follow the Heart

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a really sweet, tender, beautiful book. I loved it from the first page and I hope there might be a book 2 coming!
Kaye Dacus is a wonderful author and she stood out in the crowd with this book!
Follow the Heart is a book of family ties, hurt hearts, financial struggles, new love, faith discoveries and true friendship. The characters are very well written and their lives seem very real. I appreciated their desire for more in life and their willingness to sacrifice for each other. I also loved how they learned to allow God to have control of every part of their days.
This book also has a fun description of fashions in the early 1900s. The dress fittings and wardrobe details are exceptional. Usually that doesn't stand out to me but this book made me want to go for a dress fitting and wear beautiful fabrics!
I enjoyed watching the characters walk through this time in their lives. I know you will too!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.