Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B & H Publishing Group HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B & H Publishing Group HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather

Real Questions. Straight Answers. Stronger Faith. The Apologetics Study Bible will help today's Christians better understand, defend, and proclaim their beliefs in this age of increasing moral and spiritual relativism. More than one-hundred key questions and articles placed throughout the volume about faith and science prompt a rewarding study experience at every reading.

The Apologetics Study Bible features valuable contributions from a who’s-who of modern apologists such as Chuck Colson, Norm Geisler, Hank Hanegraaff, Josh McDowell, Albert Mohler, Ravi Zacharias, J. P. Moreland, and Phil Johnson.

Other features include:
  • The full text of the popular Holman Christian Standard Bible translation
  • Two-color page layout
  • Introduction to each Bible book focusing on its inherent elements of apologetics
  • Double-column format
  • Book Outlines
  • Translation Footnotes
  • Articles on ethics, science, archaeology, philosophy, and non-Christian belief systems
  • Study notes that explain "problem" passages
  • Sidebars on Scriptures misused by cults
  • Profiles of historic Christian apologists from Justin Martyr to C. S. Lewis
  • Plan of Salvation
  • Lined pages for recording personal notes
  • Gold page edges
  • Two ribbon markers
  • 10-point text
  • 9.50" x 7.25" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Review 1 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this Bible!

Date:April 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
arev53
Location:Richland, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this Bible for a new church member - actually a new Christian. I have one and I love it! Clears up a lot of questions!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy Read

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa Conway-mansfield
Location:Greenville
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the fact that this bible has letters large enough that it is easy to read. I found it very useful and encouraging. You will not be sorry in this purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I shopped and shopped

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
sail6382
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
And I found it. I love the way this Bible has articles surrounding the history of each book in relevant terms. I appreciate the Apologetics version as a guide on how to defend what I believe....how to provide counterpoints to non-believers. It helps give me ground to stand on when faith isn't enough. It puts into words the WHY and HOW in simple terms that have lots of applications. It is influenced by the Southern Baptist Association, but I find that it is fairly liberal (as far as Baptists are concerned). All in all a very relevant Bible. Beautiful in the leather bound. I wish I had paid the extra $5.00 to be embossed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Talk about the Scripture being a Sword!!!

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
RaineyRN
Location:San Diego County, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE this Bible! I had grown up using the Life Application Bible but felt that there was so much more meat then I was missing and boy I was right! I took the time to do the research and it was between 2 other Bible's and this one; I was alittle nervous never having used the HSBC version as I was not familiar with it. But I ordered this one and it has been my best tool in strengthing my walk as well as how be a better testimony to others. Great for teenagers and up!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Apologetics:Defending our faith!

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Williams
Location:Ionia, MI.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The more I spend time with this Bible the more I thank God for it! Our God and His Word are under attack. We cannot afford to be ignorant of the reasons for the Hope that is ours and the defensible truth which is backed up by history, logic, archaeology and sciences. I've lost family members to the new atheists and am now having to backtrack and make up for lost opportunities that never should have occurred had I taught them these truths. Please invest in either this Bible or in some good books on this subject so that you won't be left stuttering for answers as I was. We have nothing to be ashamed of or back down for in our Christian heritage.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hundred Acre Goods
I bought this Bible for my son to give him for a baptismal gift. After looking it over I have decided I want the one he has. Although I do I like my NIV this one is very sleek.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa Reeder
This is a fantastic Bible. It is a different view and my Husband is going to love it! We actually got it for another man and it suits him as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa Reeder
this is a great bible-we bought it for a friend and he loves it- we were tempted to keep it for ourselves
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah
The articles in this bible are great. The print is really easy on the eyes, the only problem that I had with this bible is the lack of chain references.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ronald Franklin
This is one of the most current Bible translations in the Holman Christian Bible along with detailed Apologetics study notes. I recommend this Bible to anyone looking for a contemporary style Bible and detailed study notes. I love the background info before each chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deborah
Beautiful Bible and a great resource for today's Christian. I got this for my son who is heading to college. He loves how it points out many "twisted scriptures" and outlines the tenants of beliefs that do not agree with scripture.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rachel Rice
I bought this as a Father's Day gift for my husband. He really is enjoying using this bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cecil
Very well done study bible. This bible is good for helping to settle your faith and look at doubt.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.